Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-13, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kakishima et al (US 2022/0303811) (hereinafter Kakishima).
Regarding claim 1, Kakishima discloses a method for Secondary Cell (SCell) activation, comprising:
activating, by a user equipment (UE) (see Kakishima, Fig. 3, e.g., UE 20), a SCell by using a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) of a reference SCell, a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) of the reference SCell, or a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) of the reference SCell for performing time-frequency synchronization or Automatic Gain Control (AGC) adjustment for the SCell to be activated (see Kakishima, p. [0058], e.g., the base station 10 causes the user equipment 20 to report Layer 1-Reference Signal Received power (L1-RSRP) based on a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and/or a CSI-RS, and p. [0159], [0174], e.g., the receiving unit 220 of the user equipment 20 receives a signal transmitted from the base station 10, and if the received signal includes configuration information that is for regarding a specific SCell as a known cell and that is for causing the user equipment 20 to activate the specific SCell, the control unit 230 of the user equipment 20 may activate the specific SCell while regarding the specific SCell as an unknown cell).
Regarding claim 2, Kakishima discloses the method of claim 1, wherein antenna ports of the SCell to be activated and the reference SCell are quasi co-located (see Kakishima, p. [0031-0032], e.g., a reference signal and a PDSCH that is a channel for transmitting data are QCL implies that the reference signal and the data have a relationship such that the reference signal and the data are transmitted with a same beam, and p. [0073], e.g., the user equipment 20 may apply a receiving beam to the reactivated SCell while assuming a TCI state or QCL that is the same as the TCI state or the QCL employed before deactivation of the SCell).
Regarding claim 3, Kakishima discloses the method of claim 1, comprising receiving, by the User Equipment (UE), reference information for the SCell via Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message (see Kakishima, p. [0040], e.g., repetition in which the base station 10 repeatedly transmits a CSI-RS with the same beam, can be configured by RRC signaling (CSI-RS with repetition on or off), and p. [0046-0049]).
Regarding claim 4, Kakishima discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the reference information includes at least one of following parameters: a cell ID of the reference SCell (see Kakishima, p. [0122], e.g., a UE has sent a valid measure report for the SCell to be activated, and the measured SSB remains detectable according to a cell identification condition), or an index of reference SCell; a SSB index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference SSB index and SSB index for the SCell to be activated; a CSI-RS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference CSI-RS index and CSI-RS index for the SCell to be activated; a TRS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference TRS index and TRS index for the SCell to be activated; a cell-level power offset between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; a power offset for SSB beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; a power offset for CSI-RS beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; and a power offset for TRS beam between the reference TRS and the SCell to be activated. .
Regarding claim 5, Kakishima discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing, by the UE, the time-frequency synchronization comprises: upon receiving a medium access control element (MAC CE) or a RRC reconfiguration message for SCell activation (see Kakishima, p. [0101], e.g., a two-step configuration has been adopted in which it is added to PCell by Radio Resource Control (RRC) and then activated/deactivated by Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE)), detecting the SSB or the CSI-RS or the TRS in the reference SCell according to a reference cell index and a SSB or CSI-RS or TRS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated.
Regarding claim 7, Kakishima discloses a method for Secondary Cell (SCell) activation comprising: configuring, by a Base Station (BS) (see Kakishima, Fig. 3, e.g., base station 10), reference information for a SCell (see Kakishima, p. [0159], e.g., The transmitting unit 110 of the base station 10 includes a function for generating a transmit signal from transmit data) ; transmitting, by the BS to a User Equipment (UE), via a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, the reference information for a SCell for the UE to activate the SCell by using the reference information of the SCell to detect a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) of a reference SCell (see Kakishima, p. [0058], e.g., the base station 10 causes the user equipment 20 to report Layer 1-Reference Signal Received power (L1-RSRP) based on a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and/or a CSI-RS, and p. [0159], [0174], e.g., the receiving unit 220 of the user equipment 20 receives a signal transmitted from the base station 10, and if the received signal includes configuration information that is for regarding a specific SCell as a known cell and that is for causing the user equipment 20 to activate the specific SCell, the control unit 230 of the user equipment 20 may activate the specific SCell while regarding the specific SCell as an unknown cell), a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) of the reference SCell, or a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) of the reference SCell for time-frequency synchronization or Automatic Gain Control (AGC) adjustment for the SCell.
Regarding claim 8, Kakishima discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the reference information includes at least one of following parameters: a cell ID of the reference SCell (see Kakishima, p. [0122], e.g., a UE has sent a valid measure report for the SCell to be activated, and the measured SSB remains detectable according to a cell identification condition), or an index of reference SCell; a SSB index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference SSB index and SSB index for the SCell to be activated; a CSI-RS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference CSI-RS index and CSI-RS index for the SCell to be activated; a TRS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference TRS index and TRS index for the SCell to be activated; activated; a cell-level power offset between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; a power offset for SSB beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be a power offset for CSI-RS beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; and a power offset for TRS beam between the reference TRS and the SCell to be activated.
Regarding claim 9, Kakishima discloses a User Equipment (UE) (see Kakishima, Fig. 3, e.g., UE 20) configured for Secondary Cell (SCell) activation, the UE comprising a memory and a processor being configured to: activate a SCell by using a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) of a reference SCell, a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) of the reference SCell (see Kakishima, p. [0058], e.g., the base station 10 causes the user equipment 20 to report Layer 1-Reference Signal Received power (L1-RSRP) based on a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and/or a CSI-RS, and p. [0159], [0174], e.g., the receiving unit 220 of the user equipment 20 receives a signal transmitted from the base station 10, and if the received signal includes configuration information that is for regarding a specific SCell as a known cell and that is for causing the user equipment 20 to activate the specific SCell, the control unit 230 of the user equipment 20 may activate the specific SCell while regarding the specific SCell as an unknown cell), or a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) of the reference SCell for performing time-frequency synchronization or Automatic Gain Control (AGC) adjustment for the SCell to be activated.
Regarding claim 10, Kakishima discloses the User Equipment of claim 9, wherein antenna ports of the SCell to be activated and the reference SCell are quasi co-located (see Kakishima, p. [0031-0032], e.g., a reference signal and a PDSCH that is a channel for transmitting data are QCL implies that the reference signal and the data have a relationship such that the reference signal and the data are transmitted with a same beam, and p. [0073], e.g., the user equipment 20 may apply a receiving beam to the reactivated SCell while assuming a TCI state or QCL that is the same as the TCI state or the QCL employed before deactivation of the SCell).
Regarding claim 11, Kakishima discloses the User Equipment of claim 9, wherein the processor is configured to receive, via a receiver, reference information for the SCell via Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message (see Kakishima, p. [0040], e.g., repetition in which the base station 10 repeatedly transmits a CSI-RS with the same beam, can be configured by RRC signaling (CSI-RS with repetition on or off), and p. [0046-0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Kakishima discloses the User Equipment of claim 11, wherein the reference information includes at least one of following parameters: a cell ID of the reference SCell (see Kakishima, p. [0122], e.g., a UE has sent a valid measure report for the SCell to be activated, and the measured SSB remains detectable according to a cell identification condition), or an index of reference SCell; a SSB index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference SSB index and SSB index for the SCell to be activated; a CSI-RS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference CSI-RS index and CSI-RS index for the SCell to be activated; a TRS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference TRS index and TRS index for the SCell to be activated; activated; a cell-level power offset between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; a power offset for SSB beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be a power offset for CSI-RS beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; and a power offset for TRS beam between the reference TRS and the SCell to be activated.
Regarding claim 13, Kakishima discloses the User Equipment of claim 9, wherein performing, by the UE, the time-frequency synchronization comprises: upon receiving a MAC CE or a RRC reconfiguration message for SCell activation, the processor is further configured to detect the SSB/CSI-RS/TRS in the reference SCell according to a reference cell index and a SSB/CSI-RS/TRS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated.
Regarding claim 15, Kakishima discloses a Base Station (see Kakishima, p. [0058], e.g., the base station 10) configured for Secondary Cell (SCell) activation, the BS comprising a memory and a processor being configured to: configure reference information for a SCell; transmit, to a User Equipment (UE), via a Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration message, the reference information for a SCell for the UE to activate the SCell by using the reference information of the SCell to detect a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) of a reference SCell, a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) of the reference SCell (see Kakishima, p. [0058], e.g., the base station 10 causes the user equipment 20 to report Layer 1-Reference Signal Received power (L1-RSRP) based on a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) and/or a CSI-RS, and p. [0159], [0174], e.g., the receiving unit 220 of the user equipment 20 receives a signal transmitted from the base station 10, and if the received signal includes configuration information that is for regarding a specific SCell as a known cell and that is for causing the user equipment 20 to activate the specific SCell, the control unit 230 of the user equipment 20 may activate the specific SCell while regarding the specific SCell as an unknown cell), or a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) of the reference SCell for time-frequency synchronization or Automatic Gain Control (AGC) adjustment for the SCell.
Regarding claim 16, Kakishima discloses the Base Station of claim 15, wherein the reference information includes at least one of following parameters: a cell ID of the reference SCell (see Kakishima, p. [0122], e.g., a UE has sent a valid measure report for the SCell to be activated, and the measured SSB remains detectable according to a cell identification condition), or an index of reference SCell; a SSB index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference SSB index and SSB index for the SCell to be activated; a CSI-RS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference CSI-RS index and CSI-RS index for the SCell to be activated; a TRS index mapping between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated to indicate the relationship between the reference TRS index and TRS index for the SCell to be activated; activated; a cell-level power offset between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; a power offset for SSB beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be a power offset for CSI-RS beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated; and a power offset for TRS beam between the reference TRS and the SCell to be activated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakishima in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0258057) (Hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 6, Kakishima does not expressly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein performing, by the UE, the AGC adjustment comprises: upon receiving a MAC CE or a RRC reconfiguration message for SCell activation, performing the AGC adjustment according to a received cell-level power offset or a power offset for SSB or CSI-RS or TRS beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated.
Kim discloses the above recited limitations (see Kim, [0148-0149], e.g., A SCell is activated, and p. [0193], e.g., it is necessary to determine a range of limiting power offsets of the SSB and the PDCCH, and p. [0199], e.g., it is necessary for a power offset between the SSB and the PDCCH to be limited to a certain level. This helps reception automatic gain control (AGC) to be effectively performed).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kim’s teachings into Kakishima. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a range of limiting power offsets of the SSB and the PDCCH in order to help reception automatic gain control (AGC) to be effectively performed.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teaching of Kakishima and Kim disclose the User Equipment of claim 9, wherein performing, by the UE, the AGC adjustment comprises: upon receiving a MAC CE or a RRC reconfiguration message for SCell activation, the processor is further configured to perform the AGC adjustment according to a received cell- level power offset or a power offset for SSB/CSI-RS/TRS beam between the reference SCell and the SCell to be activated (see Kim, [0148-0149], e.g., A SCell is activated, and p. [0193], e.g., it is necessary to determine a range of limiting power offsets of the SSB and the PDCCH, and p. [0199], e.g., it is necessary for a power offset between the SSB and the PDCCH to be limited to a certain level. This helps reception automatic gain control (AGC) to be effectively performed)
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477