DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07 August 2024, 28 October 2024, 22 January 2025, and 05 February 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1 and 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2008/0087890 to Ahn et al. (“Ahn”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 4-5, Ahn teaches a method of forming layers of hafnium oxide and zirconium oxide via vapor deposition using HfCl4 or HfI4 precursors and ZrCl4 or ZrI4 precursors (see Abstract; FIG. 2; ¶¶ [0033]-[0039]). Ahn further teaches exposing the substrate to oxidizing gasses such as water vapor, ozone, oxygen, nitrogen oxides, and plasmas thereof (see ¶¶ [0035]-[0038], [0052]). According to Ahn, cyclical deposition may be repeated until a desired thickness is achieved (see ¶¶ [0032], [0042]). Ahn also teaches obtaining films free of carbon and halogen contamination via usage of an initial nitrate precursor (see ¶ [0050]).
With regard to Claims 6-10, Ahn teaches the claimed dopants (see ¶¶ [0006], [0072]).
With regard to Claim 11, Ahn teaches the claimed temperature (see ¶ [0080]).
With regard to Claim 12, Ahn teaches the claimed pressure (see ¶ [0043]).
With regard to Claims 13-16, Ahn teaches the claimed durations (see ¶¶ [0034]-[0039])
With regard to Claims 17-18, Ahn teaches purging using the claimed gasses for the claimed durations (see ¶¶ [0034], [0041], [0045], [0051]).
With regard to Claim 19, Ahn teaches obtaining any desired multilayer film composition (see ¶ [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of US 2013/0026438 to Wang et al. (“Wang”).
With regard to Claim 2, Ahn does not particularly limit the type of substrate, and teaches use of any semiconductor structures known in the art (see ¶ [0072]). To the extent that titanium nitride substrates are not implicitly contemplated by the disclosure of Ahn, Wang is similarly directed to semiconductor processing techniques involving formation of insulating oxide films, and teaches titanium nitride substrates (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0008], [0033], [0035], [0049], [0060], [0068]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed titanium nitride substrates in the method of Ahn with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to Claim 3, Wang teaches deposition of iridium as an electrode material (see ¶ [0060]).
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712