DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With reference to claims 1 and 9, the claims recite selecting the display mode by triggering at least one button wherein the display mode is switched among different modes without pressing any button on the device. It is not clear how the display modes are selected by triggering a button, but also switched without pressing any button. Therefore the claims are found to be indefinite. Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2010/0011285; hereinafter Kawata) in view of Sung et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2019/0377422; Sung).
With reference to claim 1, Kawata discloses a method of setting a display mode (see paragraphs 60, 72; Figs. 4-5), comprising:
installing an application on a device (2) (see paragraphs 71-72; Figs. 3-4), the device comprising a first screen (10) (see paragraphs 72-73);
selecting the display mode by triggering at least one button (S1, 61-63) of a display screen (10) to provide display information to the application installed on the device (2) (see paragraphs 61, 63, 72; Figs. 1, 4-5), the display screen comprising a second screen (40) (see paragraphs 72, 78-79; Fig. 1, 4-5, 10); and
the application switching the device (2) and the display screen (10) to the display mode based on the display information (see paragraphs 72-77; Figs. 4-6);
wherein the display mode is switched among different modes without pressing any button on the device (2) (in teaching normal display mode (61); see paragraphs 74-77; Figs. 5-6)
While disclosing the usage of wired or wireless data communication (see paragraph 57), Kawata fails to specifically disclose the usage of a data channel protocol as recited.
Sung discloses an electronic system capable of sharing display data wherein the first host device (12) communicates with a display device (10) and a second device (16) communicates with the display device to provide display information through a data channel protocol (see paragraphs 19, 21-22; Figs. 1-7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a display data channel command interface similar to that which is taught by Sung to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Kawata to thereby allow necessary transmission of display data (see Sung; paragraphs 18-19).
With reference to claim 2, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the at least one button of the display screen comprises a duplicate mode button, an extend mode button, a first screen only mode button, a second screen only mode button, a main display screen mode button, or a mirror for monitor mode button (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 3, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the display mode is a duplicate mode, an extend mode, a first screen only mode, or a second screen only mode (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 6, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 3, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the duplicate mode comprises a mirror for monitor mode, configured to select a mirror video source of the duplicate mode (see paragraphs 4-5, 73-75; Fig. 5).
With reference to claim 7, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Sung further discloses wherein the data channel protocol is a display data channel command interface (DDC/CI) (see paragraphs 18-19).
With reference to claims 8, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Sung further disclose wherein the data channel protocol transmits data through a universal serial bus (USB), video graphics array (VGA), high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), display port (DP) or digital visual interface (DVI) (in teaching wired port connections; see paragraphs 19-20; Figs. 1-7).
With reference to claim 9, Kawata discloses a method of setting a display mode (see paragraph 60), comprising:
installing an application on a device (2) (see paragraphs 71-72; Figs. 3-4), the device comprising a first screen (10) (see paragraphs 72-73);
selecting the display mode by triggering at least one virtual button (61-63) on an on-screen display (OSD) (see paragraphs 72-76; Fig. 5) of a display screen (6) to provide display information to the application installed on the device (2) (see paragraphs 72-76), the display screen comprising a second screen (40) (see paragraph 72-76; Fig. 1, 4-5, 10); and
the application switching the device (2) and the display screen (10) to the display mode based on the display information (see paragraphs 72-76; Figs. 5-6);
wherein the display mode is switched among different modes without pressing any button on the device (2) (in teaching normal display mode (61); see paragraphs 74-77; Figs. 5-6).
While disclosing the usage of at least one button and wired or wireless data communication (see paragraph 57) fails to specifically disclose a data channel protocol as recited.
Sung discloses an electronic system capable of sharing display data wherein the first host device (12) communicates with a display device (10) and a second device (16) communicates with the display device to provide display information through a data channel protocol (see paragraphs 19, 21-22; Figs. 1-7).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a display data channel command interface similar to that which is taught by Sung to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Kawata to thereby allow necessary transmission of display data (see Sung; paragraphs 18-19).
With reference to claim 10, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the at least one virtual button (61-63) comprises a duplicate mode button, an extend mode button, a first screen only mode button, a second screen only mode button, a main display screen mode button, or a mirror for monitor mode button (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 11, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the display mode is a duplicate mode, an extend mode, a first screen only mode, or a second screen only mode (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 14, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 11, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the duplicate mode comprises a mirror for monitor mode, configured to select a mirror video source of the duplicate mode (see paragraphs 4-5, 73-75; Fig. 5).
With reference to claim 15, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Sung further discloses wherein the data channel protocol is a display data channel command interface (DDC/CI) (see paragraphs 18-19).
With reference to claim 16, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Sung further disclose wherein the data channel protocol transmits data through a universal serial bus (USB), video graphics array (VGA), high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), display port (DP) or digital visual interface (DVI) (in teaching wired port connections; see paragraphs 19-20; Figs. 1-7).
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata and Sung as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tokita (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0039470).
With reference to claims 4 and 12, Kawata and Sung disclose the method of claim 1 or 9, however fail to disclose switching a main display screen as recited.
Tokita discloses an image output process using respective screens of a plurality of display devices (10, 20) (see abstract, paragraphs 29-31; Fig. 1), wherein the extend mode comprises a main display screen mode, configured to switch a main display screen of the extend mode (display patterns 2-3) (see paragraphs 31, 33-34; Figs. 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow switching the main display similar to that which is taught by Tokita to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Kawata and Sung to thereby improve an image output process of outputting an image to a plurality of display devices (see Tokita; paragraph 97).
With reference to claims 5 and 13, Kawata, Sung, and Tokita disclose the method of claim 4 or 12, wherein Tokita further discloses that the main display screen of the extend mode is switched cyclically in the main display screen mode (see paragraphs 71-72; Figs. 2, 5, 9-12).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/02/2026 with respects to claims 1-16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the rejection of claims 1 and 9, the applicant argues that Kawata fails to teach switching the display mode among different modes without pressing any button on the device. The examiner finds that the claims fail to clearly recite selecting a display mode by triggering at least one button and at the same time switching among different modes without pressing any button on the device as recited. Further the examiner finds that Kawata teaches the usage of selecting display modes in an on-screen display setting screen and therefore teach the display mode is switched without pressing any button on the device (i.e. the housing) as recited. The usage of the term device, does not exclude the usage of an software devised button as taught by Kawata (see Fig. 5). While Kawata discloses when powering on the device (2) the CPU activates an OS and software to initialize the display screen, wherein the display setting screen is displayed at the time of activation (see paragraph 72). Therefore while the display mode may be displayed at initialization, the display modes are switched among different modes by pressing OSD buttons and not by the pressing of a power switch as argued by the applicant. The application describes that the display mode selection is performed by an on-screen display (see Fig.3) which is the same as a display setting screen as taught by Kawata. Therefore the examiner finds that Kawata discloses the limitations of the claims as recited.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE et al. (US2015/0339090) discloses a screen sharing method for an electronic device, wherein a first device communicates with a second device by sharing a screen, wherein the electronic device includes icons for setting the mode of sharing between the first and second device (see abstract; paragraphs 42-74; Figs. 1-14).
KIKUCHI et al. (US20100302130) discloses an image display system and method including a plurality of image devices and a transmission section for supplying images to an external display device, wherein the system provides for setting a display mode comprising selecting the display mode by triggering at least one virtual button (321-323) on an on-screen display (OSD) of a display, and to provide display information on the application on a device through a data channel protocol (see paragraph 72, 82) (see paragraphs 57-79; Figs. 1-32).
TOKITA (US2018/0039470) discloses an image output control method wherein a switch is provided for changing the display mode wherein the user may continue stable operation on the main-display without changing work environment on the external screen (see paragraphs 54-92; Figs. 1-13).
FREDERICKSON et al. (US2014/0325432) discloses a computing device capable of having a first and second display, wherein applications executed on the computing device has a corresponding application window managed b the windowing system such that a start projecting request received from one of the applications and the windowing system by generating, displaying, and managing a projection window (see abstract; paragraphs 17-39; Figs. 1-9).
Conclusion
/ADE/Examiner, Art Unit 2625
/WILLIAM BODDIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2625