DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0064738) in view of Mitchell et al. (U.S. Pub. 2008/0213874).
Regarding claim 1, Berger discloses (Figs. 1-7) a trace meter 87 (see par. [0070], meters individual drops: [0009], which are trace amounts of liquid), comprising a measuring compartment 2 [0070], a temperature sensor 9 [0078], a pressure sensor 39 [0070] and a controller 43 [0083], wherein a top of the measuring compartment 2 is open (i.e. has hole through which the drop generator protrudes: see Figs. 1, 6, and 7), the temperature sensor 9 is provided at a bottom of the measuring compartment (as shown in Fig. 6), both the temperature sensor 9 and the pressure sensor 39 are electrically connected with the controller 43 (as shown in Fig. 7), the temperature sensor 9 is configured to measure a temperature of liquid in the measuring compartment 2 [0078].
Berger does not disclose the pressure sensor is provided below the measuring compartment, and the pressure sensor is configured to measure a weight of the liquid in the measuring compartment.
Mitchell discloses (Fig. 1) the pressure sensor 26 [0023] is provided below the measuring compartment (as shown in Fig. 1), and the pressure sensor 26 is configured to measure a weight of the liquid in the measuring compartment (see pars. [0020]-[0021] and [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Berger’s device to include a pressure sensor provided below the measuring compartment, and the pressure sensor is configured to measure a weight of the liquid in the measuring compartment, as taught by Mitchell.
Such a modification would improve the liquid metering and control (Mitchell: pars. [0034]-[0035]); and would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 3, Berger discloses (Figs. 1-7) a steam shield 89 (i.e. cover: [0070]) covers above the measuring compartment 2 (as shown in Fig. 1; and see cover 3 in Fig. 6), and a through hole (where the drop generator protrudes into the container: see Figs. 1, 6, and 7) is formed in the steam shield 89/3 for a pipetting head 33 to pass through (as shown in Figs. 1 and 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Xie et al. (CN 107115905, copy/translation attached) discloses a device/method of calibrating pipettes.
Graf et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0250628) discloses a balance including a weighing element for calibrating pipettes.
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852