Detailed Action
This is in response to the non-provisional application filed 08/07/2024.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 2 recities wherein the first thread take-up wheel and the second thread take-up wheel both comprise: a gear body, a first gear disk, and a second gear disk, wherein the gear body, the first gear disk, and the second gear disk are arranged coaxially, wherein the first gear disk is arranged at a space from the second gear disk; the first gear disk and the second gear disk are separately connected to the gear body; and a thread winding groove is formed between the first gear disk and the second gear disk. Claim 9 recites wherein a first clamping arm and a second clamping arm are movably mounted on the thread gear support, and a clamping area is formed between the first clamping arm and the second clamping arm.
The Office agrees the art of record fail to teach or suggest these features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Number 5,350,385 (Christy) in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0146843 (Smith)
Regarding claim 1, Christy discloses a suture tightening device comprising: a first thread take up wheel (spool 56) and a second thread take up wheel (spool 58), and a thread gear support (body 16), where the first and second wheels are spaced apart and each rotatably connected to body 16 (Fig. 5; col. 3, ll. 53–64; col. 4, ll. 26–39).
Christy does not disclose the thread gear support being detachably connected to an endoscope handle.
Smith, from the same field of endeavor (endoscopic tools) teaches a similar device as shown in Figure 1, which includes a support/handle (116) detachably connected to an endoscope handle (103) via adapter guide unit 112 to enable endoscopic operation (Fig. 1; ¶[0019], ¶[0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Christy’s body 16 to include a detachable adapter as taught by Smith, to mount and stabilize the suture tightening device on a standard endoscope handle for improved ergonomics and integration during endoscopic suturing, a predictable use of known components with a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 417; MPEP § 2143.”
Regarding claim 7, Christy does not disclose the recited angular relationship between the axes of the first and second take up wheels and the endoscope working cavity axis.
A POSITA would have oriented the spool axes such that their bisector intersects the endoscope working cavity axis to reduce the thread’s lateral offset into the working channel, minimizing bend induced friction and snagging and improving feed reliability. This reorientation is a predictable design optimization that does not alter device function or produce unexpected results. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI) (design choice) and § 2143 (predictable results). Therefore, claim 7 would have been obvious over Christy in view of Smith.” to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/RICHARD G LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771