DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendment filed July 19, 2026 amends claims 1-6,12-15, 17,21,25,28-29,40,47,49 and 56. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 4-6,12-15, 17,21, 25, 40, 47, 49 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rast (US 20030216228 A1) in view of Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) and further in view of Partovi (US 20090096413 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rast discloses a method comprising: executing, by a processor in a device, a software (para 314, microcontroller 114 contains program for executing firmware and acceleration sensor 136 collecting information, para 335, One or more acceleration sensors 194 provide acceleration data to a microcontroller 196, or microprocessor, para 336, programming that is adapted for execution within the microprocessor generally performs the functions as shown in the FIG. 10, claim 52, computer circuit receiving inputs from acceleration sensing means, and adapted with executable programming for converting accelerations to audio signal for responsive to accelerations);
producing, by an accelerometer, an output signal responsive to an acceleration of the device (para 175, ball transmit information about impact acceleration, rolling status, and so forth, para 32, Monitoring and registering each impact as acceleration, para 319, FIG. 8 , impact registration using an acceleration sensor and sound output determined in response to received impact from acceleration of device), and
providing the output signal to the processor; activating, by the processor, an audible signaling component, for emitting an audible sound that comprises a single tone, or multiple tones, in response to the output signal (para 05, apparatus generates audio in response to detected motion, para 312, Microcontroller 114 generates audio output based on activation for acceleration and impact, para 343, device generates audio representation as detected using acceleration sensing, para 101, audio response triggers, para 76, 79, controls audio activated, wherein trigger sounds from unit controller, para 343-344, device generates audio representation as detected using acceleration sensing and generate audio output, para 326, generates an output in response to the difference therein which is communicated to the audio output, claim 1, device providing an audio output in response to impacts, para 36, audio sound selection {e.g. tones, physiol (polite), physio2 (medium), physio3 (rough bout), thresholds only}, para 42, Audio feedback comprises tones, sound effects, speech, music, and combinations thereof, para 152, sound pattern being output, such as the use of multiple overlapping tones, or alterations to sound patterns);
activating, by the processor, display that comprises one or more Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs) in the device, for visually displaying information to a person, in response to the output signal (para 05, device generates tactile, visual, and audio feedback in response to workout repetitions, para 62, information about strikes output to user in various forms, such as audio, a display, para 228, Numerous types of displays utilized, such as LCD, LED, plasma, analog, and so forth (i.e. display), para 31, outputs provided are in response to impacts, para 184, User provided with information via graphics resulting from data in response to output data (i.e. information to a person));
emitting, by an audible signaling component in the device, an audible sound, in response to the output signal (para 299, device emits sound in response to the intensity of the impacts and generate voiced audio, para 05, generates audio in response to strike to patterns of motion, para 328, input from the detection circuit 110 to control the activity of audio output so as to eliminate buzz and values of accelerations, para 25, provided as audio and optionally feedback in response to the intensity, para 05, apparatus generates audio in response to detected motion, para 312, Microcontroller 114 generates audio output based on activation for acceleration and impact);
powering, by a rechargeable battery, the processor, the accelerometer, the audible signaling component and the display (para 312, Fig. 6, device using a microcontroller/microprocessor 114, One or more acceleration sensors 110, audio device 120 coupled with audio transducer 122 (i.e. coil speaker, or piezoelectric transducer), A power control circuit 116, ON button 118, power applies to the power controller which latches in an ON state, para 348, Fig. 18, controller 502, power source 504, ball sensor 510, felt position sensor 508, RF 512, steering 520, Fig. 19, video 74, speaker 72, control 52, para 309, Audio generation/control unit 52 comprises a housing 64, display 74, Controls are depicted to control audio volume 68, impact scaling 70, and TKO threshold 72, para 228, Numerous types of displays utilized, such as LCD, LED, Electronic ink, plasma, analog, and so forth, para 62, Unit tracks information about the strikes registered during a "session", or bout, which may be output in various forms, such as audio, a display, or communicated to other devices, para 174, powered by a method selected from the following (1) primary batteries, (2) rechargable cells, (3) inductive charging (of battery or capacitor), para 336, Power for the unit is provided by a power source 212, para 117, powered by a battery or similar portable power source, para 143, unit powered from a battery, or similar portable power source, para 309, powered by an internal source or by received RF or inductive power);
induction-based contactless charging, the rechargeable battery from a received power, by a battery charger in the device that comprises, or consists of, an induction coil for inductively receiving power carried in an electromagnetic field (para 340, unit is preferably operated from battery, such as a coin cell, or AAA battery, although any power source utilized such as capacitive power, fuel cell power, and the like, para 174, powered by following (1) primary batteries, (2) rechargeable cells, (3) source charging (of battery or capacitor), (4) convert impact accelerations to energy, para 346, Fig. 17, An source block 420 utilized to charge energy storage device, para 143, unit that powered from a battery, or similar portable power source, para 309, powered by an internal source or by received RF or inductive power (i.e., contactless charging)), and
wherein the rechargeable battery, the processor, the accelerometer, the audible signaling component, and the display, are housed in a portable housing (para 276, Fig. 17, golf ball of FIG. 16, para 346, Fig. 17, golf ball 400, power stored in capacitor 416, or other form of energy storage device, controller 422, motion 424, and RF unit 428, para 348, FIG. 18, controller 502 receives power from a power source 504 preferably powered by a fuel cell, battery or other portable unit, para 176, The ball contains a transmitter, a source of electrical power, sensors, displaying on a screen or other form of output device, para 150, small portable electronic device such as a golf, tennis, baseball, and so forth include all components),
Even though Rast discloses numerous types of displays utilized, such as LCD, LED, Electronic ink, plasma, analog, and so forth [228] and induction-based contactless charging, the rechargeable battery, by a battery charger in the device that comprises, or consists of, induction coil for inductively receiving the power carried in electromagnetic field [174, 117, 240], Rast more specifically fails to disclose the method, wherein charging the rechargeable battery from a received AC power, receiving the AC power carried in an electromagnetic field;
converting, by an AC/DC converter in the battery charger the received AC power to a DC power.
In analogous art, Molinaroli discloses the method, wherein charging the rechargeable battery from a received AC power, receiving the AC power carried in an electromagnetic field (col. 22, lines 32-36, FIG. 28, shows some of the components which may be employed in the present device. The base unit would include a microprocessor, display lights, a device for display timing, and a power source, speakers, audio circuit, batteries, col. 10, lines 58-62, display devices with housings in the shape of game ball or baseball, and other types of items sold at sports matches or toys, col. 19, lines 60-65, Fig. 25, display on toy, frisbees, game balls, that activate display, col. 24, lines 24-30, power connector for connection to outside power source comprises battery, electrically induced power device, col. 14, lines 35-37, Electromagnetic energy induced through coils, where coil will induce AC power for charging, col. 8, lines 7-12, to power, rechargeable batteries used or, electromagnetically induced power through energized, electrically wound coils to induced power, col. 16, lines 33-40, device powered by 120V AC (i.e., AC power)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of the system to provide a more convenient way to charge the power source of the device disclosed by Rast to use game device to adapt signal from motor to processor giving position information as taught by Molinaroli to enable direct or indirect viewing of the graphics in order that graphics, words or messages are displayed when the display device is moved at or above a rate of speed sufficient to be viewed by humans. [Molinaroli, col. 1, lines 5-13].
Even though Molinaroli discloses device powered by 120V AC (i.e., AC power) [col. 16, lines 33-40], but Rast and Molinaroli specifically fails to discloses converting, by an AC/DC converter in the battery charger the received AC power to a DC power.
Partovi discloses converting, by an AC/DC converter in the battery charger the received AC power to a DC power (para 04, The power supply typically provides direct current (DC) voltage through a special connector to the device, toys or batteries inside allow recharging with a much simpler method, and [163] inductive (as described above) or wire free charger or power supply into a case for an electronic device, charging circuitry can be powered by plugging into an outlet power (i.e., AC power) and powered through an outlet directly by wires or wirelessly through an inductive or wire free charging system [0442] and para 91, receiver comprise coils, windings, or any wire that can sense a changing magnetic field, and rectify to produce a direct current (DC) voltage, which used to charge or power device or battery, para 300, (DC) power for charging/powering a device, Power Transfer as (DC) power out from receiver divided by (DC) power into the charger or power consumed by electronics., para 439, The unit connected to outlet or to an external (DC) power source such as power from an outlet, para 442, charger or power supply into a case for device, charging circuitry can be powered by plugging into an outlet power and powered through an outlet directly by wires or wirelessly through an inductive charging system and power input from electrical outlet (i.e., AC power) [ 437], para 10, power supply contains a transformer for voltage conversion, a first part contain the first winding and, the second part consists of a winding where power is received and then rectified to obtain DC voltage].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of the system to provide a more convenient way to charge the power source of the device disclosed by Rast and Molinaroli to use portable inductive power source, power device, or unit, for use in powering or charging electrical, electronic, battery-operated, mobile, and other devices or rechargeable batteries as taught by Molinaroli to use device for inductive power charging includes an internal battery, rechargeable battery power input from electrical outlet so that users continue to charge their devices properly [Partovi, para 437].
Regarding claim 4, Rast fails to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the one or more LEDs is a multi-color LED operative to illuminate in multiple colors.
In analogous art, Molinaroli discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the one or more LEDs is a multi-color LED operative to illuminate in multiple colors (col. 4, lines 13-15, FIG. 2, multi color LEDs 12 are preferred to allow more colorful displays, col. 6, lines 7-9, display LEDs 54 that light in different colors)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of the system to provide a more convenient way to renew the power source of the device disclosed by Rast to use game device to adapt signal from motor to processor giving position information as taught by Molinaroli to use an integrated processor for handling content for display and user interface for command and control of the external device may be presented in the eyepiece, and wherein feedback from the external device [Molinaroli, Abstract].
Regarding claim 5, Rast discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the display comprises, or is based on, a Liquid Crystal Display (LCD), Thin-Film Transistor (TFT), or Field Emission Display (FED) (para 228, Numerous types of displays may be utilized, such as LCD, LED, Electronic ink, plasma, analog, and so forth.).
Regarding claim 6, Rast discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the display comprises a video display that is configured for displaying a video content (para 329, optionally shown coupled through a video interface 150 for output to a video).
Regarding claim 12, Rast discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the accelerometer comprises, consists of, uses, or is based on, a piezoelectric, piezoresistive, capacitive, Micro-mechanical Electrical Systems (MEMS), or electromechanical accelerometer (para 335, One or more acceleration sensors 194 provide sensing of three axis is acceleration data, FIG. 6, acceleration sensor, para 308, sensors incorporate piezoelectric materials, para 340, system utilized capacitive power, para 176, ball contains a transmitter, a source of electrical power, sensors for registered any desired metric of ball travel, para 311, acceleration sensor 104 is shown coupled to the electronics in a position to more readily detect accelerations).
Regarding claim 13, Rast discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the output signal is responsive to a magnitude or a direction of the device acceleration, and the accelerometer is a single-axis, a two-axis, or a three-axis accelerometer (para 152, Accelerations are preferably detected in from two to three physical dimensions, unique contribution of each axis of acceleration, para 269, FIG. 10 device shown with functions for processing a multitude of accelerations axis, para 295, accelerations in three axis provides for greatest accuracy, para 335, One or more acceleration sensors 194 provide sensing of one and preferably three axis is acceleration data, para 337, Accelerations, in one or more axis that exceed swing thresholds of the device).
Regarding claim 14, Rast discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the housing is ball-shaped (para 08, devices comprise in many cases density, shape).
Molinaroli also discloses devices with housings in the shape of game ball or baseball, and other types of items at sports matches, novelty toys [col. 10, lines 58-62].
Regarding claim 15, Rast discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the housing is configured, dimensioned, formed, or structured as a game ball that is a cricket ball, baseball, basketball, football, soccer ball, tennis ball, rugby ball, golf ball, or volleyball ball (para 11, sports that use golf, tennis, a baseball , and so forth, para 14, devices in "grooving" a swing for golf, tennis, baseball , and other swing related sports, .
Regarding claim 17, Rast discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the housing is dimensioned and shaped as a handheld unit (para 150, small portable electronic device which are in hands of an athlete or associated sports equipment, such as a golf, tennis, baseball, and so forth).
Molinaroli discloses display pen works very similar to the hand held units (ball is typically small enough (i. e., handheld unit) to be kicked by a player [col. 10, lines 58-63]).
Regarding claim 21, Rast discloses the method according to claim 20, further comprising visually displaying, by the flat display in the device, information to the person in response to the sensor output (para 49, Visual display -- device preferably a small LCD, or other low power displaying information).
Regarding claim 25, Rast discloses the method according to claim 24, further comprising using the portable electronic device (para 16, device that is portable and inexpensive, para 306, device connected to audio output, and/or to a computerized device, such as a PC, laptop, PDA, and so forth).
Regarding claim 40, Rast discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the housing further comprises a battery compartment mechanically secured to the housing for housing the rechargeable battery (para 294, 296, FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 control unit 12 shown within a housing 24, which generated audio is directed, power switch 42 is shown protruding from the top of the housing, para 346, FIG. 15, golf ball 400 having out shell 402 with dimples 404. FIG. 16 depcits a cross section of the ball wherein electronic unit housed within a sperical shell 410, power control block 414 use of power stored in capacitor 416, or other form of energy storage device. An impact power device 418, such as piezo-electric, inductive block 420 charge energy storage device, controller 422 regulates activity of the ball and registers inputs sources, such as motion 424, Fig. 10, 18, para 117, Powered by a battery or similar portable power source, para 340, unit operated from a single battery, such as a coin cell, or AAA battery, although any power source may be utilized such as capacitive power, solar power, fuel cell power, and the like, claim 10, housing for retaining processing element for device and containing a power source for impact sensor and computer processing element).
Regarding claim 47, Rast discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising switching, by a controlled switch in the housing, a DC power from the rechargeable battery to a component, in response to the output signal (para 117, Powered by a battery or similar portable power source, para 340, unit operated from a single battery, such as a coin cell, or AAA battery, although any power source may be utilized such as capacitive power, solar power, fuel cell power, and the like).
Regarding claim 49, Rast fails to discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the device is further operative as a toy for an amusement of the person or a pet, and wherein the housing is configured, dimensioned, formed, or structured as a toy.
In analogous art, Molinaroli discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the device is further operative as a toy for an amusement of the person or a pet, and wherein the housing is configured, dimensioned, formed, or structured as a toy (col. 10, lines 58-62, devices with housings in the shape of game ball or children's toys, col. 25, lines 59-col. 26, lines 1-20, device may comprise: wrist or ankle band, or a child's toy; or motorized, non-motorized, or radio controlled toy car).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of the system to provide a more convenient way to charge the power source of the device disclosed by Rast to use game device to adapt signal from motor to processor giving position information as taught by Molinaroli to include devices with housing in shape of game ball, hatchets or baseball bats, and other types sold at sports matches. [Molinaroli, col. 10, lines 58-62].
Regarding claim 56, Rast discloses the method according to claim 55, wherein the events comprise occurrences when a magnitude of the output signal crosses an acceleration threshold (para 66, determine state in relation to a predetermined, or selected, threshold, para 324, acceleration data to determine based on occurance predetermined threshold).
6. Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rast (US 20030216228 A1) in view of Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) and further in view of Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) and further in view of Touma (US 9900669 B2).
Regarding claim 28, Rast discloses the method according to claim 27, wherein the wireless network is a Wireless Personal Area Network (WPAN), that uses a Bluetooth protocol according to, or based on, IEEE 802.15.1 standard (Fig. 18, para 324, acceleration data after conditioning may be communicated directly, or via a communication protocol 108 such as via Wireless communication pathway, para 348, RF output 512 allows remote control of the unit).
Molinaroli also discloses communication device being a radio frequency (RF) device, infrared (IR) device, serial device (RS 232, RS 485, or RS 422 communication standards), parallel device, USB, digital signal processor (DSP) communication device, Internet Service Provider (ISP), or X-10 communication device [col. 25, lines 1-10].
Touma discloses technology would be as an add-on to game-specific sports hardware for sports games (examples of which include baseball bat, golf club, tennis racket, skateboard, skis, luge, running, cycling, football, soccer, basketball, etc.) [col. 5, lines 15-20], and Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE), 6Lo WPAN (IPv6 over Low Power Wireless Personal Area Networks), low power and low-cost wireless networks. i. LoRaWAN, is similar in some respects to Sigfox and Neul. LoRaWAN targets wide-area network (WAN) applications and is designed to provide low-power WANs (wide area networks) [col, 19, lines 1-32].
Regarding claim 29, Rast discloses the method according to claim 27, wherein the wireless network is a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), that uses a protocol according to, or based on, IEEE 802.11 standard (para 324, acceleration data after conditioning may be communicated directly, or via a communication protocol 108 such as via Wireless communication pathway).
Touma discloses Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE), 6Lo WPAN (IPv6 over Low Power Wireless Personal Area Networks), low power and low-cost wireless networks. i. LoRaWAN, is similar in some respects to Sigfox and Neul. LoRaWAN targets wide-area network (WAN) applications and is designed to provide low-power WANs (wide area networks) [col, 19, lines 1-32].
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed July 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9, lines 13-20, the applicant argues that the species are independent or distinct and species are not obvious variants of each other base on the record.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that that claims 7-11, 18-20, 22-24, 26-27, 30-39, 41-46, 48 and 50-55 does not read on elected species of I (Fig. 2-4b) and withdrawn from consideration as in OA sent on 03/10/26,
On page 10, line 3, and lines 18-26, and page 11, lines 8- 14, and page 12, lines 1-5, lines 10-14, lines 17-22, and page 14, lines 1-7, and lines 26-28, and page 15, lines 5-26, and page 24, lines 25-29, and page 25, lines 1-26, the applicant argues that there are no explanations the references are analogous and improper picking and choosing and no enablement of prior arts or no teaching of limitations and improper piecemeal combinations with as claimed.
When considering analogousness of references, we must look not only into the field of endeavor, but also into the purpose or problem addressed. The instant application is directed not just to motion sensing and an annunciator responding to the sensed motion, but how to incorporate portable housing that encloses all recited components of rechargeable battery, processor, accelerometer and display unit and device may be powered from a battery, which may be charged from an AC power directly or contactless by using induction or by converting electrical energy from harvested kinetic energy.
Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches as in Fig. 6, device using a microcontroller/microprocessor 114, One or more acceleration sensors 110, audio device 120 coupled with audio transducer 122 (i.e. coil speaker, or piezoelectric transducer), A power control circuit 116, ON button 118, power applies to the power controller which latches in an ON state [0312] and, as in Fig. 18, controller 502, power source 504, ball sensor 510, felt position sensor 508, RF 512, steering 520, and as in Fig. 19, video 74, speaker 72, control 52 [348] and, Audio generation/control unit 52 comprises a housing 64, display 74, Controls are depicted to control audio volume 68, impact scaling 70, and threshold 72 [309] and, para 228, Numerous types of displays utilized, such as LCD, LED, Electronic ink, plasma, analog, and so forth [228].
Molinaroli teaches as in, FIG. 28, shows some of the components which may be employed in the present device. The base unit would include a microprocessor, display lights, a device for display timing, and a power source, speakers, audio circuit, batteries [col. 22, lines 32-36] and, display devices with housings in the shape of game ball or baseball, and other types of items sold at sports matches or toys [col. 10, lines 58-62] and, as in Fig. 25, display on toy, frisbees, game balls, that activate display [col. 19, lines 60-65].
Therefore, device that generates audio in response to patterns of motion, and generates audio feedback in response to motions and electrically powered light emitters control of a microprocessor(s) such that graphics are displayed when the display device and power supplies, power sources, and particularly to a system and method for inductive charging of portable devices from combinations of reference(s) are pertinent to the claimed invention and thus deemed analogous to the claimed invention.
On page 13, lines 11-29, the applicant argues that the reference(s) do not teach or even suggest no teaching of rechargeable battery as claimed.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches device powered by a method selected from the following (1) primary batteries, (2) rechargable cells, (3) inductive charging (of battery or capacitor), [0174] and powered by an internal source or by received RF or inductive power [0309] and, and, unit is preferably operated from battery, such as a coin cell, or AAA battery, although any power source utilized such as capacitive power, fuel cell power, and the like, and as in Fig. 17, An source block 420 utilized to charge energy storage device [0346] and, induction block 420 is also shown which utilized to charge the energy storage device [0346] and ,
Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) teaches Power could be supplied with a coil that picks up electromagnetic, data, power [col. 13, lines 16-20], and primary coil will induce AC power to the secondary coil which uses power after it is rectified to operate display [col. 14, lines 35-37], and .
Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) teaches coils , windings, or any wire that can sense a changing magnetic field, and rectify it to produce a direct current (DC) voltage, which is then used to charge or power the device [013] and FIG. 33 inductive coils charging system and one or more coils or wires shaped to receive power from the charger or power supply. The one or more coils or wires can be either printed on one or more PCBs, or formed from regular wires. As described above, the receiver can also contain rectifier(s) and capacitor(s) to produce a cleaner DC voltage [131].
On page 16, lines 21-27, and page 17, lines 18-29-page 18, lines 1-20, and page 16, lines 3-27, and page 16, lines 5-13, and lines 20-31, the applicant argues that the reference(s) (Rast (US 20030216228 A1) and Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) and Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) and Touma (US 9900669 B2)) are improper and unclear combinations and also improper rational for combining reference(s) and circular logic to reject claims.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that there is enough objective reason to combine the reference of Rast (US 20030216228 A1) and Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) and Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) to establish a prima facie case of obviousness as Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches device powered by a method selected from the following (1) primary batteries, (2) rechargable cells, (3) inductive charging (of battery or capacitor), and powered by an internal source or by received RF or inductive power [0309] and as in Fig. 6, device using microcontroller/microprocessor 114, One or more acceleration sensors 110, audio device 120 coupled with audio transducer 122 (i.e. coil speaker, or piezoelectric transducer), A power control circuit 116, ON button 118, power applies to the power controller which latches in an ON state, and as in Fig. 18, controller 502, power source 504, ball sensor 510, felt position sensor 508, RF 512, steering 520, and as in Fig. 19, video 74, speaker 72, control 52, para 309, Audio generation/control unit 52 comprises a housing 64, display 74, (paragraph 0174 and 0309, 312, 348) and Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) teaches Power could be supplied with a coil that picks up electromagnetic, data, power , and primary coil will induce AC power to the secondary coil which uses power after it is rectified to operate display (Abstract, col. 13, lines 16-20 and col. 14, lines 35-37) and Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) teaches coils , windings, or any wire that can sense a changing magnetic field, and rectify it to produce a direct current (DC) voltage, which is then used to charge or power the device and FIG. 33 inductive coils charging system and one or more coils or wires receive power from the charger or power supply and one or more coils or wires where receiver contain rectifier(s) and capacitor(s) to produce a cleaner DC voltage [013, 131] which is same as Applicant’s invention as to a apparatus and method including a motion sensing and an annunciator responding to the sensed motion and device may be powered from a battery, which may be charged from an AC power directly or contactless by using induction (Applicant’s Abstract).
Motivation to combine the teaching of Rast (US 20030216228 A1) and Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) and Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness as we must look not only into the field of endeavor, but also into the purpose or problem addressed. The instant application is directed not just to motion sensing and an annunciator responding to the sensed motion but how to incorporate device that generates audio in response to patterns of motion, and generates audio feedback in response to motions and power supplies, power sources, and particularly to a system and method for inductive charging of devices.
Therefore, there are enough proper rationale and motivations to combine the teaching of Rast (US 20030216228 A1) and Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) and Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) are pertinent to the claimed invention and thus combinations of reference(s) are pertinent to the claimed invention and sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness to the claimed invention.
On page 20, lines 1-15, and page 18, lines 15-25, the applicant argues that the reference(s) does not discloses any housing that is dimensioned and shaped as a handheld unit as claimed in claim 17.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches small portable electronic device which are in hands of an athlete or associated sports equipment, such as a golf, tennis, baseball, and so forth [050] and
Molinaroli teaches ball is typically small enough (i. e., handheld unit) to be kicked by a player [col. 10, lines 58-63]).
On page 21, lines 4-23, and page 18, lines 15-25, the applicant argues that the reference(s) does not discloses any sensor and any displaying in response to sensor output and display and that reference(s) cannot be combined to reject claim.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches para 49, Visual display -- device preferably a small LCD, or other low power displaying information [049] and
Molinaroli teaches as in FIG. 28, shows some of the components which may be employed in the present device. The base unit would include a microprocessor, display lights, a device for display timing, and a power source, speakers, audio circuit, batteries [col. 22, lines 32-36] ,and display devices with housings in the shape of game ball or baseball, and other types of items sold at sports matches or toys [col. 10, lines 58-62] and, as in Fig. 25, display on toy, frisbees, game balls, that activate display [col. 19, lines 60-65].
On page 22, lines 6-25, and page 23, lines 1-2, the applicant argues that the reference(s) does not discloses battery compartment secured to the housing and switch in the housing, a DC power from rechargeable battery to components as claimed.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches as in FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 control unit 12 shown within a housing 24, which generated audio is directed, power switch 42 is shown protruding from the top of the housing [294, 296] and, as in Fig. 10, 18, Powered by a battery or similar portable power source, para 340, unit operated from a single battery, such as a coin cell, or AAA battery, although any power source may be utilized such as capacitive power, solar power, fuel cell power, and the like, claim 10, housing for retaining computer processing element for device and containing a power source for impact sensor and computer processing element [ 117]).
On page 23, lines 4-29, and page 23, lines 1-6, the applicant argues that the reference(s) modified as a toy directed to child play… change the principals of operation and no rational for modifying reference.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches small portable electronic device which mounts near the hands of an athlete or more preferably to the associated sports equipment, such as a golf club, tennis racket, baseball bat, and so forth [150] and
Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) teaches devices with housings in the shape of game ball trinkets, miniature hatchets or baseball bats, and other types of items sold at sports matches. They could be children's novelty toys, such as play light display swords [col. 10, lines 58-62] and motorized and non-motorized toy cars (even a radio-controlled toy car), frisbees, game balls, and hula-hoops. This embodiment may include a clutch system(s) in the yo-yo [col. 19, lines 60-64].
As in Applicant’s published specification discloses device may be used as a toy for amusement, and may be shaped like a play ball or as a handheld unit.[Abstract] and the device may be substantially sphere shaped similar to play ball, and may be used as a toy for the amusement of a person or a pet. The ball shape may be similar to cricket, baseball, basketball, football, soccer, tennis, rugby, golf, or volleyball play ball [014].
On page 24, lines 8-16, the applicant argues that the reference(s) modified as a toy directed to child play… change the principals of operation and no rational for modifying reference.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches device determine state in relation to a predetermined, or selected, threshold, para 324, acceleration data to determine based on occurance predetermined threshold [066].
On page 24, lines 25-29, and page 25, lines 1-26, the applicant argues that the reference(s) are not analogous and there is no rational .
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches as in Fig. 18, para 324, acceleration data after conditioning may be communicated directly, or via a communication protocol 108 such as via Wireless communication pathway, [324] and network interface 92 is coupled to controller 52 allowing communication over a network 94 with devices 96, such as computers 98, PDAs and other internet enable appliances 100 [377].
Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) teaches network communication, such as (RFID), Bluetooth, WiFi, Wireless USB, or others can be used [107].
Touma discloses FIG. 7 shows a wireless motion sensor system used in American football, and technology would be as an add-on to game-specific sports hardware for sports games (examples of which include baseball bat, golf club, tennis racket, skateboard, skis, luge, running, cycling, football, soccer, basketball, etc.) [col. 5, lines 15-20], and Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE), 6Lo WPAN (IPv6 over Low Power Wireless Personal Area Networks), low power and low-cost wireless networks. i. LoRaWAN, is similar in some respects to Sigfox and Neul. LoRaWAN targets wide-area network (WAN) applications and is designed to provide low-power WANs (wide area networks) [col, 19, lines 1-32] which is same as Applicant’s invention as to a apparatus and method including a motion sensing and an annunciator responding to the sensed motion and device may be powered from a battery, which may be charged from an AC power directly or contactless by using induction (Applicant’s Abstract).
Motivation to combine the teaching of Rast (US 20030216228 A1) and Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) and Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) and Touma (US 9900669 B2) is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness as we must look not only into the field of endeavor, but also into the purpose or problem addressed. The instant application is directed not just to motion sensing and an annunciator responding to the sensed motion but how to incorporate device that generates audio in response to patterns of motion, and generates audio feedback in response to motions and power supplies, power sources, and particularly to a system and method for inductive charging of devices.
On page 26, lines 17-30-page 27, lines 1-7, the applicant argues that the reference(s) do not teach WPAN or WLAN as claimed.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that the Rast (US 20030216228 A1) teaches as in Fig. 18, para 324, acceleration data after conditioning may be communicated directly, or via a communication protocol 108 such as via Wireless communication pathway, [324] and network interface 92 is coupled to controller 52 allowing communication over a network 94 with devices 96, such as computers 98, PDAs and other internet enable appliances 100 [377].
Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) teaches network communication, such as (RFID), Bluetooth, WiFi, Wireless USB, or others can be used [107].
Touma discloses FIG. 7 shows a wireless motion sensor system used in American football, and technology would be as an add-on to game-specific sports hardware for sports games (examples of which include baseball bat, golf club, tennis racket, skateboard, skis, luge, running, cycling, football, soccer, basketball, etc.) [col. 5, lines 15-20], and Bluetooth Low-Energy (BLE), 6Lo WPAN (IPv6 over Low Power Wireless Personal Area Networks), low power and low-cost wireless networks. i. LoRaWAN, is similar in some respects to Sigfox and Neul. LoRaWAN targets wide-area network (WAN) applications and is designed to provide low-power WANs (wide area networks) [col, 19, lines 1-32]
Thus, Rast (US 20030216228 A1) and Molinaroli (US Pat 6265984 B1) and Partovi (US 20090096413 A1) and Touma (US 9900669 B2) disclose the applicant’s whole invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688