DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach on the amendment “communicating the request to the local client using a dynamic virtual channel between the remote client and local client, the dynamic virtual channel providing a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client;”.
In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. The amendment to the claim changes the scope of the invention. An updated search was conducted and an prior art was discovered to read on the amendment above: WO 2024046143 A1 Liu, a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as English translation.
Although the argument is persuasive, Lejin still teaches on most of the limitations of the independent claims. Lejin teaches on local and remote settings and displaying both settings on a user interface ([0017]-[0021]). However, Lejin is silent that the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client.
Liu teaches that the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client. See Liu, [0149] After receiving the configuration information of the smart device 202, the hub device 201 invokes, based on the device identifier of the smart device 202, the secure communication channel that is established between the hub device 201 and the smart device 202 in S310, and sends the configuration information of the smart device 202 to the smart device 202. [0150] In S360, because the secure communication channel used to send the configuration information is established in S310, the hub device 201 does not need to re-establish a secure communication channel.
It would have been obvious to modify Lejin per the teachings of Liu as it would allow the modified system to provide configuration efficiency, see Liu, [0009] … saves establishment time of the secure communication channel, shortens waiting time for sending the configuration information, and improves configuration efficiency.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach on the amendment “causing display of the local setting on a blended remote-local settings interface that integrates a remote setting of the remote client and the local setting retrieved from the local client into a unified interface.”
In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Lejin teaches on displaying blended remote-local settings in a unified interface. These elements are broadly recited as the claim elements are not further limited or defined. Lejin teaches that the remote and local settings are displayed together (integrated) on the unified interface (together on the display).
Lejin teaches causing display of the local setting on a blended remote-local settings interface that integrates a remote setting of the remote client and the local setting retrieved from the local client into a unified interface. See Lejin, [0017] the client application 108 may be utilized to access or otherwise initiate an instance of the configuration web application 116 hosted by the networking device 102, where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102.
Please see updated rejection below:
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0308442 Al (Lejin) in view of WO 2024046143 A1 (a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as english translation) (Liu).
Claim(s) 5, 9, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0308442 Al (Lejin) in view of WO 2024046143 A1 (a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as english translation) (Liu) further in view of US 20190278665 A1 (Raghuram).
Claim(s) 6, 13, 15-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0308442 Al (Lejin) in view of WO 2024046143 A1 (a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as english translation) (Liu) further in view of US 2017/0359555 A1 (Irani).
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0308442 Al (Lejin) in view of WO 2024046143 A1 (a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as english translation) (Liu) further in view of US 9614685 B2 (Lehtovirta).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 11, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0308442 Al (Lejin) in view of WO 2024046143 A1 (a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as English translation) (Liu).
Regarding Claim 1:
Lejin teaches A computerized system (Fig 1, system 100) comprising: one or more computer processors; and computer memory storing computer-useable instructions that, when used by the one or more computer processors, cause the one or more computer processors to perform operations, ([0036] an electronic device may include a set of one or more processors coupled to one or more machine-readable storage media. [0038] Software instructions are capable of causing a set of processors to perform operations when the instructions are executed by the set of processors.) the operations comprising:
accessing, at a remote client (ie. client device 106), an indication (ie. request from user/client device) to initiate settings configuration on the remote client; ([0017] The illustrated client device 106 executes or otherwise supports a client application 108 that communicates with the web server functionality provided by the processing system 112 at the networking device 102 using a networking protocol.)
based on the indication (ie. request from user/client device), generating a request (ie. obtain/retrieve using generated SQL statements) for a local setting of a local client (ie. networking device, multi-tenant databases) associated with the remote client; ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.). [0048] The user devices 680A-680S communicate with the server(s) of system 640 to request and update tenant-level data and system-level data hosted by system 640, and in response the system 640 ( e.g., one or more servers in system 640) automatically may generate one or more Structured Query Language (SQL) statements (e.g., one or more SQL queries) that are designed to access the desired information from the multi-tenant database(s) 646 and/or system data storage 650.)
communicating the request (ie. obtain/retrieve using generated SQL statements) to the local client using a dynamic virtual channel between the remote client and local client, ([0041] the electronic devices implementing the clients and the configuration management service would be communicatively coupled (e.g., by a network) and would establish between them ( or through one or more other layers and/or or other services) connections for submitting requests to the Configuration management service. [0042] virtualization layer.)
based on communicating the request, retrieving the local setting of the local client; ([0021] In response to receiving a request from a user of the client device 106 to view or otherwise access one or more web page GUI displays associated with the configuration web application 116, the configuration manager 122 retrieves or otherwise obtains the local resources 120 associated with the one or more web page GUI displays of the configuration web application 116 and then calculates or otherwise determines a current representative value for the local resources 120 that reflects the current state of the local resources 120.)
and causing display of the local setting on a blended remote-local settings interface that integrates a remote setting of the remote client and the local setting retrieved from the local client into a unified interface. ([0017] the client application 108 may be utilized to access or otherwise initiate an instance of the configuration web application 116 hosted by the networking device 102, where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102.)
Lejin teaches on local and remote settings and displaying both settings on a user interface ([0017]-[0021]). However, Lejin is silent that the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client.
Liu teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on methods for configuring smart devices, [0004]-[0008].
Liu teaches that the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client. ([0149] After receiving the configuration information of the smart device 202, the hub device 201 invokes, based on the device identifier of the smart device 202, the secure communication channel that is established between the hub device 201 and the smart device 202 in S310, and sends the configuration information of the smart device 202 to the smart device 202. [0150] In S360, because the secure communication channel used to send the configuration information is established in S310, the hub device 201 does not need to re-establish a secure communication channel.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Lejin per Liu to include that the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide configuration efficiency, see Liu, [0009] … saves establishment time of the secure communication channel, shortens waiting time for sending the configuration information, and improves configuration efficiency.
Regarding Claim 11: {specification: [0091] Computer storage media excludes signals per se.}
Lejin teaches One or more computer-storage media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed by a computing system having a processor and memory, cause the processor to perform operations ([0036] an electronic device may include a set of one or more processors coupled to one or more machine-readable storage media. [0038] Software instructions are capable of causing a set of processors to perform operations when the instructions are executed by the set of processors.), the operations comprising:
accessing, at a local client, a request from a remote client for a local setting of the local client, ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.))
wherein the request is accessed via a dynamic virtual channel between the remote client and local client, ([0041] the electronic devices implementing the clients and the configuration management service would be communicatively coupled (e.g., by a network) and would establish between them ( or through one or more other layers and/or or other services) connections for submitting requests to the Configuration management service. [0042] virtualization layer.)
using a blended remote-local settings management engine client, retrieving the local setting, wherein the blended remote-local settings management engine client is integrated with a plurality of setting controllers to support executing requests from remote clients for local settings of local clients; ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.). [0015] FIG. 1, the networking device 102 generally includes a processing system 112, which may be implemented using any suitable processing system and/or device, such as, for example, one or more processors, central processing units (CPUs), controllers, microprocessors, microcontrollers. The networking device 102 generally includes one or more communications interfaces, which include any number of wired network interface controllers (e.g., an Ethernet adapter).)
and communicating the local setting to the remote client to cause display of the local setting on a blended remote-local stings interface that integrates a remote setting of the remote client and the local setting retrieved from the local client into a unified interface, the local setting is communicated via the dynamic virtual channel. ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.))
Lejin teaches on local and remote settings and displaying both settings on a user interface ([0017]-[0021]). However, Lejin is silent that the dynamic virtual channel providing a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client.
Liu teaches that the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client. ([0149] After receiving the configuration information of the smart device 202, the hub device 201 invokes, based on the device identifier of the smart device 202, the secure communication channel that is established between the hub device 201 and the smart device 202 in S310, and sends the configuration information of the smart device 202 to the smart device 202. [0150] In S360, because the secure communication channel used to send the configuration information is established in S310, the hub device 201 does not need to re-establish a secure communication channel.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Lejin per Liu to include that the dynamic virtual channel providing a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide configuration efficiency, see Liu, [0009] … saves establishment time of the secure communication channel, shortens waiting time for sending the configuration information, and improves configuration efficiency.
Regarding Claim 17:
Lejin teaches A computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
accessing, at a remote client, an indication (ie. request from user/client device) to initiate settings configuration on the remote client; ([0017] The illustrated client device 106 executes or otherwise supports a client application 108 that communicates with the web server functionality provided by the processing system 112 at the networking device 102 using a networking protocol.)
based on the indication (ie. request from user/client device), generating a request (ie. obtain/retrieve using generated SQL statements) for a local setting of a local client (ie. networking device, multi-tenant databases); ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.). [0048] The user devices 680A-680S communicate with the server(s) of system 640 to request and update tenant-level data and system-level data hosted by system 640, and in response the system 640 ( e.g., one or more servers in system 640) automatically may generate one or more Structured Query Language (SQL) statements (e.g., one or more SQL queries) that are designed to access the desired information from the multi-tenant database(s) 646 and/or system data storage 650.)
communicating the request (ie. obtain/retrieve using generated SQL statements) to the local client using a dynamic virtual channel between the remote client and local client, the dynamic virtual channel providing a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client; ([0041] the electronic devices implementing the clients and the configuration management service would be communicatively coupled (e.g., by a network) and would establish between them ( or through one or more other layers and/or or other services) connections for submitting requests to the Configuration management service. [0042] virtualization layer.)
based on communicating the request, retrieving the local setting of the local client and one or more selectable alternative local settings; ([0021] In response to receiving a request from a user of the client device 106 to view or otherwise access one or more web page GUI displays associated with the configuration web application 116, the configuration manager 122 retrieves or otherwise obtains the local resources 120 associated with the one or more web page GUI displays of the configuration web application 116 and then calculates or otherwise determines a current representative value for the local resources 120 that reflects the current state of the local resources 120. Fig. 2 shows multiple local settings to select/configure.)
causing display of the local setting and the one or more selectable alternative local settings on a blended remote-local settings interface that integrates a remote setting of the remote client and the local setting retrieved from the local client into a unified interface; ([0017] the client application 108 may be utilized to access or otherwise initiate an instance of the configuration web application 116 hosted by the networking device 102, where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102.)
receiving a selected alternative local setting from the one or more selectable alternative local settings (ie. input values); ([0024] FIG. 2, the valid configuration web page GUI display 200 includes GUI elements 202, 204, 206 that allow the user to manually input values or otherwise modify values for one or more parameters of the device settings data 126 utilized by network management functionality of the networking device 102 along with a selectable GUI element 208 that invokes or otherwise initiates one or more APIs included in the code 118 associated with the configuration web application 116 to update the device settings data 126 to reflect the user-configured values indicated by the GUI elements 202, 204, 206 ( e.g., to save the user-configured values).)
and communicating (ie. transmit), to the local client, a request (ie. provide user-configured values) to configure the local client based on the selected alternative local setting. ([0033] The user of the client device 106 may manipulate the GUI elements (e.g., GUI elements 202, 204, 206, 208, 210) of the configuration web page GUI display to input or otherwise modify values for one or more parameters, variables or other settings of the networking device 102 and then transmit or otherwise provide 516 the user-configured values to the configuration web application 116 (e.g., by the user selecting the SAVE button 208), which, in turn, causes the configuration web application 116 to invoke or otherwise trigger one or more APIs or other code 118 associated with the configuration web application 116 to update, save or otherwise modify 518 the device settings data 126 in the configuration database 124 to reflect the user-configured values.))
Lejin teaches on local and remote settings and displaying both settings on a user interface ([0017]-[0021]). However, Lejin is silent that the dynamic virtual channel providing a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client.
Liu teaches that the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client. ([0149] After receiving the configuration information of the smart device 202, the hub device 201 invokes, based on the device identifier of the smart device 202, the secure communication channel that is established between the hub device 201 and the smart device 202 in S310, and sends the configuration information of the smart device 202 to the smart device 202. [0150] In S360, because the secure communication channel used to send the configuration information is established in S310, the hub device 201 does not need to re-establish a secure communication channel.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify Lejin per Liu to include that the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for transmitting blended remote-local settings management data between the remote client and the local client. It would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to provide configuration efficiency, see Liu, [0009] … saves establishment time of the secure communication channel, shortens waiting time for sending the configuration information, and improves configuration efficiency.
Regarding Claim 2:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches wherein the indication is processed using a blended remote-local settings management engine (ie. configuration web application 116) comprising a shared extension-based framework (ie. plug-in, add-in), ([0016] FIG. 1 depicts the configuration web application 116 and the configuration manager 122 as separate or distinct components, in practice, the configuration manager 122 may be integrated, incorporated, or otherwise combined with the configuration web application 116 (e.g., as a plug-in or add-in to existing software for the web server that provides the configuration web application 116). [0017] The illustrated client device 106 executes or otherwise supports a client application 108 that communicates with the web server functionality provided by the processing system 112 at the networking device 102 using a networking protocol.)
including a custom settings handler (ie. configuration manager 122, configuration management service) and a custom settings view model (ie. GUI view of client application 108) associated with a plurality of settings controllers ([0015] plurality of controllers on networking device 102). ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.).)
Regarding Claim 3:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches wherein the indication is processed using a blended remote-local settings management engine (ie. configuration web application 116) connecting to a local endpoint (ie. interface) on the local client (ie. networking device 102) associated with a plurality of setting controllers on the local client ([0015] plurality of controllers on networking device 102). ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.). [0015] FIG. 1, in practice, the networking device 102 generally includes one or more communications interfaces, which include any number of transmitters, receiver, transceivers, wired network interface controllers (e.g., an Ethernet adapter), wireless adapters or another suitable network interface that supports communications to/from the networks 110, 130. [0017] The illustrated client device 106 executes or otherwise supports a client application 108 that communicates with the web server functionality provided by the processing system 112 at the networking device 102 using a networking protocol.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches wherein the request for the local setting of the local client comprises a property logic for getting and setting local settings values. ([0017] The illustrated client device 106 executes or otherwise supports a client application 108 that communicates with the web server functionality provided by the processing system 112 at the networking device 102 using a networking protocol. The client application 108 may be utilized to access or otherwise initiate an instance of the configuration web application 116 hosted by the networking device 102, where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102.)
Regarding Claim 7:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches wherein the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for pass-through settings data configuration in real-time between the local client to the remote client. ([0026] When the representative hash value determined based on the current, real-time state of the local resources 120 matches the validated reference hash value, the configuration manager 122 enables the configuration web application 116 to generate the valid configuration web page GUI display 200 within the browser application 108 at the client device 106 based on the current state of the local resources 120 at the networking device 102. [0041] the electronic devices implementing the clients and the configuration management service would be communicatively coupled (e.g., by a network) and would establish between them ( or through one or more other layers and/or or other services) connections for submitting requests to the Configuration management service. [0042] virtualization layer.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches on the operations further comprising: causing display of the one or more selectable alternative local settings of the local client on the blended remote-local settings interface; ([0017] the client application 108 may be utilized to access or otherwise initiate an instance of the configuration web application 116 hosted by the networking device 102, where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102.)
receiving a selected alternative local setting from the one or more selectable alternative local settings (ie. input values); ([0024] FIG. 2, the valid configuration web page GUI display 200 includes GUI elements 202, 204, 206 that allow the user to manually input values or otherwise modify values for one or more parameters of the device settings data 126 utilized by network management functionality of the networking device 102 along with a selectable GUI element 208 that invokes or otherwise initiates one or more APIs included in the code 118 associated with the configuration web application 116 to update the device settings data 126 to reflect the user-configured values indicated by the GUI elements 202, 204, 206 ( e.g., to save the user-configured values).)
and communicating (ie. transmit), to the local client, a request (ie. provide user-configured values) to configure the local client based on the selected alternative local setting. ([0033] The user of the client device 106 may manipulate the GUI elements (e.g., GUI elements 202, 204, 206, 208, 210) of the configuration web page GUI display to input or otherwise modify values for one or more parameters, variables or other settings of the networking device 102 and then transmit or otherwise provide 516 the user-configured values to the configuration web application 116 (e.g., by the user selecting the SAVE button 208), which, in turn, causes the configuration web application 116 to invoke or otherwise trigger one or more APIs or other code 118 associated with the configuration web application 116 to update, save or otherwise modify 518 the device settings data 126 in the configuration database 124 to reflect the user-configured values.))
Regarding Claim 18:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 17 as described.
Lejin teaches wherein the indication is processed using a blended remote-local settings management engine (ie. configuration web application 116) comprising a shared extension-based framework (ie. plug-in, add-in), ([0016] FIG. 1 depicts the configuration web application 116 and the configuration manager 122 as separate or distinct components, in practice, the configuration manager 122 may be integrated, incorporated, or otherwise combined with the configuration web application 116 (e.g., as a plug-in or add-in to existing software for the web server that provides the configuration web application 116). [0017] The illustrated client device 106 executes or otherwise supports a client application 108 that communicates with the web server functionality provided by the processing system 112 at the networking device 102 using a networking protocol.)
comprising a custom settings handler (ie. configuration manager 122, configuration management service) and a custom settings view model (ie. GUI view of client application 108) associated with a plurality of settings controllers ([0015] plurality of controllers on networking device 102). ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.).)
Regarding Claim 19:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 17 as described.
Lejin teaches wherein the dynamic virtual channel provides a dedicated path for pass-through settings data configuration in real-time between the local client to the remote client. ([0026] When the representative hash value determined based on the current, real-time state of the local resources 120 matches the validated reference hash value, the configuration manager 122 enables the configuration web application 116 to generate the valid configuration web page GUI display 200 within the browser application 108 at the client device 106 based on the current state of the local resources 120 at the networking device 102. [0041] the electronic devices implementing the clients and the configuration management service would be communicatively coupled (e.g., by a network) and would establish between them ( or through one or more other layers and/or or other services) connections for submitting requests to the Configuration management service. [0042] virtualization layer.)
Claim(s) 5, 9, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0308442 Al (Lejin) in view of WO 2024046143 A1 (a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as English translation) (Liu) further in view of US 20190278665 A1 (Raghuram).
Regarding Claim 5:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches further comprising a blended remote-local settings management engine client configured to: ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.). [0015] FIG. 1, the networking device 102 generally includes a processing system 112, which may be implemented using any suitable processing system and/or device, such as, for example, one or more processors, central processing units (CPUs), controllers, microprocessors, microcontrollers. The networking device 102 generally includes one or more communications interfaces, which include any number of wired network interface controllers (e.g., an Ethernet adapter).)
based on executing the request, retrieve blended remote-local settings management data comprising the local setting; ([0021] In response to receiving a request from a user of the client device 106 to view or otherwise access one or more web page GUI displays associated with the configuration web application 116, the configuration manager 122 retrieves or otherwise obtains the local resources 120 associated with the one or more web page GUI displays of the configuration web application 116 and then calculates or otherwise determines a current representative value for the local resources 120 that reflects the current state of the local resources 120. Fig. 2 shows multiple local settings to select/configure.)
and communicate the blended remote-local settings management data. ([0033] The user of the client device 106 may manipulate the GUI elements (e.g., GUI elements 202, 204, 206, 208, 210) of the configuration web page GUI display to input or otherwise modify values for one or more parameters, variables or other settings of the networking device 102 and then transmit or otherwise provide 516 the user-configured values to the configuration web application 116 (e.g., by the user selecting the SAVE button 208), which, in turn, causes the configuration web application 116 to invoke or otherwise trigger one or more APIs or other code 118 associated with the configuration web application 116 to update, save or otherwise modify 518 the device settings data 126 in the configuration database 124 to reflect the user-configured values.))
Lejin teaches on a plurality of controllers associated with the local client ([0015]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on select a settings controller associated with the request.
Raghuram teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on a load control system enabled to control electrical loads based on commands communicated between control devices ( e.g., control-source devices and control-target devices), [0034].
Raghuram also teaches select a settings controller associated with the request. ([0211][0212] The network device may be configured to display a "system controller selection" screen 1400 (e.g., a hub selection screen) as shown in FIG. 14A (one will recognize that the phrase "system controller selection" screen is used herein for description purposes only and other terms and/or phrases may be used to refer to this screen). The load control environment may include multiple system controllers (e.g., such as multiples of the system controller 160 shown in FIG. 1). The system controller selection screen 1400 may display a list 1402 of indications of system controllers 1404 (e.g., hub devices) to which the network device may connect to in order to monitor, control, and adjust the configuration of the control devices in the load control environment.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Raghuram to include select a settings controller associated with the request. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide further organization by providing different controllers based on type of connected device components as this would allow the user to save configurations on a more detailed level.
Regarding Claim 9:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches a second([0017] where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102. Also see [0022], [0025]-[0026].)
Lejin teaches on configuration of local device settings ([0013][0017]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on wherein the blended remote-local settings interface supports a plurality of display modes: a first display mode that causes display of remote settings only; a second display mode that causes display of local settings only; and a third display mode that causes display of both remote settings and local settings.
Raghuram teaches wherein the blended remote-local settings interface supports a plurality of display modes: a first display mode that causes display of remote settings only; ([0213] Upon detecting that one of the system controllers 1404 from the list 1402 on the system controller selection screen 1400 is selected by a user (such as the "2nd Floor system controller"), the network device may connect to the selected system controller (if not already connected) and display a "home dashboard" screen 1410 for the selected system controller as shown in FIG. 14B.)
a second display mode that causes display of local settings only; ([0215] Upon detecting a selection of one of the rooms/areas 1424 from the list 1422 on the rooms/areas screen 1420 (such as "Conference Room 2C"), the network device may display a "room dashboard" screen 1430 for the selected room/area as shown in FIG. 14D.)
and a third display mode that causes display of both remote settings and local settings. ([0211][0212] The network device may be configured to display a "system controller selection" screen 1400 (e.g., a hub selection screen) as shown in FIG. 14A (one will recognize that the phrase "system controller selection" screen is used herein for description purposes only and other terms and/or phrases may be used to refer to this screen). The load control environment may include multiple system controllers (e.g., such as multiples of the system controller 160 shown in FIG. 1). The system controller selection screen 1400 may display a list 1402 of indications of system controllers 1404 (e.g., hub devices) to which the network device may connect to in order to monitor, control, and adjust the configuration of the control devices in the load control environment.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Raghuram to include wherein the blended remote-local settings interface supports a plurality of display modes: a first display mode that causes display of remote settings only; a second display mode that causes display of local settings only; and a third display mode that causes display of both remote settings and local settings. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide flexible viewing ability, allowing viewing of multiple device settings configuration simultaneously which provides comparison capabilities.
Regarding Claim 14:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 11 as described.
Lejin teaches the operations further comprising: ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.). [0015] FIG. 1, the networking device 102 generally includes a processing system 112, which may be implemented using any suitable processing system and/or device, such as, for example, one or more processors, central processing units (CPUs), controllers, microprocessors, microcontrollers. The networking device 102 generally includes one or more communications interfaces, which include any number of wired network interface controllers (e.g., an Ethernet adapter).)
and based on executing the request, retrieving blended remote-local settings management data comprising the local setting. ([0021] In response to receiving a request from a user of the client device 106 to view or otherwise access one or more web page GUI displays associated with the configuration web application 116, the configuration manager 122 retrieves or otherwise obtains the local resources 120 associated with the one or more web page GUI displays of the configuration web application 116 and then calculates or otherwise determines a current representative value for the local resources 120 that reflects the current state of the local resources 120. Fig. 2 shows multiple local settings to select/configure.)
Lejin teaches on a plurality of controllers associated with the local client ([0015]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on select a settings controller associated with the request.
Raghuram teaches select a settings controller associated with the request. ([0211][0212] The network device may be configured to display a "system controller selection" screen 1400 (e.g., a hub selection screen) as shown in FIG. 14A (one will recognize that the phrase "system controller selection" screen is used herein for description purposes only and other terms and/or phrases may be used to refer to this screen). The load control environment may include multiple system controllers (e.g., such as multiples of the system controller 160 shown in FIG. 1). The system controller selection screen 1400 may display a list 1402 of indications of system controllers 1404 (e.g., hub devices) to which the network device may connect to in order to monitor, control, and adjust the configuration of the control devices in the load control environment.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Raghuram to include select a settings controller associated with the request. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide further organization by providing different controllers based on type of connected device components as this would allow the user to save configurations on a more detailed level.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 15-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0308442 Al (Lejin) in view of WO 2024046143 A1 (a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as english translation) (Liu) further in view of US 2017/0359555 A1 (Irani).
Regarding Claim 6:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches wherein the dynamic virtual channel supports communication of blended remote-local settings management data that facilitates simulating local settings configuration interfaces of local clients via remote settings configuration interfaces on remote clients. ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.). [0017] the client application 108 may be utilized to access or otherwise initiate an instance of the configuration web application 116 hosted by the networking device 102, where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102.)
Lejin teaches on configuration of local device settings ([0013][0017]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on wherein the blended remote-local settings management data is retrieved from the local client based on a plurality of key-store value commands.
Irani teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on an integrated accessory control system which integrates functionality/services of multiple disparate accessories and provides a unified user interface for interacting with the system via a controller device, Abstract.
Irani also teaches wherein the blended remote-local settings management data is retrieved from the local client based on a plurality of key-store value commands. ([0100]-[0102] key-value form/type. [0104] Each supported configuration can be represented as a data object, and the value of characteristic 706 can be an array with one data object per supported configuration. FIG. 7D shows elements of an example audio configuration data object expressed in key-value form.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Irani to include wherein the blended remote-local settings management data is retrieved from the local client based on a plurality of key-store value commands. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide flexible configuration ability, allowing the accessories/peripherals to selectively notify the controller which saves on resources, see Irani [0044][0045].
Regarding Claim 13:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 11 as described.
Lejin teaches on wherein the plurality of settings includes hardware settings corresponding to ([0017] the client application 108 may be utilized to access or otherwise initiate an instance of the configuration web application 116 hosted by the networking device 102, where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102. [0049] In some implementations, the service(s) 642 are implemented using virtual applications dynamically created at run time responsive to queries from the user devices 680A-680S and in accordance with metadata.)
Lejin teaches on configuration of local device settings ([0013][0017] and hardware of the local client ([0015]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on wherein the plurality of settings includes hardware settings corresponding to physical devices and peripheral connected to the local client, and software settings corresponding to a software environment and applications of the local client.
Irani teaches wherein the plurality of settings includes hardware settings corresponding to physical devices and peripheral ([0086]-[0098] Fig 3 & 6 Peripherals/Physical devices: camera, alarm system) connected to the local client, and software settings corresponding to a software environment and applications of the local client. ([0090]-[0115] Fig 6 & 7, hardware and software settings. Applications: audio, video.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Irani to include wherein the plurality of settings includes hardware settings corresponding to peripheral connected to the local client. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide more complete remote configuration capability, by allowing setting of configuration of all the devices/hardware corresponding to the local client device being modified.
Regarding Claim 15:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 11 as described.
Lejin teaches on configuration of local device settings ([0013][0017]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on wherein the plurality of settings controllers are mapped to corresponding keys, such that, key-store value commands are executable against the plurality of settings controllers based on the corresponding keys.
Irani teaches wherein the plurality of settings controllers are mapped to corresponding keys, such that, key-store value commands are executable against the plurality of settings controllers based on the corresponding keys. ([0100]-[0102] key-value form/type. [0104] Each supported configuration can be represented as a data object, and the value of characteristic 706 can be an array with one data object per supported configuration. FIG. 7D shows elements of an example audio configuration data object expressed in key-value form.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Irani to include wherein the plurality of settings controllers are mapped to corresponding keys, such that, key-store value commands are executable against the plurality of settings controllers based on the corresponding keys. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide flexible configuration ability, allowing the accessories/peripherals to selectively notify the controller which saves on resources, see Irani [0044][0045].
Regarding Claim 16:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 11 as described.
Lejin teaches on configuration of local device settings ([0013][0017]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on wherein the request comprises a key-value store command.
Irani teaches wherein the request comprises a key-value store command. ([0044] The protocol can further define message formats for controller 102 to send command-and-control messages (requests) to accessory 112 (or other accessories) and for accessory 112 to send response messages to controller 102. The command-and-control messages can allow controller 102 to interrogate the current state of accessory characteristics and in some instances to modify the characteristics (e.g., modifying the power characteristic can turn an accessory off or on). [0100]-[0104] Each supported configuration can be represented as a data object, and the value of characteristic 706 can be an array with one data object per supported configuration. FIG. 7D shows elements of an example audio configuration data object expressed in key-value form.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Irani to include wherein the request comprises a key-value store command. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide instructions along with the request which saves on time/resources by eliminating extra messaging.
Regarding Claim 20:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 17 as described.
Lejin teaches wherein the dynamic virtual channel supports communication of blended remote-local settings management data between the local client and the remote client. ([0013] The configuration management service enables or otherwise allows the web server processes at the networking device to respond to the user request by instantiating or otherwise executing the configuration web application using the current state of the local resources, thereby allowing the user to modify the networking device (e.g., by changing the values or other configuration data for one or more parameters, settings, etc.). [0017] the client application 108 may be utilized to access or otherwise initiate an instance of the configuration web application 116 hosted by the networking device 102, where the configuration web application 116 provides one or more web page GUI displays within the client application 108 that include GUI elements for modifying or configuring one or more settings, parameters or other configurations associated with the networking device 102.)
Lejin teaches on configuration of local device settings ([0013][0017]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on wherein the blended remote-local settings management data facilitates simulating local settings configuration interfaces of local clients via remote settings configuration interfaces on remote clients, and wherein the blended remote-local settings management data is retrieved from the local client based on a plurality of key-store value commands.
Irani teaches wherein the blended remote-local settings management data facilitates simulating local settings configuration interfaces of local clients via remote settings configuration interfaces on remote clients, and wherein the blended remote-local settings management data is retrieved from the local client based on a plurality of key-store value commands. ([0100]-[0102] key-value form/type. [0104] Each supported configuration can be represented as a data object, and the value of characteristic 706 can be an array with one data object per supported configuration. FIG. 7D shows elements of an example audio configuration data object expressed in key-value form.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Irani to include wherein the blended remote-local settings management data facilitates simulating local settings configuration interfaces of local clients via remote settings configuration interfaces on remote clients, and wherein the blended remote-local settings management data is retrieved from the local client based on a plurality of key-store value commands. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide flexible configuration ability, allowing the accessories/peripherals to selectively notify the controller which saves on resources, see Irani [0044][0045].
Claim(s) 10, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0308442 Al (Lejin) in view of WO 2024046143 A1 (a.k.a. EP 4554164 A1 being used as english translation) (Liu) further in view of US 9614685 B2 (Lehtovirta).
Regarding Claim 10:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Lejin teaches on configuration of local device settings ([0013][0017]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on wherein the indication is processed using a blended remote-local settings management engine that supports a synchronized mode and a desynchronized mode.
Lehtovirta teaches, in the same field endeavor, on a method for facilitating synchronization of setting configurations, Abstract.
Lehtovirta also teaches wherein the indication is processed using a blended remote-local settings management engine that supports a synchronized mode and a desynchronized mode. (Col 11 ln 57-65, the system 100 may comprise a portion of a system for providing a plurality of services to users of computing devices, such as, for example, a user device 104. Access to the plurality of services may be provided and/or controlled by an account management provider 302. In this regard, and referring now to FIG. 3, an embodiment of a system 300 for providing a plurality of services, including settings configuration synchronization, to computing devices. Col 12 ln 40-44, a user may log into the account management provider 302 and access one or more services, configure settings, and/or synchronize setting configurations as described herein in connection to the system 100. Col 15-16 ln 29-67, 1-63: choosing settings with option to choose synchronization scheduling.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Lehtovirta to include wherein the indication is processed using a blended remote-local settings management engine that supports a synchronized mode and a desynchronized mode. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide automatic updates across devices and allow for scheduling of configuration changes.
Regarding Claim 12:
Lejin (as modified by Liu) teaches on the invention of Claim 11 as described.
Lejin teaches on configuration of local device settings ([0013][0017]). However, Lejin (as modified by Liu) is silent on wherein the local client is operable in synchronized mode or desynchronized mode for blended settings management.
Lehtovirta teaches wherein the local client is operable in synchronized mode or desynchronized mode for blended settings management. (Col 11 ln 57-65, the system 100 may comprise a portion of a system for providing a plurality of services to users of computing devices, such as, for example, a user device 104. Access to the plurality of services may be provided and/or controlled by an account management provider 302. In this regard, and referring now to FIG. 3, an embodiment of a system 300 for providing a plurality of services, including settings configuration synchronization, to computing devices. Col 12 ln 40-44, a user may log into the account management provider 302 and access one or more services, configure settings, and/or synchronize setting configurations as described herein in connection to the system 100. Col 15-16 ln 29-67, 1-63: choosing settings with option to choose synchronization scheduling.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lejin (as modified by Liu) by modifying Lejin per Lehtovirta to include wherein the local client is operable in synchronized mode or desynchronized mode for blended settings management. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would have allowed the modified system to provide automatic updates across devices and allow for scheduling of configuration changes.
Conclusion & Contact Information
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454