DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 recites the phrase “a second coil”, wherein there is no first coil previously claimed and it is unclear if there is also a first coil not claimed. Appropriate clarification or correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the light source" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the housing" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by von Badinski (9,582,034).
Regarding Claim 1: Von Badinski teaches a detection device comprising: a ring-shaped housing (fig. 3A) that has a light source (320b), a light sensor (320c), a control circuit (210), a first power source circuit (240), and a first battery (280), the first battery capable of being charged by power from a charger (col. 14 lines 17-20); and a terminal (fig. 6 and 26a-26d) that allows a detachable gadget (figs. 26a-26b)) to be attached detachably to an outside of the housing and enables the detachable gadget to charge the first battery (figs. 26a-26d and col. 30 lines 14-30).
Regarding Claim 2: Von Badinski teaches further comprising the detachable gadget configured to be attached to the terminal (figs. 26a-26b), wherein the detachable gadget includes: a second battery (col. 29 line 64 – col 30 line 30); and a second power source circuit (col. 29 line 64 – col 30 line 30), and the second battery of the detachable gadget and the first battery of the housing are capable of being charged by each other (col. 29 line 64 – col 30 line 30) via the second power source circuit when the detachable gadget is attached to the terminal (col. 29 line 64 – col 30 line 30).
Regarding Claim 3: Von Badinski teaches wherein the detachable gadget includes a second coil to receive power for charging the second battery from an external coil (col. 29 line 64 – col 30 line 30).
Regarding Claim 4: Von Badinski teaches wherein the detachable gadget includes at least one of a light emitting device and a haptic device (the cell phone of figs. 26a-26d is known to have lights and haptic devices) that are capable of being controlled by the control circuit of the housing when the detachable gadget is attached to the terminal (the cell phone of figs. 26a-26d is known to have a controller).
Regarding Claim 5: Von Badinski teaches wherein the light source emits at least one of visible light, near-infrared light, and green light (figs. 3a-3c), and the control circuit detects information about a living body that the housing contacts, based on information detected by the light sensor (col. 11 lines 31-47).
Regarding Claim 6: Von Badinski teaches wherein the housing has at least one of a temperature sensor (320a) and an acceleration sensor (col. 11 lines 1-24).
Regarding Claim 7: Von Badinski teaches wherein at least one of the light emitting device and the haptic device of the detachable gadget makes notification of a state of the second battery (the cell phone of figs. 26a-26d is known to have lights and haptic devices in order to monitor battery life).
Regarding Claim 8: Von Badinski teaches further comprising the charger that is capable of charging the first battery of the housing in a wireless manner from an outside of the housing (fig. 26A-26D).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841