DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a first action on the merits in response to the application filed on 08/08/2024.
Claims 1 – 11 are currently pending and have been examined in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites:
specifying, [at a processor circuit of the computer,] as a reference facility, any one of a plurality of management facilities that manage unrented vehicles, based on input by a user;
extracting, [at the processor circuit], among the plurality of management facilities stored in a memory of the computer, one or more management facilities that exist within a predetermined range from the reference facility and of which a number of unrented vehicles being managed is to be changed, as one or more uneven distribution facilities;
specifying, [at the processor circuit], among the one or more uneven distribution facilities, an uneven distribution facility in which an advantage in a case where the user uses the uneven distribution facility matches an advantage emphasized by the user; and
generating, [at the processor circuit,] information that indicates the specified uneven distribution facility, and outputting the information to the user so that the information is viewable by the user.
The limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities related to managing behaviors but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g. a processor circuit). For example, specifying a reference facility to rent a vehicle, extracting other facilities within a determined distance and determining a facility with uneven distribution and a potential benefit to rent from involves managing personal behavior. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity.
In addition, the claim could be seen as Mental Processes related to observation and evaluation of data.
Independent Claim 11 substantially recites the subject matter of Claim 1 and also include the abstract ideas identified above. The dependent claims encompass the same abstract ideas. For instance, Claim 2 is directed to uneven distribution facilities where unrented vehicles need to be decreased (analysis); Claim 3 is directed to uneven distribution facilities where unrented vehicles need to be increased (analysis); Claim 4 is directed to utilizing a trained model to analyze data (complex mathematics); Claim 5 is directed to information on at least one uneven distribution facility; Claims 6-7 are directed to the uneven distribution facilities are determined based on unrented vehicles (analysis); Claim 8 is directed to maintenance facilities; Claim 9 is directed to specifying management facilities based on route search and Claim 10 is directed to outputting information.
The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 recites the additional elements of a processor circuit of the computer. Claim 11 recites the additional elements of a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, a computer and a processor circuit of the computer. These are generic computer components recited at a high level of generality as performing generic computer functions (Spec ¶0032).
For instance, The steps of specifying as a reference facility a plurality of management facilities that manage unrented vehicles; extracting one or more management facilities within a determined range from the reference facility, specifying an uneven distribution facility with an advantage involve data gathering and analysis functionality. The step of generating information that indicates the specified uneven distribution facility and outputting to user is producing a result based on the analysis and generically presenting to a user. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components (e.g. a processor). The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (e.g. a processor). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application because it does not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As stated above, the additional elements of a processor, a memory, a crm, etc. are considered generic computer components performing generic computer functions that amount to no more than instructions to implement the judicial exception. Mere, instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept.
The dependent claims when analyzed both individually and in combination are also held to be ineligible for the same reason above and the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract. The additional limitations of the dependent claims when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination and individually adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use generic computer components, to "apply" the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, Claims 1-11 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Audet (US 2011/0010300).
Claim 1:
Audet discloses:
A vehicle management facility information providing method implemented by a computer, the method comprising: (see at least ¶0047, multiple vehicle rental stations; see also Abstract)
specifying, at a processor circuit of the computer, as a reference facility, any one of a plurality of management facilities that manage unrented vehicles, based on input by a user; (see at least ¶0068-¶0069, renter identifies a desirable destination or arrival station; see also ¶0024 mobile computing device)
extracting, at the processor circuit, among the plurality of management facilities stored in a memory of the computer, one or more management facilities that exist within a predetermined range from the reference facility and of which a number of unrented vehicles being managed is to be changed, as one or more uneven distribution facilities; (see at least ¶0067, determine the number of vehicles at each station to determine which stations have too many vehicles vs too less; see also ¶0076-¶0077, distances between stations are determined)
specifying, at the processor circuit, among the one or more uneven distribution facilities, an uneven distribution facility in which an advantage in a case where the user uses the uneven distribution facility matches an advantage emphasized by the user; and (see at least ¶0077, if the renter wants more arrival incentive rewards they are informed to bring the vehicle to a specific arrival station)
generating, at the processor circuit, information that indicates the specified uneven distribution facility, and outputting the information to the user so that the information is viewable by the user. (see at least ¶0075-¶0077, renter receives SMS msg regarding rewards at a station)
Claim 11 for a CRM (Audet see ¶0025) substantially recites the subject matter of Claim 1 and is rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim 2:
Audet discloses claim 1. Audet further discloses:
wherein the one or more uneven distribution facilities include, among the plurality of management facilities, the one or more management facilities that exist within the predetermined range from the reference facility and of which the number of unrented vehicles is to be decreased, and (see at least ¶0068, determine which stations or too crowded vs not enough vehicles; see also ¶0021, determine rental costs or rewards based on vehicle availability and distance between stations; ¶0076-¶0077, if the renter wants more arrival incentive rewards they are informed to bring the vehicle to a specific arrival station and the distance; see also Abstract)
the specifying of the uneven distribution facility includes specifying, among the one or more uneven distribution facilities stored in the memory, an uneven distribution facility in which an advantage in a case where the user rents a vehicle in the uneven distribution facility matches the advantage emphasized by the user. (see at least ¶0068, determine which stations or too crowded vs not enough vehicles; see also ¶0021, determine rental costs or rewards based on vehicle availability and distance between stations; ¶0076-¶0077, if the renter wants more arrival incentive rewards they are informed to bring the vehicle to a specific arrival station and the distance)
Claim 3:
Audet discloses claim 1. Audet further discloses:
wherein the one or more uneven distribution facilities include, among the plurality of management facilities stored in the memory, the one or more management facilities that exist within the predetermined range from the reference facility and of which the number of unrented vehicles is to be increased, and (see at least ¶0068, determine which stations or too crowded vs not enough vehicles; see also ¶0021, determine rental costs or rewards based on vehicle availability and distance between stations; ¶0076-¶0077, if the renter wants more arrival incentive rewards they are informed to bring the vehicle to a specific arrival station and the distance; see also Abstract)
the specifying of the uneven distribution facility includes specifying, among the one or more uneven distribution facilities stored in the memory, an uneven distribution facility in which an advantage in a case where the user returns a vehicle in the uneven distribution facility matches the advantage emphasized by the user. (see at least ¶0068, determine which stations or too crowded vs not enough vehicles; see also ¶0021, determine rental costs or rewards based on vehicle availability and distance between stations; ¶0076-¶0077, if the renter wants more arrival incentive rewards they are informed to bring the vehicle to a specific arrival station and the distance)
Claim 6:
Audet discloses claim 1. Audet further discloses:
wherein the one or more management facilities extracted as the one or more uneven distribution facilities are determined based on the number of unrented vehicles that are managed by each of the plurality of management facilities. (see at least Abstract; see also ¶0068, the number of vehicles at a station are evaluated to determine critical need, too many or too little vehicles)
Claim 7:
Audet discloses claim 6. Audet further discloses:
wherein the one or more management facilities extracted as the one or more uneven distribution facilities are determined based on a result of predicting a change in the number of unrented vehicles managed in each of the plurality of management facilities. (see at least ¶0068, utilizes The system determines which stations 12 have too little units therein to meet the "departure" demand and which stations 12 have too much vehicles 17 therein to meet the "arrival" )
Claim 10:
Audet discloses claim 1. Audet further discloses:
wherein the outputting of the information to the user includes outputting an advantage in a case where the uneven distribution facility is used together with the information that indicates the specified uneven distribution facility. (see at least ¶0075, renter takes a vehicle from station and receives a sms message informing them there is additional incentive if they bring vehicle to an empty station; see also ¶0025, sending info to user
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audet (US 2011/0010300) in view of YIP et al. (US 2024/0249155).
Claim 4:
While Audet discloses claim 1 and Audet further discloses at least one of information on whether the user has used the uneven distribution facility presented in past, information on the user input by the user, and information on an action history of the user (see at least ¶0063-¶0064, user activity is tracked) and the uneven distribution facility in which the advantage in a case where the user uses the uneven distribution facility matches the advantage emphasized by the user is specified among the one or more uneven distribution facilities (see at least ¶0076-¶0077, if the renter wants more arrival incentive rewards they are informed to bring the vehicle to a specific arrival station and the distance; see also Abstract), Audet does not explicitly disclose the following limitation; however, YIP does disclose:
wherein by using a trained model generated based on at least one of information on whether the user has used the uneven distribution facility presented in past, information on the user input by the user, and information on an action history of the user, [the uneven distribution facility in which the advantage in a case where the user uses the uneven distribution facility matches the advantage emphasized by the user is specified among the one or more uneven distribution facilities. ] (see at least ¶0049, the machine learning system main train a machine learning model to out a prediction of entities that a user is to visit based historical user data)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the determining of number of rental vehicles available at multiple stations, selecting and facilitating vehicle rental of Audet with the machine learning predictive functionality of YIP since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Further the combination assists with determining the likelihood a user will visit a particular location (see ¶0049).
Claim 5:
Audet and YIP disclose claim 4. Audet further discloses:
wherein in a case where the trained model has not been generated, information on at least one of the uneven distribution facilities is presented to the user. (see at least ¶0075-¶0077, providing station recommendations)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audet (US 2011/0010300) in view of Hirose et al. (US 2017/0098176).
Claim 8:
While Audet discloses claim 1 and Audet further discloses wherein as the one or more uneven distribution facilities (see Abstract), Audet does not explicitly disclose the following limitation; however Hirose does disclose:
[wherein as the one or more uneven distribution facilities], a maintenance facility that satisfies a predetermined condition is selected among maintenance facilities that perform maintenance of the vehicle. (see at least ¶0010, selecting a facility for maintenance of shared vehicle; see also ¶0061, based on necessity level for maintenance selecting a maintenance facility)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the determining of number of rental vehicles available at multiple stations, selecting and facilitating vehicle rental of Audet with the determining a need for maintenance and selecting a maintenance facility of Hirose to assist with managing shared vehicles (see ¶0003).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audet (US 2011/0010300) in view of Beaurepai et al. (US 2020/0149903).
Claim 9:
While Audet discloses claim 1, Audet does not explicitly disclose the following limitations; however, Beaurepai does disclose:
wherein the specifying of the reference facility includes specifying one of the plurality of management facilities as a reference facility based on a route search condition input by the user. (see at least ¶0109, routing platform presents the candidate routes and transport modes based on user preferences regarding navigation routes)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the determining of number of rental vehicles available at multiple stations, selecting and facilitating vehicle rental of Audet with the candidate routes based on user preference of Beaurepaire to help facilitate user selecting an appropriate location.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered relevant but not applied:
Mitsumake et al. (US 2019/0295108) discloses suppressing uneven distribution of vehicles in a specific area and improving availability of vehicles stored in a car sharing system.
Murakami et al. (US 6317720) discloses a vehicle distribution system for providing a stable supply or distribution of vehicles to a plurality of ports within an area so as to keep up with ride demands at each of the ports.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Renae Feacher whose telephone number is 571-270-5485. The Examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Beth Boswell can be reached at 571-272-6737.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
Washington, D.C. 20231
or faxed to 571-273-8300.
Hand delivered responses should be brought to the United States Patent and Trademark Office Customer Service Window:
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/Renae Feacher/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625