DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re. Cls. 4 and 9, the limitation “said cable clip has a total amount of 6 cable cavities” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the Applicant is only referring to the Cavities (i.e. excluding the unique tighter cavity) or if the Applicant intends to include the unique tighter cavity in this total. It appears as if the Applicant’s drawings illustrate the six cavities to include the unique tighter but as currently written it appears to exclude the tighter cavity. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Re. Cls. 5 and 10, the limitation “said unique tighter cavity is replaced by another said cavity, so that it only has said cavities” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Claims 5 and 10 depend from claims 1 and 6 respectively but appear to nullify a limitation in claims 1 and 6. In other words, the limitations in claims 5 and 10 do not further limit claims 1 and 6 they actually delete limitations already included in claims 1 and 6. It is unclear how these limitations can be in the same device since by nature they would be distinct devices (i.e. one with the unique tighter cavity and one without). It is suggested that Applicant amend the claims to either optionally include the unique cable tighter in claims 1 and 6 or claim a cable clip with only cavities in a separate manner. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Re. Cls. 5 and 10, the limitation “according to any claims 1 to 4/6 to 9” renders the claim indefinite in the Examiner’s position. Applicant’s preamble appears as if it might be a multiple dependent claim since the Applicant uses the phrase “any claims.” The Examiner notes that the particular phrase used by the Applicant is not listed in either of the proper or improper phrases included in MPEP § 608.01(n), it is unclear if the Applicant intends to mean any one of claims 1-4/6-9 or if the Applicant is intending to claim multiple claims from 1-4/6-9. It is suggested that the Applicant use a phrase that is from the approved list of phrases found in MPEP § 608.01(n) (e.g. the cable clip according to any one of claims 1 to 4) to overcome this issue. Appropriate clarification is requested.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that uses the word “means” and being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for locking and unlocking in claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carty US 4775121 (hereinafter Carty) in view of Mori US 9022438 (hereinafter Mori).
Re. Cl. 1, Carty discloses: A cable clip (Fig. 1) that ties cables together so that each cable can be easily identified, and that allows the bound cables to be easily transported and easily placed into their designated location (see Fig. 1 and 3, as shown in phantom lines the device is capable tying cables together so they can be identified and easily transported), comprising: a) a Front Strap (12, Fig. 1), said Front Strap has multiple Cavities (24, 26, 28, 30, Fig. 1);; b) a Rear Strap (14, Fig. 1); said Rear Strap can be sufficiently separated from said Front Strap so as to allow cables to be inserted between said Rear Strap and said Front Strap (see Fig. 2); c) an End Wall (16, Fig. 1-2), which is used to join said Rear Strap and said Front Strap at one end, which is the closed-end of said cable clip (see Fig. 1-2); d) a means for locking and unlocking said Front Strap to said Rear Strap (see 38 and 36, Fig. 1-2);
Re. Cl. 5, Carty discloses: said Unique Tighter Cavity is replaced by another said Cavity, so that it only has said Cavities (see Fig. 2, there is no unique tighter cavity shown).
Re. Cl. 1, Carty does not disclose only one Unique Tighter Cavity, which cavity dimension is smaller/tighter than that of said Cavities e) a Protrusion that is shaped on said Rear Strap; said Protrusion is a raised surface on the surface of said Rear Strap that is facing said Unique Tighter Cavity; said Protrusion is thick enough and its width is limited so that when said Rear Strap is locked to said Front Strap; said Rear Strap, through said Protrusion, only applies clamping pressure on the cable inserted into said Unique Tighter Cavity. Mori discloses a cable clip (Fig. 4-5) which includes a front strap (12, Fig. 5) having a cavity (34, Fig. 5) and a unique tighter cavity (22, Fig. 5) that is smaller/tighter than that of said cavity (see Fig. 4, 22 is smaller/tighter than 34 once closed); a Protrusion (52, Fig. 5) that is shaped on said Rear Strap (14, Fig. 5); said Protrusion is a raised surface on the surface of said Rear Strap that is facing said Unique Tighter Cavity (see Fig. 4-5); said Protrusion is thick enough and its width is limited so that when said Rear Strap is locked to said Front Strap (see Fig. 4); said Rear Strap, through said Protrusion, only applies clamping pressure on the cable inserted into said Unique Tighter Cavity (see Fig. 4, due to 52 projecting into the cavity, the protrusion is thick enough apply clamping pressure on an appropriately sized cable whereas cavity 34 does not have such a protruding structure but a concave structure and therefore is capable of not having pressure applied to an appropriately sized cable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Carty device to have the protrusion of Mori with reasonable expectation of success to provide an effective securement of a smaller diameter cable so that it does not rattle or vibrate while being supported.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carty in view of Mori as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Wylie US 7093807 (hereinafter Wylie).
Re. Cls. 2, Carty discloses said cable clip also has identification numbers, for identifying each cable (see 62, Fig. 1-2), marked on said rear strap and/or said front strap (see Fig. 1-2). Carty does not disclose that the numbers are sequential (Cl. 2) or said cable clip also has a tag surface, said tag surface can be used to identify each cable, with said cable clip through said sequential identification numbers (Cl. 3). Wylie discloses a cable support (Fig. 6a, 6b) which includes identification numbers (see N1, Fig. 6a or numbers 1-5 shown in Fig. 6b), wherein the numbers are sequential (see Fig. 6b); said cable clip also has a tag surface (N2, Fig. 6a), said tag surface can be used to identify each cable, with said cable clip through said sequential identification numbers (Col. 7, Lines 18-21; it is the Examiner’s position that by providing the brand at least would enable the user to further identify the cables (i.e. the brand of cable)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Carty device to use sequential numbers as disclosed by Wylie with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held obvious to replace one known means (alpha numeric characters) with another (sequential numbers) to achieve a predictable result (identifying cables). KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Carty device to use a tag surface as disclosed by Wylie with reasonable expectation since Wylie states that such a modification enables other information or brand information to be displayed (Col. 7, Lines 18-21).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carty in view of Mori in view of Wylie as applied to claims 2-3 above, and further in view of Bleus 2010/0006709 (hereinafter Bleus).
Re. Cl. 4, the combination discussed above does not disclose said cable clip has a total of 6 cable cavities, which is the ideal amount of cable cavities for thermocouple cables. Bleus discloses a cable clip (Fig. 1) which includes cavities (24, Fig. 1-3) that total six in number (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Carty, Mori, Wylie device to have six total cavities as disclosed by Bleus with reasonable expectation of success to provide more supporting cavities which would enable a larger number of cables to be supported if desired.
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grelck US 2010/0163278 (hereinafter Grelck) in view of Mori US 9022438 (hereinafter Mori).
Re. Cl. 6, Grelck discloses: A cable clip (Fig. 1) that ties cables together so that each cable can be easily identified, and that allows the bound cables to be easily transported and easily placed into their designated location (see Fig. 1-2, the device is capable being used in the claimed intended use), comprising: a) a Cavity Block (12, Fig. 1) on which two oppositely positioned rows of cable cavities are shaped (14s, Fig. 1); the row shaped on the rear-side of said Cavity Block has multiple Cavities (see 14s, Fig. 1); while the row shaped on the front-side of said Cavity Block has multiple said Cavities (see 14s Fig. 1); b) a Rear Strap (20, Fig. 1) which is shaped to the rear of said Cavity Block (see Fig. 1); said Rear Strap can be sufficiently separated from said Cavity Block (see Fig. 1), so as to allow cables to be inserted between said Rear Strap and the rear-side of said Cavity Block (see Fig. 1); c) a Front Strap (30, Fig. 1) which is shaped to the front of said Cavity Block (see Fig. 1); said Front Strap can be sufficiently separated from said Cavity Block, so as to allow cables to be inserted between said Front Strap and the front-side of said Cavity Block (see Fig. 1); d) an End Wall (16, Fig. 1), which is used to join said Rear Strap and said Front Strap to said Cavity Block at one end, which is the closed-end of said cable clip (see Fig. 1); e) a means for locking and unlocking said Rear Strap and said Front Strap to said Cavity Block (28, 38, Fig. 1); f) two oppositely positioned Strap Stops (18s, Fig. 1) shaped on the open-end of said Cavity Block; one said Strap Stop prevents said Rear Strap from applying any pressure on the cables that are inserted into said Cavities that are shaped on the rear-side of said Cavity Block; and the other said Strap Stop prevents said Front Strap from applying any pressure on the cables that are inserted into said Cavities that are shaped on the front-side of said Cavity Block (see Fig. 1, by engaging with 28, 38, the stops 18 prevent further tightening of 20, 30 and thus prevent added pressure on the cables).
Re. Cl. 10, Grelck discloses: said Unique Tighter Cavity is replaced by another said Cavity, so that it only has said Cavities (see Fig. 1, there is no unique tighter cavity shown).
Re. Cl. 6, Grelck does not disclose and only one Unique Tighter Cavity, which cavity dimension is smaller/tighter than that of said Cavities; g) a Protrusion that is shaped on said Front Strap; said Protrusion is a raised surface on the surface of said Front Strap that is facing said Unique Tighter Cavity; said Protrusion is thick enough and its width is limited so that when said Front Strap is locked to said Cavity Block; said Front Strap, through said Protrusion, only applies clamping pressure on the cable inserted into said Unique Tighter Cavity. Mori discloses a cable clip (Fig. 4-5) which includes a front strap (12, Fig. 5) having a cavity (34, Fig. 5) and a unique tighter cavity (22, Fig. 5) that is smaller/tighter than that of said cavity (see Fig. 4, 22 is smaller/tighter than 34 once closed); a Protrusion (52, Fig. 5) that is shaped on said Rear Strap (14, Fig. 5); said Protrusion is a raised surface on the surface of said Rear Strap that is facing said Unique Tighter Cavity (see Fig. 4-5); said Protrusion is thick enough and its width is limited so that when said Rear Strap is locked to said Front Strap (see Fig. 4); said Rear Strap, through said Protrusion, only applies clamping pressure on the cable inserted into said Unique Tighter Cavity (see Fig. 4, due to 52 projecting into the cavity, the protrusion is thick enough apply clamping pressure on an appropriately sized cable whereas cavity 34 does not have such a protruding structure but a concave structure and therefore is capable of not having pressure applied to an appropriately sized cable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Grelck device to have the protrusion of Mori with reasonable expectation of success to provide an effective securement of a smaller diameter cable so that it does not rattle or vibrate while being supported.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grelck in view of Mori as applied to claims 6 and 10 above, and further in view of Wylie.
Re. Cls. 7, Grelck discloses said cable clip also has identification for identifying each cable (see 40, Fig. 1-2), marked on said rear strap and/or said front strap (see Fig. 1-2). Grelck does not disclose that they are sequential numbers (Cl. 7) or said cable clip also has a tag surface, said tag surface can be used to identify each cable, with said cable clip through said sequential identification numbers (Cl. 8). Wylie discloses a cable support (Fig. 6a, 6b) which includes identification numbers (see N1, Fig. 6a or numbers 1-5 shown in Fig. 6b), wherein the numbers are sequential (see Fig. 6b); said cable clip also has a tag surface (N2, Fig. 6a), said tag surface can be used to identify each cable, with said cable clip through said sequential identification numbers (Col. 7, Lines 18-21; it is the Examiner’s position that by providing the brand at least would enable the user to further identify the cables (i.e. the brand of cable)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Grelck device to use sequential numbers as disclosed by Wylie with reasonable expectation of success since it has been held obvious to replace one known means (labels) with another (sequential numbers) to achieve a predictable result (identifying cables). KSR Int’l Co. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Grelck device to use a tag surface as disclosed by Wylie with reasonable expectation since Wylie states that such a modification enables other information or brand information to be displayed (Col. 7, Lines 18-21).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grelck in view of Mori in view of Wylie as applied to claims 7-8 above, and further in view of Bleus.
Re. Cl. 9, the combination discussed above does not disclose said cable clip has a total of 6 cable cavities, which is the ideal amount of cable cavities for thermocouple cables. Bleus discloses a cable clip (Fig. 1) which includes cavities (24, Fig. 1-3) that total six in number (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined Grelck, Mori, Wylie device to have six total cavities as disclosed by Bleus with reasonable expectation of success to provide fewer supporting cavities which would enable a fewer number of cables to be supported if desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Costigan US 2018/0080579, Fox US 2016/0281905, Gautsche US 6458104, and Pollard US 2010/0123048 disclose other known cable clips presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632