DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nidamarthi et al. (US 10,068,262) in view of Madden et al. (US 2019/0043326).
Regarding claim 1, Nidamarthi teaches a method comprising: receiving a request, from an application installed on a client device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera physically integrated as part of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received (column 4, lines 50 - 58: "a customer using a customer terminal 100 electronically sends a request for transaction 102 to a server 104" and "any computing device, such as a handheld tablet, mobile phone"); responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address (column 5, lines 38 - 40: "After a delivery process 114, such as transport with a commercial delivery service, a recipient possesses a physical package at receipt 116"); receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address (column 6, lines 6 - 11: "Mobile device 118 transmits over a wireless network 122 to server 104 on network 106 recipient reaction information 124"); responsive to receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address, transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera of the client device (column 6, lines 11 - 14: "Mobile computing device 118 receives over wireless network 122 from server 104 an item of transaction information 126"; column 7, lines 1 - 9: "User interaction functions that can be performed by mobile computing device 118 include sending a damage report or gathering feedback about recipient satisfaction with physical package at receipt 116. In such an embodiment, recipient reaction information 124 includes an indication of recipient satisfaction and can, at the option of the user, include detailed information such as a photograph taken with a camera of mobile computing device 118, showing damage 128 on physical package at receipt 116"; column 19, lines 25 - 42: “opportunity to photograph a physical package using a camera associated with mobile computing device"; figure 9).
Nidamarthi does not specifically teach transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Madden teaches the portable camera 56 may be activated when the control unit 110 determines that the portable camera 56 corresponds to the preset delivery schedule, and deactivated when the visitor 50 leaves the property 102. In some cases, the visitor 50 may manually activate/deactivate the portable camera 56 ([0083], [0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Madden within the system of Nidamarthi r in order to allow the customer to remotely activate home automation components to assist a task that a delivery person is planned to perform at the location of delivery.
Regarding claim 2, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information (read on users interaction/transaction on social media, column 8, line 56 - column 9, line 20; figure 1A: social network 140).
Regarding claim 3, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Madden teaches access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address (i.e., the portable camera 56 may be activated when the control unit 110 determines that the portable camera 56 corresponds to the preset delivery schedule, and deactivated when the visitor 50 leaves the property 102. In some cases, the visitor 50 may manually activate/deactivate the portable camera 56 ([0083], [0098]). Therefore, a skilled person would activate / deactivate the built in camera of a mobile device according to the needs.
Regarding claim 4, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address (i.e., communication taking place between the physical object provider and a delivery service this communication implying a dedicated protocol, col. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image (i.e., FIG. 6, Application interface 505 of mobile device 500 displays contents information 600 on touch screen 520. Contents information 600 is a data structure indicating contents of the physical package. In the example presented in FIG. 6, contents information 600 is presented as an image portraying a product included in the physical package (not shown). In alternative embodiments, contents information 600 is a list of products or one or more specification sheets for one or more products. In addition to contents information 600, application interface 505 includes a subsequent function selection interface 605, col. 17, line 65 to col. 18, 22); and tagging the image with the selected physical object (col. 4, lines 41-61).
Regarding claim 6, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator (col. 19, line 25-42).
Regarding claim 7, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Madden teaches determining whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, causing the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object ([0044]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 8, Nidamarthi teaches non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon, the instructions causing one or more processors to perform operations when executed, the instructions comprising instructions to: receive a request, from an application installed on a client device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera physically integrated as part of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received (column 4, lines 50 - 58: "a customer using a customer terminal 100 electronically sends a request for transaction 102 to a server 104" and "any computing device, such as a handheld tablet, mobile phone"); responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address (column 5, lines 38 - 40: "After a delivery process 114, such as transport with a commercial delivery service, a recipient possesses a physical package at receipt 116"); receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address (column 6, lines 6 - 11: "Mobile device 118 transmits over a wireless network 122 to server 104 on network 106 recipient reaction information 124"); responsive to receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address, transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera of the client device (column 6, lines 11 - 14: "Mobile computing device 118 receives over wireless network 122 from server 104 an item of transaction information 126"; column 7, lines 1 - 9: "User interaction functions that can be performed by mobile computing device 118 include sending a damage report or gathering feedback about recipient satisfaction with physical package at receipt 116. In such an embodiment, recipient reaction information 124 includes an indication of recipient satisfaction and can, at the option of the user, include detailed information such as a photograph taken with a camera of mobile computing device 118, showing damage 128 on physical package at receipt 116"; column 19, lines 25 - 42: “opportunity to photograph a physical package using a camera associated with mobile computing device"; figure 9).
Nidamarthi does not specifically teach transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Madden teaches the portable camera 56 may be activated when the control unit 110 determines that the portable camera 56 corresponds to the preset delivery schedule, and deactivated when the visitor 50 leaves the property 102. In some cases, the visitor 50 may manually activate/deactivate the portable camera 56 ([0083], [0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Madden within the system of Nidamarthi r in order to allow the customer to remotely activate home automation components to assist a task that a delivery person is planned to perform at the location of delivery.
Regarding claim 9, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information (read on users interaction/transaction on social media, column 8, line 56 - column 9, line 20; figure 1A: social network 140).
Regarding claim 10, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Madden teaches access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address (i.e., the portable camera 56 may be activated when the control unit 110 determines that the portable camera 56 corresponds to the preset delivery schedule, and deactivated when the visitor 50 leaves the property 102. In some cases, the visitor 50 may manually activate/deactivate the portable camera 56 ([0083], [0098]). Therefore, a skilled person would activate / deactivate the built in camera of a mobile device according to the needs.
Regarding claim 11, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address (i.e., communication taking place between the physical object provider and a delivery service this communication implying a dedicated protocol, col. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image (i.e., FIG. 6, Application interface 505 of mobile device 500 displays contents information 600 on touch screen 520. Contents information 600 is a data structure indicating contents of the physical package. In the example presented in FIG. 6, contents information 600 is presented as an image portraying a product included in the physical package (not shown). In alternative embodiments, contents information 600 is a list of products or one or more specification sheets for one or more products. In addition to contents information 600, application interface 505 includes a subsequent function selection interface 605, col. 17, line 65 to col. 18, 22).
Regarding claim 13, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator (col. 19, line 25-42).
Regarding claim 14, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Madden teaches determining whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, causing the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object ([0044]-[0046]). Therefore, it is obvious to repeat an image capture if the image is not satistying.
Regarding claim 15, Nidamarthi teaches a system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising: receiving a request, from an application installed on a client device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera physically integrated as part of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received (column 4, lines 50 - 58: "a customer using a customer terminal 100 electronically sends a request for transaction 102 to a server 104" and "any computing device, such as a handheld tablet, mobile phone"); responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address (column 5, lines 38 - 40: "After a delivery process 114, such as transport with a commercial delivery service, a recipient possesses a physical package at receipt 116"); receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address (column 6, lines 6 - 11: "Mobile device 118 transmits over a wireless network 122 to server 104 on network 106 recipient reaction information 124"); responsive to receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address, transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera of the client device (column 6, lines 11 - 14: "Mobile computing device 118 receives over wireless network 122 from server 104 an item of transaction information 126"; column 7, lines 1 - 9: "User interaction functions that can be performed by mobile computing device 118 include sending a damage report or gathering feedback about recipient satisfaction with physical package at receipt 116. In such an embodiment, recipient reaction information 124 includes an indication of recipient satisfaction and can, at the option of the user, include detailed information such as a photograph taken with a camera of mobile computing device 118, showing damage 128 on physical package at receipt 116"; column 19, lines 25 - 42: “opportunity to photograph a physical package using a camera associated with mobile computing device"; figure 9).
Nidamarthi does not specifically teach transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Madden teaches the portable camera 56 may be activated when the control unit 110 determines that the portable camera 56 corresponds to the preset delivery schedule, and deactivated when the visitor 50 leaves the property 102. In some cases, the visitor 50 may manually activate/deactivate the portable camera 56 ([0083], [0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Madden within the system of Nidamarthi r in order to allow the customer to remotely activate home automation components to assist a task that a delivery person is planned to perform at the location of delivery.
Regarding claim 16, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information (read on users interaction/transaction on social media, column 8, line 56 - column 9, line 20; figure 1A: social network 140).
Regarding claim 17, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Madden teaches access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address (i.e., the portable camera 56 may be activated when the control unit 110 determines that the portable camera 56 corresponds to the preset delivery schedule, and deactivated when the visitor 50 leaves the property 102. In some cases, the visitor 50 may manually activate/deactivate the portable camera 56 ([0083], [0098]). Therefore, a skilled person would activate / deactivate the built in camera of a mobile device according to the needs.
Regarding claim 18, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address (i.e., communication taking place between the physical object provider and a delivery service this communication implying a dedicated protocol, col. 8).
Regarding claim 18, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image (i.e., FIG. 6, Application interface 505 of mobile device 500 displays contents information 600 on touch screen 520. Contents information 600 is a data structure indicating contents of the physical package. In the example presented in FIG. 6, contents information 600 is presented as an image portraying a product included in the physical package (not shown). In alternative embodiments, contents information 600 is a list of products or one or more specification sheets for one or more products. In addition to contents information 600, application interface 505 includes a subsequent function selection interface 605, col. 17, line 65 to col. 18, 22).
Regarding claim 19, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Madden teaches determining whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, causing the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object ([0044]-[0046]).
Regarding claim 19, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Madden teaches responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image ([0032]); and tagging the image with the selected physical object ([0032]).
Regarding claim 20, Nidamarthi in view of Madden teaches all the limitations above. Nidamarthi teaches determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator (col. 19, line 25-42).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,099,959 and over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,412,382. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the US application and claims 1-20 of the US Patents disclose the same invention (see table below).
US Application 18/797,508
US Pat. No. 12,099,959
1. A method comprising: receiving a request, from an application installed on a client device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received; responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address; responsive to receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera physically integrated as a part of the client device.
1. A method comprising: receiving a request, based on user input into a user interface of an application installed on a client device of a user, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera physically integrated as a part of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received; responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address; receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera physically integrated as a part of the client device.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, causing the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, causing the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object.
8. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon, the instructions causing one or more processors to perform operations when executed, the instructions comprising instructions to: receive a request, from an application installed on a client device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received; responsive to receiving the request, cause the physical object to be delivered to the address; receive a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmit an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera physically integrated as a part of the client device.
8. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon, the instructions causing one or more processors to perform operations when executed, the instructions comprising instructions to: receive a request, based on user input into a user interface of an application installed on a client device of a user, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the client device is de-activated; responsive to receiving the request, cause the physical object to be delivered to the address; responsive to receiving the notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address, transmit an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera physically integrated as a part of the client device.
9. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising instructions to: access profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and select the physical object based on the profile information.
9. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, the instructions further comprising instructions to: access profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and select the physical object based on the profile information.
10. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
10. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
11. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
11. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising instructions to, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determine whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmit a notification to an administrator.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising instructions to, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determine whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmit a notification to an administrator.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising instructions to, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determine whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, cause the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising instructions to, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determine whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, cause the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object.
15. A system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising: receiving a request, based on user input into a user interface of an application installed on a client device of a user, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera physically integrated as a part of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received; responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address; and responsive to receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address, transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera physically integrated as a part of the client device.
Claim 15 is the system of claim 8 above, the system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising: receiving a request, from an application installed on a mobile device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the mobile device is de-activated; responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address; receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera physically integrated as a part of the client device.
16. The system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information.
Claim 16 is the system of claim 9 above, further comprise: accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information.
17. The system of claim 15, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
Claim 17 is the system of claim 10 above, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
18. The system of claim 15, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between a physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
Claim 18 is the system of claim 11 above, wherein the notification is received by way of a dedicated of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
19. The system of claim 15, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
Claim 19 is the system of claim 12 above, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
20. The system of claim 15, the operations further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator.
Claim 20 is the system of claim 13 above, the operations further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator.
US Application 18/797,508
US Pat. No. 11,412,382
1. A method comprising: receiving a request, from an application installed on a client device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received; responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address; responsive to receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera.
1. A method comprising: receiving a request, from an application installed on a mobile device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the mobile device is de-activated; responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address; receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, causing the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, causing the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object.
8. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon, the instructions causing one or more processors to perform operations when executed, the instructions comprising instructions to: receive a request, from an application installed on a client device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received; responsive to receiving the request, cause the physical object to be delivered to the address; receive a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmit an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera.
9. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising memory with instructions encoded thereon, the instructions causing one or more processors to perform operations when executed, the instructions comprising instructions to: receive a request, from an application installed on a mobile device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the mobile device is de-activated; responsive to receiving the request, cause the physical object to be delivered to the address; receive a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmit an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera.
9. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising instructions to: access profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and select the physical object based on the profile information.
10. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, the instructions further comprising instructions to: access profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and select the physical object based on the profile information.
10. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
11. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
11. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs the operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising instructions to, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determine whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmit a notification to an administrator.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, the instructions further comprising instructions to, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determine whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmit a notification to an administrator.
14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising instructions to, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determine whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, cause the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object.
15. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, the instructions further comprising instructions to, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determine whether the image includes the physical object; and responsive to determining that the image does not include the physical object, cause the application to prompt the user to capture another image that includes the physical object.
15. A system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising: receiving a request, based on user input into a user interface of an application installed on a client device of a user, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera physically integrated as a part of the client device is de-activated at a time when the request is received; responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address; and responsive to receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address, transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera physically integrated as a part of the client device.
17. A system for selectively activating access by an application to a camera, the system comprising: memory with instructions encoded thereon; and one or more processors that, when executing the instructions, are caused to perform operations comprising: receiving a request, from an application installed on a mobile device of a user, by a physical object provider, for a physical object to be delivered to an address corresponding to the user, wherein access by the application to a camera of the mobile device is de-activated; responsive to receiving the request, causing the physical object to be delivered to the address; receiving a notification that the physical object has been delivered to the address; transmitting an instruction to the application to activate access by the application to the camera (integrated as a part of the client device, the camera is part of the client device).
16. The system of claim 15, the operations further comprising: accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information.
18. The system of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise: accessing profile information including indicia of past interactions of the user with the application that relate to published images that were captured by other users; and selecting the physical object based on the profile information.
17. The system of claim 15, wherein access by the application to the camera is de-activated unless an unpurchased physical item remains present at the address.
It is the system of claim 3 above.
18. The system of claim 15, wherein the notification is received by way of an application protocol interface established between a physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
20. The system of claim 17, wherein the notification is received by way of a dedicated of an application protocol interface established between the physical object provider and a delivery service responsible for delivery of the physical object to the address.
19. The system of claim 15, wherein the application, responsive to an image being captured by the camera, performs operations of: prompting the user to select, from a menu of delivered physical objects, an object that is within the image; and tagging the image with the selected physical object.
It is the system of claim 5 above.
20. The system of claim 15, the operations further comprising, responsive to an image being captured by the camera: determining whether the image is fraudulent; and responsive to determining that the image is fraudulent, transmitting a notification to an administrator.
It is the system of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ho et al. (US 2020/0349786) teaches a smart door lock or door-management platform that lets a person control access to a door remotely. The platform can include a lock, camera, microphone, speaker, keypad, wireless communication, and a motor that moves the locking mechanism. A homeowner or other administrator can use a smartphone or computer to see and talk to someone at the door. The system can notify the user when a delivery person arrives, identify that person, and show live video. The user can then unlock the door from afar and let the delivery person place a package inside. The system can also create temporary access codes for deliveries and limit them to a specific time window. In some versions, a first server and second server coordinate the access request between the lock owner and the delivery company. The platform can also use facial recognition, proximity sensing, and trust rules to decide whether to grant access. It can log entries and exits and send alerts if something unusual happens. The system is intended to make deliveries and other in-person services easier while reducing the need for physical keys. It is to be noted that the preceding disclosure reads on the claimed invention.
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643