DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0077573; hereinafter Lee) in view of Butcher et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2016/0198117; Butcher).
With reference to claim 1, Lee discloses a method of setting a display mode (see paragraph 120; Figs. 1, 13A-B), comprising:
installing an application on a device (200) (application layer (230a); see paragraphs 100-101; Figs. 4, 6), the device comprising a first screen (212) (see paragraphs 65-67; Figs. 1, 4);
selecting the display mode by triggering at least one button (“TV”, “Mirroring” icons; see paragraph 151-152; Fig. 13A) of a display screen (300) to provide display information to the application installed on the device (200) (“the user may select the “mirroring icon through the user interface (310); see paragraphs 151-153; Figs. 13A-B), the display screen (300) comprising a second screen (312) (see paragraph 70; Figs. 13A-B); and
the application (230a) switching the device (200) and the display screen (300) to the display mode based on the display information (130); see paragraphs 100-102; Figs. 4-6);
wherein the display mode is switched among different modes without pressing any button on the device (200) (“The user may select the “Mirroring” icon among the icons displayed on the display through the user interface (310) of the reception device (300); see paragraphs 152-153; Figs. 13A-B),
While Lee discloses the usage of wired or wireless communication protocols and bi-directional communication between the device and the display screen (see paragraphs 60, 88; Fig. 4), there fails to be specific disclosure of the usage of a data channel protocol as recited.
Butcher discloses a multimedia display environment (100) including device (110) comprising a first screen (see paragraphs 29-30; Fig. 1), and a display screen (115) comprising a second screen (“The sink device (115) generates an output image for display based on display information from the source device (110); see paragraphs 29, 38; Figs. 1-3); wherein the device (110) communicates with the display screen (115) through a data channel protocol (250), wherein the data channel protocol transmits data through a universal serial bus (USB), video graphics array (VGA), high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), display port (DP) or digital visual interface (DVI) (the device (110) and device (115) exchange data using various protocols; see paragraphs 35-37, 41-43; Fig. 1, 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a display data channel protocol communication similar to that which is taught by Butcher to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lee to thereby allow necessary transmission of display data (see Butcher; paragraph 4).
With reference to claim 7, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 1, wherein Butcher further discloses wherein the data channel protocol is a display data channel command interface (DDC/CI) (in teaching the usage of DHMI cable, DisplayPort, DVI, USB cables used to transfer content; see paragraphs 35-37).
With reference to claim 9, Lee discloses a method of setting a display mode (see paragraph 120; Figs. 1, 13A-B), comprising:
installing an application on a device (200) (application layer (230a); see paragraphs 100-101; Figs. 4, 6), the device comprising a first screen (212) (see paragraphs 65-67; Figs. 1, 4);
selecting the display mode by triggering at least one virtual button on an on-screen display (OSD) (“TV”, “Mirroring” icons; see paragraph 151-152; Fig. 13A) of a display screen (300) to provide display information to the application installed on the device (200) (“the user may select the “mirroring icon through the user interface (310); see paragraphs 151-153; Figs. 13A-B), the display screen (300) comprising a second screen (312) (see paragraph 70; Figs. 13A-B); and
the application (230a) switching the device (200) and the display screen (300) to the display mode based on the display information (130); see paragraphs 100-102; Figs. 4-6);
wherein the display mode is switched among different modes without pressing any button on the device (200) (“The user may select the “Mirroring” icon among the icons displayed on the display through the user interface (310) of the reception device (300); see paragraphs 152-153; Figs. 13A-B),
While Lee discloses the usage of communication protocols and bi-directional communication between the device and the display screen (see paragraphs 60, 88; Fig. 4), there fails to be specific disclosure of the usage of a data channel protocol as recited.
Butcher discloses a multimedia display environment (100) including device (110) comprising a first screen (see paragraphs 29-30; Fig. 1), and a display screen (115) comprising a second screen (“The sink device (115) generates an output image for display based on display information from the source device (110); see paragraphs 29, 38; Figs. 1-3); wherein the device (110) communicates with the display screen (115) through a data channel protocol (250), wherein the data channel protocol transmits data through a universal serial bus (USB), video graphics array (VGA), high definition multimedia interface (HDMI), display port (DP) or digital visual interface (DVI) (see paragraphs 35-37, 41-43; Fig. 1, 6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the usage of a display data channel protocol communication similar to that which is taught by Butcher to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lee to thereby allow necessary transmission of display data (see Butcher; paragraph 4).
With reference to claim 15, Kawata and Butcher disclose the method of claim 9, wherein Butcher further discloses wherein the data channel protocol is a display data channel command interface (DDC/CI) (in teaching the usage of interface cable (180) which represents a DisplayPort, DVI, USB, HDMI cable or similar; see paragraphs 35-37, 41-42).
Claims 2-3, 6, 10-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Butcher as applied to claims 1 or 9 above, and further in view of Kawata et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2010/0011285; hereinafter Kawata).
With reference to claim 2, Lee and Butcher disclose the method of claim 1, and while teaching mirror mode, there fails to be specific disclosure of the different display modes as recited.
Kawata discloses an information processing apparatus wherein a first device and a second device share information for display (see paragraphs 58-61; Figs. 1, 10), wherein the display screen comprises a duplicate mode button, an extend mode button, a first screen only mode button, a second screen only mode button, a main display screen mode button, or a mirror for monitor mode button (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the display modes similar to that which is taught by Kawata to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lee and Butcher to provide additional display modes for presentations thereby improving display functionality for the user (see Kawata; paragraph 14).
With reference to claim 3, Lee and Butcher disclose the method of claim 1, and while teaching mirror mode, there fails to be specific disclosure of the different display modes as recited.
Kawata further discloses wherein the display mode is a duplicate mode, an extend mode, a first screen only mode, or a second screen only mode (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 6, Lee, Butcher, and Kawata disclose the method of claim 3, wherein Kawata further discloses wherein the duplicate mode comprises a mirror for monitor mode configured to select a mirror video source of the duplicate mode (see paragraphs 73-75; Fig. 5).
With reference to claim 10, Lee and Butcher disclose the method of claim 9, and while teaching mirror mode, there fails to be specific disclosure of the different display modes as recited.
Kawata discloses an information processing apparatus wherein a first device and a second device shares information for display (see paragraphs 58-61; Figs. 1, 10), wherein the at least one virtual button (61-63) comprises a duplicate mode button, an extend mode button, a first screen only mode button, a second screen only mode button, a main display screen mode button, or a mirror for monitor mode button (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow the display modes similar to that which is taught by Kawata to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lee and Butcher to provide additional display modes for presentations thereby improving display functionality for the user (see Kawata; paragraph 14).
With reference to claim 11, Lee and Butcher disclose the method of claim 9, and while teaching mirror mode, there fails to be specific disclosure of the different display modes as recited.
Kawata further discloses wherein the display mode is a duplicate mode, an extend mode, a first screen only mode, or a second screen only mode (see paragraphs 72, 74-76; Figs. 4-5).
With reference to claim 14, Lee, Butcher, and Kawata disclose the method of claim 11, and while teaching mirror mode, there fails to be specific disclosure of the different display modes as recited.
Kawata further discloses wherein the duplicate mode comprises a mirror for monitor mode, configured to select a mirror video source of the duplicate mode (see paragraphs 73-75; Fig. 5).
Claims 4-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Butcher, and Kawata as applied to claim 3 or 12 above, and further in view of Tokita (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0039470).
With reference to claims 4 and 12, Lee, Butcher, and Kawata disclose the method of claim 3 or 12, however fail to disclose switching a main display screen as recited.
Tokita discloses an image output process using respective screens of a plurality of display devices (10, 20) (see abstract, paragraphs 29-31; Fig. 1), wherein the extend mode comprises a main display screen mode, configured to switch a main display screen of the extend mode (display patterns 2-3) (see paragraphs 31, 33-34; Figs. 1-2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow switching the main display similar to that which is taught by Tokita to be carried out in a system similar to that which is taught by Lee, Butcher, and Kawata to thereby improve an image output process for outputting an image to a plurality of display devices (see Tokita; paragraph 97).
With reference to claims 5 and 13, Lee, Butcher, Kawata, and Tokita disclose the method of claim 4 or 12, wherein Tokita further discloses that the main display screen of the extend mode is switched cyclically in the main display screen mode (in teaching display pattern (2) and (3) in extended display mode allowing switching between display screens; see paragraphs 79; Figs. 2, 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/11/2026, with respect to claims 1-7 and 9-15, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The finality of the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 08/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with regards to the teachings of Butcher and Tokita.
With reference to Butcher, the applicant argues there is no disclosure of display modes, in the terms of duplicate, extend, mirror, or cyclic as recited. However, Butcher is not added to teach argued features. Butcher is added to teach the data communication protocol as recited. The examiner finds that Butcher discloses the usage of a data channel protocol for allowing display information to be transmitted between devices (see paragraphs 35-37, 41-43; Fig. 1, 6). Further the applicant argues that Butcher does not disclose the usage of a data channel protocol command interface. The examiner finds that Butcher discloses the usage of communication medium (250) for providing communication between the source device and the sink device, wherein the medium includes a plurality of interface cables, including an HDMI cable (120) and interface cable (180) (see paragraphs 36-37; Fig. 2). The applicant argues that the disclosure of Butcher does not include the expression “DDC/CI”. However, the lack of the expression DDC/CI included in the disclosure, does not negate the teachings of using the interface cables as described. As described by the specification of the invention “…the DDC/CI, which uses a USB, VGA, HDMI, DP or DVI” (see application specification paragraph 18) which are well known to be protocol interfaces. Therefore the examiner finds that Butcher discloses bidirectional communication between the source device and the sink device to provide communication between the devices as necessary to carry out function of the system. Therefore, the usage of Butcher to reject the claim limitations is maintained. Further, the applicant argues that Tokita fails to disclose cyclic switching of the main display screen as recited. The examiner finds that Tokita discloses switching between main display devices in teaching different extended display modes, wherein the main display device is switch based on the first (1) or second (2) extended display modes (see paragraphs 79; Figs. 2, 5). For these reasons the rejection has been maintained.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LEE et al. (US2015/0339090) discloses a screen sharing method for an electronic device, wherein a first device communicates with a second device by sharing a screen, wherein the electronic device includes icons for setting the mode of sharing between the first and second device (see abstract; paragraphs 42-74; Figs. 1-14).
KIKUCHI et al. (US20100302130) discloses an image display system and method including a plurality of image devices and a transmission section for supplying images to an external display device, wherein the system provides for setting a display mode comprising selecting the display mode by triggering at least one virtual button (321-323) on an on-screen display (OSD) of a display, and to provide display information on the application on a device through a data channel protocol (see paragraph 72, 82) (see paragraphs 57-79; Figs. 1-32).
FREDERICKSON et al. (US2014/0325432) discloses a computing device capable of having a first and second display, wherein applications executed on the computing device has a corresponding application window managed by the windowing system such that a start projecting request received from one of the applications and the windowing system by generating, displaying, and managing a projection window (see abstract; paragraphs 17-39; Figs. 1-9).
Conclusion
/Alecia D English/Examiner, Art Unit 2625 571-270-1595