DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/24/2026 on has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the application. Amendments to the claims overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 4/24/2026.
Response to Arguments/Remarks re. 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
While the title as amended is sufficiently descriptive, a grammatical error is present. The title reads “IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS, AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS THAT CROP A SPECIFIED PAGE OF A BOOK”. The examiner suggests changing the title to: “IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS, AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS THAT CROPS A SPECIFIED PAGE OF A BOOK”
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5 and 7-9 are objected to for the following informalities: the claims refer to “a book document” and/or “a board” without antecedent or distinguishing basis (to the book document and board of base/intervening claims respectively). While the meaning of the claims is sufficiently clear, referring to these items with either antecedent or distinguishing basis is suggested to avoid any possibility of indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 6, the claim recites “a board interposed in a book document and separate from the book document”. Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Here, the recitation of a board that is both interposed and separate from a book document is logically inconsistent. No special definition is present in the specification to resolve the contradiction. Accordingly, the claim is rejected as indefinite. For the purposes of applying prior art, the examiner will consider art that teaches both a board interposed and/or separate from a book document.
Claims 7-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on rejected claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino et. al (US 20190124229 A1) (Hereinafter, “Ishino”) in view of Moro (US 10291805 B1) (Hereinafter, “Moro”)
With respect to claim 1, Ishino teaches:
An image processing apparatus ([Abstract]; [0021]) comprising:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit that function ([0086]-[0090]; Fig. 11) as:
a scan control unit that conducts control to scan a scan target ([0035]; [0064]; [0092]-[0093]; Fig. 11)
a specifying unit that specifies a region of a first page of a [0025] “In the multi-crop process, a scan is performed in a state in which black paper is covered on a back surface”; [0038] “Here, specifically, “the paper which is printed by the image forming apparatus” may include paper copied while the document stand cover is opened and nothing is loaded on a document stand of a copying machine or paper obtained by printing a document, which has one surface that is black, using a printer With either paper, in a case where the copying machine and the printer do not have a borderless printing function, the margin is generated at the end part (edge part)”; [0063] “Furthermore, as illustrated in the example of FIG. 5B2, black paper 530 is placed from above the documents. That is, the black paper 530 becomes the background of the documents. It is apparent that the black paper 530 is placed such that a black surface of the black paper 530 faces a side of the document stand 510 (such that the black surface is read). In addition, the documents may be disposed on inner sides from top, bottom, right, and left ends of the black paper 530 by the predetermined distance (for example, 2 mm or the like) or more; Figs. 6B1-6B2; [0081]-[0082] “In step S1002, an outline of an area having a color other than black is extracted. In the example of FIG. 6B2, the outline of the area other than black is extracted in addition to the document image 670, the document image 675, and the document image 680. For example, an outline in the document image 670 or the like is an extraction target”; Fig. 8; Fig. 10
This limitation is read in light of [0032] of the claimed invention’s specification, which states that the “board” may be “ordinary paper”. [0032] “The user can take the sheet thus discharged and interpose the sheet in a book document as the board. In this way, even in the case when the user does not have a board, the user can easily obtain paper serving as the board… In addition, the reason for using ordinary paper as a board is that photograph paper or glossy paper is expensive for use as a board. Note that, in a fee-based copy machine, or the like, placed in a shop, or the like, this discharge of a board is made available for free. That is, the board is discharged from the discharge section without reducing the money displayed in accordance with the inputted money”)
an output unit that, even in a case when there is no operation of designating a cropping region from a user ([0022]; [0045]; [0069] “In step S312, the multi-crop processing module 140 performs the multi-crop process”), crops the region of the first page specified by the specifying unit, and outputs the cropped region ([0022]; [0045]-[0047]; [0069]-[0071] “Furthermore, thereafter, an accounting process is performed on, for example, the three image files, that is, the document image 670, the document image 675, and the document image”; [0073]-[0077]; [0079]-[0082]; Fig. 3; Fig. 8; Fig. 10)
Ishino does not explicitly teach:
book document
However, Moro, in the same field of endeavor of scanning, teaches:
An image processing apparatus ([Abstract]) comprising:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit (Fig. 3) that function as:
a scan control unit that conducts control to scan a scan target (Figs. 3-4)
a specifying unit (Col. 2, “However, the portable terminal 2 may be a device that can capture an image from above a document table 11 a, and may be an image capturing device which is standard equipment of the digital multi-functional machine”) that specifies a region of a first page of a book document for an image (Fig. 2; Fig. 11; Fig. 14)
an output unit that, even in a case when there is no operation of designating a cropping region from a user crops the region of the first page specified by the specifying unit, and outputs the cropped region (Fig. 11; Fig. 14)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishino to include the limitations of a book document, as taught by Moro. While making no explicit reference to book documents specifically, the methods of Ishino are reasonably configured to process documents generally. Modifying Ishino to include the book-scanning of Moro reflects a predictable improvement – the advantage of increasing the variety of documents Ishino processes. The systems readily integrate as two document scanners with the mutual objective of isolating relevant portions of the scan area.
With respect to claim 2, Ishino/Moro teaches:
The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the output unit conducts the cropping based on acceptance of an instruction that the scan target is a book document (Ishino, [0059]-[0060]; Moro, Col. 7, lines 45-57 "The user sets the portable terminal 2 in the holding unit 14 of the digital multi-functional machine 1 and selects a book document scanning mode with the operation 13b)
With respect to claim 3, Ishino/Moro teaches:
The image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the output unit conducts the cropping that is for a book document based on an event that it is detected by the scanning by the scan control unit that the scan target is a book document and a board placed on the platen glass (Ishino, [0030]; Ishino, [0059]-[0060]; Moro, Col. 7, lines 45-57 "The user sets the portable terminal 2 in the holding unit 14 of the digital multi-functional machine 1 and selects a book document scanning mode with the operation 13b; with the understanding that the scan control unit can “detect” a book document by receiving a user input that the document is a book)
With respect to claim 6, Ishino teaches:
An image processing apparatus ([Abstract]; [0021]) comprising:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit that function ([0086]-[0090]; Fig. 11) as:
a scan control unit that conducts control to scan a scan target ([0035]; [0064]; [0092]-[0093]; Fig. 11)
a display control unit that conducts control to display guidance about scanning with a board interposed in a Fig. 11; [0060]; [0089])
Ishino does not explicitly teach:
book document
However, Moro teaches:
An image processing apparatus ([Abstract]) comprising:
at least one memory and at least one processor and/or at least one circuit that function (Fig. 3) as:
a scan control unit that conducts control to scan a scan target (Figs. 3-4)
a display control unit that conducts control to display guidance about scanning with a Col. 2, “However, the portable terminal 2 may be a device that can capture an image from above a document table 11 a, and may be an image capturing device which is standard equipment of the digital multi-functional machine”; Col. 3, “The operation panel 13 is a user interface. The operation panel 13 includes a display unit 13 a and an operation unit 13 b. The display unit 13 a displays guide and the like. The operation unit 13 b includes an operation button or a touch panel for receiving an input to a button (e.g., icon) displayed on the display unit 13 a. The user instructs the start of scanning on the operation panel 13 and confirms the result of the scanning. For example, reading of a book document in which the digital multi-functional machine 1 and the portable terminal 2 are linked is executed in response to an operation instruction on the operation panel 13.”; Col. 7, lines 45-57 "The user sets the portable terminal 2 in the holding unit 14 of the digital multi-functional machine 1 and selects a book document scanning mode with the operation 13b; Fig. 2; Fig. 11; Fig. 14)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishino to include the limitations of a book document, as taught by Moro. While making no explicit reference to book documents specifically, the methods of Ishino are reasonably configured to process documents generally. Modifying Ishino to include the book-scanning of Moro reflects a predictable improvement – the advantage of increasing the variety of documents Ishino processes. The systems readily integrate as two document scanners with the mutual objective of isolating relevant portions of the scan area.
With respect to claim 7, Ishino/Moro teaches:
The image processing apparatus according to claim 6, further comprising an output unit that, even in a case when there is no operation of designating a cropping region from a user, crops a region of a first page of a book document specified for an image that is scanned in a state in which the first page of the book document and a board separate from the book document overlap with each other, and outputs the cropped region (Ishino, [0025]-[0026]; Ishino, [0038]; Ishino, [0045]-[0047]; Ishino, [0063]; Ishino, [0069]-[0071]; Ishino, [0081]-[0082]; Ishino, Figs. 6B1-6B2, noting overlap; Ishino, Fig. 3; Ishino, Fig. 8; Ishino, Fig. 10; Moro, Fig. 2; Moro, Fig. 11; Moro, Fig. 14)
With respect to claim 8, Ishino/Moro teaches:
The image processing apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the display control unit conducts control to display the guidance before scanning by the scan control unit, based on an acceptance of an instruction that the scan target is a book document (Ishino, [0059]-[0060]; Moro, Col. 7, lines 45-57 "The user sets the portable terminal 2 in the holding unit 14 of the digital multi-functional machine 1 and selects a book document scanning mode with the operation 13b”)
With respect to claim 10, the claim recites the functional steps of claim 1 as a method. As the apparatus of claim 1 is configured to perform this method, the claim is rejected in line with the analysis above.
With respect to claim 11, Ishino/Moro teaches:
The image processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the specifying unit detects an edge of the board for an image of the book document that is scanned in a state in which the first page and the board overlap each other, detects an edge of the first page based on the edge of the board, and specifies the region of the first page based on the detected edge of the first page (Ishino, [0073]-[0077]; Ishino, [0079]-[0082]; Ishino, Figs. 6B1-6B2; Ishino, Fig. 3; Ishino, Fig. 8; Ishino, Fig. 10; Moro, Fig. 2; Moro, Fig. 11; Moro, Fig. 14)
Claims 4-5, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishino/Moro in view of Ling et. al (US 7016536 B1) (Hereinafter, “Ling”)
With respect to claim 4, Ishino/Moro teaches the apparatus of claim 3.
Ishino/Moro do not explicitly teach the further limitations of claim 4.
However, Ling, in the same field of endeavor of scanning, teaches:
wherein the output unit also conducts cropping that is not for a book document in a case when it is detected by the scanning by the scan control unit that the scan target is a book document Fig. 24D to Fig. 24E, noting cropping out of additional elements 167 which may also be in a document that is not a book; Fig. 25D to Fig. 25E, noting cropping out of 167 elements which also exist in a book, separately labeled from 157 book-specific "gutter" element; Col. 21, lines 63-65 "Finally, FIG. 24E shows a copy of the scanned document after all of the non-data outside of the data areas bounded by the bounding rectangles 76 has been deleted")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishino/Moro to include the limitations of additional cropping, as taught by Ling. Doing so would increase the functionality and versatility of the device. The systems readily integrate, as Ishino/Moro is already configured to receive multiple document types.
With respect to claim 5, Ishino/Moro/Ling teaches:
The image processing apparatus according to claim 4, further comprising a display control unit that conducts control to display an image obtained by the cropping that is for a book document and an image obtained by the cropping that is not for a book document such that a user can select one of the images (Ling, Col. 21, lines 55-61 "The bounding rectangles 76 would not be part of the image, but could be displayed separately with the document image on a monitor, for example in an embodiment of the invention including interactive movement of bounding rectangle edges by an operator to exclude noise images without loss of essential data"; Ling, Col. 25-26, lines 59-66, 1-4 "Although the above described embodiments of the "clean-up" process and apparatus of the present invention as described are fully automatic, various MIP level images can be displayed on a computer monitor, as described above, along with the imaginary images of the imaginary images of the imaginary bounding rectangles of the various objects and data areas. A control could be provided to allow an operator to move edges of certain bounding rectangles so as to reduce the data area without eliminating any essential data and also exclude noise images within the original data areas, thereby reducing the number of noise images without losing any essential data")
With respect to claim 9, Ishino/Moro teach the apparatus of claim 7.
Ishino/Moro do not explicitly teach the further limitations of claim 9
However, Ling teaches:
wherein the display control unit displays the guidance (Col. 21, lines 55-61 "The bounding rectangles 76 would not be part of the image, but could be displayed separately
with the document image on a monitor, for example in an embodiment of the invention
including interactive movement of bounding rectangle edges by an operator to exclude
noise images without loss of essential data"; Col. 25-26, lines 59-66, 1-4 "Although the
above described embodiments of the "clean-up" process and apparatus of the present
invention as described are fully automatic, various MIP level images can be displayed on a
computer monitor, as described above, along with the imaginary images of the imaginary
images of the imaginary bounding rectangles of the various objects and data areas. A
control could be provided to allow an operator to move edges of certain bounding
rectangles so as to reduce the data area without eliminating any essential data and also
exclude noise images within the original data areas, thereby reducing the number of noise
images without losing any essential data") in a case when it is detected that the scan target is a
book document based on scanning by the scan control unit (Col. 22, lines 15-16, "FIG. 25D
illustrates a copy of an image with bounding rectangles 76 identifying the essential data
areas" Fig. 2; Fig. 5; "If this determination is negative, the program returns to block 117,
but otherwise goes to decision block 119A and determines if there is an extraneous "gutter"
image (see image 157 in FIG. 25A) dividing the document into two pages being copied from
a book, magazine or the like"; Col. 25, lines 48-53, "Processor 4 executes the "clean-up"
program described above and presents a viewable image of the de-skewed, de-speckled,
post-processed image of the original document by means of a display and/or a printer 6A")
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishino/Moro to include the limitations of book detection, as taught by Ling. Doing so would increase overall apparatus functionality, by providing gutter removal on an automatic basis. The systems readily integrate, as the methods of Ling constitute an additional logic check that can be implemented without compromise to the central operations of Ishino/Moro.
With respect to claim 12, Ishino/Moro teaches the apparatus of claim 11
Ishino/Moro does not explicitly teach the further limitations of claim 12
However, Ling teaches:
wherein the output unit crops the region of the first page so that the region of the first page so that the region of the first page does not include a second page adjacent to the first page via a binding portion in the book document (Ling, Fig. 25D into Fig. 25E)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishino/Moro to include the limitations of additional cropping, as taught by Ling. Doing so would increase the functionality and versatility of the device. The systems readily integrate, as Ishino/Moro is already configured to receive multiple document types, including books.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NOAH WILLIAM BOYAR whose telephone number is 571-272- 8392. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM EST, Monday – Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/NOAH W BOYAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2669
/CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669