DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 8/8/24 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12, 13, 15, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO 2010/005219 A2), herein Kim and Damnjanovic et al. (Pub. No.: 2013/0258919 A1), herein Damnjanovic.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a method for discontinuous reception, comprising:
detecting, by a first terminal device, at least one piece of discontinuous reception (DRX) information of at least one terminal device, and DRX information of each terminal device of the at least one terminal device is used for indicating that the each terminal device wakes up or sleeps (Kim [26] the base station may transmit a control signal to at least one terminal [27] the control signal may include a bitmap [39] determines whether to sleep or wake up)
determining, by the first terminal device, DRX information of the first terminal device from the at least one piece of DRX information (Kim [26] the base station may transmit a control signal to at least one terminal [27] the control signal may include a bitmap [39] determines whether to sleep or wake up)
; and
Kim does not teach
a downlink control channel sent by a network device, wherein the downlink control channel carries
during an on-duration of a DRX cycle after the DRX information of the each terminal device
waking up or sleeping, by the first terminal device, during the on-duration according to the DRX information of the first terminal device, wherein the method further comprises:
before the first terminal device detects the downlink control channel sent by the network device, receiving, by the first terminal device, first configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the first configuration information indicates a target radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for detecting the downlink control channel;
wherein detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device comprises:
detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel according to the target RNTI.
However Damnjanovic does teach
a downlink control channel sent by a network device (Damnjanovic Fig. 2 PDCCH)
during an on-duration of a DRX cycle after the DRX information of the each terminal device (Damnjanovic Fig. 2 on duration)
waking up or sleeping, by the first terminal device, during the on-duration according to the DRX information of the first terminal device, wherein the method further comprises (Damnjanovic [0041] As depicted at 16, the UE 12 is operating in a nominal discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode wherein certain components can be placed in a sleep mode when reception/transmissions are not scheduled. Upon receipt of a command from the base node 14 to change the interval for power savings (i.e., DRX and/or DTX) as depicted at 18, the UE adopts the changed scheduling. [0043] As depicted at 30, the base node 14 can command extended microsleep and [0061] Thus, the flexible DRX interval adjusts to traffic characteristics reverting to extended DRX interval during periods of inactivity and allowing DRX even during periods of activity (e.g., VoIP with bundling can allow scheduling every 40 ms with nominal (regular) DRX interval as small as 5 ms such as for synchronizing HARQ with 5 ms instances).):
before the first terminal device detects the downlink control channel sent by the network device, receiving, by the first terminal device, first configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the first configuration information indicates a target radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for detecting the downlink control channel (Damnjanovic [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH)
wherein detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device comprises:
detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel according to the target RNTI (Damnjanovic [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with Damjanovic, because Damnjanovic teaches us [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH because it unambiguously identifies which time-frequency resource is to be utilized by the UE.
As to claim 8, Kim teaches a terminal device, wherein the terminal device is a first terminal device, the terminal device comprises:
a processor (Kim Fig. 2);
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (Kim Fig. 2); and
a transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to run the instructions to (Kim Fig. 2):
control the transceiver to detect at least one piece of discontinuous reception (DRX) information of at least one terminal device, and DRX information of each terminal device of the at least one terminal device is used for indicating that the each terminal device wakes up or sleeps (Kim [26] the base station may transmit a control signal to at least one terminal [27] the control signal may include a bitmap [39] determines whether to sleep or wake up)
determine DRX information of the first terminal device from the at least one piece of DRX information detected by the transceiver (Kim [26] the base station may transmit a control signal to at least one terminal [27] the control signal may include a bitmap [39] determines whether to sleep or wake up)
and
wake up or sleep according to the DRX information of the first terminal device,
Kim does not teach
a downlink control channel sent by a network device, wherein the downlink control channel carries
during an on-duration of a DRX cycle after the DRX information of the each terminal device
wherein the processor is further configured to run the instructions to control the transceiver to: receive first configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the first configuration information indicates a target radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for detecting the downlink control channel; and
detect the downlink control channel according to the target RNTI.
However Damnjanovic does teach
a downlink control channel sent by a network device, wherein the downlink control channel carries (Damnjanovic Fig. 2 PDCCH)
during an on-duration of a DRX cycle after the DRX information of the each terminal device (Damnjanovic [0041] As depicted at 16, the UE 12 is operating in a nominal discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode wherein certain components can be placed in a sleep mode when reception/transmissions are not scheduled. Upon receipt of a command from the base node 14 to change the interval for power savings (i.e., DRX and/or DTX) as depicted at 18, the UE adopts the changed scheduling. [0043] As depicted at 30, the base node 14 can command extended microsleep and [0061] Thus, the flexible DRX interval adjusts to traffic characteristics reverting to extended DRX interval during periods of inactivity and allowing DRX even during periods of activity (e.g., VoIP with bundling can allow scheduling every 40 ms with nominal (regular) DRX interval as small as 5 ms such as for synchronizing HARQ with 5 ms instances).):
wherein the processor is further configured to run the instructions to control the transceiver to: receive first configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the first configuration information indicates a target radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for detecting the downlink control channel (Damnjanovic [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH); and
detect the downlink control channel according to the target RNTI (Damnjanovic [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with Damjanovic, because Damnjanovic teaches us [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH because it unambiguously identifies which time-frequency resource is to be utilized by the UE.
As to claim 15, Kim teaches a network device, comprising:
a processor (Kim Fig. 3 controller);
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (Kim Fig. 3 storage unit); and
a transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to run the instructions to (Kim Fig. 3 transmitting and receiving unit):
determine at least one piece of discontinuous reception (DRX) information of at least one terminal device, wherein DRX information of each terminal device of the at least one terminal device is used for indicating that the each terminal device wakes up or sleeps (Kim [26] the base station may transmit a control signal to at least one terminal [27] the control signal may include a bitmap [39] determines whether to sleep or wake up)
; and
Kim does not teach
during an on-duration of a DRX cycle after the DRX information of the each terminal device
control the transceiver to send a downlink control channel to a first terminal device, wherein the downlink control channel carries the at least one piece of DRX information determined by the processor, to enable the first terminal device to determine DRX information of the first terminal device from the at least one piece of DRX information, and to wake up or sleep during the on-duration according to the DRX information of the first terminal device, wherein the processor is further configured to run the instructions to control the transceiver to (:
send first configuration information to the first terminal device, wherein the first configuration information indicates a target radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for detecting the downlink control channel.
However Damnjanovic does teach
during an on-duration of a DRX cycle after the DRX information of the each terminal device (Damnjanovic [0041] As depicted at 16, the UE 12 is operating in a nominal discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode wherein certain components can be placed in a sleep mode when reception/transmissions are not scheduled. Upon receipt of a command from the base node 14 to change the interval for power savings (i.e., DRX and/or DTX) as depicted at 18, the UE adopts the changed scheduling. [0043] As depicted at 30, the base node 14 can command extended microsleep and [0061] Thus, the flexible DRX interval adjusts to traffic characteristics reverting to extended DRX interval during periods of inactivity and allowing DRX even during periods of activity (e.g., VoIP with bundling can allow scheduling every 40 ms with nominal (regular) DRX interval as small as 5 ms such as for synchronizing HARQ with 5 ms instances).):
control the transceiver to send a downlink control channel to a first terminal device, wherein the downlink control channel carries the at least one piece of DRX information determined by the processor, to enable the first terminal device to determine DRX information of the first terminal device from the at least one piece of DRX information, and to wake up or sleep during the on-duration according to the DRX information of the first terminal device, wherein the processor is further configured to run the instructions to control the transceiver to (Damnjanovic Fig. 2 PDCCH and [0041] As depicted at 16, the UE 12 is operating in a nominal discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode wherein certain components can be placed in a sleep mode when reception/transmissions are not scheduled. Upon receipt of a command from the base node 14 to change the interval for power savings (i.e., DRX and/or DTX) as depicted at 18, the UE adopts the changed scheduling. [0043] As depicted at 30, the base node 14 can command extended microsleep and [0061] Thus, the flexible DRX interval adjusts to traffic characteristics reverting to extended DRX interval during periods of inactivity and allowing DRX even during periods of activity (e.g., VoIP with bundling can allow scheduling every 40 ms with nominal (regular) DRX interval as small as 5 ms such as for synchronizing HARQ with 5 ms instances).):
send first configuration information to the first terminal device, wherein the first configuration information indicates a target radio network temporary identity (RNTI) used for detecting the downlink control channel (Damnjanovic [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with Damjanovic, because Damnjanovic teaches us [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH because it unambiguously identifies which time-frequency resource is to be utilized by the UE.
As to claim 2, the combination of Kim and Damnjanovic teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the downlink control channel carries at least one bit value, the at least one bit value corresponds to the at least one piece of DRX information one by one, and each bit value in the at least one bit value is used for representing DRX information corresponding to the each bit value (Kim [29] the bitmap is an n-bit map 100000 implies that data from a first group (first terminal groups may have one terminal)) Ang [0042] In some examples, comparing with PDCCH, WUS may carry fewer bits (e.g., 1 -bit) (0 or 1 (0 = no WU, 1 = yes WU)
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 3, the combination of Kim and Damnjanovic teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: before the first terminal device detects the downlink control channel sent by the network device, determining, by the first terminal device, a control channel group to which the downlink control channel belongs according to a device identity of the first terminal device (Damnjanovic [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH);; and determining, by the first terminal device, the target RNTI corresponding to the control channel group according to a mapping relationship between multiple control channel groups and multiple RNTIs (Damnjanovic [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH 136 identifies which time-frequency resource is to be utilized by the UE [0058] As depicted in FIG. 5, flexible DRX can be enhanced by utilizing L1/L2 control channel structure 130. A bitmap 232 indicates paged paging groups.)
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 5, the combination of Kim and Damnjanovic teach the method according to claim 1, wherein detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device further comprises:
detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device before the DRX cycle; or detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device in a first subframe or a first slot during the on-duration of the DRX cycle; or
detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device in a common search space of a control channel (Damnjanovic [0041] As depicted at 16, the UE 12 is operating in a nominal discontinuous reception (DRX)/discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode wherein certain components can be placed in a sleep mode when reception/transmissions are not scheduled. Upon receipt of a command from the base node 14 to change the interval for power savings (i.e., DRX and/or DTX) as depicted at 18, the UE adopts the changed scheduling. [0043] As depicted at 30, the base node 14 can command extended microsleep and [0061] Thus, the flexible DRX interval adjusts to traffic characteristics reverting to extended DRX interval during periods of inactivity and allowing DRX even during periods of activity (e.g., VoIP with bundling can allow scheduling every 40 ms with nominal (regular) DRX interval as small as 5 ms such as for synchronizing HARQ with 5 ms instances):
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
As to claim 6 , the combination of Kim and Damnjanovic teach the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, by the first terminal device, the DRX information of the first terminal device from the at least one piece of DRX information comprises: determining, by the first terminal device, the DRX information of the first terminal device according to a number of the first terminal device, wherein the DRX information of the first terminal device is DRX information corresponding to the number in the at least one piece of DRX information (Damnjanovic [0050] RNTI can be used on the PDCCH (Kim [26] the base station may transmit a control signal to at least one terminal [27] the control signal may include a bitmap [39] determines whether to sleep or wake up)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Damnjanovic for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 6.
Claim(s) 4, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Damnjanovic.
and Deng et al. Pub. No.: 2015/0098384.
As to claim 4, the combination of Kim and Damnjanovic teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Kim nor Damnjanovic teach
before the first terminal device detects the downlink control channel sent by the network device, receiving, by the first terminal device, second configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the second configuration information is used for indicating a channel format of the downlink control channel; wherein detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device further comprises: detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel according to the channel format of the downlink control channel.
However Deng does teach
before the first terminal device detects the downlink control channel sent by the network device, receiving, by the first terminal device, second configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the second configuration information is used for indicating a channel format of the downlink control channel (Deng [0026] A format of the DCI is pre-defined or is configured by the serving cell);
wherein detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel sent by the network device further comprises: detecting, by the first terminal device, the downlink control channel according to the channel format of the downlink control channel (Deng [0026] Existing protocols have multiple formats of DCI, such as Format 1, Format 1A, and Format 2, format of the DCI required to be detected in the common PDCCH)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Damnjanovic with Deng because Deng teaches us [0026] clear determination of the format of the DCI required to be detected in the common PDCCH by the UE can decrease the number of detections performed by the UE.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 17, the combination of Kim, Damnjanovic and Deng teach the network device according to claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to run the instructions to control the transceiver to: send a mapping relationship between multiple control channel groups and multiple radio network temporary identities (RNTIs) to the first terminal device, wherein the target RNTI used by the first terminal device for detecting the downlink control channel is an RNTI corresponding to a control channel group to which the downlink control channel belongs (Deng [0021] The serving BS allocates a C-RNTI to the UE. The UE may, based on the C-RNTI thereof, decode and receive physical downlink control signaling transmitted in a common PDCCH [0026] During detection of the common PDCCH, DCI thereof is detected according to a C-RNTI of the common PDCCH);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Damnjanovic with Deng for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 18, the combination of Kim, Damnjanovic and Deng network device according to claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to run the instructions to control the transceiver to: send second configuration information to the first terminal device, wherein the second configuration information is used for indicating a channel format of the downlink control channel (Deng [0026] Existing protocols have multiple formats of DCI, such as Format 1, Format 1A, and Format 2, format of the DCI required to be detected in the common PDCCH)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Damnjanovic with Deng because Deng teaches us [0026] clear determination of the format of the DCI required to be detected in the common PDCCH by the UE can decrease the number of detections performed by the UE.
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Damnjanovic and Anderson et al. (Pub. No.: 2012/0275366), herein Anderson
As to claim 7, the combination of Kim and Damnjanovic teach the method according to claim 6, further comprising:
Kim nor Damnjanovic teach
before the first terminal device determines the DRX information of the first terminal device according to the number of the first terminal device, receiving, by the first terminal device, third configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the third configuration information is used for indicating the number of the first terminal device.
However Anderson does teach
before the first terminal device determines the DRX information of the first terminal device according to the number of the first terminal device, receiving, by the first terminal device, third configuration information sent by the network device, wherein the third configuration information is used for indicating the number of the first terminal device (Andrson [0072] The wake-up RNTI may be explicitly assigned by the eNB 150 to the UE 145 using dedicated signaling means. Alternatively or in combination, the wake-up RNTI may be derived by the UE 145 based upon a pre-existing ID for the same UE 145. The pre-existing UE ID may comprise a previously-assigned RNTI)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Damnjanovic with Anderson, because Anderson teaches us [0112]. The wake-up signal may take the form of a normal UL or DL assignment addressed to the UEs dedicated RNTI (i.e. C-RNTI). The eNB may transmit the dedicated wake-up message during the PDCCH region of any actively-received (non-DRX) sub-frame (as per the current LTE design). As a result, a UE still need only activate its front-end receiver circuitry for the PDCCH region of each non-DRX sub-frame.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected for the same reason stated in claim 7.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2427
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2427