DETAILED ACTION
The Art Unit location of your application in the PTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Group Art Unit 2691.
This communication is responsive to the claims filed 08/08/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cabrera et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2017/0303029).
Regarding claim 1, Cabrera et al. disclose an ear dome (1H) configured to seal an ear canal of a user (Figs 24a/b, [0212]), the ear dome configured to be attached to a hearing device ([0212-0213]), the ear dome comprising: a tubular portion (6H) configured to provide a fluid connection between the hearing device and the ear canal ([0214]), wherein the tubular portion comprises a first opening (Figs 24a/b), the first opening being configured to point towards the hearing device when the ear dome is worn by the user ([0214]); and a first circumferential flange (3H) connected to the tubular portion, wherein the first circumferential flange extends radially outwards from the tubular portion ([0212]); wherein the first circumferential flange curves away from the first opening and forms a concave surface facing the tympanic membrane (Fig. 24b), when the ear dome is worn by the user as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, comprising a reinforcement portion (10, 18)(Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 3, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the reinforcement portion comprises a second circumferential flange (3) connected to the first circumferential flange, and wherein the second circumferential flange extends radially outwards from the first circumferential flange (Figs 6a/b).
Regarding claim 4, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the second circumferential flange curves towards the first opening and forms a convex surface with respect to the tympanic membrane, when the ear dome is worn by the user (Figs 5-6).
Regarding claim 5, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the reinforcement portion comprises a rib (17) at an inner surface of the first circumferential flange (Fig. 18b).
Regarding claim 6, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the rib is at the concave surface formed by the first circumferential flange (Fig. 18b).
Regarding claim 9, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the reinforcement portion is configured (Figs. 24a/b) to ensure a formation of the concave surface and/or to maintain a curving direction of the concave surface ([0212]).
Regarding claim 10, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, comprising a second opening , the second opening being configured to point towards the tympanic membrane when the ear dome is worn by the user (Figs. 24a/b).
Regarding claim 11, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the first circumferential flange is connected at the tubular portion between the first opening and the second opening (Figs. 24a/b).
Regarding claim 12, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the first circumferential flange is closer to the first opening than to the second opening (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the first circumferential flange is closer to the second opening than to the first opening (Figs. 24a/b).
Regarding claim 14, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the second opening is at the tubular portion (Figs. 24a/b).
Regarding claim 15, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the second opening is at the concave surface formed by the first circumferential flange (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 17, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the ear dome is configured to provide a first sound pressure (one side of 12) that is anti-phase with respect to a second sound pressure (other side of 12) provided by walls of the ear canal of the user, when the ear dome is worn by the user (Figs. 4a/b-7, 31-32).
Regarding claim 18, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein the first sound pressure being anti-phase with respect to the second sound pressure is configured to reduce an occlusion effect (Figs. 4a/b-7, 31-32).
Regarding claim 19, Cabrera et al. further disclose the ear dome, wherein a system comprising the ear dome and the hearing device ([0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Cabrera et al. (U. S. Pat. App. Pub. No. – 2017/0303029).
Regarding claims 7-8, Cabrera et al. may not specially teach that the reinforcement portion comprises a foam at an inner surface of the first circumferential flange as claimed. Since providing suitable material for an ear dome of a hearing device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable material for the ear dome, such as the reinforcement portion comprises a foam at an inner surface of the first circumferential flange, and/or the foam is at the concave surface formed by the first circumferential flange, for the ear dome of the hearing device taught by Cabrera et al., in order to provide desirable features, such as comfort for the hearing device users.
Regarding claim 16, Cabrera et al. may not specially teach that an inner dimension of the concave surface of the first circumferential flange is from 1-4 mm, and wherein an outer dimension of the concave surface of the first circumferential flange is anywhere from 6-12 mm as claimed. Since providing suitable sized ear dome for an in the canal type hearing device is very well known in the art (Official Notice), it therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to provide suitable sized ear dome, such as an inner dimension of the concave surface of the first circumferential flange is from about 2.5mm, and wherein an outer dimension of the concave surface of the first circumferential flange is anywhere from 6-12 mm, for the ear dome of the hearing device taught by Cabrera et al., in order to effectively and efficiently manufacture the hearing device for certain users.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SUHAN NI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691