DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rane et al (US20160348252) in view of Tang et al (US20170181292).
Rane, paragraphs 7-13 of the PGPUB, teaches an aqueous system comprising a compound of formula (I),
wherein each X is the same or different, and is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, C1-C16 alkyl, aryl, C2-C16 alkenyl, C2-C16 alkynyl, heteroaryl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, benzyl, alkylheteroaryl, halogen, halosubstituted alkyl, amino, aminoalkyl, cyano, alkoxy, hydroxyl, thiol, alkylthio, carbonyl, nitro, phosphoryl, phosphonyl, and sulfonyl;
Y is selected from the group consisting of hydroxyl, halogen, oxo, alkoxy, thiol, alkylthio, amino, hydrogen, and aminoalkyl;
Z is selected from the group consisting of carbon and nitrogen;
R1 is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, deuterium, C1-C16 alkyl, aryl, C2-C16 alkenyl, C2-C16 alkynyl, heteroaryl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, benzyl, alkylheteroaryl, halogen, hydroxyl, and carbonyl;
R2 are R3 are selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, halogen, hydroxyl, aryl, phenyl, heteroaryl, benzyl, alkylheteroaryl, carbonyl, C2-C16 alkenyl, C2-C16 alkynyl, C3-C5 cycloalkyl, and C1-C16 alkyl; and
m is 1, 2, 3, or 4; or
Rane, paragraphs 15-19 of the PGPUB, teaches the aqueous system a compound of formula (II),
wherein each of X and Y is the same or different, and is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, C1-C16 alkyl, aryl, C2-C16 alkenyl, C2-C16 alkynyl, heteroaryl, C3-C5 cycloalkyl, benzyl, alkylheteroaryl, halogen, halosubstituted alkyl, amino, aminoalkyl, cyano, alkoxy, hydroxyl, thiol, alkylthio, carbonyl, nitro, phosphoryl, phosphonyl, and sulfonyl;
R is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen, deuterium, C1-C16 alkyl, aryl, C2-C16 alkenyl, C2-C16 alkynyl, heteroaryl, C3-C8 cycloalkyl, benzyl, alkylheteroaryl, halogen, hydroxyl, and carbonyl;
m is 1, 2, 3, or 4; and
n is 1, 2, 3, or 4; or
Rane, paragraph 146 of the PGPUB, teaches a compound of formula (I) or (II) can be added to an aqueous system alone or in combination with other corrosion inhibitors or treatment chemicals. The compounds of formulae (I) and (II) also can be added to an aqueous system in combination with a variety of additional additives, such as treatment polymers, anti-microbial agents, anti-scaling agents, colorants, fillers, buffers, surfactants, viscosity modifiers, chelating agents, dispersants, deodorants, masking agents, oxygen scavengers, and indicator dyes.
Although Rane teaches chelating agents, Rane does not teach specific chelating agents.
Tang, paragraph 51 of the PGPUB, teaches a continuous and substantially uniform organic film on nickel or nickel alloy surfaces. The film has good anticorrosion properties and thermal stability and retains solderability of nickel and nickel alloy surfaces even after multiple heat cycles.
Tang, paragraph 47 of the PGPUB, teaches complexing or chelating agents can be included in the composition. Conventional complexing or chelating may be used. Such complexing or chelating agents include, but are not limited to, polyamines.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a polyamine as a chelating agent as taught by Tang as the additional additive as taught by Rane as polyamines are a common chelating agent used in corrosion inhibiting compositions.
Regarding claim 2, Rane teaches X and R1 are both a hydrogen as claimed in claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Rane, paragraph 79 of the PGPUB, teaches the compound of formula (I) is
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rane et al (US20160348252) in view of Tang et al (US20170181292) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Sotoudeh et al (20100178197).
Although the references teach polyamines, the references do not teach specific polyamines.
Sotoudeh, paragraph 14 of the PGPUB, teaches a synergistic blend and preferably comprises from about 0 to about 10 weight percent of a first compound and from about 10 to about 90 weight percent of a second compound. The first compound is of the formula [R]2N—R1X-N[R]2 and the second compound being at least one benzotriazole.
Sotoudeh, paragraph 53 of the PGPUB, teaches the composition of White Rust Reducer 1 was a mixture of 6.25 weight percent polyoxy(methyl) 1.2, ethandiy, alpha-(2-aminomethyl(ethyl)-omega-(2-amino methyl ethoxy) (CAS #9046-10-0) functionalized with 1.2 propanediol, 3-chloro (CAS #96-24-2) and 56.25 weight per cent tolyltriazole.
Sotoudeh, paragraph 53 of the PGPUB, teaches “Benzotriazoles' as used herein refers to a class of compounds having the benzotriazole skeleton.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a mixture of 6.25 weight percent polyoxy(methyl) 1.2, ethandiy, alpha-(2-aminomethyl(ethyl)-omega-(2-amino methyl ethoxy) (CAS #9046-10-0) functionalized with 1.2 propanediol, 3-chloro (CAS #96-24-2) as taught by Sotoudeh into the composition as taught by the references above as this is one common polyamine used in the corrosion inhibiting compositions to reduce white rust.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US5198482 teaches corrosion inhibiting coating compositions.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 8/13/26