This office action is in response to application filed 08/07/2024 in which the claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fadell et al. (US 2015/0156031 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fadell discloses a method for using a doorbell system (Fig. 1 teaches smart doorbells 106) to identify a first visitor (Para[0054] & Fig. 1 teaches smart doorbell 106 may control doorbell functionality, detect a person's approach), the doorbell system having a doorbell that comprises a camera and a button (Para[0204] & Fig. 1 teaches of visitor approaches the front door or rings the doorbell 106, the camera in the doorbell 106, para[0254], [0327] teaches the smart doorbell 106 includes a button 812), the method comprising: detecting, by the doorbell system, the first visitor (Para[0446] teaches visitor behavior may be detected); taking, by the camera, a first image of the first visitor (Para[0046] teaches one or more sensing components of doorbell 106 (e.g., a camera) or of entry detector 112 at door 186 may be operative to detect when a visitor); searching, by the doorbell system, an online social network that comprises a plurality of images having a second image (Para[0425] teaches Specific visitor identification/intent information detected (e.g., at step 2010 or initially at step 2002) may then be analyzed by platform 200 for more specifically identifying the visitor or its intent (e.g., by repeating step 2004).); comparing, by the doorbell system, the first image and the second image (Para[0425] teaches For example, platform 200 may be operative to analyze such detected visitor information by running any suitable facial detection or fingerprint or other biometric sensing algorithms or any other suitable entity identification algorithms or comparisons using any available databases or processing paradigms or extrinsic information, such as social network contact information of various entities known by the various occupants of environment 100 or known agent information of various business/emergency response entities or known sex offenders or criminals or missing person/pet identification databases of law enforcement agencies in order to detect or confirm the identity of the visitor); determining, by the doorbell system, an identity of the first visitor (Para[0465] teaches platform 200 may only require that the system user convey the name or even a nickname (e.g., "Uncle Nick") of the particular visitor, as platform 200 may already have access to at least some identification record data for an entity with that name that may have been previously associated with environment 100 in any suitable way (e.g., as a previously detected visitor at environment 100 or as a social connection to the system user on a social network with photographs or other identification made available to platform 200 (e.g., at social paradigm 310c), etc.), such that platform 200 may be automatically enabled to adequately confirm the identity of that named particular visitor when its presence may be detected at environment 100 for carrying out the accessibility setting made by the system user); and searching, by the doorbell system, a visitor database to determine whether the identity of the first visitor matches a known identity (Para[0471] teaches such a condition may include particular visitor identification information that must be satisfied for the mode setting to be active (e.g., detected visitor satisfies a particular facial detection operation, such that if the particular unique invitation identification information of that mode setting is detected at environment 100 when presented by a visitor whose face does not successfully match a particular facial detection operation (e.g., as may be detectable by a camera sensing component of doorbell 106 in combination with a facial recognition process that may compare detected visitor facial data with a photograph of the intended invitee that may be provided to platform 200 (e.g., by the system user) or otherwise accessible to platform 200 (e.g., via querying pictures of a social network database in conjunction with a name associated with the invitation, etc.) for defining such a condition of the defined mode setting) then the one or more associated platform actions of that mode setting may not be carried out by platform 200 (e.g., for ensuring that the invitee visitor to whom the smart invitation was sent is the actual visitor presenting the particular visitor identification information at environment 100)).
Regarding claim 2, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising determining a name associated with the second image based on information of the online social network, and associating, by the doorbell system, the name with the first visitor (Para[0465] teaches platform 200 may only require that the system user convey the name or even a nickname (e.g., "Uncle Nick") of the particular visitor, as platform 200 may already have access to at least some identification record data for an entity with that name that may have been previously associated with environment 100 in any suitable way (e.g., as a previously detected visitor at environment 100 or as a social connection to the system user on a social network with photographs or other identification made available to platform 200 (e.g., at social paradigm 310c), etc.), such that platform 200 may be automatically enabled to adequately confirm the identity of that named particular visitor when its presence may be detected at environment 100 for carrying out the accessibility setting made by the system user).
Regarding claim 3, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 2, further comprising sending an alert to a remote computing device, wherein the alert comprises the name and a third image, taken by the doorbell, of the first visitor (Para[0170] teaches the approaching individual's name and/or status as being a neighbor may be announced, a video of him approaching may be displayed, and/or his image (such as a photograph taken from his social networking account) may be displayed inside the smart-home environment 100).
Regarding claim 4, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 3, further comprising taking the first image at a first time, and taking the third image at a second time that is later than the first time (para[0458] teaches Platform 200 may be operative to monitor detected visitor identification data from all available data sources over time for tracking the path traveled by particular visitors and/or predicting a future path of such visitors).
Regarding claim 5, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising determining a social relationship between the first visitor and a user of a remote computing device to which the doorbell system is configured to send an alert in response to the doorbell detecting the first visitor (para[0119] teaches Extrinsic information 316 can be used to interpret data received from a network-connected smart device, .., to identify a social network or social-network information, to determine contact information of entities (e.g., public-service entities such as an emergency-response team, the police or a hospital) near the device, etc., & Para[0425] teaches platform 200 may be operative to analyze such detected visitor information by .. extrinsic information, such as social network contact information of various entities known by the various occupants of environment 100 para[0465] teaches or as a social connection to the system user on a social network with photographs or other identification made available to platform 200 (e.g., at social paradigm 310c), etc.) ).
Regarding claim 6, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein the doorbell is coupled to a building, the method further comprising granting the first visitor access to the building in response to the social relationship (Para[0414] teaches visitor to access at least a portion of environment 100 (e.g., unlocking of doorknob 122 of door 186 for enabling a visitor to enter structure 150). Such access may be granted based on analysis of visitor information revealing a trusted invitee (e.g., a guest to a party at a specifically designated time) or a trusted security service entity (e.g., a fireman during a detected emergency situation). The granted access may be limited in one or more ways based on the identity of the visitor and/or based on any other suitable data available for analysis. Various additional data may be leveraged during the analysis of any suitable detected visitor information, including data from a neighborhood security network of one or more additional smart environments associated (e.g., physically) with environment 100).
Regarding claim 7, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising determining the identity of the first visitor based on information from the online social network (para[0170] teaches the approaching individual's name and/or status as being a neighbor may be announced, a video of him approaching may be displayed, and/or his image (such as a photograph taken from his social networking account) may be displayed inside the smart-home environment 100).
Regarding claim 8, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the doorbell system searching the online social network, an identity of the first visitor by comparing a first trait of the first image to the plurality of images (Para[0254] teaches sensors at the smart doorbell 106 may identify the person based on facial recognition or based on other characteristics such as the manner in which the person approached the door); and determining, via facial recognition by the doorbell system, that the first visitor is shown in the second image (Para[0425] teaches For example, platform 200 may be operative to analyze such detected visitor information by running any suitable facial detection or fingerprint or other biometric sensing algorithms or any other suitable entity identification algorithms or comparisons using any available databases or processing paradigms or extrinsic information, such as social network contact information of various entities known by the various occupants of environment 100 or known agent information of various business/emergency response entities or known sex offenders or criminals or missing person/pet identification databases of law enforcement agencies in order to detect or confirm the identity of the visitor).
Regarding claim 10, Fadell discloses a doorbell system (Fig. 1 teaches smart doorbells 106) configured to identify a first visitor (Para[0054] & Fig. 1 teaches smart doorbell 106 may control doorbell functionality, detect a person's approach), the doorbell system comprising: a doorbell communicatively coupled with a remote computing device (para[0489] teaches For example, after initial detection of any visitor generally (e.g., at steps 2002/2004) and/or after detecting a specific act of a visitor (e.g., at step 2010), platform 200 may be operative to attempt to communicate any suitable information indicative of that detection to a system user (e.g., at step 2006 and/or step 2012), whether or not that system user is local to environment 100 (e.g., user UL via communication at a personal device 166 of the user and/or via communication at any suitable smart device of environment 100) or remote from environment 100 (e.g., user UR via communication at a personal device 166 of the user), an online social network, and a database (Para[0425] teaches For example, platform 200 may be operative to analyze such detected visitor information by running …extrinsic information, such as social network contact information of various entities known by the various occupants of environment 100 or known agent information of various business/emergency response entities or known sex offenders or criminals or missing person/pet identification databases of law enforcement agencies in order to detect or confirm the identity of the visitor) ; a first image taken by a camera of the doorbell (Para[0046] teaches one or more sensing components of doorbell 106 (e.g., a camera) or of entry detector 112 at door 186 may be operative to detect when a visitor); and a second image stored in at least one of the online social network and the database, wherein the first image and the second image are used to identify the first visitor (Para[0425] teaches Specific visitor identification/intent information detected (e.g., at step 2010 or initially at step 2002) may then be analyzed by platform 200 for more specifically identifying the visitor or its intent (e.g., by repeating step 2004). For example, platform 200 may be operative to analyze such detected visitor information by running any suitable facial detection or fingerprint or other biometric sensing algorithms or any other suitable entity identification algorithms or comparisons using any available databases or processing paradigms or extrinsic information, such as social network contact information of various entities known by the various occupants of environment 100 or known agent information of various business/emergency response entities or known sex offenders or criminals or missing person/pet identification databases of law enforcement agencies in order to detect or confirm the identity of the visitor) and the online social network and the database are used to identify a time the first visitor is scheduled to arrive at the doorbell system (para[0465] teaches For example, the system user may interact with any suitable user interface of any suitable environment smart device or user personal device for conveying to platform 200 the identity of the particular visitor to be granted access along with any suitable conditions for that access besides that visitor being detected at environment 100 (e.g., accessibility to be limited to only a portion of environment 100, accessibility to be granted only if the visitor is detected during a certain time (e.g., between 2:00 pm and 5:00 pm on Monday), etc.).
Regarding claim 11, Fadell discloses the doorbell system of Claim 10, further comprising an image comparison system configured to determine whether the first image taken by the doorbell and the second image of the online social network show the first visitor (Para[0471] teaches such a condition may include particular visitor identification information that must be satisfied for the mode setting to be active (e.g., detected visitor satisfies a particular facial detection operation, such that if the particular unique invitation identification information of that mode setting is detected at environment 100 when presented by a visitor whose face does not successfully match a particular facial detection operation (e.g., as may be detectable by a camera sensing component of doorbell 106 in combination with a facial recognition process that may compare detected visitor facial data with a photograph of the intended invitee that may be provided to platform 200 (e.g., by the system user) or otherwise accessible to platform 200 (e.g., via querying pictures of a social network database in conjunction with a name associated with the invitation, etc.) for defining such a condition of the defined mode setting) then the one or more associated platform actions of that mode setting may not be carried out by platform 200 (e.g., for ensuring that the invitee visitor to whom the smart invitation was sent is the actual visitor presenting the particular visitor identification information at environment 100)).
Regarding claim 12, Fadell discloses the doorbell system of Claim 11, further comprising an identity determined by the doorbell system searching the online social network and comparing a first trait of the first image to a plurality of images stored in the online social network (Para[0254] teaches sensors at the smart doorbell 106 may identify the person based on facial recognition or based on other characteristics such as the manner in which the person approached the door. Para[0418] teaches the presence may be initially determined when the analysis of the visitor information determines that the shape and/or motion and/or any other suitable characteristic of a potential visitor (e.g., generically or specifically) has been detected).
Regarding claim 13, Fadell discloses the doorbell system of Claim 12, further comprising a user interface of the remote computing device, wherein the user interface displays the identity of the first visitor in response to the image comparison system determining that the first image taken by the doorbell and the second image of the online social network show the first visitor (para[0426] teaches doorbell 106 and/or any other component of environment 100 and/or system 164 may be configured to confirm detection of an identity and/or intent of the visitor with a user of environment 100 (e.g., by communicating any suitable confirmation information to the user via any suitable smart device of environment 100 or personal device 166 of the user, similarly to any communication of step 2006). This may enable the visitor and/or the user to remain updated with respect to the current status of the handling of the visitor by platform 200), para[0465] teaches For example, the system user may interact with any suitable user interface of any suitable environment smart device or user personal device for conveying to platform 200 the identity of the particular visitor to be granted access along with any suitable conditions for that access besides that visitor being detected at environment 100 (e.g., accessibility to be limited to only a portion of environment 100, accessibility to be granted only if the visitor is detected during a certain time (e.g., between 2:00 pm and 5:00 pm on Monday), etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Fadell discloses a method for using a doorbell system (Fig. 1 teaches smart doorbells 106) to identify a visitor (Para[0054] & Fig. 1 teaches smart doorbell 106 may control doorbell functionality, detect a person's approach), the doorbell system comprising a doorbell, the doorbell comprising a camera and a button (Para[0204] & Fig. 1 teaches of visitor approaches the front door or rings the doorbell 106, the camera in the doorbell 106, para[0254], [0327] teaches the smart doorbell 106 includes a button 812), the method comprising: detecting, by the doorbell, the visitor (Para[0446] teaches visitor behavior may be detected ); taking, by the camera, a first image of the visitor (Para[0046] teaches one or more sensing components of doorbell 106 (e.g., a camera) or of entry detector 112 at door 186 may be operative to detect when a visitor); searching, by the doorbell system, a database (Para[0425] teaches Specific visitor identification/intent information detected (e.g., at step 2010 or initially at step 2002) may then be analyzed by platform 200 for more specifically identifying the visitor or its intent (e.g., by repeating step 2004). For example, platform 200 may be operative to analyze such detected visitor information by running any suitable facial detection or fingerprint or other biometric sensing algorithms or any other suitable entity identification algorithms or comparisons using any available databases or processing paradigms or extrinsic information, such as social network contact information of various entities known by the various occupants of environment 100 or known agent information of various business/emergency response entities or known sex offenders or criminals or missing person/pet identification databases of law enforcement agencies in order to detect or confirm the identity of the visitor); and determining, by the database, that the visitor is a scheduled visitor (para[0336] teaches defining a particular time during which the delivery should or should not be made to the location, and the like. Therefore, the status information that may be obtained by a facilitator (e.g., a deliverer at step 1908) may be indicative of the actual current status of a smart system entity (e.g., a smart environment 100 or user U) at that moment and/or of a future status of that smart system entity (e.g., during what future times environment 100 is expected to be occupied and during what future times environment 100 is expected to not be occupied, etc.), Para[0439] Platform 200 may be operative to remind system users of certain expected visitors in order to enable adjustment of certain mode settings. For example, platform 200 may leverage any suitable data, such as user calendar event data, deliverer entity business shipping schedule data, and the like to identify certain periods of time during which a visitor is expected at environment 100, and platform 200 may enable adjustment of certain mode settings for handling such visitors in advance of that mode being enabled for execution by platform 200).
Regarding claim 15, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising sending an alert to a remote computing device, wherein the alert comprises a visitor identity (Para[0170] teaches the approaching individual's name and/or status as being a neighbor may be announced, a video of him approaching may be displayed, and/or his image (such as a photograph taken from his social networking account) may be displayed inside the smart-home environment 100).
Regarding claim 16, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the doorbell system further comprises a remote computing device, the method further comprising: selecting, by the remote computing device, a first sound to be emitted by the doorbell in response to determining, by the database, that the visitor is a scheduled visitor (para[0336] teaches defining a particular time during which the delivery should or should not be made to the location, and the like. Therefore, the status information that may be obtained by a facilitator (e.g., a deliverer at step 1908) may be indicative of the actual current status of a smart system entity (e.g., a smart environment 100 or user U) at that moment and/or of a future status of that smart system entity (e.g., during what future times environment 100 is expected to be occupied and during what future times environment 100 is expected to not be occupied, etc.), para[0350], para[0431] teaches the type of such feedback may vary based on the identity and/or intent of the visitor as may be already determined by platform 200. For example, if the visitor has been determined to be somewhat trusted (e.g., a known acquaintance of a system user or a deliverer of a trusted delivery entity business, etc.), then pleasant hold music may be provided as such feedback, [0436] When any suitable level of clarity, confidence, accuracy, and/or specificity has been achieved by platform 200 with respect to the presence, identity, and/or intent of a detected visitor, such visitor identity and/or intent may be analyzed (e.g., at step 2004/2006) in conjunction with any other suitable data (e.g., occupancy data or availability data or settings of a mode of environment 100 or of a system user, inferences, rules, user input, neighboring smart environments, third party entities, time of day, etc.) and then various potential types of specific feedback may be provided to the visitor based on that analysis (e.g., at step 2008) and/or various functionalities of smart devices of environment 100 may be adjusted based on that analysis (e.g., at step 2005)); and selecting a second sound to be emitted by the doorbell in response to determining, by the database, that the visitor is a person other than a scheduled visitor, wherein the first sound is different from the second sound (para[0431] teaches if the identity of the visitor has not yet been determined or has been determined to be a stranger or otherwise suspect, then dog barking or other security-enhancing feedback may be provided, para[0432] teaches if the identity of the visitor has not yet been determined or has been determined to be a stranger or otherwise suspect, then an attempted communication may be carried out using a communication technique that may prompt a pet dog to bark loudly (e.g., emitting a high-pitched "dog whistle" type communication from an output component of a smart device of environment 100)).
Regarding claim 17, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 16, further comprising recording, by the remote computing device, the first sound ( Para[0431] teaches For example, if the visitor has been determined to be somewhat trusted (e.g., a known acquaintance of a system user or a deliverer of a trusted delivery entity business, etc.), then pleasant hold music may be provided as such feedback).
Regarding claim 18, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising sending an alert to a remote computing device (Para[0447] teaches an alarm or any other suitable message may be conveyed by platform 200 to .. (ii) to a system user (e.g., by personal device 166) for alerting the user of the detected suspicious behavior and/or (iii) to an appropriate trusted third party (e.g., law enforcement 222) for raising a threat level of environment 100).
Regarding claim 20, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising allowing the scheduled visitor access to a building to which the doorbell system is coupled (para[0358] teaches the feedback may include providing certain environment access to the deliverer, such as by opening door 186 by unlocking doorknob 122 for a certain amount of time (e.g., if deliverer DL is approved by system 164 as an expected and/or authorized deliverer (e.g., through analysis of a label ID), door 186 may be unlocked such that deliverer DL may be enabled to enter structure 150 for delivering package PL within structure 150). P0465] teaches For example, the system user may interact with any suitable user interface of any suitable environment smart device or user personal device for conveying to platform 200 the identity of the particular visitor to be granted access along with any suitable conditions for that access besides that visitor being detected at environment 100 (e.g., accessibility to be limited to only a portion of environment 100, accessibility to be granted only if the visitor is detected during a certain time (e.g., between 2:00 pm and 5:00 pm on Monday), etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadell et al. (US 2015/0156031 A1) in view of Elwell et al. (US 8,930,820 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 1, Fadell does not explicitly disclose wherein the online social network includes a scheduling function. However Elwell discloses wherein the online social network includes a scheduling function (col 1 lines 10-25 teaches the calendar server (100) includes functionality to identify and/or schedule an event in the user's calendar based on a single entry identified on a social networking website. and creating, in the calendar, an event scheduled to occur at the physical location and corresponding to the future calendar date). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method that is able to recognize the approaching individual and announce his presence based on social networking of Fadell with the method for maintaining a calendar of a user of Elwell in order to provide a system in which future date of the event is estimated based on data obtained from the social networking website, thus the user calendar is efficiently maintained and updated automatically.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fadell et al. (US 2015/0156031 A1) in view of Fu et al. (US 9,542,832 B1).
Regarding claim 19, Fadell discloses the method of Claim 18, Fadell does not explicitly disclose wherein the alert comprises a scheduling record including a time the visitor is scheduled to be in a neighborhood. However Fu discloses wherein the alert comprises a scheduling record including a time the visitor is scheduled to be in a neighborhood (col 10 lines 63-col 11 line 15 teaches the system 100 may send meta-data and/or a description of a recording from the smart camera 102 along with the alert. For example, the alert signal may be sent to the smart phone 110. The scale of urgency may be determined by the behavior of the visitors (e.g., the time of the visit, ,,, based on information from the database 114, based on the signal AUTH, etc.). For example, residents of the home arriving during an expected time frame may have a low scale of urgency rating (e.g., a rating of 1-5). In another example, solicitors arriving at the home during normal business hours may have a scale of urgency higher than a resident of the home). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method able to recognize the approaching individual and announce his presence based on social networking of Fadell with the method allowing users to quickly see if a visitor is tagged as suspicious or friendly by another member of the neighbourhood in order to provide a system in which facilitating crime prevention and verification using communication channels.
Conclusion
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425