DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on August 9, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2023-130376 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 8, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2 recites, “a cap to be attached (Emphasis added).” The phrase “to be” implies a sequence of operations or steps, despite the claim being directed to an apparatus. It is recommended to change the recitation to read, “a cap configured to be attached.”
Claim 1, line 3 recites, “a supply portion which accumulates a humidifying medium therein, generates humidified air…, and supplies the humidified air.” For the same reason as above, it is recommended to change the recitation to read, “a supply portion which is configured to accumulate a humidifying medium therein, to generate humidified air…, and to supply the humidified air.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taira (US 2013/0010028 A1) in view of Hara et al. (US 6481826 B1), hereinafter Hara.
Regarding claim 1, Taira teaches a maintenance device, comprising: a cap to be attached to a nozzle surface of an inkjet head (fig. 5; support-cap unit 50; ¶[0044]); and a supply portion which accumulates a humidifying medium therein, generates humidified air by causing air to pass through the humidifying medium, and supplies the humidified air to the cap via an air supply pipe that is in communication with the cap (fig. 5; humidification unit 60, supply pump 63, tank 64, tube 67; ¶[0057]-[0059]), wherein inside the supply portion, the air supply pipe is provided along an up-down direction in a space higher than a fluid level of the humidifying medium (fig. 5; vertical section of tube 67; ¶[0057]-[0059]). However, Taira fails to teach or fairly suggest the air supply pipe is provided with a cut on at least an inner surface side of a pipe wall of the air supply pipe.
Hara teaches a cap for an inkjet nozzle surface comprising a return pipe provided along an up-down direction and provided with a cut on at least an inner surface side of a pipe wall (figs. 25-29; suction pipe 56, liquid retainer 58, ribs 58a; see col. 22, ln. 45 to col. 24, ln. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pipe of Hara into the maintenance device of Taira in order to provide an internal structure to the air pipe that maintains the humidity within the cap.
Regarding claim 2, Taira as modified by Hara teaches the maintenance device according to claim 1. Hara further teaches the cut is provided along the up-down direction (see depictions of suction pipe 56 in figs. 2, 25-29; see col. 22, ln. 45 to col. 24, ln. 9).
Regarding claim 3, Taira as modified by Hara teaches the maintenance device according to claim 2. Hara further teaches the cut penetrates a lower end surface of the pipe wall (see figs. 26-28; see col. 22, ln. 45 to col. 24, ln. 9).
Regarding claim 5, Taira teaches an inkjet recording apparatus, comprising: a plurality of the inkjet heads (fig. 2; ejection openings 14a, actuator units 17; ¶[0038]-[0042]); and Taira as modified by Hara teaches the maintenance device according to claim 1, detailed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the maintenance device of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, the cut penetrates from an inner surface to an outer surface of the pipe wall.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shimazaki (US 2009/0109257 A1) teaches a capping and humidifying unit supplied by a tube and maintained at a position above a supply reservoir. Matsui et al. (US 2016/0121613 A1) teaches a humidifying device for a capping unit. Sakurai (US 2007/0247486 A1) teaches an ink suction and capping device comprising a tube with a star shape.
/TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853