DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2024 September 05, 2025 January 15, 2025 April 22, 2025 June 30, 2025 September 12, 2025 September 24, 2026 January 21, and 2026 March 02 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 2024 August 08 as modified by the preliminary amendment also filed on the same date. Claims 19-37 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-22, 25-27, 29-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ghelichi et al. (US 2020/0351792, “Ghelichi”).
Regarding claim 19, Ghelichi teaches a method in a user device (UE) capable of operating in dual-mode connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN) ([0087] “At block 705 the UE 115 may communicate with one or more base stations 105 via a first RAT and a second RAT. Although not required, the UE 115 may also communicate with the one or more base stations 105 via a second RAT”), the method comprising:
detecting, by processing hardware, that a power-saving feature of the UE has been activated ([0088] “At block 710 the UE 115 may determine whether the UE 115 is in a selected state. The selected state may correspond to an active mode, a relaxed doze mode, a pre-doze mode, a doze mode, an active WiFi connection mode, a low battery mode, other modes or states described therein, or a combination thereof”); and
in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated: preventing, by the processing hardware, the UE from operating in DC with the SN, so that the UE and the MN are configured to operate in single connectivity ([0089] “At block 715 the UE 115 may disable the second RAT in response to determining that the UE 115 is in the selected state. In one example, the UE 115 may disable the second RAT by powering down one or more of the components (e.g., modem, RF components) of the second RAT” [0090] “At block 720 the UE 115 may continue to communicate via the first RAT” [0016] “In one example DC scenario, 5G NR may be deployed together with 4G LTE. 4G LTE may provide the master node while 5G NR provides the secondary node… In one example, an approach is described to save battery power when the higher throughput of 5G NR is not required to meet a desired performance level. In such a scenario, 5G NR may be disabled to save battery power” [0071] One or more RATs may be disabled in response to the UE being in other modes or states. For example, the UE may determine that it is in a mode or state, which may be referred to as a low battery mode or state, in which the remaining battery power is below a threshold (e.g., 20% battery remaining). In the low battery mode, the UE may determine to disable a RAT, such as a 5G NR RAT, to save battery power).
Regarding claim 20, Ghelichi teaches claim 19, and further teaches wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC comprises suspending measurements on a carrier frequency of the SN ([0089] “the UE 115 may disable the second RAT by powering down one or more of the components (e.g., modem, RF components) of the second RAT” It is understood when RF modem is powered down, no measurement is performed).
Regarding claim 21, Ghelichi teaches claim 19, and further teaches wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC comprises suspending reports of measurements on a carrier frequency of the SN ([0066] “For example, when the disabled RAT corresponds to 5G NR and an enabled RAT corresponds to 4G LTE, LTE-to-NR (L2N) measurement reports may be muted or not sent. In one example, an event-based measurement reports corresponding to 5G NR may be muted (e.g., not sent) on the 4G LTE RAT”).
Regarding claim 22, Ghelichi teaches claim 19, and further teaches wherein the MN operates using a first radio access technology (RAT), wherein the SN operates using a second RAT, and wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC comprises: disabling a chip of the UE that supports communication according to the second RAT ([0089] “At block 715 the UE 115 may disable the second RAT in response to determining that the UE 115 is in the selected state. In one example, the UE 115 may disable the second RAT by powering down one or more of the components (e.g., modem, RF components) of the second RAT” [0090] “At block 720 the UE 115 may continue to communicate via the first RAT”).
Regarding claim 25, Ghelichi teaches claim 19, and further teaches subsequent to preventing the UE from operating in DC: in response to determining that the power-saving feature is no longer activated, enabling the UE to operate in DC with the SN ([0096] “If the UE determines that it is no longer in the doze mode while in block 825, the UE may enable or re-enable the second RAT”.
Regarding claim 26, Ghelichi teaches claim 19, and further teaches comprising determining that a power level of a battery of the UE is below a threshold level ([0071] “One or more RATs may be disabled in response to the UE being in other modes or states. For example, the UE may determine that it is in a mode or state, which may be referred to as a low battery mode or state, in which the remaining battery power is below a threshold (e.g., 20% battery remaining). In the low battery mode, the UE may determine to disable a RAT, such as a 5G NR RAT, to save battery power”).
Regarding claim 27, Ghelichi teaches claim 26 and further teaches subsequent to determining that the power level is below a threshold level: in response to detecting, by the processing hardware, that the battery of the UE is receiving a charge from a power source, determining that the power-saving feature is no longer activated ([0067] “the UE may exit the relaxed doze mode and re-enable the disabled RAT for other reasons such as the screen being turned on or the UE being plugged into a power source, which may also cause the UE to exit the pre-doze mode”).
Regarding claim 29, Ghelichi teaches claim 26 and further teaches in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated ([0059] “At time T=T1, the UE enters a state, which may be referred to as a pre-doze mode or state, in which the UE's screen is off and the UE is stationary and unplugged”): determining that the UE currently is in a connected state according to a protocol for controlling radio resources ([0059] “In one example, the UE continues to keep active the modules and components of the multiple RATs”); in a first instance, in response to determining that an operational condition is not met, immediately preventing the UE from operating in DC ([0059] “If certain conditions of the pre-doze mode (e.g., screen off, stationary, unplugged) remain in effect for a selected (e.g., determined) period of time (e.g., one hour) the UE may transition to another mode or state, which may be referred to as a doze mode or state.” [0096] “If it is determined that the UE is in the doze mode in block 820 the method proceeds to block 825 in which the second RAT (e.g., 5G NR) is disabled.”); and in a second instance, in response to determining that the operational condition is met, postponing the preventing the UE from operating in DC until the operational condition is met ([0059] “If one or more of the conditions of the pre-doze mode changes before the timer expires, the UE may return to the active mode and reset the timer. In an example, the screen off condition may not be completely turned off (e.g., an always on state) but may display some information such as time and date”).
Regarding claim 30, Ghelichi teaches claim 26 and further teaches wherein the operational condition is one of: (i) the UE currently is engaged in a voice or video call, (ii) a screen of the UE is on, or (iii) the power-saving feature of the UE has been deactivated ([0059] “If one or more of the conditions of the pre-doze mode changes before the timer expires, the UE may return to the active mode and reset the timer. In an example, the screen off condition may not be completely turned off (e.g., an always on state) but may display some information such as time and date”).
Regarding claim 31, Ghelichi teaches claim 31 and further teaches a UE including processing hardware and configured to implement a method according to claim 19 (FIG. 6, [0077]).
Regarding claim 32, Ghelichi teaches a UE (FIG. 6, UE 600) capable of operating in dual-mode connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN) ([0087] “At block 705 the UE 115 may communicate with one or more base stations 105 via a first RAT and a second RAT. Although not required, the UE 115 may also communicate with the one or more base stations 105 via a second RAT”), the UE comprising: a battery; a controller; and a memory coupled to the controller and configured to store computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the controller ([0077]), cause the controller to:
detect that a power-saving feature of the UE has been activated ([0088] “At block 710 the UE 115 may determine whether the UE 115 is in a selected state. The selected state may correspond to an active mode, a relaxed doze mode, a pre-doze mode, a doze mode, an active WiFi connection mode, a low battery mode, other modes or states described therein, or a combination thereof”); and
in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated, prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN, so that the UE and the MN are configured to operate in single connectivity ([0089] “At block 715 the UE 115 may disable the second RAT in response to determining that the UE 115 is in the selected state. In one example, the UE 115 may disable the second RAT by powering down one or more of the components (e.g., modem, RF components) of the second RAT” [0090] “At block 720 the UE 115 may continue to communicate via the first RAT” [0016] “In one example DC scenario, 5G NR may be deployed together with 4G LTE. 4G LTE may provide the master node while 5G NR provides the secondary node… In one example, an approach is described to save battery power when the higher throughput of 5G NR is not required to meet a desired performance level. In such a scenario, 5G NR may be disabled to save battery power” [0071] One or more RATs may be disabled in response to the UE being in other modes or states. For example, the UE may determine that it is in a mode or state, which may be referred to as a low battery mode or state, in which the remaining battery power is below a threshold (e.g., 20% battery remaining). In the low battery mode, the UE may determine to disable a RAT, such as a 5G NR RAT, to save battery power).
Regarding claim 33, Ghelichi teaches claim 32, and further teaches wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC comprises one or more of a group that includes suspending measurements on a carrier frequency of the SN or suspending reports of measurements on the carrier frequency ([0089] “the UE 115 may disable the second RAT by powering down one or more of the components (e.g., modem, RF components) of the second RAT”. It is understood when RF modem is powered down, no measurement is performed. [0066] “For example, when the disabled RAT corresponds to 5G NR and an enabled RAT corresponds to 4G LTE, LTE-to-NR (L2N) measurement reports may be muted or not sent).
Regarding claim 34, Ghelichi teaches claim 32, and further teaches further comprising: a first module that supports communication with the MN using a first radio access technology (RAT); a second module that supports communication with the SN using a second RAT ([0016] “In one example DC scenario, 5G NR may be deployed together with 4G LTE. 4G LTE may provide the master node while 5G NR provides the secondary node…” [0078] “UE communications manager 615 may be an example of UE communications manager 515 of FIG. 5. UE communications manager 615 may include a modem manager 616 associated with a first RAT (e.g., 4G LTE), a modem manager 617 associated with a second RAT (e.g., 5G NR)”), wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN by enabling the first module and disabling the second module ([0089] “At block 715 the UE 115 may disable the second RAT in response to determining that the UE 115 is in the selected state. In one example, the UE 115 may disable the second RAT by powering down one or more of the components (e.g., modem, RF components) of the second RAT” [0090] “At block 720 the UE 115 may continue to communicate via the first RAT”).
Regarding claim 36, Ghelichi teaches claim 32, and further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to: detect that the UE is connected to a power source; and in response to detecting that the UE is connected to the power source, enable the UE to operate in DC with the SN ([0067] “the UE may exit the relaxed doze mode and re-enable the disabled RAT for other reasons such as the screen being turned on or the UE being plugged into a power source, which may also cause the UE to exit the pre-doze mode”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghelichi in view of Sundar et al. (US 9,253,729, “Sundar”).
Regarding claim 23, Ghelichi teaches claim 19, but does not teach disabling MN carrier aggregation (CA) in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated.
However, Sundar teaches disabling MN carrier aggregation (CA) in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated (col 3, ln 61-63 “power management and power saving mode capability to automatically optimize battery life can be used when CA eligible radio conditions are satisfied”. Col 4, ln 39-44 “when devices are implemented with full LTE-Advanced capabilities of CA, the devices may support five component carriers and network operators may also support CA on five component carriers”. Col 4, ln 64-66 “When the battery level is less than 10%, UECapabilitylnformation messages to the eNodeB can indicate that CA is currently not supported by the UE” Col 4, ln 2-5 “The eNodeB will then deactivate CA for the device in the configuration it no longer supports and the device stops scanning for secondary carriers that are no longer supported”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the feature disabling MN carrier aggregation (CA) in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated, as taught by Sundar in Ghelichi to further extend the life of a battery powering the user equipment.
Regarding claim 24, Ghelichi in view of Sundar teaches claim 19, and Ghelichi further teaches detecting a low-power condition of a battery of the UE, the low-power condition comprising a first threshold level {and a second threshold level}, wherein: preventing the UE from operating in DC is in response to detecting that a power level of the battery is below the first threshold level ([0016] “In one example DC scenario, 5G NR may be deployed together with 4G LTE. 4G LTE may provide the master node while 5G NR provides the secondary node… In one example, an approach is described to save battery power when the higher throughput of 5G NR is not required to meet a desired performance level. In such a scenario, 5G NR may be disabled to save battery power” [0088] “At block 710 the UE 115 may determine whether the UE 115 is in a selected state. The selected state may correspond to… a low battery mode” [0071] One or more RATs may be disabled in response to the UE being in other modes or states. For example, the UE may determine that it is in a mode or state, which may be referred to as a low battery mode or state, in which the remaining battery power is below a threshold (e.g., 20% battery remaining). In the low battery mode, the UE may determine to disable a RAT, such as a 5G NR RAT, to save battery power), {and disabling MN CA is in response to detecting that the power level of the battery is below the second threshold level lower than the first threshold level}.
Ghelichi does not teach a second threshold level and disabling MN CA is in response to detecting that the power level of the battery is below the second threshold level lower than the first threshold level.
However, Sundar teaches a second threshold level and disabling MN CA is in response to detecting that the power level of the battery is below the second threshold level lower than the first threshold level (Col 4, ln 39-44 “when devices are implemented with full LTE-Advanced capabilities of CA” Col 4, ln 64-66 “When the battery level is less than 10%, UECapabilitylnformation messages to the eNodeB can indicate that CA is currently not supported by the UE” Col 4, ln 2-5 “The eNodeB will then deactivate CA for the device in the configuration it no longer supports and the device stops scanning for secondary carriers that are no longer supported”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the feature a second threshold level and disabling MN CA is in response to detecting that the power level of the battery is below the second threshold level lower than the first threshold level, as taught by Sundar in Ghelichi to further extend the life of a battery powering the user equipment.
Regarding claim 28, Ghelichi in view of Sundar teaches claim 26, but fails to teach subsequent to detecting the low-power condition: in response to detecting, by the processing hardware, that the power level of the battery of the UE is above the threshold level, determining that the power-saving feature is no longer activated.
However, Sundar teaches subsequent to detecting the low-power condition: in response to detecting, by the processing hardware, that the power level of the battery of the UE is above the threshold level, determining that the power-saving feature is no longer activated (col 4 ln 6-10 “Once the device is connected to a power source and the battery starts charging and exceeds a given threshold, the device shall notify the eNodeB of the increased set of supported bandwidth combinations it can support”.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the feature subsequent to detecting the low-power condition: in response to detecting, by the processing hardware, that the power level of the battery of the UE is above the threshold level, determining that the power-saving feature is no longer activated, as taught by Sundar in Ghelichi to further extend the life of a battery powering the user equipment.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghelichi in view of Yamamoto (US 2020/00314931).
Regarding claim 35, Ghelichi teaches claim 32 but fails to teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN by transmitting an indication that the UE has disabled DC to the MN.
However, Yamamoto teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN by transmitting an indication that the UE has disabled DC to the MN ([0035] “the DC state control unit 307 changes the DC state of the digital camera 101 to the DC disabled state (non-DC state) (step S509). In response to this change to the non-DC state, the transmission unit 301 may transmit capability information of the digital camera 101 including information indicating that DC cannot be performed with respect to the MN base station”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the feature wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN by transmitting an indication that the UE has disabled DC to the MN, as taught by Yamamoto in Ghelichi to prevent unnecessary communication resource allocation.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghelichi in view of Nakajima (US 2021/0185751).
Regarding claim 37, Ghelichi teaches claim 32, but fails to teach in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been deactivated, measure a carrier frequency, generate a measurement report message, and transmit a measurement report message to the MN.
However, Nakajima teaches in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been deactivated, measure a carrier frequency, generate a measurement report message, and transmit a measurement report message to the MN ([0029] If the determination unit 204 determines that execution of DC is not necessary (No in S404), the reception unit 202 receives, in S411, from the LTE base station 302 serving as MN, an instruction to measure the reception quality (communication quality) for the signals from the base station around the digital camera 301… the measurement unit 205 measures the reference signal received power (RSRP), the reference signal received quality (RSRQ), and the signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR). In S413, the transmission unit 201 transmits, as a measurement result, a measurement report including the reception quality measured in S412. Here, because it is determined that execution of DC in the digital camera 301 is not necessary (NO in S404), the transmission unit 201 includes only the reception quality of the LTE base station 302 in the measurement report to be transmitted.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the feature in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been deactivated, measure a carrier frequency, generate a measurement report message, and transmit a measurement report message to the MN, as taught by Nakajima in Ghelichi to reduce unnecessary power consumption.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 19-32 and 34-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 and 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,089,163.
Application 18/797,963
Patent US 12,089,163
Note:
19. A method in a user device (UE) capable of operating in dual-mode connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), the method comprising:
detecting, by processing hardware, that a power-saving feature of the UE has been activated; and
in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated: preventing, by the processing hardware, the UE from operating in DC with the SN, so that the UE and the MN are configured to operate in single connectivity.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC comprises suspending measurements on a carrier frequency of the SN.
21. The method of claim 19, wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC comprises suspending reports of measurements on a carrier frequency of the SN.
22. The method of claim 19, wherein the MN operates using a first radio access technology (RAT), wherein the SN operates using a second RAT, and wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC comprises: disabling a chip of the UE that supports communication according to the second RAT.
23. The method of claim 19, further comprising: disabling MN carrier aggregation (CA) in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated.
24. The method of claim 23, further comprising detecting a low-power condition of a battery of the UE, the low-power condition comprising a first threshold level and a second threshold level, wherein: preventing the UE from operating in DC is in response to detecting that a power level of the battery is below the first threshold level, and disabling MN CA is in response to detecting that the power level of the battery is below the second threshold level lower than the first threshold level.
25. The method of claim 19, further comprising, subsequent to preventing the UE from operating in DC: in response to determining that the power-saving feature is no longer activated, enabling the UE to operate in DC with the SN.
26. The method of claim 19, further comprising determining that a power level of a battery of the UE is below a threshold level.
27. The method of claim 26, further comprising, subsequent to determining that the power level is below a threshold level: in response to detecting, by the processing hardware, that the battery of the UE is receiving a charge from a power source, determining that the power-saving feature is no longer activated.
28. The method of claim 26, further comprising, subsequent to detecting the low-power condition: in response to detecting, by the processing hardware, that the power level of the battery of the UE is above the threshold level, determining that the power-saving feature is no longer activated.
29. The method of claim 19, further comprising, in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated: determining that the UE currently is in a connected state according to a protocol for controlling radio resources; in a first instance, in response to determining that an operational condition is not met, immediately preventing the UE from operating in DC; and in a second instance, in response to determining that the operational condition is met, postponing the preventing the UE from operating in DC until the operational condition is met.
30. The method of claim 29, wherein the operational condition is one of: (i) the UE currently is engaged in a voice or video call, (ii) a screen of the UE is on, or (iii) the power-saving feature of the UE has been deactivated.
31. A UE including processing hardware and configured to implement a method according to claim 19.
32. A UE capable of operating in dual-mode connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), the UE comprising: a battery; a controller; and a memory coupled to the controller and configured to store computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to:
detect that a power-saving feature of the UE has been activated; and in response to detecting that the power-saving feature has been activated,
prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN, so that the UE and the MN are configured to operate in single connectivity.
34. The UE of claim 32, further comprising: a first module that supports communication with the MN using a first radio access technology (RAT); a second module that supports communication with the SN using a second RAT, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN by enabling the first module and disabling the second module.
35. The UE of claim 32, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN by transmitting an indication that the UE has disabled DC to the MN.
36. The UE of claim 32, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to: detect that the UE is connected to a power source; and in response to detecting that the UE is connected to the power source, enable the UE to operate in DC with the SN.
1. A method in a user device (UE) capable of operating in dual-mode connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), the method comprising:
detecting, by processing hardware, a low-power condition of a battery of the UE; and
in response to detecting the low-power condition of the battery: preventing, by the processing hardware, the UE from operating in DC with the SN, so that the UE and the MN are configured to operate in single connectivity,
wherein preventing includes providing simulated signal strength measurements to at least one of the MN and the SN.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC includes suspending measurements on a carrier frequency of the SN.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC includes suspending reports of measurements on a carrier frequency of the SN.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the MN operates using a first radio access technology (RAT), and the SN operates using a second RAT, and wherein preventing the UE from operating in DC includes: disabling a chip of the UE that supports communication according to the second RAT.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: disabling MN carrier aggregation (CA) in response to detecting the low-power condition of the battery.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the low-power condition of the battery comprises a first threshold level and a second threshold level, and wherein: preventing the UE from operating in DC is in response to detecting that a power level of the battery is below the first threshold level, and disabling MN CA is in response to that the power level of the battery is below the second threshold level lower than the first threshold level.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising, subsequently to preventing the UE from operating in DC: in response to determining that the low-power condition no longer applies, enabling the UE to operate in DC with the SN.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein detecting the low-power condition at the UE includes determining that a power level of a battery of the UE is below a threshold level.
9. The method of claim 8, further comprising, subsequently to detecting the low-power condition: in response to detecting, by the processing hardware, that the battery of the UE is receiving a charge from a power source, determining that the low-power condition no longer applies.
10. The method of claim 8, further comprising, subsequently to detecting the low-power condition: in response to detecting, by the processing hardware, that the power level of the battery of the UE is above the threshold level, determining that the low-power condition no longer applies.
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to detecting the low-power condition of the battery: determining that the UE currently is in a connected state according to a protocol for controlling radio resources; in a first instance, in response to determining that an operational condition is not met, immediately preventing the UE from operating in DC; and in a second instance, in response to determining that the operational condition is met, postponing the preventing the UE from operating in DC until the operational condition is met.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the operational condition is one of: (i) the UE currently is engaged in a voice or video call, (ii) a screen of the UE is on, or (iii) a power-saving feature of the UE has been deactivated.
13. A UE including processing hardware and configured to implement a method according to claim 1.
14. A UE capable of operating in dual-mode connectivity (DC) with a master node (MN) and a secondary node (SN), the UE comprising: a battery; a controller; and a memory coupled to the controller and configured to store computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to:
detect a low-power condition of the battery of the UE; and in response to detecting the low-power condition of the battery,
prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN, so that the UE and the MN are configured to operate in single connectivity,
wherein preventing includes providing simulated signal strength measurements to at least one of the MN and the SN.
16. The UE of claim 14, further comprising: a first module that supports communication with the MN using a first radio access technology (RAT); a second module that supports communication with the SN using a second RAT, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN by enabling the first module and disabling the second module.
17. The UE of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to prevent the UE from operating in DC with the SN by transmitting an indication that the UE has disabled DC to the MN.
18. The UE of claim 14, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the controller to: detect that the UE is connected to a power source; and in response to detecting that the UE is connected to the power source, enable the UE to operate in DC with the SN.
The same (anticipated)
The language of patent 163 invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
The language of the claimed invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
Additional limitations.
The same (anticipated)
The same (anticipated)
The same (anticipated)
The language of the claimed invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
The language of the claimed invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
The same (anticipated)
The language of the claimed invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
The language of the claimed invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
The language of the claimed invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
The language of the claimed invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
The same (anticipated)
The same (anticipated)
The same (anticipated)
The language of the claimed invention is broader (anticipated by pat 163)
The same (anticipated)
Additional limitations
The same (anticipated)
The same (anticipated)
The same (anticipated)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xia et al. (US 2022/0078703) teaches a method for controlling power consumption in a terminal.
Jung et al. (US 2020/0137609) teaches a method for controlling measurement operations.
/QUOC THAI N VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642