DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pravinchandra Bhatt et al. (US 2023/0344652 A1, hereinafter Bhatt).
Regarding claim 1, Bhatt teaches a method, comprising:
identifying, by a Service Management and Orchestration (SMO) framework, at least one data model to manage an artificial intelligence or machine learning (AI/ML) model associated with a Network Function (NF) via at least one management function, [Abstract, certificate update trigger for a network function (data model) using AI/ML model; Par,[0045] describes CUO as part of SMO and NMS for management functions];
receiving, by the SMO framework, AI/ML associated data from the NF via the at least one management function according to the data model, [Abstract, Par.[0043], [0046] receives information (in this case about certificate update procedure) from a NF to use an associated AI/ML model; Figurers 2 and 3 and associated description];
updating, by the SMO framework, a network configuration based on the AI/ML associated data, [Par.[0047] among others describes update to network configurations based on certificate update schedule using AI/ML model; Par.[0064] The CUO can apply the AI/ML model 210 to determine an optimum schedule for certificate updates for network function]; and
transmitting, by the SMO framework, the updated network configuration to the NF to control wireless communications, [Par.[0048] among others describes CUO/SMO triggers the network function to perform certificate updates based on updated schedule; see Figures 4, 6 among others].
Claim 13 corresponds to claim 1 and Figure 1, 4-7 show various system related elements.
Regarding claim 2, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one data model comprises at least one of a configuration data model, a performance data model, or a fault data model, wherein the configuration data model comprises at least one AI/ML configuration parameter, [Abstract, Par.[0043], [0046] receives configuration related information (in this case about certificate update procedure) from a NF to use an associated AI/ML model to determine a schedule (configuration parameter)], wherein the performance data model comprises at least one AI/ML performance measurement indication, [notice that the certificate update procedure may relate to performance also as in Par.[0050] monitoring network performance parameters], and wherein the fault data model comprises at least one AI/ML fault indication, [notice that the certificate update procedure may relate to fault/failure also due to expiration and unavailability].
Regarding claim 3, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: updating the at least one AI/ML configuration parameter based on the AI/ML associated data, [Par.[0043] update schedule using AI/ML model; and
transmitting the at least one AI/ML configuration parameter to the NF to apply the at least one AI/ML configuration parameter to the AI/ML model using an online model update, an offline model update, or an external framework, [Par.[0046] describes CUO/DB to train the AI/ML model for predicting the time/schedule required for updating certificates; Par.[0064] The CUO can apply the AI/ML model 210 to determine an optimum schedule for certificate updates for various network functions; see also Par.[0055]. [0059] for a framework to train/update AI/ML model].
Regarding claim 4, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one data model comprises an AI/ML data model, and wherein the AI/ML data model comprises at least one AI/ML configuration parameter, [Abstract, Par.[0043], [0046] receives configuration related information (in this case about certificate update procedure) from a NF to use an associated AI/ML model to determine a schedule (configuration parameter)], at least one AI/ML performance measurement indication. [notice that the certificate update procedure may relate to performance also as in Par.[0050] monitoring network performance parameters], and at least one AI/ML fault indication, [notice that the certificate update procedure may relate to fault/failure also due to expiration and unavailability].
Regarding claim 5, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the at least one management function comprises a management function to use the at least one AI/ML configuration parameter, the at least one AI/ML performance measurement indication, and the at least one AI/ML fault indication, [claim is not clear about what management function does and is interpreted as managing AI/ML model meaning training and updating the model itself, in addition to the citation in claim 4, see Par.[0054], [0055], [0059], [0064] about training and updating the AI/ML model].
Regarding claim 6, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the at least one management function comprises a plurality of management functions corresponding to the at least one AI/ML configuration parameter, the at least one AI/ML performance measurement indication, and the at least one AI/ML fault indication, [claim is not clear about what management function does and is interpreted as CUO/SMO managing AI/ML model meaning training and updating the model itself, in addition to the citation in claim 4, see Par.[0054], [0055], [0059], [0064] about training and updating the AI/ML model].
Regarding claim 7, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving network operation information from the NF, wherein the updated network configuration is further determined based on the network operation information, [Abstract and elsewhere from the citations above, certificate information (network operation from the NF) and CUO/SMO determines a schedule for triggering certificate update (updated network configuration)].
Regarding claim 8, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: training a second AI/ML model associated with the AI/ML model, re-training the AI/ML model, or using a different trained version of the AI/ML model based on the AI/ML associated data to determine the updated network configuration associated with the AI/ML model, [claim recited in the alternative; see Par.[0054], [0055], [0059], [0064] about training and updating the AI/ML model].
Regarding claim 9, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: registering the at least one management function associated with the AI/ML model in a service registry of the SMO framework to be discovered by a service consumer, [Par.[0045] CUO acts as part of a management function installed in SMO framework for managing certificate updates using an associated AI/ML model; CA/RA in Figure 1 and Par.[0052] for service consumer aspect of an operator].
Regarding claim 10, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: managing authorization of the service consumer to access the at least one data model, CA/RA in Figure 1 and Par.[0052] The system 100 may also comprise a certification authority (CA) or registration authority (RA) 150 of an operator. The CA/RA 150 may transmit an announcement about certificate revocation to the CUO 110. The network functions 130 may execute certificate update procedure with the CA/RA].
Regarding claim 11, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the NF comprises a physical network function, and wherein transmitting the updated network configuration using an adapter in the SMO framework, [Par.[0046] describes network functions may be physical network functions and Par.[0048] describes CUO/SMO triggers the network functions to perform certificate updates based on updated schedule; see Figures 4, 6].
Regarding claim 12, Bhatt teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the NF is a first network function of a radio access network (RAN) or a second network function of a core network, [Figure 1 and Par.[0045]].
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected as above.
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected as above.
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 5 and is rejected as above.
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected as above.
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected as above.
Claim 19 corresponds to claim 8 and is rejected as above.
Claim 20 corresponds to claims 9 and 10 together and is rejected as above.
Conclusion
/PADMA MUNDUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441