DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 06/01/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Realubit does not teach or suggest the features recited in independent claims 1, 8, and 16 including “wherein the inner shell comprises a plurality of apertures,” and “a plurality of optical lenses covering the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components disposed within the plurality of apertures,” where “the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components are substantially flush with the inner surface” of the wearable ring device. The Applicant argues that the Office Action appears to rely on the “inner circular plastic piece 104” that includes the “bumps 138 and 140” as teaching both the “plurality of apertures” as well as the “plurality of optical lenses,” as recited in amended independent claim 1. The Applicant argues that this is technically and procedurally improper to rely on the same “inner circular plastic piece 104” as allegedly teaching both these separate and distinct features. The Applicant argues that it is improper and technically inaccurate to rely on the same component (namely, the “inner circular plastic piece 104”) to teach both (1) the “plurality of apertures,” and (2) the “plurality of optical lenses” positioned within such apertures. The Applicant also points to Fig. 4 of Realubit and argues that the “bumps 138 and 140” are formed as a continuous structure of the “inner circular plastic piece 104.” The Applicant argues that the “inner circular plastic piece 104” does not include any holes or openings, and therefore can not possibly teach or suggest “apertures” within an inner surface of a wearable ring device. The Applicant argues that the bumps 138 and 140 are formed as portions of the inner circular plastic piece 104 such that the surfaces of the bumps 138 and 140 are continuous with the inner surface of the ring. The Applicant argues that the bumps 138 and 140 are not “disposed within the plurality of apertures” of the inner circular plastic piece 104, but are rather extensions or raised portions of the inner surface of the inner circular plastic piece 104, as stated by Realubit. The Applicant further argues that the bumps 138 and 140 of the inner circular plastic piece 104 completely cover or are disposed over the LEDs 152A and the photodetectors 152B. The Applicant argues that as such, because the “bumps 138 and 140” of the “inner circular plastic piece 104” form the inner surface of the ring and cover the LEDs 152, it therefore follows that Realubit does not disclose that the LEDs 152A and photodetectors 152B are “substantially flush with the inner surface” of the ring device. The Applicant argues that instead, the LEDs 152A and the photodetectors 152B are covered by the inner surface of the inner circular plastic piece 104, as shown in Fig. 4. With regards to dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 17-20, the Applicant argues that these claims are allowable due to their dependency on claims 1, 8, and 16.
This is not found persuasive and the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of the claims over Realubit are maintained. The Examiner maintains that Realubit teaches the limitations indicated by the Applicant in their remarks. In regards to Applicant’s argument that the bumps 138 and 140 teach both the “plurality of apertures” as well as the “plurality of optical lenses”, the Examiner notes that the bumps 138/140 were indicated as being “indicative of apertures” (see page 3 of Non-Final Rejection) and corresponding to the plurality of optical lenses (see page 5 of Non-Final Rejection). Par. [0087] of Realubit explains that such raised portions or bumps of the encapsulant may be formed to encapsulate larger components of the sensor electronics, to serve as a lens for light from an optical sensor, and/or to provide better contact between the plastic and the skin of the person wearing the device. As Applicant pointed out, this can be shown in Fig. 4 of Realubit, where bumps 138/140 are shown to encapsulate larger electrical components 152A and 152B. The Examiner notes that based on this teaching, the bumps 138/140 are considered to be indicative of created apertures that allow for encapsulation of the larger electrical components. In other words, there must exist an opening (i.e., aperture) in or under the bumps 138/140 so that the larger electrical components 152A/B can be encapsulated by the bumps 138/140. Additionally, Par. [0039] of Realubit explains that the bumps 138 and 140 are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn, and therefore are found to also represent optical lenses. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the limitations regarding “the plurality of apertures” and “the plurality of optical lenses” are disclosed by the bumps 138/140. The Examiner also maintains that the bumps 138 and 140 which create and are indicative of apertures to encapsulate the larger electronic components 152A and 152b are necessarily “disposed within the plurality of apertures”. With regards to the limitation “wherein the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components are substantially flush with the inner surface”, the Examiner maintains that this limitation is taught by Realubit and contends that the bumps 138/140 do not preclude Realubit from teaching this limitation as the Applicant alleges. The Examiner notes that the inner surface (i.e., Fig. 1, # 124 of Realubit) spans the inner length of the inner circular plastic piece 104. Based on viewing Realubit’s Figures, it appears that the LEDs 152A and the photodetectors 152B are “substantially flush” with the inner surface 124 of the inner circular plastic piece 104 (see Figs. 1 and 4 of Realubit). Further, Realubit’s teaching that the raised portions (i.e., bumps 138/140) encapsulate larger components of the sensor electronics (i.e., LEDs 152A and the photodetectors 152B) to provide better contact between the plastic and the skin of the person wearing the device (Par. [0087] of Realubit) also suggests that the LEDs 152A and the photodetectors 152B are “substantially flush” with the inner surface 124 of the inner circular plastic piece 104, especially when considering “substantially flush” under broadest reasonable interpretation. The Examiner also notes that there is no specific definition or measure provided for interpreting the term “substantially flush” in Applicant’s disclosure. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that Realubit teaches the limitations indicated by the Applicant. Please see 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections hereinbelow.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Realubit, et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2024/0324957).
Regarding claim 1, Realubit teaches (Fig. 1, # 100) a wearable ring device (Title; Abstract; Par. [0033] – finger wearable device; Par. [0035]), comprising:
(Fig. 1, # 102 – outer circular metal piece, i.e. outer shell, 104 – inner circular plastic piece, i.e. inner shell) a housing comprising an inner shell and an outer shell (Par. [0035] – a wearable device 100 that includes an outer circular metal piece 102, an inner circular plastic piece 104, and sensor electronics 110 that are enclosed between the outer circular metal piece and the inner circular plastic piece), wherein (Fig. 1, # 104, 124 – inner surface, 138/140 – bumps, i.e. indicative of apertures) the inner shell comprises a plurality of apertures and defines an inner surface of the wearable ring device (Par. [0037] – The inner circular plastic piece 104 includes an outer surface 122, an inner surface 124, and two opposing ends 126 and 128; Par. [0039] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 may also include features such as bumps 138 and 140 that are formed to improve performance of the optical sensors. For example, the bumps are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn.), and wherein (Fig. 1, # 112 – outer surface) the outer shell defines an outer surface of the wearable ring device (Par. [0036] – The outer circular metal piece 102 includes an outer surface 112, an inner surface 114, and two opposing ends 116 and 118);
(Fig. 1, # 110 – sensor electronics including a PCB) a printed circuit board disposed within the housing (Par. [0040] - the sensor electronics 110 include a PCB and electronic components), wherein (Figs. 1 and 3, # 104, 110, and 302) at least a portion of a first surface of the printed circuit board contacts the inner shell (Par. [0047] – In a first operation as indicated by arrow 302, the sensor electronics 110 are attached to the inner circular plastic piece 104.);
(Fig. 1, # 110, 150, 152) a plurality of electrical components disposed on the printed circuit board (Par. [0040] – the sensor electronics 110 include a PCB and electronic components. The electronic components include a curved battery 148, battery charging contacts 150, and various IC devices 152.), the plurality of electrical components comprising:
(Fig. 1, # 152) one or more light-transmitting components and one or more light-receiving components disposed on the first surface of the printed circuit board (Par. [0040] – The IC devices may include, for example, at least one light source (e.g., an LED or an LED bank), a photodetector…) and (Fig. 1, # 138, 140) extending through the plurality of apertures of the inner surface, wherein the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components are substantially flush with the inner surface (Par. [0039] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 may also include features such as bumps 138 and 140 that are formed to improve performance of the optical sensors. For example, the bumps are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn. For example, a bump that is located next to an LED enables emitted light to couple more efficiently with skin that is pressed against the bump and a bump that is located next to a photodetector enables reflected light to couple more efficiently with the bump that is pressed against the skin.); and
(Fig. 1, # 110, 152; Fig. 5A, # 540 – PCB; 544 – electric components, 548 – outer surface, i.e. second surface) one or more additional components disposed on a second surface of the printed circuit board opposite the first surface (Par. [0040]; Par. [0061] – The first section of the PCB 540 includes electronic components 542 and 544 attached to both the inner and outer surfaces of the PCB. … and the outer surface 548 of the first section of the PCB includes various IC devices 544, which may include, for example, a microcontroller, memory, wireless communications, discrete devices (e.g., capacitors and/or resistors), and charging components (e.g., including battery contacts).); and
(Fig. 1, # 138/140 – bumps) a plurality of optical lenses covering the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components disposed within the plurality of apertures (Par. [0039] – the bumps are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn; Par. [0087] – The inner circular plastic piece may include one or more raised portions, e.g., portions or “bumps” or “bubbles” that are raised above the inner smooth surface of the inner circular plastic piece. Such raised portions of the encapsulant may be formed to encapsulate larger components of the sensor electronics, to serve as a lens for light from an optical sensor, and/or to provide better contact between the plastic and the skin of the person wearing the device).
Therefore, claim 1 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 2, Realubit teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, wherein the inner surface of the inner shell comprises:
(Fig. 1, # 104 – inner circular plastic piece, i.e. inner shell, 124, 138, 140; please see annotated Fig. 1 below) a curved region and one or more planar regions, wherein the plurality of apertures are disposed within the one or more planar regions (Par. [0037]; Par. [0039] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 may also include features such as bumps 138 and 140 that are formed to improve performance of the optical sensors).
Annotated Fig. 1
Therefore, claim 2 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 3, Realubit teaches the wearable ring device of claim 2, wherein the printed circuit board comprises:
(Fig. 1, # 110, 146 – flexible portions, i.e. curved portions) a curved portion positioned within the wearable ring device proximate to the curved region of the inner shell (Par. [0040] – The PCB includes rigid portions 144 and flexible portions 146. Typically, electronic components are attached at the rigid portions of the PCB and the flexible portions of the PCB enable the PCB to be formed into a circular shape); and
(Fig. 1, # 144 – rigid portions, i.e. planar portions) one or more planar portions positioned within the wearable ring device proximate to the one or more planar regions of the inner shell, wherein the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components are disposed on the printed circuit board within the one or more planar portions (Par. [0040] – The PCB includes rigid portions 144 and flexible portions 146. Typically, electronic components (i.e., various IC devices 152 including light sources/photodetectors) are attached at the rigid portions of the PCB and the flexible portions of the PCB enable the PCB to be formed into a circular shape).
Therefore, claim 3 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 4, Realubit teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, wherein (Fig. 1, # 138 and 140) the plurality of optical lenses comprise convex lenses that extend from the inner surface (Par. [0039]; Par. [0087] – bumps serve as a lens; the lenses 138 and 140 are shown to be convex in Fig. 1).
Therefore, claim 4 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 5, Realubit teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, wherein (Fig. 1, # 138 and 140) the plurality of optical lenses comprise a substantially transparent material that fills the plurality of apertures (Par. [0039] – the bumps are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn.).
Therefore, claim 5 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 6, Realubit teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, wherein (Fig. 3, # 104, 110, 302) the portion of the first surface comprises an adhesive material that is configured to couple the portion of the first surface of the printed circuit board to the inner shell (Par. [0047] – The attachment process may also involve spot gluing of the sensor electronics to the inner circular plastic piece.).
Therefore, claim 6 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 7, Realubit teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board further comprises:
(Fig. 1, # 138, 140) a light-blocking layer disposed on the first surface of the printed circuit board between the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components (Par. [0087] – In an embodiment, an opaque and/or reflective material may be added to the edges of the raised portion to prevent light from a corresponding optical sensor from “leaking” out the sides of the raised portion. For example, some paint (e.g., white paint) may be applied on the edges of the raised portion so that light emitted from the optical sensor is directed through raised portion at the interface between the skin and the raised portion, which can result in improved signal quality from the optical sensor.).
Therefore, claim 7 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 8, Realubit teaches (Fig. 1) a method for manufacturing a wearable ring device (Title; Abstract; Par. [0026] – methods for producing finger wearable devices are disclosed), comprising: (Fig. 1, # 110 – sensor electronics including a PCB, 152) coupling one or more light-transmitting components and one or more light-receiving components to a first surface of a printed circuit board (Par. [0040] – The sensor electronics 110 include a PCB and electronic components. The electronic components include a curved battery 148, battery charging contacts 150, and various IC devices 152. The IC devices may include, for example, at least one light source (e.g., an LED or an LED bank), a photodetector…);
(Fig. 1, # 110, 152; Fig. 5A, # 540 – PCB; 544 – electric components, 548 – outer surface, i.e. second surface) coupling one or more additional electrical components to a second surface of the printed circuit board opposite the first surface (Par. [0040]; Par. [0061] – The first section of the PCB 540 includes electronic components 542 and 544 attached to both the inner and outer surfaces of the PCB. … and the outer surface 548 of the first section of the PCB includes various IC devices 544, which may include, for example, a microcontroller, memory, wireless communications, discrete devices (e.g., capacitors and/or resistors), and charging components (e.g., including battery contacts).);
(Fig. 1, # 104, 138/140 – bumps, i.e. optical lenses) performing a first molding process to mold a plurality of optical lenses over the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components (Par. [0039] – the bumps are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn; Par. [0042] – Typically, the inner circular plastic piece 104 is molded into the desired shape using techniques that are known in the field.; Par. [0087] – The inner circular plastic piece may include one or more raised portions, e.g., portions or “bumps” or “bubbles” that are raised above the inner smooth surface of the inner circular plastic piece. Such raised portions of the encapsulant may be formed to encapsulate larger components of the sensor electronics, to serve as a lens for light from an optical sensor, and/or to provide better contact between the plastic and the skin of the person wearing the device);
(Figs. 1 and 3, # 104, 110 – sensor electronics including a PCB, 302) inserting the printed circuit board into a housing (Par. [0040]; Par. [0047] – In a first operation as indicated by arrow 302, the sensor electronics 110 are attached to the inner circular plastic piece 104.) such that (Fig. 1, # 138, 140) the plurality of optical lenses extend through a plurality of apertures within an inner surface of an inner shell of the housing, wherein the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components are substantially flush with the inner surface (Par. [0039] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 may also include features such as bumps 138 and 140 that are formed to improve performance of the optical sensors. For example, the bumps are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn. For example, a bump that is located next to an LED enables emitted light to couple more efficiently with skin that is pressed against the bump and a bump that is located next to a photodetector enables reflected light to couple more efficiently with the bump that is pressed against the skin.); and
performing a second molding process to secure the printed circuit board within the housing (Par. [0034] – The cavity can then be filled with an encapsulant material to further secure the attachment between the two pieces and to protect the sensor electronics.; Par. [0052] – After the inner circular plastic piece 104 is attached to the outer circular metal piece 102, in a next operation, the cavity that is formed between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece can be filled with an encapsulant (e.g., a plastic or resin). For example, an encapsulant in a fluid form is injected through a hole in either the inner circular plastic piece or the outer circular metal piece, or through a gap between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece, and allowed to cure within the cavity. The encapsulant may fill in open space in the cavity and harden directly around the electronic components in the cavity and at least partially against the inner surface of the outer circular metal piece and the outer surface of the inner circular plastic piece.).
Therefore, claim 8 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 9, Realubit teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising:
(Fig. 10B, # 208 – component bays, i.e. chambers) forming a plurality of chambers on the first surface of the printed circuit board around the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components (Par. [0098] – FIG. 10B also includes two component bays 208 that are configured to receive electronic sensor components that are part of the sensor electronics (FIG. 1, 110). In the example of FIG. 10B, the two component bays are configured to receive optical components (e.g., a light source, a photodetector, or a combination light source and photodetector)), wherein (Fig. 10D, # 138, 140) the first molding process fills the plurality of chambers to form the plurality of optical lenses within the plurality of chambers (Par. [0042]; Par. [0102] – Additionally, in the view of FIG. 10D, the two component bays 208 are no longer visible on the outer surface of the inner circular plastic piece although bumps 138, 140, and 141 are now visible on the inner surface of the inner circular plastic piece.).
Therefore, claim 9 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 10, Realubit teaches the method of claim 9, wherein a surface of the plurality of chambers comprises an adhesive that is configured to secure the plurality of chambers to the inner shell of the wearable ring device, wherein the adhesive creates a water-tight seal around the plurality of apertures (Par. [0052] – For example, an encapsulant in a fluid form is injected through a hole in either the inner circular plastic piece or the outer circular metal piece, or through a gap between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece, and allowed to cure within the cavity. The encapsulant may fill in open space in the cavity and harden directly around the electronic components in the cavity and at least partially against the inner surface of the outer circular metal piece and the outer surface of the inner circular plastic piece. Injecting an encapsulant within the cavity can protect the electronic components from damage and can improve the attachment between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece.).
Therefore, claim 10 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 11, Realubit teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the first molding process is performed with a substantially transparent material (Par. [0042] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 is formed of plastic, including for example, resin, a medical grade polycarbonate, or any other type of synthetic material made from an organic polymer. Typically, the inner circular plastic piece is molded into the desired shape using techniques that are known in the field.), and wherein the second molding process is performed with a second material that is different from the substantially transparent material (Par. [0052] – After the inner circular plastic piece 104 is attached to the outer circular metal piece 102, in a next operation, the cavity that is formed between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece can be filled with an encapsulant (e.g., a plastic or resin). For example, an encapsulant in a fluid form is injected through a hole in either the inner circular plastic piece or the outer circular metal piece, or through a gap between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece, and allowed to cure within the cavity. The encapsulant may fill in open space in the cavity and harden directly around the electronic components in the cavity and at least partially against the inner surface of the outer circular metal piece and the outer surface of the inner circular plastic piece.).
Therefore, claim 11 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 12, Realubit teaches the method of claim 8, wherein (Fig. 1, # 104 – inner circular plastic piece, i.e. inner shell, 124, 138, 140; please see annotated Fig. 1 below) the inner surface of the inner shell comprises a curved region and one or more planar regions, wherein the plurality of apertures are disposed within the one or more planar regions (Par. [0037]; Par. [0039] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 may also include features such as bumps 138 and 140 that are formed to improve performance of the optical sensors).
Annotated Fig. 1
Therefore, claim 12 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 13, Realubit teaches the method of claim 12, wherein (Figs. 1 and 3, # 104, 110, 302) the printed circuit board is inserted into the housing (Par. [0047] – In a first operation as indicated by arrow 302, the sensor electronics 110 are attached to the inner circular plastic piece 104) such that (Fig. 1, # 110, 146 – flexible portions, i.e. curved portions) a curved portion of the printed circuit board is positioned within the wearable ring device proximate to the curved region of the inner shell (Par. [0040] – The PCB includes rigid portions 144 and flexible portions 146. Typically, electronic components are attached at the rigid portions of the PCB and the flexible portions of the PCB enable the PCB to be formed into a circular shape), and such that (Fig. 1, # 144 – rigid portions, i.e. planar portions) one or more planar portions of the printed circuit board are positioned within the wearable ring device proximate to the one or more planar regions of the inner shell, wherein the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components are disposed on the printed circuit board within the one or more planar portions (Par. [0040] – The PCB includes rigid portions 144 and flexible portions 146. Typically, electronic components (i.e., various IC devices 152 including light sources/photodetectors) are attached at the rigid portions of the PCB and the flexible portions of the PCB enable the PCB to be formed into a circular shape).
Therefore, claim 13 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 14, Realubit teaches the method of claim 8, wherein (Fig. 1, # 138 and 140) the plurality of optical lenses comprise convex lenses that extend from the inner surface (Par. [0039]; Par. [0087] – bumps serve as a lens; the lenses 138 and 140 are shown to be convex in Fig. 1).
Therefore, claim 14 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 16, Realubit teaches (Fig. 1) a method for manufacturing a wearable ring device (Title; Abstract; Par. [0026] – methods for producing finger wearable devices are disclosed), comprising:
(Fig. 1, # 110 – sensor electronics including a PCB, 152) coupling one or more light-transmitting components and one or more light-receiving components to a first surface of a printed circuit board (Par. [0040] – The sensor electronics 110 include a PCB and electronic components. The electronic components include a curved battery 148, battery charging contacts 150, and various IC devices 152. The IC devices may include, for example, at least one light source (e.g., an LED or an LED bank), a photodetector…);
(Fig. 1, # 110, 152; Fig. 5A, # 540 – PCB; 544 – electric components, 548 – outer surface, i.e. second surface) coupling one or more additional electrical components to a second surface of the printed circuit board opposite the first surface (Par. [0040]; Par. [0061] – The first section of the PCB 540 includes electronic components 542 and 544 attached to both the inner and outer surfaces of the PCB. … and the outer surface 548 of the first section of the PCB includes various IC devices 544, which may include, for example, a microcontroller, memory, wireless communications, discrete devices (e.g., capacitors and/or resistors), and charging components (e.g., including battery contacts).);
(Figs. 1 and 3, # 104, 110 – sensor electronics including a PCB, 302) inserting the printed circuit board into a housing (Par. [0040]; Par. [0047] – In a first operation as indicated by arrow 302, the sensor electronics 110 are attached to the inner circular plastic piece 104.) such that (Fig. 1, # 110, 138/140 – bumps, i.e. indicative of apertures) the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components extend through a plurality of apertures within an inner surface of an inner shell of the housing, and such that the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components are substantially flush with the inner surface (Par. [0039] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 may also include features such as bumps 138 and 140 that are formed to improve performance of the optical sensors. For example, the bumps are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn. For example, a bump that is located next to an LED enables emitted light to couple more efficiently with skin that is pressed against the bump and a bump that is located next to a photodetector enables reflected light to couple more efficiently with the bump that is pressed against the skin.; Par. [0087] – The inner circular plastic piece may include one or more raised portions, e.g., portions or “bumps” or “bubbles” that are raised above the inner smooth surface of the inner circular plastic piece. Such raised portions of the encapsulant may be formed to encapsulate larger components of the sensor electronics, to serve as a lens for light from an optical sensor, and/or to provide better contact between the plastic and the skin of the person wearing the device.);
performing a first molding process to mold a plurality of optical lenses over the plurality of apertures, wherein the first molding process secures the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components within the plurality of apertures (Par. [0042] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 is formed of plastic, including for example, resin, a medical grade polycarbonate, or any other type of synthetic material made from an organic polymer. Typically, the inner circular plastic piece is molded into the desired shape using techniques that are known in the field.; Par. [0087] – The inner circular plastic piece may include one or more raised portions, e.g., portions or “bumps” or “bubbles” that are raised above the inner smooth surface of the inner circular plastic piece. Such raised portions of the encapsulant may be formed to encapsulate larger components of the sensor electronics, to serve as a lens for light from an optical sensor, and/or to provide better contact between the plastic and the skin of the person wearing the device.); and
performing a second molding process to secure the printed circuit board within the housing after a completion of the first molding process (Par. [0034] – The cavity can then be filled with an encapsulant material to further secure the attachment between the two pieces and to protect the sensor electronics.; Par. [0052] – After the inner circular plastic piece 104 is attached to the outer circular metal piece 102, in a next operation, the cavity that is formed between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece can be filled with an encapsulant (e.g., a plastic or resin). For example, an encapsulant in a fluid form is injected through a hole in either the inner circular plastic piece or the outer circular metal piece, or through a gap between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece, and allowed to cure within the cavity. The encapsulant may fill in open space in the cavity and harden directly around the electronic components in the cavity and at least partially against the inner surface of the outer circular metal piece and the outer surface of the inner circular plastic piece.).
Therefore, claim 16 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 17, Realubit teaches the method of claim 16, wherein (Fig. 3, # 104, 110, 302) the first surface of the printed circuit board comprises an adhesive that is configured to secure the printed circuit board to the inner shell of the housing (Par. [0047] – The attachment process may also involve spot gluing of the sensor electronics to the inner circular plastic piece.).
Therefore, claim 17 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 18, Realubit teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the first molding process is performed with a substantially transparent material (Par. [0042] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 is formed of plastic, including for example, resin, a medical grade polycarbonate, or any other type of synthetic material made from an organic polymer. Typically, the inner circular plastic piece is molded into the desired shape using techniques that are known in the field.), and wherein the second molding process is performed with a second material that is different from the substantially transparent material (Par. [0052] – After the inner circular plastic piece 104 is attached to the outer circular metal piece 102, in a next operation, the cavity that is formed between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece can be filled with an encapsulant (e.g., a plastic or resin). For example, an encapsulant in a fluid form is injected through a hole in either the inner circular plastic piece or the outer circular metal piece, or through a gap between the inner circular plastic piece and the outer circular metal piece, and allowed to cure within the cavity. The encapsulant may fill in open space in the cavity and harden directly around the electronic components in the cavity and at least partially against the inner surface of the outer circular metal piece and the outer surface of the inner circular plastic piece.).
Therefore, claim 18 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 19, Realubit teaches the method of claim 16, wherein (Fig. 1, # 104 – inner circular plastic piece, i.e. inner shell, 124, 138, 140; please see annotated Fig. 1 below) the inner surface of the inner shell comprises a curved region and one or more planar regions, wherein the plurality of apertures are disposed within the one or more planar regions (Par. [0037]; Par. [0039] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 may also include features such as bumps 138 and 140 that are formed to improve performance of the optical sensors).
Annotated Fig. 1
Therefore, claim 19 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 20, Realubit teaches the method of claim 19, wherein (Figs. 1 and 3, # 104, 110, 302) the printed circuit board is inserted into the housing (Par. [0047] – In a first operation as indicated by arrow 302, the sensor electronics 110 are attached to the inner circular plastic piece 104) such that (Fig. 1, # 110, 146 – flexible portions, i.e. curved portions) a curved portion of the printed circuit board is positioned within the wearable ring device proximate to the curved region of the inner shell (Par. [0040] – The PCB includes rigid portions 144 and flexible portions 146. Typically, electronic components are attached at the rigid portions of the PCB and the flexible portions of the PCB enable the PCB to be formed into a circular shape), and such that (Fig. 1, # 144 – rigid portions, i.e. planar portions) one or more planar portions of the printed circuit board are positioned within the wearable ring device proximate to the one or more planar regions of the inner shell, wherein the one or more light-transmitting components and the one or more light-receiving components are disposed on the printed circuit board within the one or more planar portions (Par. [0040] – The PCB includes rigid portions 144 and flexible portions 146. Typically, electronic components (i.e., various IC devices 152 including light sources/photodetectors) are attached at the rigid portions of the PCB and the flexible portions of the PCB enable the PCB to be formed into a circular shape).
Therefore, claim 20 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Regarding claim 21, Realubit teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, wherein (Fig. 1, # 104 – inner circular plastic piece, i.e. inner shell; 124 – inner surface, 138/140 – bumps, i.e. optical lenses and are indicative of apertures) the plurality of optical lenses at least partially cover the plurality of apertures and extend beyond the inner surface of the inner shell (Par. [0039] – the inner circular plastic piece 104 may also include features such as bumps 138 and 140 that are formed to improve performance of the optical sensors. For example, the bumps are formed of transparent plastic that improve optical coupling between the optical electronic components (e.g., the LEDs and the photodetectors) and the skin of a finger on which the ring is worn.; Par. [0087] – The inner circular plastic piece may include one or more raised portions, e.g., portions or “bumps” or “bubbles” that are raised above the inner smooth surface of the inner circular plastic piece. Such raised portions of the encapsulant may be formed to encapsulate larger components of the sensor electronics, to serve as a lens for light from an optical sensor, and/or to provide better contact between the plastic and the skin of the person wearing the device; Examiner notes that bumps 138/140 represent the optical lenses and also are indicative of the plurality of apertures (as indicated hereinabove in intervening claims). The bumps (i.e., raised portion above the inner smooth surface of the inner circular plastic piece) are indicative of and create apertures of the inner smooth surface underneath the bumps which the larger components of the sensor electronics are encapsulated within, according to Par. [0087]).
Therefore, claim 21 is unpatentable over Realubit, et al.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T. HOLTZCLAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796