Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (WO 2018/035139).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses a system comprising:
a query router operatively coupled to an embedding generator comprising a neural network, the query router configured to ([0025], Liu):
receive a search query associated with an entity from an end user system ([0025], Liu);
request, in response to the search query, the neural network to generate a query embedding based on the search query ([0037], Liu);
and
an index manager operatively coupled to the query router, a plurality of search provider sources associated with the entity and the embedding generator, wherein the index manager comprises a plurality of structured data (SD) elements associated with the entity stored in an indexed data store ([0078], Liu), the index manager configured to:
request the embedding generator to return a plurality of embedding vectors for the plurality of SD elements ([0078], Liu), wherein the plurality of embedding vectors for the plurality of SD elements are generated by the neural network ([0067], “the training search query is processed by the first machine learned model of the neural network. In operation 530, the first machine learned model outputs a training semantic search vector,” and [0068], “the training publication is processed by the second machine learned model of the neural network. In operation 560, the second machine learned model outputs a training publication semantic vector;” wherein Lie discloses two machine learned models in the same neural network; Liu);
update the indexed data store such that each of the plurality of SD elements is associated with a corresponding embedding vector of the plurality of embedding vectors ([0078] and [00110], Liu);
generate, by an indexing service module, an entity-specific index for the plurality of SD elements, such that each of the plurality of SD elements is associated with a name field associated with the entity and the corresponding embedding vector ([0079], Liu);
identify, in response to a request by the query router, a candidate SD element as a search result in response to the search query, wherein the identify comprises comparing the query embedding of the search query associated with the entity-specific index to the plurality of embedding vectors of the plurality of SD elements using a distance measurement, resulting in a first set of ranking having ([00123], “LI ranking 1330 is performed after L0 filtration 13 10. At 1332, a forward index is generated of semantic vectors for the candidate publications from 1320,” wherein the L1 ranking is an example of the first set of rankings claimed; Liu) an ordered list of SD elements within each search provider source of the plurality of search provider sources corresponding to the search query based on the distance measurement between the query embedding and the plurality of embedding vectors ([0078], [00102], [00104], and [00109], Liu), wherein the identity further comprises generating a second set of rankings associated with the plurality of search provider sources based on search provider source criteria ([00125], “L2 aspect filtration 1340 is performed after LI ranking 1330. At 1342, a forward aspect index 1342 extends beyond aspects provide by seller to find the most relevant candidate publications. Additional aspects are found from the publication via NER (name entity recognition),” wherein the L2 is an example of the second set of rankings claimed; Liu); and
generating the search result in response to the search query, wherein the search result comprises the candidate SD element within the ordered list having a smallest distance based on the first and the second set of rankings ([0082], [0092], [00106], [00109], [00127], “L3 final ranking 1350 is performed after L2 aspect filtration 1340. The L3 ranking module 1352 is a machine-learned model that takes inputs such as historic user behavior data, L0 score, BM25 score, LI score, reputation score, value, publication condition, user profile, session context, and demotion signal. Finally, at 1360, the most relevant N publications are returned to the user device, based on L3 ranking 1350,” wherein the L3 is based on L2 which is based on L1; Liu).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu discloses a system of claim 1, further comprising:
a cluster generator configured to ([0074]-[0075], Liu):
compare a first embedding vector associated with a first SD element to a second embedding vector associated with a second SD element ([0078]-[0082], Liu); and
identify a cluster comprising the first and the second SD element wherein a vector representation of the first embedding vector is within a threshold in comparison to the vector representation of the second embedding vector ([0078]-[0082], Liu).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the query router is further configured to:
generate an interface for a display of the search result that are identified by the index manager, wherein the display of the search result comprises a ranked listing of the plurality of SD elements based on the ordered list ([00122], [00127], Liu).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the index manager is further configured to:
generate, based on the comparing, scores representing a level of matching between the query embedding and the plurality of embedding vectors of the plurality of SD elements ([0072], Liu).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu discloses a system of claim 1, wherein information from the plurality of search provider sources is converted to SD elements associated with the entity ([0072], Liu), and wherein the plurality of search provide sources comprise the entity and one or more third-party search providers (Fig. 1, 130, 110, and 102, [0023], [0028], “the third-party application 132, utilizing information retrieved from the networked system 102, supports one or more features or functions on a website hosted by the third party. The third-party website, for example, provides one or more functions that are supported by the relevant applications of the networked system 102,” Liu).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the embedding generator is configured to:
continuously generate embedding vectors for the plurality of SD elements and store the embedding vectors into the indexed data store, wherein the generation of embedding vectors occurs in advance of receiving the search query ([0078], Liu).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu discloses a system of claim 1, wherein the neural network of the embedding generator can be a bidirectional encoder representations (BERT) system, a fastText system, a Word2Vec system, or a Healthcare Word2Vec system ([0078], Liu).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2018/035139) in view of Mass et al. (US 2021/0390418).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses all the limitations as discussed above but does not expressly disclose a previously answered frequently asked question associated with the query. Mass discloses: a previously answered frequently asked question associated with the query ([0017] and [0029], Mass). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Liu by incorporating a previously answered frequently asked question associated with the query, as disclosed by Mass, in order to help users find relevant answers to common questions ([0017], Mass). See: KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ 1385, 1396 (US 2007); MPEP § 2143.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that; “Liu does not describe any ranking of either the plurality of SD elements or the plurality of search provider sources. Since at least one claim feature is not disclosed or adequately suggested by Liu, claim 1 patentably distinguishes from Liu and is in condition for allowance.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The applied art does disclose: resulting in a first set of ranking having ([00123], “LI ranking 1330 is performed after L0 filtration 13 10. At 1332, a forward index is generated of semantic vectors for the candidate publications from 1320,” wherein the L1 ranking is an example of the first set of rankings claimed; Liu) an ordered list of SD elements within each search provider source of the plurality of search provider sources corresponding to the search query based on the distance measurement between the query embedding and the plurality of embedding vectors ([0078], [00102], [00104], and [00109], Liu), wherein the identity further comprises generating a second set of rankings associated with the plurality of search provider sources based on search provider source criteria ([00125], “L2 aspect filtration 1340 is performed after LI ranking 1330. At 1342, a forward aspect index 1342 extends beyond aspects provide by seller to find the most relevant candidate publications. Additional aspects are found from the publication via NER (name entity recognition),” wherein the L2 is an example of the second set of rankings claimed; Liu).
Conclusion
/GIOVANNA B COLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165
March 18, 2026