CTNF 18/797,654 CTNF 82662 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: CONTROL METHOD THAT MAKES IT POSSIBLE TO USE HALFTONE PROCESSING, INFORMATION PROCESSING APPARATUS, AND STORAGE MEDIUM WITH A GENERAL-PURPOSE PROGRAM . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9-15 and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1 and/or a2) as being anticipated by Natori . Re claim 1: Natori discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method of controlling a function of a general-purpose program which can be commonly used for printing apparatuses of a plurality of makers, such that the function can be extended (e.g. the client contains a universal printer driver than can have its functions extended to offer other functions, which is taught in ¶ [40], [77] and [78].), [0040] The printer driver storage region 310 is a region in which printer drivers, such as the shared printer driver 211, are stored. Furthermore, while, in the present exemplary embodiment, a case where the shared printer driver 211 is previously installed is described as an example, in addition to the shared printer driver 211, other printer drivers can be previously installed. The shared printer driver 211 includes filters 311, a filter configuration 312, a device function text file group 313, a script file group 314, and an INF group 315. Furthermore, in the present exemplary embodiment, the filters 311 and the filter configuration 312 are used in common even when any printing apparatus is used. On the other hand, each of the file groups 313 and 314 and the INF groups 315 is stored as files which are different for the respective printing apparatuses serving as a destination for printing operation. The shared printer driver 211 switches files which the configuration module 304 uses, according to a printer serving as a destination for printing operation selected by the user. Furthermore, in the present exemplary embodiment, the shared printer driver 211 is assumed to be a universal printer driver, which is compatible with printing apparatuses of a plurality of vendors, and is assumed to be able to independently perform print setting compliant with the Internet Printing Protocol (IPP). While, in the present exemplary embodiment, it is supposed that the shared printer driver 211 is a driver installed by the user, the present exemplary embodiment is not limited to this. For example, the shared printer driver 211 can be a driver pre-installed in the OS 210. [0077] Referring back to the description of FIG. 6, in step S 603 , the OS 210 receives a user operation performed via the simple print setting dialog 700 . In step S 604 , the OS 210 determines whether the advanced setting button 705 has been clicked on. If, in step S 604 , it is determined that the advanced setting button 705 has been clicked on (YES in step S 604 ), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S 605 , and, if it is determined that the advanced setting button 705 has not been clicked on (NO in step S 604 ), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S 630 . [0078] In step S 605 , the OS 210 performs printing extensibility application search processing. The printing extensibility application search processing in step S 605 is described below. In step S 606 , the OS 210 determines whether the result of the printing extensibility application search processing in step S 605 is true. If, in step S 606 , it is determined that the result of the printing extensibility application search processing in step S 605 is true (YES in step S 606 ), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S 607 , and, if in step S 606 , it is determined that the result of the printing extensibility application search processing in step S 605 is not true (NO in step S 606 ), the OS 210 advances the processing to step S 620 . wherein the method comprises: causing the printing apparatus to execute halftone processing for generating image data for expressing halftone on a printed matter printed based on print data generated by the general-purpose program (e.g. the characteristic parameters are available for the client to instruct the printer to perform extended functions, such as the halftone processing at the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68] and [69].). [0068] Characteristic parameters which differ according to the type of a printing apparatus are able to be stored in a device function text file and a script file included in the extension INF package. [0069] For example, a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern parameter which is needed to use the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing function is included in the device function text file 513. Moreover, characteristic parameters, such as a constraint rule condition indicating a combination of print settings which causes a problem specific to a printing apparatus, are included in the script file 514. For example, depending on output characteristics of a print engine, if a low resolution and a copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing function are combined with each other, there may be a case where it is impossible to appropriately print hidden information. A rule for performing control to prevent such a combination is included in the script file 514. Moreover, characteristic parameters included in each extension INF package are merely examples, and can further include a wide variety of parameters for enabling a printing apparatus to perform more appropriate printing. For example, the characteristic parameters can include a color profile for performing color matching and a characteristic parameter such as a dither matrix for use in halftone processing. [0121] Additionally, while, in the above-described exemplary embodiment and the above-described modification example, parameters of the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing function are used as an example of characteristic parameters which are supplied to the printing extensibility application 350 and the copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing function is used as an example of a unique function of the printing extensibility application 350 , the above-described exemplary embodiment and the above-described modification example are not limited to this. For example, characteristic parameters about a color profile or a dither matrix for use in halftone processing can be supplied to the printing extensibility application 350 . The printing extensibility application 350 , which has received such characteristic parameters, is able to implement the function of color matching based on the color profile or is able to perform setting of, for example, the number of lines per inch in a case where halftone processing is performed on the printing apparatus. Re claim 3: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises selecting and setting, before execution of the halftone processing, an execution condition used when executing the halftone processing (e.g. the user can select the paper size, N-up and other advanced settings to be performed before the halftone processing is executed, which is taught in ¶ [68], [69], [121] above and [76] for figure 7A.), and [0076] In step S601, the OS 210 receives a print setting display event. The print setting display event is issued by the user executing a print command on an application having a print output function. In step S602, the OS 210 displays a simple print setting dialog 700. FIG. 7A illustrates an example of the simple print setting dialog 700, which is displayed on the display 207. The simple print setting dialog 700 allows setting to be performed with use of a printing apparatus setting 701, a paper size setting 702, and a number-of-copies setting 703, which are used for printing. An advanced setting button 705 is a button which is used to display the UI of the advanced print setting UI unit 352, which the printing extensibility application 350 provides. A print button 710 is a button which is used to start printing after completion of print setting. A cancel button 711 is a button which is used to stop print setting. Hereinafter, in the present exemplary embodiment, for the purpose of illustration, a printing apparatus which is used for printing set via the simple print setting dialog 700 is referred to as a “target printer”. More, the printing apparatus 102 is assumed to be selected as the target printer in the following description. wherein said execution of the halftone processing includes converting intermediate data generated by the general-purpose program to the image data which can be printed by the printing apparatus, based on the execution condition set by said setting (e.g. the data is transformed from XPS data to a PDL data before being sent to the printer for further processing with the halftone instructions. This is taught in ¶ [115].). [0115] In step S911, the OS 210 reads out a filter 311 compatible with a printer driver 211 which is to be used from the external memory 209 based on the definition of the filter configuration 312 via the filter pipeline manager 303, and loads the filter 311 onto the RAM 202. In step S912, the OS 210 inputs the XPS to the loaded filter 311 via the filter pipeline manager 303, thus performing PDL conversion processing with use of the filter 311. Furthermore, the filter 311 which is used for the PDL conversion processing in step S912 can include a plurality of filters. In step S913, the OS 210 transfers the PDL which has been obtained as a result of the PDL conversion processing in step S912 to the spooler 302 via the filter pipeline manager 303. After that, the OS 210 transmits, to the target printer (for example, the printing apparatus 102), data including the PDL and PrintTicket as a print job in cooperation with the network I/F 213 via the spooler 302. Re claim 4: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 3, wherein said setting includes displaying a setting screen on which the execution condition can be selected and set (e.g. in figure 7B, the N-up printing or a set pattern can be selected and set, which is taught in ¶ [80].). [0080] In step S608, the printing extensibility application 350, which has been activated by the OS 210, displays an advanced print setting dialog 720. The advanced print setting UI unit 352 displays the advanced print setting dialog 720 based on PrintTicket and PrintCapabilities generated based on function text files for the target printer included in the file groups 313 and 314. FIG. 7B illustrates an example of the advanced print setting dialog 720 of the printing extensibility application 350. The user is allowed to perform settings about N-up printing 721, stapling 722, and copy-forgery-inhibited pattern printing 723 via the advanced print setting dialog 720 of the printing extensibility application 350. Re claim 5: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 4, wherein in the setting screen, at least one of a color tone section for selecting a color tone, a resolution section for selecting a resolution, and an error diffusion section for selecting error diffusion is included as the execution condition (e.g. a color tone selection for the pattern can be selected, which is taught in ¶ [80] above.). Re claim 9: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 3, wherein in said execution of the halftone processing, whether to cause the printing apparatus to execute the halftone processing or to execute the halftone processing can be selected according to the execution condition (e.g. the user can instruct performing the halftone processing. The halftone processing is performed on the printer, which is taught in ¶ [69] and [121] above.). Re claim 10: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein as the general-purpose program, a program which cannot execute the halftone processing is used (e.g. the system discloses printers that can perform features and that cannot perform other features, such as halftone processing if this feature is missing from the printer. This is taught in ¶ [68] and [69] above.). Re claim 11: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein as the general-purpose program, a program which operates based on the Internet Printing Protocol is used (e.g. the system discloses operating within an IPP framework, which is taught in ¶ [40].). [0040] The printer driver storage region 310 is a region in which printer drivers, such as the shared printer driver 211, are stored. Furthermore, while, in the present exemplary embodiment, a case where the shared printer driver 211 is previously installed is described as an example, in addition to the shared printer driver 211, other printer drivers can be previously installed. The shared printer driver 211 includes filters 311, a filter configuration 312, a device function text file group 313, a script file group 314, and an INF group 315. Furthermore, in the present exemplary embodiment, the filters 311 and the filter configuration 312 are used in common even when any printing apparatus is used. On the other hand, each of the file groups 313 and 314 and the INF groups 315 is stored as files which are different for the respective printing apparatuses serving as a destination for printing operation. The shared printer driver 211 switches files which the configuration module 304 uses, according to a printer serving as a destination for printing operation selected by the user. Furthermore, in the present exemplary embodiment, the shared printer driver 211 is assumed to be a universal printer driver, which is compatible with printing apparatuses of a plurality of vendors, and is assumed to be able to independently perform print setting compliant with the Internet Printing Protocol (IPP). While, in the present exemplary embodiment, it is supposed that the shared printer driver 211 is a driver installed by the user, the present exemplary embodiment is not limited to this. For example, the shared printer driver 211 can be a driver pre-installed in the OS 210. Re claim 12: Natori discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a method of controlling a function of a general-purpose program which can be commonly used for printing apparatuses of a plurality of makers, such that the function can be extended, wherein the method comprises: executing halftone processing for generating image data for expressing halftone on a printed matter printed based on print data generated by the general-purpose program (e.g. the characteristic parameters are available for the client to instruct the printer to perform extended functions, such as the halftone processing at the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68] and [69] above.). Re claim 13: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises selecting and setting, before execution of the halftone processing, an execution condition used when executing the halftone processing (e.g. the user can select the paper size, N-up and other advanced settings to be performed before the halftone processing is executed, which is taught in ¶ [68], [69], [121] above and [76] for figure 7A.), and wherein said execution of the halftone processing includes converting intermediate data generated by the general-purpose program to the image data which can be printed by the printing apparatus based on the execution condition set by the setting (e.g. the data is transformed from XPS data to a PDL data before being sent to the printer for further processing with the halftone instructions. This is taught in ¶ [115].). Re claim 14: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the setting includes displaying a setting screen on which the execution condition can be selected and set (e.g. in figure 7B, the N-up printing or a set pattern can be selected and set, which is taught in ¶ [80].). Re claim 15: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 14, wherein in the setting screen, at least one of a color tone section for selecting a color tone, a resolution section for selecting a resolution, and an error diffusion section for selecting error diffusion is included as the execution condition (e.g. a color tone selection for the pattern can be selected, which is taught in ¶ [80] above.). Re claim 19: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein in said execution of the halftone processing, whether to cause the printing apparatus to execute the halftone processing or to execute the halftone processing can be selected according to the execution condition (e.g. the user can instruct performing the halftone processing. The halftone processing is performed on the printer, which is taught in ¶ [69] and [121] above.). Re claim 20: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 12, wherein as the general-purpose program, a program which cannot execute the halftone processing is used (e.g. the system discloses printers that can perform features and that cannot perform other features, such as halftone processing if this feature is missing from the printer. This is taught in ¶ [68] and [69] above.). Re claim 21: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 12, wherein as the general-purpose program, a program which operates based on the Internet Printing Protocol is used (e.g. the system discloses operating within an IPP framework, which is taught in ¶ [40].). Re claim 22: Natori discloses a method of controlling a function of a general-purpose program which can be commonly used for printing apparatuses of a plurality of makers, such that the function can be extended, wherein the method comprises: causing the printing apparatus to execute halftone processing for generating image data for expressing halftone on a printed matter printed based on print data generated by the general-purpose program (e.g. the characteristic parameters are available for the client to instruct the printer to perform extended functions, such as the halftone processing at the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68] and [69] above.). Re claim 23: A method of controlling a function of a general-purpose program which can be commonly used for printing apparatuses of a plurality of makers, such that the function can be extended, wherein the method comprises: executing halftone processing for generating image data for expressing halftone on a printed matter printed based on print data generated by the general-purpose program (e.g. the characteristic parameters are available for the client to instruct the printer to perform extended functions, such as the halftone processing at the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68] and [69] above.). Re claim 24: An information processing apparatus that is communicably connected to printing apparatuses of a plurality of makers and processes information transmitted between the information processing apparatus and each printing apparatus, comprising: a general-purpose program which can be commonly used for the printing apparatuses of the plurality of makers and a program which can extend a function of the general-purpose program (e.g. the client contains a universal printer driver than can have its functions extended to offer other functions, which is taught in ¶ [40], [77] and [78].), wherein the program causes the printing apparatus to execute halftone processing for generating image data for expressing halftone on a printed matter printed based on print data generated by the general-purpose program (e.g. the characteristic parameters are available for the client to instruct the printer to perform extended functions, such as the halftone processing at the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68] and [69] above.). Re claim 25: Natori discloses an information processing apparatus that is communicably connected to printing apparatuses of a plurality of makers and processes information transmitted between the information processing apparatus and each printing apparatus, comprising: a general-purpose program which can be commonly used for the printing apparatuses of the plurality of makers and a program which can extend a function of the general-purpose program (e.g. the client contains a universal printer driver than can have its functions extended to offer other functions, which is taught in ¶ [40], [77] and [78].), wherein the program executes halftone processing for generating image data for expressing halftone on a printed matter printed based on print data generated by the general-purpose program (e.g. the characteristic parameters are available for the client to instruct the printer to perform extended functions, such as the halftone processing at the printer, which is taught in ¶ [68] and [69] above.) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natori in view of Kawamoto . Re claim 2: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: acquiring capabilities information concerning capabilities of the printing apparatus for performing printing, from the printing apparatus, before execution of the halftone processing (e.g. the printers send their print attribute information compliant with IPP to the system to help determine the features on the printer, which is taught in ¶ [61].); and [0061] In step S404, the OS 210 performs setup processing of the shared printer driver 211 to enable performing printing with use of the target printer selected in step S403. In the setup processing in step S404, setting of a print port and capability setting of a printer that is based on print attribute information compliant with the IPP acquired from the target printer are performed. Performing processing in steps S401 to S404 enables using a printing apparatus via the shared printer driver 211. Processing in step S405 and subsequent steps is a control operation to extend the shared printer driver 211 with a printing extensibility application. determining, based on the capabilities information acquired by said acquiring, whether or not the printing apparatus can execute the halftone processing (e.g. since the halftone processing is an extension feature, this is determine as to whether or not it can be utilized in the printing process, which is taught in ¶ [68], [69] and [121] above.), wherein said execution of the halftone processing includes: causing, in a case where, as a result of said determining, it is determined that the printing apparatus can execute the halftone processing, the printing apparatus to execute the halftone processing (e.g. based on the receipt of the characteristic parameters showing the halftone processing being used within the printer, the printer can perform the halftone processing if instructed. This is taught in ¶ [68], [69] and [121] above.), and executing, in a case where it is determined that the printing apparatus cannot execute the halftone processing (e.g. the system can detect many different printers that can be not able to perform the halftone printing feature, which is taught in ¶ [68] and [69] above.). However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of the halftone processing without using the printing apparatus. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Kawamoto. Similar to the primary reference, Kawamoto discloses a halftone process being performed on different devices (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Kawamoto discloses the halftone processing without using the printing apparatus (e.g. the invention discloses performing the halftone processing on the client device within the printer driver, which is taught in ¶ [34].). [0034] FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of a halftone processing unit 1 and an image forming unit 2 which are applicable to the present exemplary embodiment. The halftone processing unit 1 converts input image data having 256 gradations into output image data having fewer gradations. Various types of image processing such as gamma correction have been applied to the input image data by a not-illustrated image processing unit. The image forming unit 2 forms an image on a recording medium based on the output image data received from the halftone processing unit 1. In FIG. 1, the halftone processing unit 1 and the image forming unit 2 are connected by an interface or a circuit. For example, the halftone processing unit 1 is implemented as a printer driver installed in a typical personal computer, along with various image processing units (not-illustrated). In such a case, the components of the halftone processing unit 1 described below are implemented by the personal computer executing a predetermined program or programs. The halftone processing unit 1 may be built in the image forming unit 2 side. As used herein, the term "unit" generally refers to any combination of software, firmware, hardware, or other component that is used to effectuate a purpose. Therefore, in view of Kawamoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the halftone processing without using the printing apparatus, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to have a computer perform the halftone processing with the driver, which can reduce the circuitry needed at the printer (as stated in Kawamoto ¶ [34] or [92]). Re claim 6: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 5, wherein in a case where the color tone section or the resolution section is selected (e.g. a color tone selection for the pattern can be selected, which is taught in ¶ [80] above.). However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of processing using AM screen is used for the halftone processing. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Kawamoto. Similar to the primary reference, Kawamoto discloses a halftone process being performed on different devices (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Kawamoto discloses processing using AM screen is used for the halftone processing (e.g. the invention discloses using an AM screen for halftone processing, which is taught in ¶ [52].). [0052] The foregoing exemplary embodiment has dealt with the configuration where a dot-concentrated (AM screen) output image can be obtained. When using an AM screen, the cells can be set in units of the halftone dots of the AM screen. This can preserve a halftone dot structure of the AM screen. However, the use of the AM screen is not restrictive. For example, the order of dot generation may be set to provide a Bayer pattern or a blue noise characteristic. This enables applications to a dot-distributed frequency modulation (FM) screen or a blue noise mask. Therefore, in view of Kawamoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of processing using AM screen is used for the halftone processing, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to have a computer perform the halftone processing using an AM screen, which can improve the halftone image by preserving the halftone dot structure (as stated in Kawamoto ¶ [52]). Re claim 16: Natori discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein in a case where the color tone section or the resolution section is selected (e.g. a color tone selection for the pattern can be selected, which is taught in ¶ [80] above.). However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of processing using AM screen is used for the halftone processing. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Kawamoto. Similar to the primary reference, Kawamoto discloses a halftone process being performed on different devices (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Kawamoto discloses processing using AM screen is used for the halftone processing (e.g. the invention discloses using an AM screen for halftone processing, which is taught in ¶ [52].). [0052] The foregoing exemplary embodiment has dealt with the configuration where a dot-concentrated (AM screen) output image can be obtained. When using an AM screen, the cells can be set in units of the halftone dots of the AM screen. This can preserve a halftone dot structure of the AM screen. However, the use of the AM screen is not restrictive. For example, the order of dot generation may be set to provide a Bayer pattern or a blue noise characteristic. This enables applications to a dot-distributed frequency modulation (FM) screen or a blue noise mask. Therefore, in view of Kawamoto, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of processing using AM screen is used for the halftone processing, incorporated in the device of Natori, in order to have a computer perform the halftone processing using an AM screen, which can improve the halftone image by preserving the halftone dot structure (as stated in Kawamoto ¶ [52]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natori in view of Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone (Official Notice) . Re claim 7: However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 6, wherein the density of dots or lines formed by the dots in the AM screen is higher in the resolution section than in the color tone section. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone (Official Notice). Similar to the primary reference, Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone discloses modification of the dots in an image versus the color (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone discloses wherein the density of dots or lines formed by the dots in the AM screen is higher in the resolution section than in the color tone section (e.g. it is well known in editing resolution within an image or a halftone image, the dots are being increased or decreased in size and amount. This would make the density of dots in terms of resolution more than the color tone, which does not directly increase or decrease the number of dots within an area of the image.). Therefore, in view of Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the density of dots or lines formed by the dots in the AM screen is higher in the resolution section than in the color tone section, incorporated in the device of Natori, as modified by Kawamoto, in order to have dots in number manipulated and/or increased more than a color tone, which can improve the control of the definition of the image. Re claim 17: However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16, wherein the density of dots or lines formed by the dots in the AM screen is higher in the resolution section than in the color tone section. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone (Official Notice). Similar to the primary reference, Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone discloses modification of the dots in an image versus the color (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone discloses wherein the density of dots or lines formed by the dots in the AM screen is higher in the resolution section than in the color tone section (e.g. it is well known in editing resolution within an image or a halftone image, the dots are being increased or decreased in size and amount. This would make the density of dots in terms of resolution more than the color tone, which does not directly increase or decrease the number of dots within an area of the image.). Therefore, in view of Common Knowledge of Image editing of resolution and color tone, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the density of dots or lines formed by the dots in the AM screen is higher in the resolution section than in the color tone section, incorporated in the device of Natori, as modified by Kawamoto, in order to have dots in number manipulated and/or increased more than a color tone, which can improve the control of the definition of the image . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (US Pub 20090180140) . Re claim 8: However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 5, wherein in a case where the error diffusion section is selected, an error diffusion method is used for the halftone processing. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Kawamura. Similar to the primary reference, Kawamura discloses selecting different halftone processes (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Kawamura discloses wherein in a case where the error diffusion section is selected, an error diffusion method is used for the halftone processing (e.g. in figure 3, a user can select error diffusion for halftone processing, which is taught in [64].). [0064] Radio buttons 307A and 307B are provided to allow the user to select a halftone for use, which is the print setting item. For example, the radio buttons 307A and 307B allow the user to select either "dither" or "error diffusion", for example. Therefore, in view of Kawamura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein in a case where the error diffusion section is selected, an error diffusion method is used for the halftone processing, incorporated in the device of Natori, as modified by Kawamoto, in order to allow for different types of halftone processing to be selected while evaluating the conflict with other options, which can aid in reducing entering conflicting conditions (as stated in Kawamura ¶ [14]). Re claim 18: However, Natori fails to specifically teach the features of the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein in a case where the error diffusion section is selected, an error diffusion method is used for the halftone processing. However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Kawamura. Similar to the primary reference, Kawamura discloses selecting different halftone processes (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem). Kawamura discloses wherein in a case where the error diffusion section is selected, an error diffusion method is used for the halftone processing (e.g. in figure 3, a user can select error diffusion for halftone processing, which is taught in [64].). [0064] Radio buttons 307A and 307B are provided to allow the user to select a halftone for use, which is the print setting item. For example, the radio buttons 307A and 307B allow the user to select either "dither" or "error diffusion", for example. Therefore, in view of Kawamura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein in a case where the error diffusion section is selected, an error diffusion method is used for the halftone processing, incorporated in the device of Natori, as modified by Kawamoto, in order to allow for different types of halftone processing to be selected while evaluating the conflict with other options, which can aid in reducing entering conflicting conditions (as stated in Kawamura ¶ [14]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hosomizu discloses using a support program. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHAD S DICKERSON whose telephone number is (571)270-1351. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10AM-6PM EST.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abderrahim Merouan can be reached at 571-270-5254 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 2 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 3 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 4 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 5 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 6 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 7 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 8 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 9 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 10 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 11 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 12 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 13 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 14 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 15 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 16 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 17 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 18 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 19 Art Unit: 2683 Application/Control Number: 18/797,654 Page 20 Art Unit: 2683