DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9,11-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot due to new grounds of rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,5-7,12-16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 20220016996)
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 20, Yang et al. A system for estimating a short resistance of a target battery,(Note abstract) the system comprising:
one or more processors; (901, Fig. 9)
memory storing instructions (Note 902 Fig. 9) configured to cause the one or more processors to:
determine voltage values of the target battery for a time period during a charging or discharging state of the target battery,( [0113] S52: Measure voltages of a reference battery and a target battery in a first charging process of a battery pack, ) wherein the time period is associated with a constant resistance value within the target battery, and wherein the constant resistance corresponds to an internal resistance of one or more electrochemical cells of the target battery;) Examiner’s position is that during charging or discharging the battery has a constant voltage. Examiner’s position is that applicants arguments states that it is known that during charging/discharging the resistance curve of a battery as a function of time is relatively flat and that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the meaning of the term to be sufficiently constant resistance for the purpose of battery short evaluation.
compare the voltage values with reference voltage values associated with a reference battery, ([0011] In the foregoing method, the battery management unit compares voltages of the target battery at two different moments by using the reference battery as a reference, to qualitatively determine whether an internal short circuit occurs in the battery. ) and
based on the comparing, for the time period, determine a magnitude of a voltage deviation of the target battery with respect to the reference battery; (Note par. [0090] In the embodiments of the present application, the battery management unit 213 may check a voltage change of the target battery by using voltages of the reference battery in two charging processes as a reference, or may check a voltage change of the reference battery by using voltages of the target battery in two charging processes as a reference, and then, determine whether the target battery has an internal short circuit based on the voltage change. It may be understood that, when the voltages of the reference battery in the two charging processes are used as a reference, if the voltage change of the target battery corresponding to that the reference battery has a same voltage value in the two charging processes is greater than a preset threshold, it may be considered that the target battery has an internal short circuit.)
detect a short circuit in the target battery based on the determined magnitude of the voltage deviation; (Note par. [0090] In the embodiments of the present application, the battery management unit 213 may check a voltage change of the target battery by using voltages of the reference battery in two charging processes as a reference, or may check a voltage change of the reference battery by using voltages of the target battery in two charging processes as a reference, and then, determine whether the target battery has an internal short circuit based on the voltage change. It may be understood that, when the voltages of the reference battery in the two charging processes are used as a reference, if the voltage change of the target battery corresponding to that the reference battery has a same voltage value in the two charging processes is greater than a preset threshold, it may be considered that the target battery has an internal short circuit. ) and
estimate the short resistance of the target battery based on the constant resistance value and the magnitude of the voltage deviation. ([0176] S788: Calculate the internal short circuit resistance of the target battery based on the difference between the voltages of the reference battery at the third moment t1 and the fourth moment t4, the difference between the voltages of the target battery at the first moment t1 and the second moment t2, the integral values of the voltages of the reference battery from the fifth moment t5 to the sixth moment t6, the integral values of the voltages of the target battery from the first moment t1 to the second moment t2, and the integral values of the voltages of the target battery from the third moment t3 to the fourth moment t4.) Note the difference is considered a deviation.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Yang et al. teach herein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to: determine a first curve based on the voltage values determined within the time period, obtain a second curve based on the reference voltage values associated with the reference battery,(Note Fig. 8B) and calculate the magnitude of the voltage deviation based on a comparison of the first curve with the second curve. ((Note it is reasonable magnitude can be determined by Fig. 8 that displays the deviation between the curves)
Regarding claim 3, Yang et al. teach wherein the detecting of the short circuit in the target battery comprises: comparing the magnitude of the voltage deviation with a voltage threshold value; and based on determining that the magnitude of the voltage deviation is greater than the voltage threshold value, detecting the short circuit in the target battery. (If the battery management system determines that a difference between the second voltage V2(t1) and the third voltage V2(t2) is greater than a preset threshold, the target battery has an internal short circuit. Otherwise, the target battery does not have an internal short circuit.)
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Yang et al. teach determining of the voltage values comprises: determining a current voltage of the target battery; ,( [0113] S52: Measure voltages of a reference battery and a target battery in a first charging process of a battery pack, ) wherein the time period is associated with a constant resistance value within the target battery, and wherein the constant resistance corresponds to an internal resistance of one or more electrochemical cells of the target battery) and determining the voltage values within the time period based on the current voltage reaching a pre-defined battery voltage. ([0006] According to a first aspect, an embodiment of this application provides a battery pack internal short circuit detection method. The method includes measuring, by a battery management unit, voltages of a reference battery and a target battery in a first charging process of a battery pack, where a voltage value of the reference battery at a first moment t1 is a first voltage V.sub.set1, a voltage value of the target battery at the first moment t1 is a second voltage V2(t1), and the battery pack includes the reference battery and the target battery, measuring voltages of the reference battery and the target battery in a second charging process of the battery pack)
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Yang et al. teach wherein the time period (Note time in Fig. 8B) is associated with timestamps (Note at least times of Fig. 8 are implicitly associated with timestamps because every time interval happens at some point in time and that point in time is broadly interpreted as a timestamp), each voltage value corresponds to a product of a total resistance and a total current within the target battery at a time of a corresponding timestamp, and each reference voltage value corresponds to a product of a total resistance and a total current within the reference battery at a time of a corresponding timestamp. (Examiner’s position is that the target and reference voltages of Fig. 8 correspond to the product of total resistance and total current implicitly taught because the according to Ohm’s Law , voltages is calculated as the product of current and resistance.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Yang et al. teach wherein the target battery comprises, or is comprised in, a rechargeable lithium-ion (Li-ion) battery. (Note par. 0003 and par. 0012))
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Yang et al. teach wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors: compare the magnitude of the voltage deviation with a voltage threshold value, and based on determining that the magnitude of the voltage deviation is greater than the voltage threshold value, detect the short circuit in the target battery. (Note par. 0132, If the battery management system determines that a difference between the second voltage V2(t1) and the third voltage V2(t2) is greater than a preset threshold, the target battery has an internal short circuit. Otherwise, the target battery does not have an internal short circuit.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220016996) in view of Wang et al. (US 20220352737).
Yang et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 8, Yang et al. does not teach comparing the estimated short resistance with a short resistance threshold value; and based on determining that the estimated short resistance is less than the short resistance threshold value, initiating a remediation action.
Wang et al. teach the estimated short resistance with a short resistance threshold value; and based on determining that the estimated short resistance is less than the short resistance threshold value, initiating a remediation action. (Note par. 0009, In box 1518, each shorting resistance R.sub.j is compared to a resistance threshold and an alarm is generated if the a R.sub.j is less than the resistance threshold, indicating a short circuit.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang et al. to include the teaching of comparing the estimated short resistance with a short resistance threshold value; and based on determining that the estimated short resistance is less than the short resistance threshold value, initiating a remediation action to notify the driver that there is an abnormality.
Regarding claim 9, Yang et al. does not teach wherein the remediation action comprises rendering an alert or controlling use of the battery.
Wang et al. teach wherein the remediation action comprises rendering an alert or controlling use of the battery. (Note par. 0009, In box 1518, each shorting resistance R.sub.j is compared to a resistance threshold and an alarm is generated if the a R.sub.j is less than the resistance threshold, indicating a short circuit.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang et al. to include the teaching of teach wherein the remediation action comprises rendering an alert or controlling use of the battery to notify the driver that there is an abnormality.
Regarding claim 18, Yang et al. does not teach comparing the estimated short resistance with a short resistance threshold value; and based on determining that the estimated short resistance is less than the short resistance threshold value, initiating a remediation action.
Wang et al. teach the estimated short resistance with a short resistance threshold value; and based on determining that the estimated short resistance is less than the short resistance threshold value, initiating a remediation action. (Note par. 0009, In box 1518, each shorting resistance R.sub.j is compared to a resistance threshold and an alarm is generated if the a R.sub.j is less than the resistance threshold, indicating a short circuit.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morikita et al. to include the teaching of comparing the estimated short resistance with a short resistance threshold value; and based on determining that the estimated short resistance is less than the short resistance threshold value, initiating a remediation action to notify the driver that there is an abnormality.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220016996) in view of Bae et al. (US 20210318388).
Yang et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 11, Yang et al. does not teach wherein the constant resistance value, the time period, and the reference voltage values are pre-stored in a memory associated with the battery-enabled device.
Bae et al. teach wherein the constant resistance value, the time period, and the reference voltage values are pre-stored in a memory associated with the battery-enabled device.( [0198] Preferably, the pre-stored reference resistance may include a reference resistance calculated based on the reference voltage pre-stored in the storing unit 105. That is, the pre-stored reference resistance corresponds to the pre-stored reference voltage, and may be a resistance calculated based on the OCV when the battery cell 11 is charged at a predetermined cycle so that the voltage of the battery cell 11 reaches the reference charge voltage. The pre-stored reference resistance may be stored in the storing unit 105. Examiner’s position is that when data is stored in memory it has at least a date which is interpreted as time period.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang to include the teaching of wherein the constant resistance value, the time period, and the reference voltage values are pre-stored in a memory associated with the battery-enabled device to estimate the degradation state of the battery. (Note Bae eta l. abstract)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20220016996) in view of Cho et al. (KR 20200011014A).
Yang et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Morikita et al. does not teach wherein the short resistance is proportional to a ratio of the magnitude of the voltage deviation and the constant resistance value.
Cho et al. teach wherein the short resistance is proportional to a ratio of the magnitude of the voltage deviation and the constant resistance value. (Note par. 0046 [0046] Referring to FIG. 3a, while the battery (10) is being charged with constant current (CC) charging, the charging current (I) supplied to the battery (10) has a constant value, and the voltage (V) of the battery (10) gradually increases. When an internal short circuit (IS) occurs in the battery (10) during constant current (CC) charging, the voltage (V) of the battery (10) drops sharply and then rises again. Referring to FIG. 2, this phenomenon occurs because the equivalent resistance of the battery (10), that is, the combined resistance of the internal resistance (RB) and the short circuit resistance (RS) of the battery (10), changes instantaneously due to an internal short circuit of the battery (10). Examiner position is that the voltage (V) increases is interpreted as voltage deviation and the internal resistance (constant resistance) and the short circuit resistance changes instantaneously due to the internal short circuit caused by the voltage deviation thereby suggesting short resistance is proportional and affected by the voltage deviation and the internal resistance.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang et al. to include the teaching of wherein the short resistance is proportional to a ratio of the magnitude of the voltage deviation and the constant resistance value to observe the affect of the short-circuit resistance when the voltage varies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10 and 19 wherein the estimating of the short resistance comprises calculating, using an electrochemical-thermal model, the short resistance utilizing the constant resistance value and the magnitude of the voltage deviation of the voltage values with respect to the reference voltage values.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858