DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-16 and 19) in the reply filed on 30 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 30 July 2026.
Claims 1-16 and 19 are under current consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “ensulizole” is misspelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gholap et al. (Pharmaceutics, 21 March 2023, Vol. 15, No. 3: 1008, pages 1-37).
Gholap et al. discloses sunscreen formulations including avobenzone UVA filter wherein photostabilizers may be used therein to reduce photodegradation thereof (abstract) wherein UV filter bemotrizinol can be included in formulations as an excellent avobenzone photostabilizer (Section 7.2.1 pages 9-10) wherein titanium dioxide or titanium dioxide coating physical UV filters can be included in formulations for avobenzone photostabilization (Section 7.5 page 21) wherein titanium dioxide nanoparticles and zinc oxide microparticles can be included therein (Section 7.8 pages 25-26) wherein ethylhexyl methoxycrylene is a commonly used avobenzone stabilizer (Section 7.6.3 pages 23-24).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Gholap et al. as discussed above and to make the sunscreen formulation of Gholap et al. with UVA filter avobenzone, UV filter and photostabilizer bemotrizinol, and UV filter and photostabilizer titanium dioxide coating or nanoparticles (i.e., particle diameters less than 1000 nm) therein, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further regarding claim 5, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Gholap et al. as discussed above and to make the sunscreen formulation of Gholap et al. as discussed above with zinc oxide additionally included therein, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further regarding claims 8-9 and 11-12, although Gholap et al. does not disclose such amounts/ratios, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize UV filtering and avobenzone stabilization by varying the amounts/ratios of UVA filter avobenzone, UV filter and photostabilizer bemotrizinol, and UV filter and photostabilizer titanium dioxide therein through routine experimentation per MPEP 2144.05(II) with a reasonable expectation of success, given that Gholap et al. discloses such ingredients as UV filter and photostabilizer actives, and also given that actives are result-effective variables. See, e.g., Ex parte Johnson, USPTO, PTAB Final Decision, Appeal 2014-005994, 2016 BL 301387, Application 13/355,217, page *10 ("well-known fact that drug concentration is a result effective variable"); Ex parte Armstrong, USPTO, PTAB Final Decision, Appeal 2016-4692, 2017 BL 222605, Application 13/834,281, page *3 ("a person skilled in the art, such as a medical practitioner, would have recognized that the concentration of an active agent used for disease treatment in patients . . . was a result effective variable, and that a determination of . . . concentration was a matter of routine optimization"); Ex parte Belder, USPTO, BPAI Final Decision, Appeal 2007-0185, Application 10/305,281, pages *7-*8 ("obvious to optimize the amount of drug in a tablet"; "A minor modification of the prior art, such as optimizing the amount of a particular ingredient, does not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art."; "experimentation needed to arrive at a drug dosage 'was nothing more than routine.'").
Further regarding claim 10, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to follow the suggestions of Gholap et al. as discussed above and to make the sunscreen formulation of Gholap et al. as discussed above with ethylhexyl methoxycrylene additionally included therein to further stabilize avobenzone, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further regarding claims 13-16, such claimed properties are presumed inherent in the composition of Gholap et al. per MPEP 2112(V) and 2112.01(I), given that such composition is at least substantially identical to the claimed composition, and given that compositions that are physically the same must have the same properties per MPEP 2112.01(II).
Claim(s) 1-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gholap et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 5-16, and 19 above, and further in view of Meyer et al. (US 2007/0189993 A1; published 16 August 2007).
Gholap et al. is relied upon as discussed above.
Gholap et al. does not disclose phenylbenzimidazole sulfonic acid as in claims 3-4.
Meyer et al. discloses sunscreen compositions wherein phenylbenzimidazole sulfonic acid therein protects avobenzone therein from photodegradation (abstract).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gholap et al. and Meyer et al. by including the phenylbenzimidazole sulfonic acid of Meyer et al. in the sunscreen composition of Gholap et al. as discussed above, with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do so to further protect the avobenzone therein from photodegradation as suggested by Meyer et al., and given that Gholap et al. suggests the desirability of photostabilizing avobenzone in sunscreen compositions.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MICHAEL B. PALLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617