DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group III, claims 16-23 in the reply filed on 4/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, reference is made to “during applying the water-borne topcoat layer the water-borne topcoat layer has…” wherein the element of the water-borne topcoat layer is repeated. The examiner suggests inserting a comma in between the repetition of the water-borne topcoat layer so that the limitation read “during applying the water-borne topcoat layer, the water-borne topcoat layer has…”. ” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4, reference is made to “during applying the water-borne color layer the water-borne color layer has…” wherein the element of the water-borne color layer is repeated. The examiner suggests inserting a comma in between the repetition of the water-borne color layer so that the limitation read “during applying the water-borne color layer, the water-borne color layer has…”. ” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities: In line 3, reference is made to “during applying the water-borne adhesive layer the water-borne adhesive layer has…” wherein the element of the water-borne adhesive layer is repeated. The examiner suggests inserting a comma in between the repetition of the water-borne adhesive layer so that the limitation read “during applying the water-borne adhesive layer, the water-borne adhesive layer has…”. ” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atake (JP 2011251542 A) and Kratzer (DE 102021106085 A1).
As to claim 16, Atake discloses a method for producing an insert sheet comprising a substrate and a transfer ply of a transfer film applied to the substrate having the steps of:
- applying a water-borne topcoat layer (“an acrylic resin layer 10”), at least one water-borne color layer (“design layer 18”) and a water-borne adhesive layer (“polyester urethane resin layer 15”) by means of printing onto a surface of the carrier layer to provide a transfer film (“An acrylic resin ink containing an aluminum pigment is used on an acrylic film having a thickness of 125 μm, a pattern layer is formed by a gravure printing method, and then a polyester urethane adhesive is applied as a polyester urethane resin at a coating amount of 10 g / m. .sup.2 is applied to form a polyester urethane resin layer, a butadiene-containing 42% by weight ABS resin sheet”);
- providing a substrate (“base sheet 20”):
- heat laminating the transfer ply of the transfer film onto a surface of the substrate (“heat lamination is performed at a temperature of 85 ° C., a pressing force of 8 kg / cm .sup.2 , and a speed of 5 m / min. Thus, a decorative sheet for molding was obtained”).
See the translation, disclosing:
FIG. 1 is a schematic cross-sectional view showing an example of the decorative sheet for molding 100 of the present invention. 1 includes an acrylic resin layer 10 and a base material sheet 20 that reinforces the acrylic resin layer 10, a design layer 18 formed on the lower surface of the acrylic resin layer 10, and a design layer 18 or acrylic. The polyester urethane resin layer 15 is formed between the resin layer 10 and the base sheet 20.
See the translation, disclosing:
"Production method"
(Example) An acrylic resin ink containing an aluminum pigment is used on an acrylic film having a thickness of 125 μm, a pattern layer is formed by a gravure printing method, and then a polyester urethane adhesive is applied as a polyester urethane resin at a coating amount of 10 g / m. .sup.2 is applied to form a polyester urethane resin layer, a butadiene-containing 42% by weight ABS resin sheet having a thickness of 300 μm is laminated, and heat lamination is performed at a temperature of 85 ° C., a pressing force of 8 kg / cm .sup.2 , and a speed of 5 m / min. Thus, a decorative sheet for molding was obtained.
The obtained decorative sheet was produced as a decorative article by decorating the surface of the resin molded product by the injection molding simultaneous lamination method. The shape of the molded product is an interior part around the shift gear of an automobile. The shape of the part is 18 cm wide and 30 cm long. To decorate the surface, the molded decorative sheet is stretched by about 150% (area ratio: the area is about 1.5 times after molding) and molded. It was a part that needed to be done.
(Comparative Example 1) An acrylic resin ink containing an aluminum pigment is used on an acrylic film having a thickness of 125 μm, a pattern layer is formed by a gravure printing method, and then a vinyl chloride-vinyl acetate copolymer adhesive is used as a vinyl resin. Is applied at a coating amount of 10 g / m .sup.2 to form a vinyl resin layer, a butadiene-containing 42 wt% ABS resin sheet having a thickness of 300 μm is laminated, a temperature of 85 ° C., a pressing force of 8 kg / cm .sup.2 , and a speed of 5 m. The decorative sheet for molding was obtained by heat lamination under the conditions of / min.
The obtained decorative sheet was produced as a decorative article by decorating the surface of the resin molded product by the injection molding simultaneous lamination method. The shape of the molded product is an interior part around the shift gear of an automobile. The shape of the part is 18 cm wide and 30 cm long. To decorate the surface, the molded decorative sheet is stretched by about 150% (area ratio: the area is about 1.5 times after molding) and molded. It was a part that needed to be done.
(Comparative Example 2) On an acrylic film having a thickness of 125 μm, an acrylic resin ink containing an aluminum pigment was used, a pattern layer was formed by a gravure printing method, and then an acrylic adhesive was applied as an acrylic resin at a coating amount of 10 g / m. .sup.2 is applied to form an acrylic resin layer, a butadiene-containing 42% by weight ABS resin sheet having a thickness of 300 μm is laminated, and heat lamination is performed at a temperature of 85 ° C., a pressing force of 8 kg / cm .sup.2 , and a speed of 5 m / min. Thus, a decorative sheet for molding was obtained.
The obtained decorative sheet was produced as a decorative article by decorating the surface of the resin molded product by the injection molding simultaneous lamination method. The shape of the molded product is an interior part around the shift gear of an automobile. The shape of the part is 18 cm wide and 30 cm long. To decorate the surface, the molded decorative sheet is stretched by about 150% (area ratio: the area is about 1.5 times after molding) and molded. It was a part that needed to be done.
"Discussion"
From Table 1, it is possible to ensure adhesion by using a polyurethane resin layer rather than direct contact between the base sheet and the acrylic resin layer, and the elongation that occurs during molding than a resin layer mainly composed of vinyl resin or acrylic resin. It is possible to follow more favorably, and at the time of molding, it is more likely that the polyester urethane resin layer or other decorative sheet for molding (for example, a decorative layer if a decorative layer is provided) will flow, deform, break, etc. It can prevent suitably. It can be seen that this prevention can more suitably prevent the adhesion strength between the base sheet and the acrylic resin layer from being lowered due to flow, deformation, cutting, and the like, and can ensure adhesion.
Atake does not appear to disclose - providing a carrier layer;
However, Kratzer makes obvious providing a carrier layer.
See the Kratzer abstract, teaching that:
The invention relates to a transfer film (10), which has a carrier film (12) comprising a master structure lacquer (18) and a transfer layer (14) arranged on the carrier film (12) and detachable from the carrier film (12) and comprising a top coat (16), wherein the master structure lacquer (18) is arranged on the carrier film (12) on its side facing the transfer layer (14) and has a master structure, and wherein a master structure is molded on the carrier film (12) on its side facing the transfer layer (14) and wherein the top coat (16) comprises a structure which has a structure which is complementary to the master structure.
The Kratzer translation further discloses that:
The carrier film preferably has a carrier layer, the carrier layer being arranged on that side of the carrier film which is remote from the transfer layer.
The carrier layer is preferably formed from ABS, ABS/PC, PET, PC, PMMA, PE and/or PP. The layer thickness of the carrier layer is advantageously selected from a range from 5 μm to 100 μm, in particular from 20 μm to 80 μm.
The Kratzer translation discloses some of the benefits of the carrier layer, teaching that:
During the forming of a transfer film comprising a carrier film, for example in the IMD process, the carrier film of the transfer film absorbs most of the tensile forces. The expansion properties of the master structure paint ensure in particular that the master structure paint is not damaged, particularly in the form of cracks or micro-cracks, when the transfer film is back-injected. The extensibility values were determined in a tensile test using the Zwick Z005 testing device from Zwick GmbH & Co. KG, Ulm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized providing a carrier layer as disclosed in Kratzer because during the forming of a transfer film comprising a carrier film, for example in the IMD process, the carrier film of the transfer film absorbs most of the tensile forces.
As to claim 17, Atake discloses and/or makes obvious wherein the water-borne topcoat layer is applied by means of slot-die onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the water-borne topcoat layer the water-borne topcoat layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s.
See the translation, disclosing that:
The manufacturing method of each layer in the decorative sheet for molding in the present embodiment is not particularly limited. For example, as a printing method, gravure coating, gravure reverse coating, comma coating, die coating, lip coating, cast coating, roll coating, Air knife coat, Mayer bar coat, extrusion coat, offset, UV curing offset, flexo, stencil, silk, curtain flow coat, wire bar coat, reverse coat, gravure coat, kiss coat, blade coat, smooth coat, spray coat, pouring Various printing methods such as coating and brushing can be applied. In addition to coating the lower layer as a dry film, the lower layer and the upper layer can be dried in two layers in a wet state.
Atake does not disclose and/or during applying the water-borne topcoat layer the water-borne topcoat layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s. However, because this limitation follows an “and/or”, it is not required to reject the claim.
In any event, Kratzer makes obvious the full limitation of wherein the water-borne topcoat layer is applied by means of slot-die onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the water-borne topcoat layer the water-borne topcoat layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s.
Kratzer, in the translation, discloses:
When applied, the UV-curable master structure coating preferably has a dynamic viscosity in a range from 10 mPas to 500 mPas, preferably from 50 mPas to 200 mPas, preferably measured using a rotational viscometer at room temperature.
…
The top coat is preferably applied using a pressure roller or a slit nozzle and after application, preferably during production of the transfer film, is crosslinked and/or cured, in particular by applying thermal energy and/or by UV radiation.
The viscosity of the top coat can be adjusted to the structure to be achieved and can be adjusted from a wide range from very liquid to pasty. In other words, the viscosity of the top coat during application can be and/or be selected from a dynamic viscosity in a range from 15 mPas to 600 mPas, preferably from 25 mPas to 250 mPas.
This has the advantage that the top coat flows into the smallest cavities, which are below the resolution limit of the naked human eye, and can depict them. This is particularly advantageous in comparison to extruded, structured materials, since these are limited in their choice of viscosity due to the process conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the water-borne topcoat layer is applied by means of slot-die onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the water-borne topcoat layer the water-borne topcoat layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s. as taught by Kratzer because “This has the advantage that the top coat flows into the smallest cavities, which are below the resolution limit of the naked human eye, and can depict them.” and “This is particularly advantageous in comparison to extruded, structured materials, since these are limited in their choice of viscosity due to the process conditions.”
As to claim 18, Atake discloses a water-borne layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer.
See the translation, disclosing that:
The manufacturing method of each layer in the decorative sheet for molding in the present embodiment is not particularly limited. For example, as a printing method, gravure coating, gravure reverse coating, comma coating, die coating, lip coating, cast coating, roll coating, Air knife coat, Mayer bar coat, extrusion coat, offset, UV curing offset, flexo, stencil, silk, curtain flow coat, wire bar coat, reverse coat, gravure coat, kiss coat, blade coat, smooth coat, spray coat, pouring Various printing methods such as coating and brushing can be applied. In addition to coating the lower layer as a dry film, the lower layer and the upper layer can be dried in two layers in a wet state.
Atake does not disclose the full limitation of wherein a water-borne tie-coat layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer because Atake does not disclose additional water-borne tie-coat layers. However, duplication of parts, such as by use of additional layers, is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein a water-borne tie-coat layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer as an obvious duplication of the layers of Atake.
As to claim 19, Atake discloses and/or makes obvious wherein the at least one water-borne color layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the at least one water-borne color layer the at least one water-borne color layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s.
See the translation, disclosing that:
The manufacturing method of each layer in the decorative sheet for molding in the present embodiment is not particularly limited. For example, as a printing method, gravure coating, gravure reverse coating, comma coating, die coating, lip coating, cast coating, roll coating, Air knife coat, Mayer bar coat, extrusion coat, offset, UV curing offset, flexo, stencil, silk, curtain flow coat, wire bar coat, reverse coat, gravure coat, kiss coat, blade coat, smooth coat, spray coat, pouring Various printing methods such as coating and brushing can be applied. In addition to coating the lower layer as a dry film, the lower layer and the upper layer can be dried in two layers in a wet state.
Atake does not disclose and/or during applying the water-borne color layer the water-borne color layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s. However, because this limitation follows an “and/or”, it is not required to reject the claim.
In any event, Kratzer makes obvious the full limitation of wherein the at least one water-borne color layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the at least one water-borne color layer the at least one water-borne color layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s.
Kratzer, in the translation, discloses:
When applied, the UV-curable master structure coating preferably has a dynamic viscosity in a range from 10 mPas to 500 mPas, preferably from 50 mPas to 200 mPas, preferably measured using a rotational viscometer at room temperature.
…
The top coat is preferably applied using a pressure roller or a slit nozzle and after application, preferably during production of the transfer film, is crosslinked and/or cured, in particular by applying thermal energy and/or by UV radiation.
The viscosity of the top coat can be adjusted to the structure to be achieved and can be adjusted from a wide range from very liquid to pasty. In other words, the viscosity of the top coat during application can be and/or be selected from a dynamic viscosity in a range from 15 mPas to 600 mPas, preferably from 25 mPas to 250 mPas.
This has the advantage that the top coat flows into the smallest cavities, which are below the resolution limit of the naked human eye, and can depict them. This is particularly advantageous in comparison to extruded, structured materials, since these are limited in their choice of viscosity due to the process conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the at least one water-borne color layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the at least one water-borne color layer the at least one water-borne color layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s. as taught by Kratzer because “This has the advantage that the top coat flows into the smallest cavities, which are below the resolution limit of the naked human eye, and can depict them.” and “This is particularly advantageous in comparison to extruded, structured materials, since these are limited in their choice of viscosity due to the process conditions.”
As to claim 20, Atake discloses and/or makes obvious wherein the water-borne adhesive layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the water-borne adhesive layer the water-borne adhesive layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s.
See the translation, disclosing that:
The manufacturing method of each layer in the decorative sheet for molding in the present embodiment is not particularly limited. For example, as a printing method, gravure coating, gravure reverse coating, comma coating, die coating, lip coating, cast coating, roll coating, Air knife coat, Mayer bar coat, extrusion coat, offset, UV curing offset, flexo, stencil, silk, curtain flow coat, wire bar coat, reverse coat, gravure coat, kiss coat, blade coat, smooth coat, spray coat, pouring Various printing methods such as coating and brushing can be applied. In addition to coating the lower layer as a dry film, the lower layer and the upper layer can be dried in two layers in a wet state.
Atake does not disclose and/or during applying the water-borne adhesive layer the water-borne adhesive layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s. However, because this limitation follows an “and/or”, it is not required to reject the claim.
In any event, Kratzer makes obvious the full limitation of wherein the water-borne adhesive layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the water-borne adhesive layer the water-borne adhesive layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s.
Kratzer, in the translation, discloses:
When applied, the UV-curable master structure coating preferably has a dynamic viscosity in a range from 10 mPas to 500 mPas, preferably from 50 mPas to 200 mPas, preferably measured using a rotational viscometer at room temperature.
…
The top coat is preferably applied using a pressure roller or a slit nozzle and after application, preferably during production of the transfer film, is crosslinked and/or cured, in particular by applying thermal energy and/or by UV radiation.
The viscosity of the top coat can be adjusted to the structure to be achieved and can be adjusted from a wide range from very liquid to pasty. In other words, the viscosity of the top coat during application can be and/or be selected from a dynamic viscosity in a range from 15 mPas to 600 mPas, preferably from 25 mPas to 250 mPas.
This has the advantage that the top coat flows into the smallest cavities, which are below the resolution limit of the naked human eye, and can depict them. This is particularly advantageous in comparison to extruded, structured materials, since these are limited in their choice of viscosity due to the process conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the water-borne adhesive layer is applied by means of gravure printing onto a surface of the carrier layer; and/or during applying the water-borne adhesive layer the water-borne adhesive layer has a dynamic viscosity in range from 0.10 Pa·s to 1.0 Pa·s. as taught by Kratzer because “This has the advantage that the top coat flows into the smallest cavities, which are below the resolution limit of the naked human eye, and can depict them.” and “This is particularly advantageous in comparison to extruded, structured materials, since these are limited in their choice of viscosity due to the process conditions.”
As to claim 21, Atake discloses wherein the water-borne topcoat layer and/or the water-borne tie-coat layer and/or the at least one water-borne color layer and/or the water-borne adhesive layer is applied with a printing speed in the range of 5 m/min to 200 m/min; and/or the water-borne topcoat layer and/or the water-borne tie-coat layer and/or the at least one water-borne color layer and/or the water-borne adhesive layer is dried with a drying temperature in the range of 80°C to 200°C.
See the translation, disclosing “heat lamination is performed at a temperature of 85 ° C., a pressing force of 8 kg / cm .sup.2 , and a speed of 5 m / min. Thus, a decorative sheet for molding was obtained.”
As to claim 22, Atake discloses wherein the heat laminating is performed with a lamination speed in a range from 0.2 m/min to 60 m/min; and/or the heat laminating is performed with a lamination temperature in a range from 90°C to 180°C; and/or the heat laminating is performed with a lamination pressure in a range from 5 bar to 100 bar.
See the translation, disclosing “heat lamination is performed at a temperature of 85 ° C., a pressing force of 8 kg / cm .sup.2 , and a speed of 5 m / min. Thus, a decorative sheet for molding was obtained.” 8 kg / cm .sup.2 would convert to 7.845 bar.
Because the phrase “and/or” was used, Atake only needs to read on one of the limitations.
As to claim 23, Atake disclose wherein the method further comprises the following step: - curing the transfer ply by means of UV-radiation; and/or the method further comprises the following step: - detaching the carrier layer.
See the translation, disclosing that:
The manufacturing method of each layer in the decorative sheet for molding in the present embodiment is not particularly limited. For example, as a printing method, gravure coating, gravure reverse coating, comma coating, die coating, lip coating, cast coating, roll coating, Air knife coat, Mayer bar coat, extrusion coat, offset, UV curing offset, flexo, stencil, silk, curtain flow coat, wire bar coat, reverse coat, gravure coat, kiss coat, blade coat, smooth coat, spray coat, pouring Various printing methods such as coating and brushing can be applied. In addition to coating the lower layer as a dry film, the lower layer and the upper layer can be dried in two layers in a wet state.
Additionally, Kratzer also discloses the full limitation of wherein the method further comprises the following step: - curing the transfer ply by means of UV-radiation; and/or the method further comprises the following step: - detaching the carrier layer.
See the translation, disclosing:
The UV-curable master structure paint can be cured by inert curing. Inert curing is preferably understood to mean that UV radiation with a wavelength in a range from 300 nm to 600 nm is passed through the carrier film, preferably when the paint is applied and/or immediately thereafter. In this case, mercury and/or iron-doped mercury emitters are preferably used. Post-curing of the UV-curable master structure paint is carried out by irradiating the master structure paint with a mercury lamp with a wavelength in a range from 300 nm to 600 nm.
lternatively, it can also be provided that a thermoplastic paint is used as the master structure paint, which is preferably replicated under the action of pressure and temperature. In particular, the pressure is in a range from 10 bar to 110 bar, preferably from 15 bar to 60 bar, and/or the temperature is in a range from 100°C to 210°C, preferably from 120°C to 190°C.
As to detaching, Kratzer discloses in the translation that “a transfer layer arranged on the carrier film and detachable from the carrier film and comprising a top coat” See the translation, disclosing:
For example, a method, in particular an insert molding method, for producing a plastic article decorated with a transfer layer of a transfer film, can have one or more of the following steps, which are preferably carried out in the following order: - Providing a transfer film comprising a carrier film comprising a master structure paint and a transfer layer arranged on the carrier film and detachable from the carrier film and comprising a top coat, the master structure paint being arranged on the carrier film on its side facing the transfer layer and having a master structure and the top coat having a structure includes, which has a structure complementary to the master structure, - Applying, in particular hot stamping, the transfer film to a substrate, - peeling off the carrier foil together with the master structure from the transfer layer of the transfer foil, - optionally intermediate storage and/or rolling up the transfer film comprising the substrate, - Deforming the transfer film, in particular the transfer layer of the transfer film and the substrate, in particular by deep drawing, - Punching or cutting the transfer layer of the transfer foil, in particular the transfer layer and the substrate, using a laser, - Back injection molding of the transfer film, in particular the transfer layer of the transfer film arranged on the substrate, with a plastic injection molding compound, - Obtain a decorated plastic item.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the method further comprises the following step: - curing the transfer ply by means of UV-radiation; and/or the method further comprises the following step: - detaching the carrier layer as disclosed by Kratzer in order to enable production of the final article such as decorated plastic item.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK