Claims 17-32, pending in this application, are examined.
Copending Applications
Applicants must bring to the attention of the Examiner, or other Office official involved with the examination of a particular application, information within their knowledge as to other copending United States applications, which are "material to patentability" of the application in question. MPEP 2001.06(b). See Dayco Products Inc. v. Total Containment Inc., 66 USPQ2d 1801 (CA FC 2003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 17-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a product of nature without significantly more. The claims recite a maize plant comprising a recombinant nucleic acid encoding SEQ ID NO: 1, which reads on a product of nature because SEQ ID NO: 1-3 are from Zea mays source. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because a maize plant comprising the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2-3 or a nucleic acid encoding the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO: 1 exists in nature, and because the claims do not recite the maize plant is transgenic. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because a “recombinant nucleic acid” is not defined in the specification and the nucleic acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 2-3 encoding SEQ ID NO: 1 are isolated from maize (according to the specification and sequence listings). Wilson, R, teaches a genomic maize segment from chromosome 8 of a maize genome containing SEQ ID NO: 2 or 3 (Accession no. AC200186, Sept 13, 2014). The claims drawn to a recombinant nucleic acid comprising SEQ ID NO: 2 or 3 do not contain any heterologous element or show any additional ingredients that imparts markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterparts. The specification does not specifically define a “recombinant nucleic acid” as comprising heterologous components. Because of the fact that not all maize varieties/lines are sources of the SEQ ID NO: 1-3, the limitations “as compared to an otherwise isogenic maize plant lacking the recombinant nucleic acid” does not convey markedly different characteristics to the claimed product. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not recite any additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Specifically, the claims do not include any elements in addition to the natural product.
The US Supreme Court in Mayo Collaborative Svcs. V. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc.,No. 10-1150 (2012) had confirmed that laws of nature are unpatentable. The US Supreme court in Biliski v. Kappos, No. 08-964, 2010 WL 2555192 (June 28, 2010) confirmed that abstract ideas are not patentable . “[L]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas” are not patentable. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U. S. 185 (1981). The US Supreme court in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., -- U.S. – 133 S. Ct. 2107, 106 USPQ2d 1972 (June 13, 2013) confirmed that natural products are not patentable.
Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product's structure, function, and/or other properties and is evaluated based on what is recited in the claim. In accordance with this analysis, a product that is purified or isolated will be eligible when there is a resultant change in characteristics sufficient to show a marked difference from the products naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad clarified that not every change to a product will result in a marked difference, and that the mere recitation of particular words (e.g., “isolated” or “recombinant”) in the claims does not automatically confer eligibility. /d. at2119. See also Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294 (eligibility does not “depend simply on the draftsman’s art”). The instant claims do not show any additional ingredients for the composition that imparts markedly different characteristic from any naturally occurring counterparts. Therefore, the claims are drawn to a judicial exception and are considered patent ineligible.
This rejection can be obviated by amending the claims to recite that the recombinant nucleic acid comprises a transgene or comprises a nucleic acid sequence operably linked to a heterologous regulatory element or promoter. New matter should be avoided.
Search Results from instant SEQ ID NO: 3
RESULT 1
AC200186/c
LOCUS AC200186 154814 bp DNA linear HTG 13-SEP-2014
DEFINITION Zea mays cultivar B73 chromosome 8 clone CH201-451A22, ***
SEQUENCING IN PROGRESS ***, 12 unordered pieces.
ACCESSION AC200186
VERSION AC200186.6
KEYWORDS HTG; HTGS_PHASE1; HTGS_IMPROVED; HTGS_LIMITED_ORDER.
SOURCE Zea mays
ORGANISM Zea mays
Eukaryota; Viridiplantae; Streptophyta; Embryophyta; Tracheophyta;
Spermatophyta; Magnoliopsida; Liliopsida; Poales; Poaceae; PACMAD
clade; Panicoideae; Andropogonodae; Andropogoneae; Tripsacinae;
Zea.
REFERENCE 1 (bases 1 to 154814)
CONSRTM Maize Genome Consortium
TITLE Maize genome
JOURNAL Unpublished
REFERENCE 2 (bases 1 to 154814)
AUTHORS Wilson,R.K.
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (24-MAR-2007) Genome Sequencing Center, Washington
University School of Medicine, 4444 Forest Park Parkway, St. Louis,
MO 63108, USA
REFERENCE 3 (bases 1 to 154814)
CONSRTM Maize Genome Consortium
TITLE Direct Submission
JOURNAL Submitted (13-SEP-2014) NCBI, NIH, Center Drive, Bethesda, MD
20857, USA
COMMENT On Sep 13, 2014 this sequence version replaced AC200186.5.
Modified to align to the Zea mays B73 RefGen_v3 assembly. Component
overlaps were used to guide the order and orientation of the
segments that were not used in the AGP. All overlapping sequence
has been retained. All gaps are of unknown length.
* NOTE: This is a 'working draft' sequence. It currently
* consists of 12 contigs. The true order of the pieces
* is not known and their order in this sequence record is
* arbitrary. Gaps between the contigs are represented as
* runs of N, but the exact sizes of the gaps are unknown.
* This record will be updated with the finished sequence
* as soon as it is available and the accession number will
* be preserved.
* 1 14251: contig of 14251 bp in length
* 14252 14351: gap of unknown length
* 14352 15189: contig of 838 bp in length
* 15190 15289: gap of unknown length
* 15290 22466: contig of 7177 bp in length
* 22467 22566: gap of unknown length
* 22567 30378: contig of 7812 bp in length
* 30379 30478: gap of unknown length
* 30479 68004: contig of 37526 bp in length
* 68005 68104: gap of unknown length
* 68105 79644: contig of 11540 bp in length
* 79645 79744: gap of unknown length
* 79745 84770: contig of 5026 bp in length
* 84771 84870: gap of unknown length
* 84871 90092: contig of 5222 bp in length
* 90093 90192: gap of unknown length
* 90193 91437: contig of 1245 bp in length
* 91438 91537: gap of unknown length
* 91538 92732: contig of 1195 bp in length
* 92733 92832: gap of unknown length
* 92833 115825: contig of 22993 bp in length
* 115826 115925: gap of unknown length
* 115926 154814: contig of 38889 bp in length.
FEATURES Location/Qualifiers
source 1..154814
/organism="Zea mays"
/mol_type="genomic DNA"
/cultivar="B73"
/db_xref="taxon:4577"
/chromosome="8"
/clone="CH201-451A22"
gap 14252..14351
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 15190..15289
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 22467..22566
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 30379..30478
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 68005..68104
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 79645..79744
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 84771..84870
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 90093..90192
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 91438..91537
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 92733..92832
/estimated_length=unknown
gap 115826..115925
/estimated_length=unknown
Query Match 97.5%; Score 2158.6; DB 232; Length 154814;
Best Local Similarity 98.5%;
Matches 2179; Conservative 0; Mismatches 34; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ATGGCGACGATGTCTGCAGCGTCTCATCGCTGCTGTGCTTCTTCCTTGAGAGCTTTAACG 60
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 46386 ATGGCGACGATGTCTGCAGCGTCTCATCGCTGCTGTGCTTCTTCCTTGAGAGCTTTAACC 46327
Qy 61 GTGTTATTTGTGTTGGCAGCTCTTGTTTCAGATGTTGGCGGGCGACATCATCATCATGTT 120
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 46326 GTGTTGTTTGTGTTGGCAGCTCTTGTTTCAGATGTAGGCGGCCGACATCATCATCATGTT 46267
Qy 121 TGTCCTCCTTATTTCTCCTGCGGTGGTTTTAGCAATATATCGTATCCATTCCGTCGGCAA 180
|||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 46266 TGTCGTCCTTATTTCTCCTGCGGTGGTTTTAGCAATATATCGTATCCATTCCGTCGGCAA 46207
Qy 181 GGTGATCCATCGGGGTGCGGTGTCCAATCGTATGAGCTGGTTTGCACGGATACAGACGCT 240
||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 46206 GGTGATCCATCTGGGTGTGGTGTCCAATCGTATGAGCTGGTTTGCACGGATACAGACGCC 46147
Qy 241 ACCATTCGCATCGGCAGTGGAACGTATACCGTGCTTAGCATCAACTCCACCTATTCTTAC 300
|| |||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 46146 ACAATTCGCATCGGCAGTGGAACATACACCGTGCTTAGCATCAACTCCACGTATTCTTAC 46087
Qy 301 TTCTGGGTCGTTGATGCCGACCTGGACATCCAGAGCAGTTGCCCCCTTCCCTGGTGGGAT 360
|||||||| || |||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 46086 TTCTGGGTTGTCGATGCCAACCTGGACATCCAGAGCAGTTGCCCCCTTCCCTGGTGGGAT 46027
Qy 361 CACCATGGTGAGACCAGTACTGCCAACTCATATCGTAGGAGGACTGAGTTCAGGCCTTAT 420
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 46026 TACCATGGTGAGACCAGTACTGCCAACTCATATCGTAGGAGGACTGAGTTCAGGCCTTAT 45967
Qy 421 TTCCTTTATCCGAATTCGATGTCGATTATCTTTGTGAATTGCTCGAAGCCAATAGAGAAC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45966 TTCCTTTATCCGAATTCGATGTCGATTATCTTTGTGAATTGCTCGAAGCCAATAGAGAAC 45907
Qy 481 AATGATATATATGAGCCGGTGCCTTGCTTGAGCAATTCTTCTTTCATCTACTTGCTAACT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45906 AATGATATATATGAGCCGGTGCCTTGCTTGAGCAATTCTTCTTTCATCTACTTGCTAACT 45847
Qy 541 CACTACTCGTATGGCTATGCTCTTGCTGAGATTCTGGAGCCCTCATGCGGTTACCTAGCC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45846 CACTACTCGTATGGCTATGCTCTTGCTGAGATTCTGGAGCCCTCATGCGGTTACCTAGCC 45787
Qy 601 ATGATTTATTTGGGTGGTCCAGGCATACCGGTGCCCAAGAATACAAGCTATCCAGATGTT 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45786 ATGATTTATTTGGGTGGTCCAGGCATACCGGTGCCCAAGAATACAAGCTATCCAGATGTT 45727
Qy 661 GTTAAGTTAATGAGGAATGGATTTGGCCTTAGATTTCCTTCTTCGATTGGTGACCGCGGC 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45726 GTTAAGTTAATGAGGAATGGATTTGGCCTTAGATTTCCTTCTTCGATTGGTGACCGCGGC 45667
Qy 721 ATCAGAGAATGTTTCGCAGAGTCTGTGCGGTATCTGATCATCCTATCCTATTTTCCTCCT 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45666 ATCAGAGAATGTTTCGCAGAGTCTGTGCGGTATCTGATCATCCTATCCTATTTTCCTCCT 45607
Qy 781 ATGCATGACTTTGTCATCTGAAAACCGTCCGTTGCATTCCCTTCGTAATTCTTTTATATG 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45606 ATGCATGACTTTGTCATCTGAAAACCGTCCGTTGCATTCCCTTCGTAATTCTTTTATATG 45547
Qy 841 CTATGGCATGGTCTTGCAGTAATTTCCTTAAAGAGCCAAGAAAGTATCAGATTGTGGACA 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45546 CTATGGCATGGTCTTGCAGTAATTTCCTTAAAGAGCCAAGAAAGTATCAGATTGTGGACA 45487
Qy 901 TTCTAATGGTCGAGGAATTATGGTCTTGTTTTCTCGATCAACATGGATCAACTAATAATG 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45486 TTCTAATGGTCGAGGAATTATGGTCTTGTTTTCTCGATCAACATGGATCAACTAATAATG 45427
Qy 961 TTGTCACTTCTGTTATCATCGACATTATCAAAACAATACCAATATGTATGTGGCTTCTGA 1020
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45426 TTGTCACTTCTGTTATCATCGACATTATCAAAACAATACCAATATGTATGTGGCTTCTGA 45367
Qy 1021 AATCTACACATGGTACTCTCTCCGGCTATCATCATTTGTTGAATAAACATCGTATGTTTT 1080
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45366 AATCTACACATGGTACTCTCTCCGGCTATCATCATTTGTTGAATAAACATCGTATGTTTT 45307
Qy 1081 GTGGCTTCTGTTTTTTTTTAATTCTTCATGTTTACAACCTTGGATTTTTTTCGGCAGTTT 1140
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45306 GTGGCTTCTGTTTTTTTTTAATTCTTCATGTTTACAACCTTGGATTTTTTTCGGCAGTTT 45247
Qy 1141 TTTGCAGGCTTGTATTGATGCCGCTAGCAGTATTTGTCTTCCTAGCCCATAAATACTGGA 1200
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45246 TTTGCAGGCTTGTATTGATGCCGCTAGCAGTATTTGTCTTCCTAGCCCATAAATACTGGA 45187
Qy 1201 AAGCAAGGATTACAATAGATGCAGTCGAGAAGTTCCTGCGGATGCAGCAGATGCTCGTTC 1260
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45186 AAGCAAGGATTACAATAGATGCAGTCGAGAAGTTCCTGCGGATGCAGCAGATGCTCGTTC 45127
Qy 1261 CGATGAGATATGCATACACAAACATCATTGCTATCACCGGTCATTTTAGAGAAAAGCTCG 1320
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||
Db 45126 CGATGAGATATGCATACACAAACATCATTGCTATCACCGGTCATTTCAGAGAAAAGCTCG 45067
Qy 1321 GACAAGGAGGCTACGGTTCTGTATACAAGGGGGTGCTACAGCCAGGTGAAGTACATGTTG 1380
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 45066 GACAAGGAGGCTACGGTTCTGTATACAAGGGGGTGCTACAGCCAGGTGAAGTACATGTTG 45007
Qy 1381 CTGTCAAGATGTTAGGCAACTCCAACTGTAATGGAGAAGAGTTCATCAGTGAGGTCGCCA 1440
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||
Db 45006 CTGTCAAGATGTTAGGCAACTCCAACTGTAATGGAGAAGAGTTCATCAGTGAGGTTGCCA 44947
Qy 1441 CCATTGGCAAGATCCACCATTTCAATGTTGTGCGCCTCATTGGGTTTTGCTCCGAGGAAA 1500
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 44946 CCATTGGCAAGATCCACCATTTCAATGTTGTGCGCCTCATTGGGTTTTGCTCCGAGGAAA 44887
Qy 1501 ATAGAAGGGCACTTATCTACGAGTTCATGCCCCATGGATCTCTCGATAAGTACATCTTCT 1560
|||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 44886 ATAGCAGGGCACTTATCTACGAGTTCATGCCCCATGGATCTCTCGATAAGTACATCTTCT 44827
Qy 1561 CGTCGGAGAAGAGTTTCTCATGGGACAAACTCAATGAGATCGCTCTGGGCATTGCTAGAG 1620
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 44826 CGTCGGAGAAGAGTTTCTCATGGGACAAACTCAATGAGATCGCTCTGGGCATTGCTAGAG 44767
Qy 1621 GTCTCAACTACCTACATCACGGGTGCGATATGCAAATTGTACACTTCGACATCAAGCCAC 1680
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 44766 GTCTCAACTACCTACATCACGGGTGCGATATGCAAATTGTACACTTCGACATCAAGCCAC 44707
Qy 1681 ACAACATCCTTCTTGACAGCAACTTTGTTCCAAAAGTTGCTGATTTTGGGCTTGCCAAAC 1740
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 44706 ACAACATCCTTCTTGACAGCAACTTTGTTCCAAAAGTTGCTGATTTTGGGCTTGCCAAAC 44647
Qy 1741 TGTTCCCAAGAGACGACAGTTTCGTGCCACTGAGCGCTACGCGGGGAACGATAGGCTATA 1800
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||
Db 44646 TGTTCCCAAGAGACGACAGTTTCGTGCCACTGAGCGCTATGCGGGGAACGATAGGCTATA 44587
Qy 1801 TAGCTCCAGAGATGGTATCTCGAAGCTTTGGTGTCATCTCTAGCAAATCTGATGTGTATA 1860
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 44586 TAGCTCCAGAGATGGTATCTCGAAGCTTTGGTGTCATCTCTAGCAAATCTGATGTGTATA 44527
Qy 1861 GCTTTGGAATGCTACTGTTGGAGATGACGGGCGGGCGAAGGAACGCAGATCCTTATGCAG 1920
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||
Db 44526 GCTTTGGAATGCTACTGTTGGAGATGACGGGCGGGCGAAGGAACGCAGATCCTCATGCAG 44467
Qy 1921 GAAGCTCCAGTCAAGCATACTACCCATCCTTGGTGTACAGCCAGCTAAGCCAAGGAGATT 1980
||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||
Db 44466 GAAGCTCTAGTCAAGCATACTACCCATCCTTGGTGTACAACCAGCTAAGCCAAGGAGATG 44407
Qy 1981 TGGGCGAGATCAGTGACGGTGTTGATATGCACGAGTTAGAGAAGAAGCTATGTATCATTG 2040
|||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||| |||||||||||||
Db 44406 TGGGCGAGATCAGTGAAGGTGTTGATATGCACGAGTTAAAGAAGAAACTATGTATCATTG 44347
Qy 2041 GACTTTGGTGCATCCAGATGAAGCCGCAAGATCGACCGACGATGAGCGACGTCATAGAGA 2100
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||||||||
Db 44346 GACTTTGGTGCATCCAGATGAAGCCGCAAGATCGACCAACGATGAGCGAGGTCATAGAGA 44287
Qy 2101 TGCTTGAAGTTGGTGTCGATGGCATCCAAATGCCTCCAAGGCCATTCTTTTGTGATGACG 2160
||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||| |||||||||||||||||||
Db 44286 TGCTTGAAGCTGGTGTCGATGGCATCCAAATGCCTTCAAGACCATTCTTTTGTGATGACG 44227
Qy 2161 AGGGTGATAGTTCTTACTCTGCAATCTCTGAATCGGATACAATAGAAGAGTAG 2213
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||
Db 44226 AGGGTGATAGTTCTTACTCTGCAATCTCTGAACTGGATACAATAGAAGAGTAG 44174
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are broadly drawn to a maize plant comprising a recombinant nucleic acid encoding a protein comprising an amino acid sequence that differs from SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7, by substituting, and/or deleting and/or or adding one or a plurality of amino acid residues of SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7, or an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7; said nucleic acid comprises a DNA molecule having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2, 3, 6 or nucleotides 87 to 2084 in SEQ ID NO: 2, or that hybridizes thereto under a stringent condition. The claims are also drawn to a method of introducing said nucleic acid for increasing resistance to gray leaf disease, by providing a susceptible maize plant and introducing said nucleic acid into the susceptible, to obtain an altered maize plant enhancing the resistance of a plant to a disease caused by Cercospora zeina, by expressing said protein in said plant, or by increasing content/activity of the protein, or by introducing said nucleic acid into said plant; said method wherein the plant is from the genus Zea. These are genus claims.
In contrast, the specification describes the nucleic acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 2-3 and 6 encoding the protein sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1 and 7, and a method of enhancing resistance to gray leaf disease in maize plants by introducing said nucleic acid sequence into said plants.
The Federal Circuit has recently clarified the application of the written description requirement to inventions in the field of biotechnology. See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398; 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). In summary, the court stated that a written description of an invention requires a precise definition, one that defines the structural features of the chemical genus that distinguishes it from other chemical structures. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is. The court goes on to say, “A description of a genus of cDNAs may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of cDNAs, defined by nucleotide sequence, falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus.” See University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 119 F.3d 1559; 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
The specification does not describe a representative species of the genus of nucleic acid sequences encoding a protein comprising an amino acid sequence that differs from SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7 by substituting, and/or deleting and/or or adding one or a plurality of amino acid residues of SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7, or the genus of nucleic acid sequences that hybridize under any stringent conditions to SEQ ID NO: 2, 3 or 6, or that is at least 90% identity thereto, or to a nucleic acid encoding a protein having an amino acid sequence that is at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7, wherein the recombinant nucleic acid is located at a position other than the ZmWAKRLK. The specification states that SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7 is a WAK-RLK protein from maize. However, the rejected claims do not recite region/domain required for the gray leaf disease resistance. The specification also fails to describe which regions in SEQ ID NO: 1-3 and 6-7 can be altered so that sequences having the structural properties (90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1-3 or 7 or that hybridize under any stringent conditions) can be obtained; said sequences can be used in the claimed methods of increasing resistance to gray leaf disease in transgenic maize plants.
Nucleic acid sequences encoding a protein with 90% identity to the 665 amino acid long sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 or 7 would encode proteins with multiple amino acid substitutions relative to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7. Nucleic acid sequences with 90% to SEQ ID NO: 2 or 3 would have multiple of nucleotide substitutions in the genomic sequence with 7238 nucleotides in length of SEQ ID NO: 3 and in the sequence with 2238 nucleotides in length of SEQ ID NO: 2. A substantial variation in structures and function are expected among said sequences. The specification has not described a representative species of nucleic acid sequences of the genus claimed. A substantial variation in structures and in function are expected among the claimed nucleic acid sequences that hybridize under any stringent conditions to SEQ ID NO: 2-3 or 6. The specification only describes unmodified nucleic acid sequences of SEQ ID NO: 2-3 and 6 (encoding the unmodified protein sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1 and 7) and methods of transforming maize plants with said nucleic acid sequences for enhanced resistance to gray leaf diseases. Furthermore, the specification fails to describe structural features common to members of the claimed genus of nucleic acid sequences, said structural features define resistance function to gray leaf diseases. Therefore, the specification has not met either of the two elements of the written description requirement as set forth in the court's decision in Eli Lilly, and has not shown her/his possession of the claimed genus at the time of the application. Since the specification fails to adequately describe the nucleic acid sequences as broadly claimed, expression cassettes, recombinant vectors or microorganism comprising said nucleic acid sequences, and methods that employ with said nucleic acid sequences are similarly not described.
Therefore, the specification fails to sufficiently describe the claimed invention in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms that a skilled artisan would recognize that Applicant was in possession of the invention as broadly claimed at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 19-23, and 25-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation of “substituting and/or deleting and/or adding one or a plurality” in claims 17 and 23, part (a4), renders the claims indefinite as the metes and bound of the claims are unclear. Because of the multiple recitations of “and/or” what is required for protection is unclear. Depended claims 19-22 and 25-32 do not obviate the rejection.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 27, depending from claim 23, recites “wherein the method comprises allele exchange to replace a resistant ZmWAK-RLK allele in the starting plant with the nucleic acid sequence”. However, claim 23 recites the “starting maize plant having susceptibility” to the gray leaf spot. There is no resistant ZmWAK-RLK allele present in the starting maize plant in claim 23. Therefore, claim 27 fails to further limit parent claim 23. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailin et al (US 20150315605A).
The claims are drawn to a maize plant comprising a recombinant nucleic acid encoding a protein with a multiple of amino acid residues substitution and/or deleting, and/or adding relative to SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7; or having at least 90% identity to SEQ ID NO: 2, 3 or 6, or that hybridizes thereto under a stringent condition; and a method of increasing gray leaf spot resistance to a susceptible maize plant by introducing said nucleic acid to the maize plant as a transgene or a genomic fragment comprising the nucleic acid sequence, thereby modifying the starting maize to obtain an altered maize plant having increased resistance to the disease as compared to the starting maize plant.
Bailin et al teach a nucleic acid sequence from maize encoding a protein having at least 95% sequence identity to Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7 (see alignment of sequences shown below); expression cassette or recombinant vector comprising said nucleic acid sequence and a method of increasing the expression of said nucleic acid sequence or protein in transgenic plants including maize ([0167]) by introducing said nucleic acid sequence into the plants for a desired trait. See ([0005], [0011], [0114], [0165]). At paragraph [0194], Bailin et al state that the nucleic acid encodes a Wall-associated Kinase (WAK) protein. Bailin further teach the use of a genome editing construct to introduce the nucleic acid sequence into the plant genome (see at least claim 13) to alter the genome of the plant/plant cell. Bailin et al teach both the claimed nucleic acid sequence as transgene and as a genomic sequence. Given the high sequence similarity between the prior art protein (SEQ ID NO: 50443) and Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7, gray leaf disease resistance activity is an inherent property of the prior art protein, absent evidence to the contrary. Bailin et al teach all claim limitations, therefore anticipate the claimed invention.
SEARCH RESULTS FROM INSTANT SEQ ID NO: 1
RESULT 1
US-14-628-469-50443
; Sequence 50443, Application US/14628469
; Publication No. US20150315605A1
; GENERAL INFORMATION
; APPLICANT: EI DuPont de Nemours
; APPLICANT:Li, Bailin
; APPLICANT:Thatcher, Shawn
; TITLE OF INVENTION: NOVEL TRANSCRIPTS AND USES THEREOF FOR IMPROVEMENT OF AGRONOMIC
; TITLE OF INVENTION:CHARACTERISTICS IN CROP PLANTS
; FILE REFERENCE: BB2384USNP
; CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/14/628,469
; CURRENT FILING DATE: 2015-02-23
; PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/942,846
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2014-02-21
; NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 72254
; SOFTWARE: PatentIn version 3.5
; SEQ ID NO 50443
; LENGTH: 856
; TYPE: PRT
; ORGANISM: Zea Mays
US-14-628-469-50443
Query Match 95.9%; Score 3400; DB 14; Length 856;
Best Local Similarity 98.0%;
Matches 636; Conservative 8; Mismatches 5; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MATMSAASHRCCASSLRALTVLFVLAALVSDVGGRHHHHVCPPYFSCGGFSNISYPFRRQ 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MATMSAASHRCCASSLRALTVLFVLAALVSDVGGRHHHHVCRPYFSCGGFSNISYPFRRQ 60
Qy 61 GDPSGCGVQSYELVCTDTDATIRIGSGTYTVLSINSTYSYFWVVDADLDIQSSCPLPWWD 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||
Db 61 GDPSGCGVQSYELVCTDTDATIRIGSGTYTVLSINSTYSYFWVVDANLDIQSSCPLPWWD 120
Qy 121 HHGETSTANSYRRRTEFRPYFLYPNSMSIIFVNCSKPIENNDIYEPVPCLSNSSFIYLLT 180
:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 YHGETSTANSYRRRTEFRPYFLYPNSMSIIFVNCSKPIENNDIYEPVPCLSNSSFIYLLT 180
Qy 181 HYSYGYALAEILEPSCGYLAMIYLGGPGIPVPKNTSYPDVVKLMRNGFGLRFPSSIGDRG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 HYSYGYALAEILEPSCGYLAMIYLGGPGIPVPKNTSYPDVVKLMRNGFGLRFPSSIGDRG 240
Qy 241 IRECFAESVRNFLKEPRKYQIVDILMVEELWSCFLDQHGSTNNVVTSVIIDIIKTIPICM 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 IRECFAESVRNFLKEPRKYQIVDILMVEELWSCFLDQHGSTNNVVTSVIIDIIKTIPICM 300
Qy 301 WLLKSTHVFCRLVLMPLAVFVFLAHKYWKARITIDAVEKFLRMQQMLVPMRYAYTNIIAI 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 WLLKSTHVFCRLVLMPLAVFVFLAHKYWKARITIDAVEKFLRMQQMLVPMRYAYTNIIAI 360
Qy 361 TGHFREKLGQGGYGSVYKGVLQPGEVHVAVKMLGNSNCNGEEFISEVATIGKIHHFNVVR 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 TGHFREKLGQGGYGSVYKGVLQPGEVHVAVKMLGNSNCNGEEFISEVATIGKIHHFNVVR 420
Qy 421 LIGFCSEENRRALIYEFMPHGSLDKYIFSSEKSFSWDKLNEIALGIARGLNYLHHGCDMQ 480
||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 LIGFCSEENSRALIYEFMPHGSLDKYIFSSEKSFSWDKLNEIALGIARGLNYLHHGCDMQ 480
Qy 481 IVHFDIKPHNILLDSNFVPKVADFGLAKLFPRDDSFVPLSATRGTIGYIAPEMVSRSFGV 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 IVHFDIKPHNILLDSNFVPKVADFGLAKLFPRDDSFVPLSAMRGTIGYIAPEMVSRSFGV 540
Qy 541 ISSKSDVYSFGMLLLEMTGGRRNADPYAGSSSQAYYPSLVYSQLSQGDLGEISDGVDMHE 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||||||:||||||:||||:||||||
Db 541 ISSKSDVYSFGMLLLEMTGGRRNADPHAGSSSQAYYPSLVYNQLSQGDVGEISEGVDMHE 600
Qy 601 LEKKLCIIGLWCIQMKPQDRPTMSDVIEMLEVGVDGIQMPPRPFFCDDE 649
|:||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||| |||||||| ||||||||
Db 601 LKKKLCIIGLWCIQMKPQDRPTMSEVIEMLEAGVDGIQMPSRPFFCDDE 649
SEARCH RESULTS FROM INSTANT SEQ ID NO: 7
RESULT 1
US-14-628-469-50443
; Sequence 50443, Application US/14628469
; Publication No. US20150315605A1
; GENERAL INFORMATION
; APPLICANT: EI DuPont de Nemours
; APPLICANT:Li, Bailin
; APPLICANT:Thatcher, Shawn
; TITLE OF INVENTION: NOVEL TRANSCRIPTS AND USES THEREOF FOR IMPROVEMENT OF AGRONOMIC
; TITLE OF INVENTION:CHARACTERISTICS IN CROP PLANTS
; FILE REFERENCE: BB2384USNP
; CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/14/628,469
; CURRENT FILING DATE: 2015-02-23
; PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/942,846
; PRIOR FILING DATE: 2014-02-21
; NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 72254
; SOFTWARE: PatentIn version 3.5
; SEQ ID NO 50443
; LENGTH: 856
; TYPE: PRT
; ORGANISM: Zea Mays
US-14-628-469-50443
Query Match 93.9%; Score 3295; DB 14; Length 856;
Best Local Similarity 95.7%;
Matches 621; Conservative 11; Mismatches 13; Indels 4; Gaps 1;
Qy 1 MATMSAASHRCCASSLRALTVLFVLAALVSDVGGRHHHHVCPPYFSCGGFSNISYPFRRQ 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MATMSAASHRCCASSLRALTVLFVLAALVSDVGGRHHHHVCRPYFSCGGFSNISYPFRRQ 60
Qy 61 GDPSGCGVQSYELVCTDTDATIRIGSGTYTVLSINSTYSYFWVVDADLDIQSSCPLPWWD 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||||||||
Db 61 GDPSGCGVQSYELVCTDTDATIRIGSGTYTVLSINSTYSYFWVVDANLDIQSSCPLPWWD 120
Qy 121 HHGETSTANSYRRRTEFRPYFLYPNSMSIIFVNCSKPIENNDIYEPVPCLSNSSFIYLLT 180
:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 YHGETSTANSYRRRTEFRPYFLYPNSMSIIFVNCSKPIENNDIYEPVPCLSNSSFIYLLT 180
Qy 181 HYSYGYALAEILEPSCGYLAMIYLGGPGIPVPKNTSYPDVVKLMRNGFGLRFPSSIGDRG 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 HYSYGYALAEILEPSCGYLAMIYLGGPGIPVPKNTSYPDVVKLMRNGFGLRFPSSIGDRG 240
Qy 241 IRECFAESVRNFLKEPRKYQIVDILMVEELWSCFLDQHGSTNNVVTSVIIDIIKTIPICM 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 IRECFAESVRNFLKEPRKYQIVDILMVEELWSCFLDQHGSTNNVVTSVIIDIIKTIPICM 300
Qy 301 WLLKSTHVFCRLVLMPLAVFVFLA----KTRITIDAVEKFLRMQHMLVPMRYAYTNIIAI 356
|||||||||||||||||||||||| | |||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||
Db 301 WLLKSTHVFCRLVLMPLAVFVFLAHKYWKARITIDAVEKFLRMQQMLVPMRYAYTNIIAI 360
Qy 357 TSHFRDKLGQGGYGTVYKGVLQPGEVHVAIKMLGNSNCNGDEFISEVATIGKIHHVNVVR 416
| |||:||||||||:||||||||||||||:||||||||||:|||||||||||||| ||||
Db 361 TGHFREKLGQGGYGSVYKGVLQPGEVHVAVKMLGNSNCNGEEFISEVATIGKIHHFNVVR 420
Qy 417 LIGFCSEENIRALIYEFMPRGSLDKYIFSSEKTFSWDKLNEIALGIARGLNYLHHGCDMQ 476
||||||||| ||||||||| ||||||||||||:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 LIGFCSEENSRALIYEFMPHGSLDKYIFSSEKSFSWDKLNEIALGIARGLNYLHHGCDMQ 480
Qy 477 IVHFDIKPHNILLDSNFVPKVADFGLAKLFPRGDTFVPLSAMRGTIGYIAPEMVSRSFGV 536
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |:|||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 481 IVHFDIKPHNILLDSNFVPKVADFGLAKLFPRDDSFVPLSAMRGTIGYIAPEMVSRSFGV 540
Qy 537 ISSKSDVYSFGMLLLEMTGGRRNADPHAGSSSQAYYPSLVYSQLSQGDVGGISKGVDMHE 596
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||:|||||||| ||:||||||
Db 541 ISSKSDVYSFGMLLLEMTGGRRNADPHAGSSSQAYYPSLVYNQLSQGDVGEISEGVDMHE 600
Qy 597 LEKKLCIIGLWCIQMKTQDRQTMSEVIEMLEASVDGIQMPPRPFFCDDE 645
|:|||||||||||||| ||| ||||||||||| ||||||| ||||||||
Db 601 LKKKLCIIGLWCIQMKPQDRPTMSEVIEMLEAGVDGIQMPSRPFFCDDE 649
Search Results of instant SEQ ID NO: 6
RESULT 4
US-14-628-469-9084
Sequence 9084, US/14628469
Publication No. US20150315605A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: EI DuPont de Nemours
APPLICANT: Li, Bailin
APPLICANT: Thatcher, Shawn
TITLE OF INVENTION: NOVEL TRANSCRIPTS AND USES THEREOF FOR IMPROVEMENT OF AGRONOMIC
TITLE OF INVENTION: CHARACTERISTICS IN CROP PLANTS
FILE REFERENCE: BB2384USNP
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/14/628,469
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2015-02-23
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/942,846
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2014-02-21
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 72254
SEQ ID NO 9084
LENGTH: 3146
TYPE: DNA
ORGANISM: Zea Mays
Query Match 91.5%; Score 1817; Length 3146;
Best Local Similarity 96.1%;
Matches 1878; Conservative 0; Mismatches 65; Indels 12; Gaps 1;
Qy 1 ATGGCGACGATGTCTGCAGCGTCTCATCGCTGCTGTGCTTCTTCCTTGAGAGCTTTAACG 60
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 117 ATGGCGACGATGTCTGCAGCGTCTCATCGCTGCTGTGCTTCTTCCTTGAGAGCTTTAACC 176
Qy 61 GTGTTATTTGTGTTGGCAGCTCTTGTTTCAGATGTTGGCGGGCGACATCATCATCATGTT 120
||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||||
Db 177 GTGTTGTTTGTGTTGGCAGCTCTTGTTTCAGATGTAGGCGGCCGACATCATCATCATGTT 236
Qy 121 TGTCCTCCTTATTTCTCCTGCGGTGGTTTTAGCAATATATCGTATCCATTCCGTCGGCAA 180
|||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 237 TGTCGTCCTTATTTCTCCTGCGGTGGTTTTAGCAATATATCGTATCCATTCCGTCGGCAA 296
Qy 181 GGTGATCCATCGGGGTGCGGTGTCCAATCGTATGAGCTGGTTTGCACGGATACAGACGCT 240
||||||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 297 GGTGATCCATCTGGGTGTGGTGTCCAATCGTATGAGCTGGTTTGCACGGATACAGACGCC 356
Qy 241 ACCATTCGCATCGGCAGTGGAACGTATACCGTGCTTAGCATCAACTCCACCTATTCTTAC 300
|| |||||||||||||||||||| || ||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 357 ACAATTCGCATCGGCAGTGGAACATACACCGTGCTTAGCATCAACTCCACGTATTCTTAC 416
Qy 301 TTCTGGGTCGTTGATGCCGACCTGGACATCCAGAGCAGTTGCCCCCTTCCCTGGTGGGAT 360
|||||||| || |||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 417 TTCTGGGTTGTCGATGCCAACCTGGACATCCAGAGCAGTTGCCCCCTTCCCTGGTGGGAT 476
Qy 361 CACCATGGTGAGACCAGTACTGCCAACTCATATCGTAGGAGGACTGAGTTCAGGCCTTAT 420
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 477 TACCATGGTGAGACCAGTACTGCCAACTCATATCGTAGGAGGACTGAGTTCAGGCCTTAT 536
Qy 421 TTCCTTTATCCGAATTCGATGTCGATTATCTTTGTGAATTGCTCGAAGCCAATAGAGAAC 480
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 537 TTCCTTTATCCGAATTCGATGTCGATTATCTTTGTGAATTGCTCGAAGCCAATAGAGAAC 596
Qy 481 AATGATATATATGAGCCGGTGCCTTGCTTGAGCAATTCTTCTTTCATCTACTTGCTAACT 540
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 597 AATGATATATATGAGCCGGTGCCTTGCTTGAGCAATTCTTCTTTCATCTACTTGCTAACT 656
Qy 541 CACTACTCGTATGGCTATGCTCTTGCTGAGATTCTGGAGCCCTCATGCGGTTACCTAGCC 600
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 657 CACTACTCGTATGGCTATGCTCTTGCTGAGATTCTGGAGCCCTCATGCGGTTACCTAGCC 716
Qy 601 ATGATTTATTTGGGTGGTCCAGGCATACCGGTGCCCAAGAATACAAGCTATCCAGATGTT 660
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 717 ATGATTTATTTGGGTGGTCCAGGCATACCGGTGCCCAAGAATACAAGCTATCCAGATGTT 776
Qy 661 GTTAAGTTAATGAGGAATGGATTTGGCCTTAGATTTCCTTCTTCGATTGGTGACCGCGGC 720
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 777 GTTAAGTTAATGAGGAATGGATTTGGCCTTAGATTTCCTTCTTCGATTGGTGACCGCGGC 836
Qy 721 ATCAGAGAATGTTTCGCAGAGTCTGTGCGTAATTTCCTTAAAGAGCCAAGAAAGTATCAG 780
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 837 ATCAGAGAATGTTTCGCAGAGTCTGTGCGTAATTTCCTTAAAGAGCCAAGAAAGTATCAG 896
Qy 781 ATTGTGGACATTCTAATGGTCGAGGAATTATGGTCTTGTTTTCTCGATCAACATGGATCA 840
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 897 ATTGTGGACATTCTAATGGTCGAGGAATTATGGTCTTGTTTTCTCGATCAACATGGATCA 956
Qy 841 ACTAATAATGTTGTCACTTCTGTTATCATCGACATTATCAAAACAATACCAATATGTATG 900
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 957 ACTAATAATGTTGTCACTTCTGTTATCATCGACATTATCAAAACAATACCAATATGTATG 1016
Qy 901 TGGCTTCTGAAATCTACACATGTTTTTTGCAGGCTTGTATTGATGCCGCTAGCAGTATTT 960
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1017 TGGCTTCTGAAATCTACACATGTTTTTTGCAGGCTTGTATTGATGCCGCTAGCAGTATTT 1076
Qy 961 GTCTTCCTAGCC------------AAAACACGGATAACAATAGATGCAGTCGAGAAGTTC 1008
|||||||||||| ||| || |||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1077 GTCTTCCTAGCCCATAAATACTGGAAAGCAAGGATTACAATAGATGCAGTCGAGAAGTTC 1136
Qy 1009 CTGCGAATGCAGCATATGCTCGTTCCGATGAGATATGCATACACAAACATCATTGCAATC 1068
||||| |||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 1137 CTGCGGATGCAGCAGATGCTCGTTCCGATGAGATATGCATACACAAACATCATTGCTATC 1196
Qy 1069 ACCAGCCATTTCAGAGACAAGCTCGGACAAGGAGGCTACGGTACTGTATACAAGGGGGTG 1128
||| | ||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 1197 ACCGGTCATTTCAGAGAAAAGCTCGGACAAGGAGGCTACGGTTCTGTATACAAGGGGGTG 1256
Qy 1129 CTACAGCCAGGTGAAGTTCATGTTGCTATTAAGATGCTAGGCAACTCCAACTGTAACGGA 1188
||||||||||||||||| ||||||||| | |||||| ||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 1257 CTACAGCCAGGTGAAGTACATGTTGCTGTCAAGATGTTAGGCAACTCCAACTGTAATGGA 1316
Qy 1189 GACGAGTTCATCAGTGAGGTGGCCACCATTGGAAAGATCCACCATGTCAATGTTGTGCGC 1248
|| ||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||| |||||||||||| ||||||||||||||
Db 1317 GAAGAGTTCATCAGTGAGGTTGCCACCATTGGCAAGATCCACCATTTCAATGTTGTGCGC 1376
Qy 1249 CTCATTGGGTTTTGCTCCGAGGAAAATATCAGGGCACTTATCTATGAGTTCATGCCCCGT 1308
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||| |
Db 1377 CTCATTGGGTTTTGCTCCGAGGAAAATAGCAGGGCACTTATCTACGAGTTCATGCCCCAT 1436
Qy 1309 GGATCTCTCGATAAGTACATCTTCTCGTCGGAGAAGACATTCTCATGGGACAAACTCAAC 1368
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1437 GGATCTCTCGATAAGTACATCTTCTCGTCGGAGAAGAGTTTCTCATGGGACAAACTCAAT 1496
Qy 1369 GAGATCGCTCTGGGCATTGCTAGAGGTCTCAACTACCTACATCACGGGTGTGATATGCAG 1428
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||
Db 1497 GAGATCGCTCTGGGCATTGCTAGAGGTCTCAACTACCTACATCACGGGTGCGATATGCAA 1556
Qy 1429 ATTGTACACTTCGACATCAAGCCACACAACATCCTTCTTGACAGCAACTTTGTTCCAAAA 1488
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1557 ATTGTACACTTCGACATCAAGCCACACAACATCCTTCTTGACAGCAACTTTGTTCCAAAA 1616
Qy 1489 GTTGCTGATTTTGGGCTTGCCAAACTGTTCCCAAGAGGCGACACTTTCGTGCCACTGAGC 1548
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||| ||||||||||||||||
Db 1617 GTTGCTGATTTTGGGCTTGCCAAACTGTTCCCAAGAGACGACAGTTTCGTGCCACTGAGC 1676
Qy 1549 GCTATGCGGGGAACGATAGGATATATAGCTCCAGAGATGGTATCTCGAAGCTTTGGTGTC 1608
|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1677 GCTATGCGGGGAACGATAGGCTATATAGCTCCAGAGATGGTATCTCGAAGCTTTGGTGTC 1736
Qy 1609 ATCTCTAGCAAATCTGATGTGTATAGCTTTGGAATGCTACTGTTGGAGATGACGGGCGGG 1668
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1737 ATCTCTAGCAAATCTGATGTGTATAGCTTTGGAATGCTACTGTTGGAGATGACGGGCGGG 1796
Qy 1669 CGAAGGAATGCAGATCCTCATGCAGGAAGCTCCAGTCAAGCATACTACCCATCCTTGGTG 1728
|||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1797 CGAAGGAACGCAGATCCTCATGCAGGAAGCTCTAGTCAAGCATACTACCCATCCTTGGTG 1856
Qy 1729 TACAGCCAACTAAGCCAAGGAGATGTGGGCGGGATCAGTAAAGGTGTTGATATGCACGAG 1788
|||| ||| |||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||| ||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1857 TACAACCAGCTAAGCCAAGGAGATGTGGGCGAGATCAGTGAAGGTGTTGATATGCACGAG 1916
Qy 1789 TTAGAGAAGAAGCTATGTATCATTGGACTTTGGTGCATCCAGATGAAGACGCAAGATCGA 1848
||| ||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Db 1917 TTAAAGAAGAAACTATGTATCATTGGACTTTGGTGCATCCAGATGAAGCCGCAAGATCGA 1976
Qy 1849 CAGACGATGAGTGAGGTCATAGAGATGCTTGAAGCTAGTGTCGATGGCATCCAAATGCCT 1908
| |||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1977 CCAACGATGAGCGAGGTCATAGAGATGCTTGAAGCTGGTGTCGATGGCATCCAAATGCCT 2036
Qy 1909 CCAAGGCCATTCTTTTGTGATGACGAGGGTGATAG 1943
|||| |||||||||||||||||||||| | | |
Db 2037 TCAAGACCATTCTTTTGTGATGACGAGGTTATTTG 2071
Double Patenting
Claims 17-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,077,769. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of both the application and the issued patent require the nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2, 3 or 6 or encoding SEQ ID NO: 1 or 7; and a method of enhancing resistance to gray leaf spot disease caused by Cercospora zeina in plants of the genus Zea by introducing said nucleic acid sequences in a recombinant DNA to said plants.
The claims of the instant application recite sequences that are less than 100% identity to the sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1-3 and 6-7, and methods of enhancing resistance to maize plants to gray leaf spot disease by introducing said sequences into said maize plants. The claims of the issued patent recite the sequences of SEQ ID NO: 1-3 and 6-7, and methods of enhancing resistance to plants of the genus Zea to gray leaf spot disease by introducing said sequences into said plants Therefore, the claims of instant application are broader in scope and encompass the claims of the issued patent. Consequently, the claimed invention is obvious over the claims of the issued patent.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
MEDINA AHMED. IBRAHIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1662
/MEDINA A IBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662