DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The response filed on 12/3/2025 is not in conformance with the Office’s rules and regulations regarding claim amendments. In particular, claims 23-24 have the status identifier of “Previously Presented” when their status identifier should be “Withdrawn”.1 In an effort to continue prosecution, the amendments have been entered, but the Applicant should be mindful of the proper format for making amendments.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more light pipes disposed within the optical transmission layer of claim 25 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 17, line 2: “and” should be inserted before “metabolites”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, 16-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “light” in line 10, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “light” in claim 1, line 8. If they are the same, “light” in line 8 should be “the light”. If they are different, their relationship should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements).
Claim 1 recites “a top barrier layer disposed over each of the plurality of sensor elements” in line 11, but it is not clear if this recitation means either:
(1) a top barrier layer disposed over all of the plurality of sensor elements; or
(2) a plurality of top barrier layers in which one of the top barrier layers is disposed over a corresponding one of the plurality of sensor elements.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used.
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of membrane barriers positioned proximal to each of the plurality of sensor elements” in lines 12-13, but it is not clear if this recitation means:
(1) a plurality of membrane barriers, wherein each one of the plurality of membrane barriers is positioned proximal to a subset of the plurality of sensor elements;
(2) a plurality of membrane barriers, wherein each one of the plurality of membrane barriers is positioned proximal to a corresponding one of the plurality of sensor elements; or
(3) a plurality of membrane barriers, wherein each one of the plurality of sensor elements is positioned proximal the plurality of membrane barriers.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used.
Claim 1 recites “wherein each of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed within the hollow internal portion of each of the plurality of microneedles” in lines 13-14, but it is not clear if this recitation means:
(1) wherein each one of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed within the hollow internal portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of microneedles; or
(2) wherein each one of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed within the hollow internal portion of each one of the plurality of microneedles.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used.
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of filter plugs positioned proximal to each of the plurality of membrane barriers” in line 15, but it is not clear if this recitation means:
(1) a plurality of filter plugs, wherein each one of the plurality of filter plugs is positioned proximal to a corresponding one of the plurality of membrane barriers; or
(2) a plurality of filter plugs, wherein each one of the plurality of membrane barriers is positioned proximal to the plurality of filter plugs.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used.
Claim 1 recites “wherein each of the plurality of filter plugs is disposed within the hollow internal portion of each of the plurality of microneedles” in lines 16-17, but it is not clear if this recitation means:
(1) wherein each one of the plurality of filter plugs is disposed within the hollow internal portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of microneedles; or
(2) wherein each one of the plurality of filter plugs is disposed within the hollow internal portion of each one of the plurality of microneedles.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used.
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, 16-22, and 25 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the top barrier layer is configured to seal a top of each of the sensing wells” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation means:
(1) wherein the top barrier layer is configured to seal tops of all of the sensing wells; or
(2) wherein each one of the plurality of top barrier layers is configured to seal a top of a corresponding one of the sensing wells.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used.
Claim 7 recites “wherein the top barrier layer is configured as an optical shroud to prevent light from entering from a top side of each of the sensing wells” in lines 2-3, but it is not clear if this recitation means:
(1) wherein the top barrier layer is configured as an optical shroud to prevent light from entering from top sides of all of the sensing wells; or
(2) wherein each one of the top barrier layers is configured as an optical shroud to prevent light from entering from a top side of a corresponding one of the sensing wells.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used.
Claim 7 recites “light” in line 2, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “light” in claim 1, line 8 and/or “light” in claim 1, line 10. Clarification is required. If they are different, their relationship should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements).
Claim 11 recites “wherein the microneedles are formed of a material including one or more of a polymer, a glass, and a ceramic” in lines 1-2, but it is not clear if the material of this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “an optical transmission layer” of claim 1, line 2. The optical transmission layer of claim 1 is recited to define a plurality of microneedles while claim 11 recites the microneedles are formed of the material. However, claim 11 does not link the material to the optical transmission layer. This ambiguity renders claim 11 indefinite.
Claim 21 recites “light” in line 10, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “light” in claim 21, line 10. If they are the same, “light” in line 10 should be “the light”. If they are different, their relationship should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements).
Claim 21 recites “a top barrier layer disposed over each of the plurality of sensor elements” in line 11, but it is not clear if this recitation means either:
(1) a top barrier layer disposed over all of the plurality of sensor elements; or
(2) a plurality of top barrier layers in which one of the top barrier layers is disposed over a corresponding one of the plurality of sensor elements.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used. Also, claim 21 recites “the top barrier layer” in line 22 which compounds this indefiniteness issue since it refer to the top barrier layer in the singular case.
Claim 21 recites “wherein each of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed proximal to each of the plurality of sensor elements within the hollow internal portion of each of the plurality of microneedles” in lines 12-14, but it is not clear if this recitation means:
(1) wherein each one of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed proximal to a subset of the plurality of sensor elements contained within the hollow internal portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of microneedles;
(2) wherein each one of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed proximal to a corresponding one of a subset of the plurality of sensor elements contained within the hollow internal portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of microneedles; or
(3) wherein each one of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed proximal to a corresponding one of the plurality of sensor elements contained within the hollow internal portion of a corresponding one of the plurality of microneedles.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used.
Claim 22 recites “light” in line 8, but it is not clear if this recitation is the same as, related to, or different from “light” in claim 22, line 6. If they are the same, “light” in line 8 should be “the light”. If they are different, their relationship should be made clear and they should be clearly distinguished from each other (e.g., when multiple elements have similar or the same labels, distinct identifiers such as “first” and “second” should be used to clearly differentiate the elements).
Claim 22 recites “a top barrier layer disposed over each of the plurality of sensor elements” in line 9, but it is not clear if this recitation means either:
(1) a top barrier layer disposed over all of the plurality of sensor elements; or
(2) a plurality of top barrier layers in which one of the top barrier layers is disposed over a corresponding one of the plurality of sensor elements.
Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, interpretation (1) will be used. Also, claim 22 recites “the top barrier layer” in line 13 which compounds this indefiniteness issue since it refer to the top barrier layer in the singular case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 11-12, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 10,105,080 (Kam)(previously cited), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0167112 (Kane)(previously cited), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0228119 (Ng)(previously cited), and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0058342 (Maiz-Aguinaga)(previously cited).
Kam teaches an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the layer that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the layer that forms the microneedle 310a; the layer that forms the microneedle 310b; the layer that forms the microneedle 310c; the layer that forms the microneedle 410a; the layer that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam). Kam also teaches that the nanosensors 230, 330a, 330b, 330c, 430, 530a, 530b, 530c are disposed within their respective sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c of Kam.
Kane teaches the use of an analyte window formed of a permeable material used to filter the analyte of interest as it proceeds in the path to the sensing element (see analyte diffusion window 308 in FIGS. 6-7 and 12-13 of Kane). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use analyte windows in the paths (or lumens of the microneedles) as the analytes proceed to their respective sensing portions since they remove components that would interfere with or obscure the measurements.
Ng teaches the use of a dissolvable plug made from a dissolvable, degradable, or disintegradable material that dissolves, degrades, or disintegrates during use (paragraph 0019 of Ng). The plug protects the interior of the microneedle from bearing the full force of the impact of the microneedle on the biological surface (paragraph 0047 of Ng). The plug at least partially dissolves in a biological environment to form an opening in the top of the hollow interior, thereby exposing the interior of the hollow microneedle to the biological environment (paragraph 0047 of Ng). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dissolvable plugs of Ng at the entrance of the lumens of the microneedles so as to protect the interior of the microneedle before and during insertion into the patient.
Kam teaches:
an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the layer that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the layer that forms the microneedle 310a; the layer that forms the microneedle 310b; the layer that forms the microneedle 310c; the layer that forms the microneedle 410a; the layer that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam);
cavities in the form of sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c of Kam;
one or more optical emitters (the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam); and
a plurality of optical detectors (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam; col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam.
However, Kam teaches the schematic construction of the device to the extent that the cavities, emitters, and detectors are arranged inside in the layer that forms the microneedles. Kam further teaches that the device can be formed from multiple components (col. 8, lines 35-50 of Kam), but no specifics as to how this construction is done in structural terms. Maiz-Aguinaga teaches that such structures are formed by a stacking of a series of layers, such as, a layer that forms the shaft and tip of the needle (the microneedles 106), a layer forming a base (the microneedle substrate 102), a layer (the element 210) with a space for forming the cavity 214, and a covering layer (the substrate 222) to which the detecting elements (the micro-sensors 208) are positioned on the bottom surface facing the cavity (FIGS. 3a-3b and paragraph 0029 of Maiz-Aguinaga). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the layout such that the optical transmission layer is formed from a microneedle substrate, the cavity forming substrate, and a covering substrate, as suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga, since it provides a concrete structure for easy formation of the layout of the combination.
With respect to claim 1, the combination teaches or suggests a chemical sensing device comprising:
an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the cavity-forming substrate and microneedle substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga along with the material that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the material that forms the microneedle 310a; the material that forms the microneedle 310b; the material that forms the microneedle 310c; the material that forms the microneedle 410a; the material that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam), wherein each of the plurality of microneedles comprises a hollow internal portion (the lumens of the microneedles 210, 270, 310a, 310b, 310c, 410a, 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam);
a plurality of sensor elements (the nanosensors 230, 330a, 330b, 330c, 430, 530a, 530b, 530c of Kim; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam) in fluid communication with the microneedles, wherein each of the plurality of sensor elements is disposed within the optical transmission layer;
one or more optical emitters (the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam), wherein the one or more optical emitters are configured to emit light into the plurality of sensor elements; and
a plurality of optical detectors (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam; col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam), wherein the plurality of optical detectors is configured to receive light from the plurality of sensor elements (the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57, col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam);
a top barrier layer (the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga) disposed over each of the plurality of sensor elements;
a plurality of membrane barriers (the analyte window in the lumens of the microneedles) positioned proximal to each of the plurality of sensor elements, wherein each of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed within the hollow internal portion of each of the plurality of microneedles (the analyte window in the lumens of the microneedles between the dissolvable plugs of Ng and the nanosensors of Kam); and
a plurality of filter plugs (the dissolvable plugs of Ng), positioned proximal to each of the plurality of membrane barriers, wherein each of the plurality of filter plugs is disposed within the hollow internal portion of each of the plurality of microneedles (the dissolvable plugs of Ng at the entrance of the lumens).
With respect to claim 2, the combination teaches or suggests the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of sensing wells (the sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c of Kam; col. 5, lines 20-57, col. 19, lines 40-65, col. 20, lines 34-62, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 60, col. 27, line 1-40 of Kam).
With respect to claim 3, the combination teaches or suggests that each of the plurality of sensing wells is in fluid communication with at least one of the plurality of microneedles (see the fluid communication of the sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c with their respective microneedles 210, 270, 310a, 310b, 310c, 410a, 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; col. 5, lines 20-57, col. 19, lines 40-65, col. 20, lines 34-62, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 60, col. 27, line 1-40 of Kam).
With respect to claim 4, the combination teaches or suggests that each of the plurality of sensing wells and each of the plurality of microneedles are configured such that fluids and/or analytes entering each of the plurality of microneedles migrate to each of the plurality of sensing wells (see the fluid communication of the sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c with their respective microneedles 210, 270, 310a, 310b, 310c, 410a, 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; col. 5, lines 20-57, col. 19, lines 40-65, col. 20, lines 34-62, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 60, col. 27, line 1-40 of Kam).
With respect to claim 6, the combination teaches or suggests that the top barrier layer is configured to seal a top of each of the sensing wells (the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga).
With respect to claim 8, the combination teaches or suggests that one or more of the plurality of optical detectors are disposed over a top surface of the optical transmission layer (the placement of the light sensor 450 relative to the layer that forms the microneedle 410a of Kam; the plurality of detectors being taught in col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam).
With respect to claim 11, the combination teaches or suggests that the microneedles are formed of a material including one or more of a polymer, a glass, and a ceramic (col. 4, lines 10-35, col. 11, lines 10-50, col. 23, lines 40-55 of Kam).
With respect to claim 12, the combination teaches or suggests each of the plurality of microneedles further comprising a tip and an aperture in the tip, wherein the aperture leads to the hollow internal portion (see the tip, aperture, and lumens of the microneedles 210, 270, 310a, 310b, 310c, 410a, 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam).
With respect to claim 16, Kam teaches the nanosensors 230, 330a, 330b, 330c, 430, 530a, 530b, 530c (the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam). Kam teaches that such nanosensors could include nanoparticles that have one or more chemicals, proteins, or other elements incorporated within and/or adsorbed onto the surface of the nanoparticles. Such nanosensors could include analyte-selective agents (e.g., ionophores, receptors, proteins, ion channels) configured to selectively interact with a particular analyte in interstitial (or other) fluid. Such nanosensors could additionally include fluorophores, chromophores, or other components having an optical property that is changed, directly or indirectly, by interaction of the nanosensor with the analyte. In some examples, interaction with the analyte (e.g., binding with the analyte) could cause a quenching of a fluorophore, changing of a color of a chromophore moiety, or some other optical effect due to modification of the fluorophore or chromophore, positioning of a quencher or other element(s) proximate to the fluorophore or chromophore (e.g., in a manner similar to Forster resonance energy transfer (FRET) imaging). Additionally or alternatively, interaction with the analyte could cause a change in local properties (e.g., pH, osmolality, charge, voltage, hydrophobicity) of the environment of the fluorophore or chromophore. For example, the analyte could be selectively altered by and/or selectively cause the production of a chemical product (e.g., hydrogen peroxide) by a protein of the nanosensor, and the fluorophore or chromophore could have a property (e.g., a fluorescent property, a fluorescence amplitude, a color) that is dependent upon the presence and/or concentration of the altered analyte and/or chemical product. In another example, the analyte could be an ion, and the nanosensor could include an ionophore. The nanosensor could further include a linking agent that changes a local pH in response to the ionophore selectively interacting with the analyte. The nanosensor could further include a pH-sensitive fluorophore having a fluorescent property that is dependent upon the local pH. A fluorescent or other optical property of a fluorophore of a nanosensor could be detected (e.g., by a detector of the payload 130a and/or by a detector in a reader device) by emitting light at an excitation wavelength of the fluorophore (e.g., using an LED, a laser, or some other light source and/or light filters or other optical elements) and receiving responsively emitted light from the fluorophore at an emission wavelength of the fluorophore (e.g., using a phototransistor, photodiode, photoresistor, camera, CCD, active pixel sensor, or other light-sensitive element(s) and/or light filters or other optical elements). Other methods of detecting a fluorescent or other optical property of a nanosensor are anticipated (col. 12, line 60 to col. 13, line 44 of Kam).
Kane teaches that such nanosensors can be chromoionophores (paragraphs 0099-0105 of Kane). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use chromoionophores in the nanosensors of Kam since Kam teaches other materials may be used may be used and Kane teaches such materials and/or it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
With respect to claim 16, the combination teaches or suggests the sensor elements including a chromoionophore (the chromoionophores of Kane).
With respect to claim 17, the combination teaches or suggests the sensor elements configured to sense at least one of electrolytes, hormones, proteins, sugars, metabolites (the sensing of electrolytes, metabolites, and proteins of Kam; col. 6, lines 1-15, col. 20, line 6 to col. 21, line 30 of Kam).
With respect to claim 18, the combination teaches or suggests the sensor elements configured to sense potassium (the potassium sensing of Kam; col. 6, lines 1-15, col. 20, line 6 to col. 21, line 30 of Kam).
With respect to claim 19, the combination teaches or suggests that the chemical sensing device is a wearable device (the device is wearable; col. 4, lines 10-35, col. 6, lines 15-55, col. 8, lines 13-35 of Kam).
With respect to claim 20, the combination teaches or suggests an adhesive patch, wherein the adhesive patch is configured to hold the chemical sensing device onto skin of a patient (the adhesive substrate of a skin-mountable patch of Kam; col. 4, lines 10-35, col. 8, lines 13-35 of Kam).
With respect to claim 21, the combination teaches or suggests a chemical sensing device comprising:
an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the cavity-forming substrate and microneedle substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga along with the material that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the material that forms the microneedle 310a; the material that forms the microneedle 310b; the material that forms the microneedle 310c; the material that forms the microneedle 410a; or the material that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam), wherein each of the plurality of microneedles comprises a hollow internal portion (the lumens of the microneedles 210, 270, 310a, 310b, 310c, 410a, 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam);
a plurality of sensor elements (the nanosensors 230, 330a, 330b, 330c, 430, 530a, 530b, 530c of Kim; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam) in fluid communication with the microneedles, wherein each of the plurality of sensor elements is disposed within the optical transmission layer;
one or more optical emitters (the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam), wherein the one or more optical emitters are configured to emit light into the plurality of sensor elements;
a plurality of optical detectors (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam; col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam), wherein the plurality of optical detectors is configured to receive light from the plurality of sensor elements (the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57, col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam);
a top barrier layer (the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga) disposed over each of the plurality of sensor elements;
a plurality of membrane barriers (Kam teaches that the device may include a coating of the channel so as to control fluid flow though the channel (col. 14, lines 50-67 of Kam). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a coating layer on the inside of the lumens in the microchannel of Kam so as to control the fluid flow though the channel. Thus, the flow-control coating of Kam is considered to be the membrane barriers), wherein each of the plurality of membrane barriers is disposed proximal to each of the plurality of sensor elements within the hollow internal portion of each of the plurality of microneedles;
a plurality of filter plugs (the analyte windows in the lumens of the microneedles; with respect to the analyte windows being proximal to the flow-control coating of Kam such a placement is (1) a mere rearrangement of parts and/or (2) subject to routine optimization since it is based on factors of desirable sampling yield and/or cost), wherein each of the plurality of filter plugs is disposed proximal to each of the plurality of membrane barriers within the hollow internal portion of each of the plurality of microneedles;
a plurality of delay layers (the dissolvable plugs of Ng at the entrance of the lumens of the microneedles), wherein each of the plurality of delay layers is disposed proximal to each of the plurality of filter plugs at a second end within the hollow internal portion of each of the plurality of microneedles;
wherein at least some of the plurality of optical detectors are disposed over, and in contact with, the top barrier layer (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam are disposed over and in contact with a bottom surface of the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam, in view of Kane, and further in view of Ng, and further in view of Maiz-Aguinaga, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0029328 (Shimizu)(previously cited).
Kam teaches that the device can be partially composed of transparent materials, which suggests being partially composed of non-transparent materials (col. 25, lines 50-65 of Kam). Shimizu teaches that an opaque layer above the optical elements so as to keep out external light (paragraphs 0131, 0155, 0200, and 0205 of Shimizu). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga be opaque since it keeps out external light. Thus, the combination teaches or suggests that the top barrier layer is configured as an optical shroud to prevent light from entering from a top side of each of the sensing wells (the opaqueness of the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam, in view of Kane, and further in view of Ng, and further in view of Maiz-Aguinaga, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,825,872 (Tan)(previously cited).
Kam teaches that the device can be partially composed of transparent materials, which suggests being partially composed of non-transparent materials (col. 25, lines 50-65 of Kam). Tan teaches that an opaque layer above the optical elements to prevent ambient light from degrading the readings of the detectors (col. 3, line 60 to col. 4, line 10 of Tan). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga be opaque since it prevents ambient light from degrading the readings of the detectors. Thus, the combination teaches or the top barrier layer is configured as an optical shroud to prevent light from entering from a top side of each of the sensing wells (the opaqueness of the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam, in view of Kane, and further in view of Ng, and further in view of Maiz-Aguinaga, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0409100 (Sipple)(previously cited).
Kam teaches an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the cavity-forming substrate and microneedle substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga along with the material that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the material that forms the microneedle 310a; the material that forms the microneedle 310b; the material that forms the microneedle 310c; the material that forms the microneedle 410a; the material that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam). Kam also teaches the nanosensors 230, 330a, 330b, 330c, 430, 530a, 530b, 530c disposed within their respective sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c of Kam; the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam; and the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam.
Sipple teaches that arranging a material to have total internal reflection focuses the light to the intended target (paragraph 0053 of Sipple).2 It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the layer that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the layer that forms the microneedle 310a; the layer that forms the microneedle 310b; the layer that forms the microneedle 310c; the layer that forms the microneedle 410a; and/or the layer that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam so as to have total internal reflection so as to improve the light impinging on the nanosensors.
With respect to claim 10, the combination teaches or suggests that at least portions of the optical transmission layer exhibit total internal reflection (the total internal reflection capability of the layer that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the layer that forms the microneedle 310a; the layer that forms the microneedle 310b; the layer that forms the microneedle 310c; the layer that forms the microneedle 410a; and/or the layer that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam, in view of Maiz-Aguinaga, and further in view of Sipple.
Kam teaches an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the layer that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the layer that forms the microneedle 310a; the layer that forms the microneedle 310b; the layer that forms the microneedle 310c; the layer that forms the microneedle 410a; the layer that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam). Kam also teaches the nanosensors 230, 330a, 330b, 330c, 430, 530a, 530b, 530c disposed within their respective sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c of Kam; the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam; and the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam.
Kam teaches:
an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the layer that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the layer that forms the microneedle 310a; the layer that forms the microneedle 310b; the layer that forms the microneedle 310c; the layer that forms the microneedle 410a; the layer that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam);
cavities in the form of sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c of Kam;
one or more optical emitters (the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam); and
a plurality of optical detectors (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam; col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam.
However, Kam teaches the schematic construction of the device to the extent that the cavities, emitters, and detectors are arranged inside in the layer that forms the microneedles. Kam further teaches that the device can be formed from multiple components (col. 8, lines 35-50 of Kam), but no specifics as to how this construction is done in structural terms. Maiz-Aguinaga teaches that such structures are formed by a stacking of a series of layers, such as, a layer that forms the shaft and tip of the needle (the microneedles 106), a layer forming a base (the microneedle substrate 102), a layer (the element 210) with a space for forming the cavity 214, and a covering layer (the substrate 222) to which the detecting elements (the micro-sensors 208) are positioned on the bottom surface facing the cavity (FIGS. 3a-3b and paragraph 0029 of Maiz-Aguinaga). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the layout such that the optical transmission layer is formed from a microneedle substrate, the cavity forming substrate, and a covering substrate, as suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga, since it provides a concrete structure for easy formation of the layout.
Sipple teaches that arranging a material to have total internal reflection focuses the light to the intended target (paragraph 0053 of Sipple).3 It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the cavity-forming substrate and microneedle substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga along with the material forming the microneedles 210 and 270; the material that forms the microneedle 310a; the material that forms the microneedle 310b; the material that forms the microneedle 310c; the material that forms the microneedle 410a; or the material that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam so as to have total internal reflection so as to improve the light impinging on the nanosensors.
With respect to claim 22, the combination teaches or suggests a chemical sensing device comprising:
an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the cavity-forming substrate and microneedle substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga along with the material forming the microneedles 210 and 270; the material that forms the microneedle 310a; the material that forms the microneedle 310b; the material that forms the microneedle 310c; the material that forms the microneedle 410a; or the material that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam), wherein each of the plurality of microneedles comprises a hollow internal portion (the lumens of the microneedles 210, 270, 310a, 310b, 310c, 410a, 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam);
a plurality of sensor elements (the nanosensors 230, 330a, 330b, 330c, 430, 530a, 530b, 530c of Kim; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam) in fluid communication with the microneedles;
one or more optical emitters (the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam), wherein the one or more optical emitters are configured to emit light into the plurality of sensor elements; and
a plurality of optical detectors (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam; col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam), wherein the plurality of optical detectors is configured to receive light from the plurality of sensor elements (the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57, col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam); and
a top barrier layer (the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga) disposed over each of the plurality of sensor elements;
wherein at least portions of the optical transmission layer exhibit total internal reflection (the total internal reflection capability of the cavity-forming substrate and microneedle substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga along with the material forming the microneedles 210 and 270; the material that forms the microneedle 310a; the material that forms the microneedle 310b; the material that forms the microneedle 310c; the material that forms the microneedle 410a; or the material that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam); and
wherein at least some of the plurality of optical detectors are disposed over, and in contact with, the top barrier layer (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam are disposed over and in contact with a bottom surface of the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kam, in view of Kane, and further in view of Ng, and further in view of Maiz-Aguinaga, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0221408 (Hoarau).
The combination teaches or suggests an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the cavity-forming substrate and microneedle substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga along with the material that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the material that forms the microneedle 310a; the material that forms the microneedle 310b; the material that forms the microneedle 310c; the material that forms the microneedle 410a; the material that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam); a plurality of sensor elements (the nanosensors 230, 330a, 330b, 330c, 430, 530a, 530b, 530c of Kim; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam) in fluid communication with the microneedles, wherein each of the plurality of sensor elements is disposed within the optical transmission layer; one or more optical emitters (the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam), wherein the one or more optical emitters are configured to emit light into the plurality of sensor elements; and a plurality of optical detectors (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam; col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam), wherein the plurality of optical detectors is configured to receive light from the plurality of sensor elements (the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57, col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam).
Kam teaches that the light sources may be LED, a laser, or some other light source and that the optical detectors may be a phototransistor, photodiode, photoresistor, camera, CCD, active pixel sensor, or other light-sensitive elements (col. 13, lines 15-45 of Kam). Hoarau teaches that optical fibers may be disposed within the microneedle device so as to connect light emitters and detectors to the microneedle device (paragraphs 0062 and 0066 of Hoarau; FIG. 7 of Hoarau). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include external emitters and detectors and optical fibers disposed within the optical transmission layer since (1) Kam teaches other forms of light sources and detectors may be used and Hoarau teaches such forms, (2) it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, and/or (3) it permits for easier replacement of the emitters and detectors. Thus, the combination teaches or suggests one or more light pipes disposed within the optical transmission layer (the optical fibers disposed within the microneedle device as suggested by Hoarau; the optical fibers are considered to be light pipes as in accordance with the accompanying Merriam-Webster.com dictionary definition).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered.
Claim objections
There are new grounds of claim objections.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
In view of the claim amendments filed on 12/3/2025, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, are withdrawn.
However, there are new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Prior art rejections
There are new grounds of prior art rejections that render the Applicant’s arguments moot.
The Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. Kam teaches: an optical transmission layer, the optical transmission layer defining a plurality of microneedles (the layer that forms the microneedles 210 and 270; the layer that forms the microneedle 310a; the layer that forms the microneedle 310b; the layer that forms the microneedle 310c; the layer that forms the microneedle 410a; the layer that forms the microneedles 510a, 510b, 510c of Kam; the abstract, col. 1, line 50 to col. 2, line 50, col. 3, line 59 to col. 5, line 57 of Kam); cavities in the form of sensing portions 235, 335a, 334b, 435, 535a, 535b, 535c of Kam; one or more optical emitters (the light source 240, 340a, 340b, 340c, 440, 540a, 540b, 540c of Kam); and a plurality of optical detectors (the light sensors 250, 350a, 350b, 350c, 450, 550a, 550b, 550c of Kam; col. 20, lines 34-61, col. 25, line 65 to col. 26, line 15, col. 29, lines 10-30 of Kam.
Kam teaches the schematic construction of the device to the extent that the cavities, emitters, and detectors are provided in the layer that forms the microneedles. Kam further teaches that the device can be formed from multiple components (col. 8, lines 35-50 of Kam), but no specifics as to how this construction is done in structural terms. Maiz-Aguinaga is merely relied upon to show that construction of such devices having microneedles, cavities, and embedded components are performed by stacking a series of layers (FIGS. 3a-3b and paragraph 0029 of Maiz-Aguinaga). The sensing operation of Maiz-Aguinaga is not being relied upon, but rather the method of construction necessary to build the device having microneedles, cavities, and embedded components. As a result, there is no incompatibility regarding the sensing functions per se of Kam and Maiz-Aguinaga since their functions are not being incorporated into each other. Also, it is because both Kam and Maiz-Aguinaga disclose devices having microneedles, cavities, and embedded components that makes the construction method of Maiz-Aguinaga compatible and applicable to the structure of Kam.
The Applicant also asserts:
This argument is not persuasive since it is not commensurate with the rejection. The device of Maiz-Aguinaga is not being redesigned. Rather, Kam teaches the overall layout of the device to the extent that the cavities, emitters, and detectors are provided in the layer that forms the microneedles. Maiz-Aguinaga is merely relied upon to show that the construction of such devices having microneedles, cavities, and embedded components are performed using the application of layers (FIGS. 3a-3b and paragraph 0029 of Maiz-Aguinaga).
In view of the above, there is motivation to apply the layered stacking method of Maiz-Aguinaga to the device. The assertion that Kane and Ng do not cure the deficiencies of Kam and Maiz-Aguinaga is not persuasive since Kam and Maiz-Aguinaga do not have the deficiencies alleged by the Applicant.
The rejection of claims 2-4, 6, 8, 11-12, and 16-20 are proper because the rejection of claim 1 is proper and the combination of Kam, Kane, Ng, and Maiz-Aguinaga teaches or suggests all the features of these claims, as outlined above. The Applicant provides no further explanation as to why these claims are patentable other than a vague and ill-defined assertion.
The rejection of claim 7 is proper because the rejection of claim 1 is proper and the combination of Kam, Kane, Ng, Maiz-Aguinaga, and Shimizu teaches or suggests all the features of claim 7, as outlined above. The Applicant provides no further explanation as to why claim 7 is patentable other than a vague and ill-defined assertion.
The rejection of claim 7 is proper because the rejection of claim 1 is proper and the combination of Kam, Kane, Ng, Maiz-Aguinaga, and Tan teaches or suggests all the features of claim 7, as outlined above. The Applicant provides no further explanation as to why claim 7 is patentable other than a vague and ill-defined assertion.
The rejection of claim 10 is proper because the rejection of claim 1 is proper and the combination of Kam, Kane, Ng, Maiz-Aguinaga, and Sipple teaches or suggests all the features of claim 10, as outlined above. The Applicant provides no further explanation as to why claim 10 is patentable other than a vague and ill-defined assertion.
The rejection of claim 21 is proper for the same reasons why the rejection of claim 1 is proper.
The Applicant asserts:
This argument is not persuasive. Kam teaches the layout of the device to the extent that the cavities, emitters, and detectors are provided in the layer that forms the microneedles. Kam further teaches that the device can be formed from multiple components (col. 8, lines 35-50 of Kam), but no specifics as to how this construction is done in structural terms. Maiz-Aguinaga is merely relied upon to show that the construction of such devices having microneedles, cavities, and embedded components are performed by stacking a series of layers (FIGS. 3a-3b and paragraph 0029 of Maiz-Aguinaga). The top barrier layer is the covering substrate suggested by Maiz-Aguinaga as a result of the stacked layered construction of Maiz-Aguinaga. The assertion that Kane and Ng do not cure the deficiencies of Kam and Maiz-Aguinaga is not persuasive since Kam and Maiz-Aguinaga do not have the deficiencies alleged by the Applicant.
The rejection of claim 22 is proper for the same reasons that the rejections of claims 1 and 21 are proper.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW KREMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791
1 The features of claims 23 and 24 do not read on the features of FIG. 10 to which the elected claims initially read. The features of claim 23 read on the chemical sensing device 102 as depicted in FIGS. 3-4 while the features of claim 24 read on the chemical sensing device 102 as depicted in FIGS. 5-6.
2 Paragraph 0020 of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0157341 (Reynolds)(previously cited) and paragraph 0046 of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0191119 (Zanzucchi)(previously cited) teach this as well.
3 Paragraph 0020 of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0157341 (Reynolds) and paragraph 0046 of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0191119 (Zanzucchi) teach this as well.