DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 8, 2024 and December 12, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, line 3, applicant claims “first and second brackets”. There is a prior mention of “a plurality of brackets” (claim 8, line 2) and it is unclear as to exact how many “brackets” the applicant is attempting to claim in that under 35 USC 112 each distinct feature/limitation is required to have an exact nomenclature and subsequent references to the same feature/limitation should be preceded by a “said” or “the”. The lack of clarity renders the claimed subject matter indefinite.
Note: If so intended, to replace “first and second brackets” with –first and second brackets of said plurality of brackets—would overcome the lack of clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Missotten et al. (USPGPub 2024/0324505) in view of Dissette et al. (USP 11,169,373).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 12: Missotten discloses a combine harvester (as seen in figure 1, generally 10) wherein;
the harvester is configured to perform a function that results in material flow in a first direction through the harvester (as seen in figure 1 as “billets” 54 are processed through the device) and wherein said material flow results in at least one obscurant in the harvester (page 4, paragraph [0049]); and,
at least one sensor (as seen in figure 2, at 100A), said sensor exposed to said at least one obscurant.
Further, Missotten discloses the device comprising a sensor cleaning mechanism (as seen in figure 2, generally 200) and a cleaning material (as seen in figure 3, at 202) as well as a means for moving the cleaning mechanism across the sensor (as seen in figure 2, generally 212, also, page 5, paragraph [0055]) but fails to show that means for moving including a spring.
However, Dissette teaches that it is well known to employ a spring in concert with a sensor cleaning device (as seen in figures 1-15). Dissette discloses a sensor device (as seen in figure 1, at 102) for use on a vehicle (column 1, lines 13-17) wherein the sensor device has a cleaning mechanism (as seen in figure 1, at 106), the cleaning mechanism comprising:
at least one spring (as seen in figure 1, at 118) configured to extend and retract
(as seen in figure 1, in phantom and plane views of 112); and,
at least one cleaning material (column 2, line 67 to column 3, line 4) wherein
said spring configured to move said cleaning material across a surface of said at least one sensor during at least one of said extension and retraction of said spring (as seen in figure 1, in positions 106a and 106b).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the motive means of Missotten with that as taught by Dissette since it would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain the predictable results of a passive motive means of a cleaning element.
Regarding claim 2: Missotten as modified by Dissette discloses the combine harvester of claim 1. Further, Dissette discloses wherein said spring extends in said first direction and retracts in a second, opposite direction (as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 3-5 and 10: Missotten as modified by Dissette discloses the combine harvester of claim 2. Further, the resultant device of Missotten as modified by Dissette would obviously allow material flow in said first direction to cause the spring to extend/retract in said first direction, wherein at least one of stopping or reducing said material flow in said first direction causes said spring to retract in said second direction and said cleaning material is configured to clean said surface when said spring retracts in said second direction.
Regarding claim 6-9: Missotten as modified by Dissette discloses the combine harvester of claim 1. Further, Dissette discloses wherein said sensor cleaning mechanism comprises two springs each having a first end and a second end (as seen in figures 1 and 2, at 118), wherein said first ends are joined to first and second brackets (as seen in figures 1 and 2, area of 108) of a plurality of brackets, respectively, and wherein said cleaning material extends between said second ends of said springs (as seen in figure 2, at 106).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong (USPGPub 2020/0179988) discloses a sensor having a spring actuated cleaning device.
/ROBERT E PEZZUTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3671