DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-11, 14, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (CN 220036851).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner below)
Yuan et al. (Yuan) discloses:
A water pump structure, comprising:
a pump body (3) (See Yuan, Paragraph [0039]);
an inner liner (36), wherein an end of the inner liner (36) is provided in the pump body (3), and the inner liner (36) is provided therein with a moving cavity (31) (See Yuan, Paragraph [0039]);
a piston (2), wherein the piston (2) is in sliding fit with an inner wall of the moving cavity (31) (See Yuan, Paragraph [0039]);
a connecting member (421), wherein the connecting member (421) has a first connecting end (A) and a second connecting end (B) opposite to each other, and the first connecting end (A) is connected to the piston (2) (See Yuan, Paragraphs [0039]-[0040]);
a connecting rod (42), wherein the connecting rod (42) is connected to the second connecting end (B); and the connecting rod (42) is formed thereon with a sliding groove (C), wherein an opening direction of the sliding groove (C) is the same as a moving direction of the piston (2) in the moving cavity (31) (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]); and
a driving assembly (41,43,431,44), wherein the driving assembly comprises a motor (41), a crank (43,431) and a limiting member (44), wherein an output end of the motor (41) is in transmission connection with the crank (43,431); the crank (43,431) is rotatably provided in the connecting rod (42); the limiting member (44) is provided to pass through the crank (43,431) and the sliding groove (C); the limiting member (44) is fixed in a through hole of the crank (43,431) (See Yuan, Paragraph [0045]), and the limiting member (44) is in sliding fit with an inner wall of the sliding groove (C) (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]),
wherein when the motor (41) drives the crank (43,431) to rotate in the connecting rod (43), the crank (43,431) is capable of driving the connecting rod (42) to perform reciprocating motion. (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
wherein the connecting rod (42) is further formed with a first chamber (D), and the second connecting end (B) is fixed in the first chamber (D). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
Wherein the connecting rod (42) is further formed with a second chamber, the crank (43,431) is rotatably provided in the second chamber, and the second chamber communicates with the sliding groove (C). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
Wherein the driving assembly further comprises a driving member (411) and a driven member (43); the output end of the motor (41) is connected to the driving member (411), the member meshes with the driven member (43), the crank (43,431) is fixed on the driven member (43), and the limiting member (44) is provided to pass through the driven member (43), the crank (43,431) and the sliding groove (C). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
Wherein the driven member (43) is provided thereon with a fixing seat (E), the crank (43,431) is fixed on the fixing seat (E); and the fixing seat (E) is provided eccentrically with the crank (43). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
The Examiner notes that the smooth base to which the crank is mounted constitutes a fixing seat.
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
Wherein the piston (2) is formed with a connecting cavity (i.e.-threaded hole), and the first connecting end (A) is engaged in the connecting cavity (i.e.-threaded hole). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040] w/respect to threaded hole).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner below)
Yuan discloses:
wherein the first connecting end (A) comprises a first connecting portion (G) and a second connecting portion (H) connected to each other; an end of the first connecting portion (G) away from the second connecting portion (H) is connected to a body of the connecting member (421); an outer diameter of the first connecting portion (G) is larger than an inner diameter of an opening of the connecting cavity (i.e.-threaded hole); and an outer diameter of at least a part of the second connecting portion (H) is smaller than the inner diameter of the opening of the connecting cavity (i.e.-threaded hole). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
The Examiner notes that the threaded hole of Yuan to which the threaded connecting member is attached includes larger and smaller diameter portions coinciding with larger and smaller diameter portions of the connecting member.
In Reference to Claim 10
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
An oral irrigator (See Yuan, Paragraph [0001]), comprising the water pump structure according to claim 1. (See Claim 1 rejection above).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
Wherein the connecting rod (42) is further formed with a second chamber, the crank (43,431) is rotatably provided in the second chamber, and the second chamber communicates with the sliding groove (C). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
Wherein the driving assembly further comprises a driving member (411) and a driven member (43); the output end of the motor (41) is connected to the driving member (411), the member meshes with the driven member (43), the crank (43,431) is fixed on the driven member (43), and the limiting member (44) is provided to pass through the driven member (43), the crank (43,431) and the sliding groove (C). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
Wherein the piston (2) is formed with a connecting cavity (i.e.-threaded hole), and the first connecting end (A) is engaged in the connecting cavity (i.e.-threaded hole). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040] w/respect to threaded hole).
In Reference to Claim 20
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Yuan discloses:
wherein the connecting rod (42) is further formed with a first chamber (D), and the second connecting end (B) is fixed in the first chamber (D). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 13, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2022/0079708).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner below)
Zhang et al. (Zhang) discloses:
A water pump structure, comprising:
a pump body (112,114,154) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0046]);
an inner liner (152), wherein an end of the inner liner (152) is provided in the pump body (112,114,154), and the inner liner (152) is provided therein with a moving cavity (i.e.-cavity of 152) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0048]);
a piston (14), wherein the piston (14) is in sliding fit with an inner wall of the moving cavity (i.e.-cavity of 152) (See Zhang, Paragraph [0048]);
a connecting member (X), wherein the connecting member (X) has a first connecting end (Y) and a second connecting end (Z) opposite to each other, and the first connecting end (Y) is connected to the piston (14);
a connecting rod (13), wherein the connecting rod (13) is connected to the second connecting end (Z); and the connecting rod (13) is formed thereon with a sliding groove (131), wherein an opening direction of the sliding groove (131) is the same as a moving direction of the piston (14) in the moving cavity (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]); and
a driving assembly (17,124,126), wherein the driving assembly comprises a motor (17), a crank (122) and a limiting member (16), wherein an output end of the motor (17) is in transmission connection (124) with the crank (122); the crank (122) is rotatably provided in the connecting rod (13); the limiting member (16) is provided to pass through the crank (122) and the sliding groove (131); the limiting member (16) is fixed in a through hole of the crank (122); and the limiting member (16) is in sliding fit with an inner wall of the sliding groove (131) (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0044] & [0078]),
wherein when the motor (17) drives the crank (122) to rotate in the connecting rod (13), the crank (122) is capable of driving the connecting rod (13) to perform reciprocating motion. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Zhang discloses:
Wherein the second connecting end (Z) and the connecting rod (13) are integrally formed. (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0033] & [0074]).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Zhang discloses:
Wherein the connecting rod (13) is further formed with a second chamber (133), the crank (122) is rotatably provided in the second chamber (133), and the second chamber (133) communicates with the sliding groove (131). (See Zhang, Paragraph [0075]).
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Zhang discloses:
Wherein the driving assembly further comprises a driving member (126) and a driven member (124); the output end of the motor (11) is connected to the driving member (126), the driving member (126) meshes with the driven member (124), the crank (122) is fixed on the driven member (124), and the limiting member (16) is provided to pass through the driven member (124), the crank (122) and the sliding groove (131). (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0053]-[0054]).
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Zhang, Figures 1, 3-4, 6 and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above and Figure 2 as annotated by Examiner below)
Zhang discloses:
Wherein the driven member (124) is provided thereon with a fixing seat (W), the crank (122) is fixed on the fixing seat (W); and the fixing seat (W) is provided eccentrically with the crank (122). (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0053]-[0054]).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Zhang discloses:
Wherein the piston (14) is formed with a connecting cavity (142), and the first connecting end (Y) is engaged in the connecting cavity (142). (See Zhang, Paragraph [0075]).
In Reference to Claim 10
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Zhang discloses:
An oral irrigator (See Zhang, Paragraph [0002]), comprising the water pump structure according to claim 1. (See Claim 1 rejection in view of Zhang above).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Zhang discloses:
Wherein the connecting rod (13) is further formed with a second chamber (133), the crank (122) is rotatably provided in the second chamber (133), and the second chamber (133) communicates with the sliding groove (131). (See Zhang, Paragraph [0075]).
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Zhang discloses:
Wherein the driving assembly further comprises a driving member (126) and a driven member (124); the output end of the motor (11) is connected to the driving member (126), the driving member (126) meshes with the driven member (124), the crank (122) is fixed on the driven member (124), and the limiting member (16) is provided to pass through the driven member (124), the crank (122) and the sliding groove (131). (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0053]-[0054]).
In Reference to Claim 19
(See Zhang, Figures 1-4, 6, and Figure 5 as annotated by Examiner above)
Zhang discloses:
Wherein the piston (14) is formed with a connecting cavity (142), and the first connecting end (Y) is engaged in the connecting cavity (142). (See Zhang, Paragraph [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 12, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (CN 220036851) in view of Liu (CN 115324860).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner in claim 1 to Yuan above)
Yuan discloses:
wherein the second connecting end (B) is spherical in shape; and the first chamber is a circular chamber matching the second connecting end.
Yuan discloses the claimed invention except:
The first chamber is a spherical chamber.
Liu discloses an oral irrigator with a spherical connecting between the connecting member and the connecting rod. (See Liu, Figure 3, Paragraph [0005]). Liu discloses a spherical connection chamber for seating a spherical connection to the connecting member. (See Liu, Paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the first chamber of Yuan a spherical chamber, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that both references are directed towards oral irrigator with a spherical connections. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the spherical chamber connection would have been a simple substitution of one known spherical joint connection for another that would yield the predictable result of securely joining and driving the connecting member with the connecting rod while maintaining a high kinetic energy conversion rate and reducing the radial oscillations.
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner in claim 1 to Yuan above)
The Yuan-Liu combination discloses:
Wherein the connecting rod (42) is further formed with a second chamber, the crank (43,431) is rotatably provided in the second chamber, and the second chamber communicates with the sliding groove (C). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner in claim 1 to Yuan above)
The Yuan-Liu combination discloses:
Wherein the driving assembly further comprises a driving member (411) and a driven member (43); the output end of the motor (41) is connected to the driving member (411), the member meshes with the driven member (43), the crank (43,431) is fixed on the driven member (43), and the limiting member (44) is provided to pass through the driven member (43), the crank (43,431) and the sliding groove (C). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040]).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Yuan, Figures 1, 3-4, 6-10, and 2 & 5 as annotated by Examiner in claim 1 to Yuan above)
The Yuan-Liu combination discloses:
Wherein the piston (2) is formed with a connecting cavity (i.e.-threaded hole), and the first connecting end (A) is engaged in the connecting cavity (i.e.-threaded hole). (See Yuan, Paragraph [0040] w/respect to threaded hole).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that neither Yuan nor Zhang disclose the feature of “the limiting member is fixed in a through hole of the crank”, the Office respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that neither Yuan nor Zhang disclose the feature of “the limiting member is fixed in a through hole of the crank”. Specifically, Applicant argues that “the limiting member is fixed in a through hole of the crank” requires the limiting member rotates with the crank. However, the recitation of “the limiting member is fixed in a through hole of the crank” merely requires, under broadest reasonable interpretation that the limiting member be fixed and be within the through hole. Further, the Examiner notes that Applicant defines “fix” or “fixed” as construed in a broad sense inclusive of mechanical connection, detachable connection, or merely an interaction relationship between two elements. (See Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0040]). The term “fixed” is additionally disclosed in the same manner in at least the prior art of Yuan. (See Yuan, Paragraph [0033]).
Accordingly, the recitation of “fixed in a through hole of the crank” defined that the limiting member, under broadest reasonable interpretation, as having an interacting relationship with the crank, a detachable and/or a mechanical connection with the crank. The term “fixed” appears to include a rotatable or a stationary mounting. Yuan discloses the limiting member is rotatably mounted (i.e.-fixed) in a through hole of the crank (43). In other words, the crank of Yuan in mechanical connection rotates around with the limiting member mechanical communication. (See Yuan, Paragraph [0045] w/respect to “rotating shaft”). Zhang discloses the crank (122) is rotatably mounted (with the transmission 124) on the limiting member (16) which is fixed to the base in a through hole of the crank allowing rotation of the second transmission member (i.e.-crank). (See Zhang, Paragraphs [0057]-[0058]). Accordingly, Yuan discloses a limiting member which rotates with the crank (i.e.-the crank rotates with the limiting member on the limiting member axis). Zhang at least discloses a limiting member fixed in a through hole of the crank. Therefore, both Yuan and Zhang disclose the feature recitation of “the limiting member is fixed in a through hole of the crank”.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that neither Yuan nor Zhang, nor Yuan in combination with Liu disclose the functional benefits of the instant application. Specifically, Applicant argues that neither Yuan nor Zhang, nor Yuan in combination with Liu, disclose the intended functional benefits of reduced noise, wear, and decomposed lateral force. The Examiner notes that such technical feature benefits are not recited within the rejected claims. Additionally, the Examiner notes that while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Additionally, claimed functional benefits must result in a structural difference from the prior art. Accordingly, Zhang, Yuan and Yuan in combination with Liu, disclose all of the structural limitations of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746