Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 9, the term “defrorming” should be changed to read “deforming”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Walker et al. (US 20220362674 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Walker et al. discloses a recording medium recording a program (computer-readable medium, paras. 0110, 0115), the program causing a computer to execute:
displaying, based on a captured image obtained by capturing an image of a first object, a first image in which a contour of the first object is indicated by a line (image capture device operable to capture two or more images of the real-world object when the real-world object is placed within a field of view of the image capture device, e.g. on a suitable object support, wherein the two or more images are taken from different viewpoints relative to the real-world object. Each image may be a picture or another form of two-dimensional representation of a field of view of the image capture device which representation allows the determination of a shape, para. 0023; detect predetermined shapes, e.g. ellipses, polygons, etc. in the current view and highlight the detected shapes, para. 0164);
displaying an editing image in which a content image indicating content is superimposed on at least a part of the first image (create a real-world toy construction model or otherwise select or create a real-world object resembling an asset to be used as a virtual object, para. 0016; Colors on a creature are recognized and corresponding animation targets are overlaid over the regions, para. 0215);
receiving input for changing at least one of a position, a shape, and a size of the content image in the editing image (assigning one or more local attributes to the selected part of the virtual object, para. 0075); and
changing the at least one of the position, the shape, and the size of the content image based on the input for changing (functionality that allows the user to manipulate the view of the created virtual object 301, e.g. by rotating the object, by zooming, etc., para. 0164).
Regarding claim 2, Walker et al. discloses the recording medium recording the program according to claim 1, wherein the input for changing includes input for selecting the first image, and the changing includes displaying the content image superimposed on the first image in a shape close to a shape of the first image when the input for selecting the first image is received (the user (or the process) may select two virtual objects to be combined and the process may highlight the available connection points on both virtual objects, para. 0234).
Regarding claim 3, Walker et al. discloses the recording medium recording the program according to claim 1, wherein the captured image includes images of the first object and a second object, the displaying the first image includes displaying the first image and a second image indicating a contour of the second object with a line, the input for changing includes input for selecting the first image or the second image, and the changing includes displaying the content image superimposed on the first image in a shape close to a shape of the first image when the input for selecting the first image is received (first and second real-world objects may be a respective toy construction model being constructed from respective pluralities of toy construction elements, each toy construction element comprising one or more coupling members configured for detachably interconnecting the toy construction elements with each other. One or both of the obtained digital representations may be indicative of a visual appearance of the respective real-world objects. The created virtual object may have a visual appearance of a likeness of the second real-world object or of a combination of the first and second real-world objects, e.g. of a combined toy construction model constructed by attaching the first and second real-world toy construction models to each other, para. 0047); and
displaying the content image superimposed on the second image in a shape close to a shape of the second image when the input for selecting the second image is received (via display 120 of multiple real-world objects, para. 0228).
Regarding claim 4, Walker et al. discloses the recording medium recording the program according to claim 1, wherein the input for changing includes input for deforming a contour of the content image, and the changing includes: deforming the contour of the content image when the input for deforming is received (evolution of virtual objects often involves a change of appearance of the virtual objects. When inserting virtual objects into a game based on captured images or other representations of user-constructed toy models it may be desirable that the user does not need to completely re-build a model and convert it into a virtual object too many times even though the user may actually only make minor adjustments to a virtual object, e.g. during a game level, while retaining attributes of the original virtual object. A more enjoyable flow would be to build a model at the beginning of the level and then make small adjustments, e.g., so as to overcome challenges throughout the level. A rebuild of a model can mean that toy construction elements are added, taken away, and/or rearranged, para. 0240); and displaying the content image having the contour deformed by the deforming and superimposed on the first image (replaces the part of the 3D digital representation of the toy construction model that has been recognized as corresponding to the known toy construction element with the corresponding 3D representation of the known toy construction element as retrieved from the library 1325. This replacement is schematically illustrated in the bottom right of FIG. 10. The thus modified 3D representation generated in step S1304 may then be used as a 3D representation of a virtual object in a virtual environment, para. 0205-0206).
Regarding claim 5, Walker et al. discloses the recording medium recording the program according to claim 1, the program further causing the computer to execute:
displaying a user interface image for selecting one of a first display mode and a second display mode (transformation or transition between the states may be triggered by a game event, e.g. by a user input, para. 0058);
displaying the editing image when the first display mode is selected (transformation or transition between the states may be triggered by a game event, e.g. by a user input, para. 0058); and
displaying the content image superimposed on at least a part of the captured image when the second display mode is selected (modified 3D representation generated in step S1304 may then be used as a 3D representation of a virtual object in a virtual environment, para. 0206).
Regarding claim 6, Walker et al. discloses the recording medium recording the program according to claim 1, the program further causing the computer to execute, when the first image is selected or when the first image is focused, highlighting the first image (process has highlighted the detected ellipse by drawing an emphasized ellipse 303 in a predetermined color, e.g. in red, para. 0164).
Regarding claim 7, Walker et al. discloses a content editing method comprising:
displaying, based on a captured image obtained by capturing an image of a first object, a first image in which a contour of the first object is indicated by a line (image capture device operable to capture two or more images of the real-world object when the real-world object is placed within a field of view of the image capture device, e.g. on a suitable object support, wherein the two or more images are taken from different viewpoints relative to the real-world object. Each image may be a picture or another form of two-dimensional representation of a field of view of the image capture device which representation allows the determination of a shape, para. 0023; detect predetermined shapes, e.g. ellipses, polygons, etc. in the current view and highlight the detected shapes, para. 0164);
displaying an editing image in which a content image indicating content is superimposed on at least a part of the first image (create a real-world toy construction model or otherwise select or create a real-world object resembling an asset to be used as a virtual object, para. 0016; Colors on a creature are recognized and corresponding animation targets are overlaid over the regions, para. 0215);
receiving input for changing at least one of a position, a shape, and a size of the content image in the editing image (assigning one or more local attributes to the selected part of the virtual object, para. 0075); and
displaying at least one of the position, the shape, and the size of the content image in a state in which at least one of the position, the shape, and the size of the content image is changed based on the input for changing (functionality that allows the user to manipulate the view of the created virtual object 301, e.g. by rotating the object, by zooming, etc., para. 0164).
Regarding claim 8, Walker et al. discloses an information processing device comprising:
an input device (paras. 0110, 0138);
a display device (e.g., display 103, 503, 1203); and
a processing device (a processor, such as a CPU, of the data processing system for execution a processor, such as a CPU, of the data processing system for execution, para. 0110) programmed to execute:
displaying, by the display device, based on a captured image obtained by capturing an image of a first object, a first image in which a contour of the first object is indicated by differentiating colors of an inside and an outside of the contour from each other (modification of one or more colors, para. 0028; detection of colors and display of features associated with the colors, para. 0213. See also para. 0215);
displaying, by the display device, an editing image in which a content image indicating content is superimposed on at least a part of the first image (create a real-world toy construction model or otherwise select or create a real-world object resembling an asset to be used as a virtual object, para. 0016; Colors on a creature are recognized and corresponding animation targets are overlaid over the regions, para. 0215);
receiving, via the input device, input for changing at least one of a position, a shape, and a size of the content image in the editing image (assigning one or more local attributes to the selected part of the virtual object, para. 0075); and
changing the at least one of the position, the shape, and the size of the content image based on the input for changing (functionality that allows the user to manipulate the view of the created virtual object 301, e.g. by rotating the object, by zooming, etc., para. 0164).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J LETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611