DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-11, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2010/0011285; hereinafter Kawata) in view of Butcher et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0198117; Butcher).
With reference to claim 1, Kawata discloses a method of setting a display mode (see paragraphs 60, 72; Figs. 4-5), comprising:
installing an application on a device (3, 2’) (see paragraphs 57, 113; Figs. 1, 10), the device comprising a first screen (4, 6) (see paragraphs 57-58, 113; Figs. 1, 10);
selecting the display mode by triggering at least one button (S1, 61-63) of a display screen (10) to provide display information to the application installed on the device (3, 2’) (see paragraphs 61, 63, 72; Figs. 1, 4-5), the display screen (10) comprising a second screen (40) (see paragraphs 72, 78-79; Fig. 1, 4-5, 10); and
the application switching the device (3, 2’) and the display screen (10) to the display mode based on the display information (see paragraphs 72-77; Figs. 4-6);
wherein the display mode is switched among different modes without pressing any button on the device (3, 2’) (in teaching normal display mode (61); see paragraphs 74-77; Figs. 5-6)
While disclosing the usage of wired or wireless data communication (see paragraph 57), Kawata fails to specifically disclose the usage of a data channel protocol as recited.
Butcher discloses a multimedia display environment (100) including device (110) comprising a first screen (see paragraphs 29-30; Fig. 1) and a display screen (115) comprising a second screen (see paragraphs 29, 38); Fig. 1); wherein the device communicates with the display screen through a data channel protocol (250), wherein the data channel protocol transmits data through a universal serial bus (USB), video graphics array (VGA), high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), display port (DP) or digital visual interface (DVI) (see paragraphs 35-37, 41-43; Fig. 1, 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a display data channel protocol communication similar to that which is taught by Butcher to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Kawata to thereby allow necessary transmission of display data (see Butcher; paragraph 4).
With reference to claim 2, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the at least one button of the display screen comprises a duplicate mode button, an extend mode button, a first screen only mode button, a second screen only mode button, a main display screen mode button, or a mirror for monitor mode button (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 3, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the display mode is a duplicate mode, an extend mode, a first screen only mode, or a second screen only mode (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 6, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 3, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the duplicate mode comprises a mirror for monitor mode, configured to select a mirror video source of the duplicate mode (see paragraphs 4-5, 73-75; Fig. 5).
With reference to claim 7, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Butcher further discloses wherein the data channel protocol is a display data channel command interface (DDC/CI) (see paragraphs 35-37).
With reference to claim 9, Kawata discloses a method of setting a display mode (see paragraphs 60, 72; Figs. 4-5), comprising:
installing an application on a device (3, 2’) (see paragraphs 57, 113; Figs. 1, 10), the device comprising a first screen (4, 6) (see paragraphs 57-58, 113; Figs. 1, 10);
selecting the display mode by triggering at least one virtual button (61-63) on an on-screen display (OSD) (see paragraphs 72-76; Fig. 5) of a display screen (10) to provide display information to the application installed on the device (3, 2’) (see paragraphs (see paragraphs 61, 63, 72-76; Figs. 1, 4-5), the display screen (10) comprising a second screen (40) (see paragraph 72-76; Fig. 1, 4-5, 10); and
the application switching the device (3, 2’) and the display screen (10) to the display mode based on the display information (see paragraphs 72-76; Figs. 4-6);
wherein the display mode is switched among different modes without pressing any button on the device (3, 2’) (in teaching normal display mode (61); see paragraphs 74-77; Figs. 5-6).
While disclosing the usage of wired or wireless data communication (see paragraph 57), Kawata fails to specifically disclose the usage of a data channel protocol as recited.
Butcher discloses a multimedia display environment (100) including device (110) comprising a first screen (see paragraphs 29-30; Fig. 1) and a display screen (115) comprising a second screen (see paragraphs 29, 38); Fig. 1); wherein the device communicates with the display screen through a data channel protocol (250), wherein the data channel protocol transmits data through a universal serial bus (USB), video graphics array (VGA), high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), display port (DP) or digital visual interface (DVI) (see paragraphs 35-37, 41-43; Fig. 1, 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a display data channel protocol communication similar to that which is taught by Butcher to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Kawata to thereby allow necessary transmission of display data (see Butcher; paragraph 4).
With reference to claim 10, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the at least one virtual button (61-63) comprises a duplicate mode button, an extend mode button, a first screen only mode button, a second screen only mode button, a main display screen mode button, or a mirror for monitor mode button (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 11, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the display mode is a duplicate mode, an extend mode, a first screen only mode, or a second screen only mode (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 14, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 11, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the duplicate mode comprises a mirror for monitor mode, configured to select a mirror video source of the duplicate mode (see paragraphs 4-5, 73-75; Fig. 5).
With reference to claim 15, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Butcher further discloses wherein the data channel protocol is a display data channel command interface (DDC/CI) (see paragraphs 35-37).
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata and Butcher as applied to claim 3 or 12 above, and further in view of Tokita (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0039470).
With reference to claims 4 and 12, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 3 or 12, however fail to disclose switching a main display screen as recited.
Tokita discloses an image output process using respective screens of a plurality of display devices (10, 20) (see abstract, paragraphs 29-31; Fig. 1), wherein the extend mode comprises a main display screen mode, configured to switch a main display screen of the extend mode (display patterns 2-3) (see paragraphs 31, 33-34; Figs. 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow switching the main display similar to that which is taught by Tokita to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Kawata and Butcher to thereby improve an image output process of outputting an image to a plurality of display devices (see Tokita; paragraph 97).
With reference to claims 5 and 13, Kawata, Butcher, and Tokita disclose the method of claim 4 or 12, wherein Tokita further discloses that the main display screen of the extend mode is switched cyclically in the main display screen mode (see paragraphs 71-72; Figs. 2, 5, 9-12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE et al. (US2015/0339090) discloses a screen sharing method for an electronic device, wherein a first device communicates with a second device by sharing a screen, wherein the electronic device includes icons for setting the mode of sharing between the first and second device (see abstract; paragraphs 42-74; Figs. 1-14).
KIKUCHI et al. (US20100302130) discloses an image display system and method including a plurality of image devices and a transmission section for supplying images to an external display device, wherein the system provides for setting a display mode comprising selecting the display mode by triggering at least one virtual button (321-323) on an on-screen display (OSD) of a display, and to provide display information on the application on a device through a data channel protocol (see paragraph 72, 82) (see paragraphs 57-79; Figs. 1-32).
TOKITA (US2018/0039470) discloses an image output control method wherein a switch is provided for changing the display mode wherein the user may continue stable operation on the main-display without changing work environment on the external screen (see paragraphs 54-92; Figs. 1-13).
FREDERICKSON et al. (US2014/0325432) discloses a computing device capable of having a first and second display, wherein applications executed on the computing device has a corresponding application window managed by the windowing system such that a start projecting request received from one of the applications and the windowing system by generating, displaying, and managing a projection window (see abstract; paragraphs 17-39; Figs. 1-9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625