DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 08 August 2024 and 04 April 2025 are acknowledged and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 requires that the first ventilation hole and the second ventilation hole are formed in the sensor cover. However, as is clear from claims 1 and 2, the first ventilation hole and the second ventilation hole are part of the first and second communication paths, which themselves are part of the communication path. This communication path is part of the case. It is thus unclear whether the first ventilation hole and the second ventilation hole are part of the pressure sensor or the case. The claim language seems to state both cases. Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the sensor cover and the first ventilation hole and the second ventilation hole are understood to be part of the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2004/0134282 to Hayashi et al. (hereinafter referred to as Hayashi; cited by applicant).
With regards to claim 1, Hayashi discloses a sensor unit (see fig. 1, etc.; fig. 1 shown below), arranged in an intake pipe of an internal combustion engine ([0023]), comprising:
a pressure sensor (pressure sensor chip 5), detecting a pressure of intake air in the intake pipe ([0023]); and
a case (sensor casing 3), comprising a first accommodation part (the recess in sensor casing 3 where the sensor chip 5 is disposed) and a communication path (pressure introduction port 18 comprising elements 18a, 18b from the bottom of the casing to where casing 3 narrows and partition 17 appears as a wedge), the first accommodation part accommodating the pressure sensor (see fig. 1), the communication path providing communication between a pressure receiving chamber (pressure chamber 15) of the pressure sensor and an intake passage of the intake pipe (not depicted in fig. 1, but located at arrow PR),
wherein the communication path comprises a first communication path (the right side of port 18 comprising region 18b and upwards) and a second communication path (the left side of port 18 comprising region 18a and upwards), the first communication path having a predetermined passage length (from the bottom of casing 3 to the top of partition 17), the second communication path having the same passage length as the first communication path (from the bottom of casing 3 to the top of partition 17) and comprising a region having passage area smaller than passage area of the first communication path (see the cross-section of these elements in fig. 2B).
With regards to claim 2, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 1. Hayashi further discloses
the first communication path comprising a first passage (from the bottom of casing 3 to where partition 7 juts inward) and a first ventilation hole (where the space between partition 7 and the outer wall of casing 3 jut in and are closest together in fig. 1), the first passage having predetermined passage area (see fig. 2B), the first ventilation hole leading to the first passage and having opening area (where casing 3 and partition 17 jut toward one another, or slightly thereabove) smaller than the passage area of the first passage (the area where casing 3 and partition 17 jut toward one another in this path is smaller than the area below in fig. 1); and
the second communication path comprising a second passage (from the bottom of casing 3 to where partition 7 juts inward) and a second ventilation hole (where the outer wall of casing 3 juts in in fig. 1), the second passage having the same passage length and passage area as the first passage (see fig. 1), the second ventilation hole leading to the second passage and having opening area (where partition 17 juts toward the casing 3) smaller than the opening area of the first ventilation hole (shown in cross-section in fig. 1).
With regards to claim 3, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 2. Hayashi further discloses the first ventilation hole and the second ventilation hole being formed as circular holes (partially circular in the cross-section of fig. 2B); and an inner diameter of the second ventilation hole is smaller than an inner diameter of the first ventilation hole (clear in the cross-section of fig. 2B).
With regards to claim 4, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 1. Hayashi further discloses the first communication path and the second communication path being formed to open to the intake passage in positions adjacent to each other (see fig. 1).
With regards to claim 5, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 2. Hayashi further discloses the pressure sensor comprising a sensor body (mold IC 2) and a sensor cover (covering formed by the walls of casing 3), the sensor body comprising a pressure receiving part (the pressure sensor chip 5), the sensor cover being connected to the sensor body to cover the pressure receiving part (see fig. 1) and define the pressure receiving chamber (see fig. 1); and the first ventilation hole and the second ventilation hole are formed in the sensor cover (where partition 17 juts inward in fig. 1 as per above).
With regards to claim 6, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 2. Hayashi further discloses the first ventilation hole and the second ventilation hole being formed in an offset manner close to a side part outside a central region of the pressure receiving chamber (fig. 1 and 2B show how these holes are offset to a left side part outside a central region of the pressure receiving chamber).
With regards to claim 7, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 2. Hayashi further discloses the case comprising a case body (the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A) and a sleeve (parts of casing 3 extending downward from the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A), the case body comprising a joint surface joined to the intake pipe (the bottom of the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A), the sleeve having a cylindrical shape protruding in a predetermined axis direction from the case body (see fig. 1 & 2B); and the first passage and the second passage are formed to extend within the sleeve (see fig. 1 & 2B).
With regards to claim 8, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 7. Hayashi further discloses the first passage and the second passage being formed to be adjacent to each other at an open end of the sleeve and to open to the intake passage (see fig. 1 & 2B).
With regards to claim 9, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 2. Hayashi further discloses a temperature sensor (temperature sensor chip 19), detecting a temperature of the intake air in the intake pipe ([0034]), wherein the case comprises a second accommodation part (the part of passage 18b where temperature sensor chip 19 is located) that accommodates the temperature sensor (see fig. 2B).
With regards to claim 10, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 9. Hayashi further discloses the case comprising a case body (the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A) and a sleeve (parts of casing 3 extending downward from the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A), the case body comprising a joint surface joined to the intake pipe (the bottom of the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A), the sleeve having a cylindrical shape protruding in a predetermined axis direction from the case body (see fig. 1 & 2B); and the first passage, the second passage, and the second accommodation part are formed to extend within the sleeve (see fig. 1 & 2B).
With regards to claim 11, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 10. Hayashi further discloses the sleeve comprising an end face (the bottom faces of the casing 3 and partition 17 where these element jut inward) and a tip outer wall (the wall of casing 3 below these bottom faces), the end face being where the first passage and the second passage open to the intake passage (as per fig. 1), the tip outer wall being formed to protrude from the end face and defining an outer wall of the second accommodation part (see fig. 1).
With regards to claim 12, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 9. Hayashi further discloses a circuit board (the substrate, potting 13, and leads to which sensors 5 and 19 connect in fig. 1), to which the pressure sensor and the temperature sensor are electrically connected (to connect to the connector comprising connector leads 12 for interfacing to the outside), wherein the case comprises a third accommodation part that accommodates the circuit board (the recess in the casing housing these connecting elements).
With regards to claim 13, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 12. Hayashi further discloses the first accommodation part, the second accommodation part, and the third accommodation part, with the pressure sensor, the temperature sensor, and the circuit board respectively arranged therein, are sealed by filling a mold resin material (mold resin 8 as per [0024], potting 13 as per [0027], and buffer 26 as per [0036]).
With regards to claim 14, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 13. Hayashi further discloses the case comprising a connector that exposes and surrounds a plurality of terminals (the ends of connectors 12) connected to wiring on the circuit board and is connected to the outside (see the connector in the upper right portion of fig. 1, also shown face on in fig. 2).
With regards to claim 15, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 1. Hayashi further discloses the case comprising a case body (the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A), a sleeve (parts of casing 3 extending downward from the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A), and an annular groove (the groove where O-ring 20 sits in fig. 2A), the case body comprising a joint surface joined to the intake pipe (the bottom of the flat part of casing 3 in fig. 2A), the sleeve having a cylindrical shape protruding in a predetermined axis direction from the case body (see fig. 1 & 2B), the annular groove being formed on an outer periphery of the sleeve and allowing an annular seal (O-ring 20) member to be fitted therein (see fig. 1 & 2A).
With regards to claim 16, Hayashi discloses the sensor unit according to claim 15. Hayashi further discloses the sleeve comprising a large-diameter cylindrical part continuous with the joint surface (the top half of this "sleeve" in fig. 1) and a small-diameter cylindrical part continuous with the large-diameter cylindrical part (the bottom half of this "sleeve" in fig. 1); and the annular groove is formed in the large-diameter cylindrical part (see fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2008/0148834 to Shinjo (cited by applicant).
With regards to claim 17, Hayashi teaches the sensor unit according to claim 1, but does not expressly teach the surrounding structure of the environment in which it will be placed, specifically:
in an intake system comprising: an intake pipe, defining an intake passage sage that guides intake air to a combustion chamber of the internal combustion engine; a fuel injection valve, injecting fuel to middle of the intake passage or to the combustion chamber; a throttle device, provided in middle of the intake pipe, opening and closing the intake passage; and the sensor unit, detecting a state quantity of the intake air.
Shinjo teaches such an environment in fig. 4. Specifically, Shinjo teaches an intake system of an internal combustion engine (see fig. 4), comprising: an intake pipe (intake pipe 4), defining an intake passage that guides intake air to a combustion chamber of the internal combustion engine (engine 30) (see fig. 4); a fuel injection valve (injector 37), injecting fuel to middle of the intake passage or to the combustion chamber (see fig. 4); a throttle device (throttle valve 34), provided in middle of the intake pipe, opening and closing the intake passage (see fig. 4); and a sensor unit (detection apparatus 31), detecting a state quantity of the intake air ([0062]-[0071]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly place the sensor unit of Hayashi in an environment such as that taught by Shinjo above. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to control fuel injection and thereby improve mileage and reduce emissions (see the advantages stated in [0070] of Shinjo).
With regards to claim 18, the combination of Hayashi and Shinjo teaches the intake system of an internal combustion engine according to claim 17. In this combination, the sensor unit is arranged in the intake pipe downstream of the throttle device (as per fig. 4 of Shinjo).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6,604,424 to Kawabe et al. discloses a related sensor unit wherein two communication paths are formed in a manner leading to a pressure sensing unit of a pressure sensor (see elements 51, 52 in fig. 16-22).
US 7,779,809 to Musashi et al. discloses a related sensor unit wherein two circular communication paths are having different cross-sectional areas are formed leading to a pressure sensing unit of a pressure sensor (see elements 13a, 13b in fig. 1).
WO 2012/028385 to Wolf et al. discloses a related sensor unit wherein two circular communication paths are having different cross-sectional areas are formed leading to a pressure sensing unit of a pressure sensor (see elements 32, 33 in fig. 1-2).
/JS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858