DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2024 was filed on the filing date of the instant application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2024, 01/24/2025 and 06/24/2025 were filed after the filing date of the instant application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
insertion member → a cylindrical pin is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the stacking direction" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation has been considered as --a stacking direction--.
The recitation of “a third chamfered portion” (claim 10, line 2) is unclear. The recitation renders the claim indefinite because a first and second chamfered portions have not been previously disclosed in parent claim 1. For examination purposes the recitation has been considered as --a chamfered portion--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakadeguchi (EP 1087191 A1, refer to attached translation).
Regarding claim 1, Nakadeguchi discloses a refrigerant flow path module provided with a refrigerant flow path inside (refer to fig.1), the refrigerant flow path module comprising:
a first plate (1);
a second plate (2) that is overlapped on the first plate;
a refrigerant pipe (31, 32) that contains copper (refer to par. 60, wherein the pipe material is formed from copper or copper alloys) and is attached to the first plate (31, 32);
a brazing material that contains copper (refer to par. 77, wherein copper or copper alloys is used as the brazing material) and joins facing surfaces of the first plate and the second plate to each other; and
a storage (17, 18, figs. 5-6) that stores the brazing material in excess.
Regarding claim 2, Nakadeguchi meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Nakadeguchi discloses wherein the refrigerant pipe (31, 32) is inserted into a hole formed in the first plate (refer to at least fig.1), the second plate (2) is provided with an opening (23) that communicates with the refrigerant pipe and constitutes the flow path (refer to the solid lined arrows as in fig. 1), the hole is disposed inside the opening as viewed in a stacking direction of the first plate and the second plate (refer to fig.1), and the storage (17, 18, figs. 5-6) is formed at a boundary portion between an inner peripheral surface of the opening and a plate surface of the first plate (1) facing the second plate (2).
Regarding claim 3, Nakadeguchi meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Nakadeguchi discloses wherein the refrigerant pipe (31, 32) is inserted into a hole formed in the first plate (1), the second plate (2) is provided with an opening (23) that communicates with the refrigerant pipe and constitutes the flow path (refer to the solid lined arrows as in fig. 1), the hole is disposed inside the opening (23) as viewed in the stacking direction of the first plate and the second plate, and the storage (17, 18) includes a groove disposed away from the hole radially outward and formed in a portion of the plate surface of the first plate facing the second plate, the portion facing the flow path (refer to fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 8, Nakadeguchi meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Nakadeguchi discloses wherein the refrigerant pipe is inserted into a hole formed in the first plate (refer to fig.6), the second plate is provided with an opening (23) that communicates with the refrigerant pipe and constitutes the flow path (refer to fig.6),
a chamfered portion (refer to chamfer portion 18 as in fig.6) is formed at a boundary between an inner peripheral surface of the opening (23) in the second plate (2) and a plate surface of the second plate facing the first plate, and the storage includes the chamfered portion (refer to fig.6).
Regarding claim 10, Nakadeguchi meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Nakadeguchi discloses wherein a chamfered portion (18) is formed at a boundary between an outer peripheral surface of the first plate and a plate surface of the first plate facing the second plate (refer to fig. 6), and the storage includes the third chamfered portion.
Regarding claim 11, Nakadeguchi discloses an air conditioner (refer to fig. 18) comprising the refrigerant flow path module according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763