DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 8/7/2024.
Claims 1-5, 7-12, & 14-19 have been examined and are rejected. Claims 6, 13, & 20 have been examined and are objected to.
Priority
This application claims priority to provisional application 63/610,358 filed 12/14/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/7/2024 and 3/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 13, & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bakken (US 2024/0267118 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Bakken teaches:
An apparatus comprising: a memory; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the processor configured to:
generate a first message comprising a first portion that signals a first backscatter device that a second portion of the first message following the first portion is intended for the first backscatter device; and transmit the first message; (the transmitting device is configured to modify the data packet to include an address sequence at the start of the constant tone extension, preceding the constant tone portion [Bakken: 0028], wherein the backscatter enabled device may only backscatter the received signal in the event that the address sequence sent as part of the data packet CTE corresponds to an ID of the backscatter enabled device itself [Bakken: 0068]).
With regard to Claim 3, Bakken teaches:
The apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the second portion comprises a plurality of bits and wherein the first portion signals to the first backscatter device that the first backscatter device is allowed to modulate the plurality of bits with data; (a portion of the constant frequency portion of the signal comprises a plurality of bits that can be used to send data [Bakken: 0067], wherein the backscatter device then recognises the address sequence and responds by modulating the rest of the CTE and transmitting the modulated signal back to the sending device [Bakken: 0068-70]).
With regard to Claims 8, 10, 15, & 17, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 1 & 3 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 8, 10, 15, & 17 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 1 & 3.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 16, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakken (US 2024/0267118 A1) in view of Mahalingam et al. (US 2024/0106532 A1).
With regard to Claim 2, Bakken teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the second portion comprises silence and wherein the first portion signals to the first backscatter device that the first backscatter device is allowed to transmit a message during the silence.
In a similar field of endeavor involving selective backscattering, Mahalingam discloses:
wherein the second portion comprises silence and wherein the first portion signals to the first backscatter device that the first backscatter device is allowed to transmit a message during the silence; (the BID message includes an indication of the duration of the backscattering opportunity, wherein the Backscatter STA detects the CTS-to-self message transmitted by the serving AP indicating availability of a dedicated backscattering opportunity [Mahalingam: 0145-46; 0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakken in view of Mahalingam in order to indicate that the first backscatter device is allowed to transmit a message during the silence in the system of Bakken.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Bakken with Mahalingam as doing so would allow the AP to restrict the BID message and signal only as many BSTA identities and/or only as long a duration as will achieve the desired amount of contention [Mahalingam: 0112].
With regard to Claim 5, Bakken teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a second message prior to transmitting the first message and wherein the first message is separated from the second message by a short interframe space.
In a similar field of endeavor involving selective backscattering, Mahalingam discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a second message prior to transmitting the first message and wherein the first message is separated from the second message by a short interframe space; (the AP transmits the CTS-to-self message shown, and the BSTAs monitor for backscattering opportunities by monitoring for a BID, e.g., after a SIFS, wherein the BIDA message may be followed by a short inter-frame space (SIFS) duration [Mahalingam: 0143-45; 0116; 0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakken in view of Mahalingam in order to utilize a short interframe space in the system of Bakken.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Bakken with Mahalingam as doing so would utilize a predictable separating time period between messages that would facilitate reception of the message by the backscatter device.
With regard to Claim 7, Bakken teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the processor is further configured to generate a schedule for transmissions of the first backscatter device based on a buffer status report from the first backscatter device and wherein the first message is generated based on the schedule.
In a similar field of endeavor involving selective backscattering, Mahalingam discloses:
wherein the processor is further configured to generate a schedule for transmissions of the first backscatter device based on a buffer status report from the first backscatter device and wherein the first message is generated based on the schedule; (after the BSR has been received from the BSTAs, the AP determines the identities of STAs that have UL transmissions to transmit, and matches those opportunities and resource requirement with BSR requirements received from BSTAs [Mahalingam: 0175]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakken in view of Mahalingam in order to schedule backscatter devices based on buffer status reports in the system of Bakken.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Bakken with Mahalingam as doing so would allow backscatter devices with a greater need to transmit to receive a transmission opportunity.
With regard to Claims 9, 12, 14, 16, & 19, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claims 2, 5, & 7 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claims. Accordingly, claims 9, 12, 14, 16, & 19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 2, 5, & 7.
Claims 4, 11, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakken (US 2024/0267118 A1) in view of He et al. (US 2025/0016825 A1).
With regard to Claim 4, Bakken teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, but does not teach:
wherein the first portion is a preamble of the first message.
In a similar field of endeavor involving a zero-power device generating a backscatter signal, He discloses:
wherein the first portion is a preamble of the first message; (transmitting, by an access point device, a first signal portion including a first preamble signal, wherein the zero-power device performs backscattering based on the received first signal portion, such that a backscatter signal of the zero-power device also includes a preamble signal, and thus a non-zero-power device (e.g., a conventional Wi-Fi device) detects that the zero-power device is using the channel based on that preamble signal [He: 0153; 0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakken in view of He in order to utilize a preamble as a first signal portion in the system of Bakken.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Bakken with He as doing so would promote efficiency by allowing the low-power backscatter device to determine whether the transmitted message is intended for it without having to process the remainder of the packet.
With regard to Claims 11 & 18, they appear substantially similar to the limitations recited by claim 4 and consequently do not appear to teach or further define over the citations provided for said claim. Accordingly, claims 11 & 18 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Karimaruthumkal (US 2021/0368439 A1) which teaches a backscattering device may receive a wake up radio (WUR) trigger packet from an access point (AP) indicating one or more parameters for backscattering transmission.
In the case of amendments, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/AUSTIN J MOREAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417