DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swatty et al (2018/0160790) in view of Strongwater (4,349,102), Gics (5,743,402) and Shnitzler (2,735,542).
As to claim 1, Swatty discloses a storage assembly for a shaving razor system (100), the assembly comprises a case (101) comprises a top portion (110) coupled to a bottom portion (116), wherein the case comprises one or more metals ([0034] teaches the container 101 be constructed with metal as one of the material selection); an insert (117) received in the bottom portion of the case (116), the insert comprising one or more cavities (125, 126 124 etc) configured to receive one or more components of the shaving razor system (119).
However, Swatty does not disclose a hang tag coupled to the case; and a securement cover associated with the case, wherein the securement cover comprises at least one of product indicia or product imagery, wherein the top portion of the case comprises one or more first gripping features and the bottom portion of the case comprises one or more second gripping features, the first and second gripping features being configured to assist with separating the top portion from the bottom portion.
Strongwater discloses a packing device comprises a case (10) comprises a top portion (18) coupled to a bottom portion (26), and a hang tag (16) coupled to the case (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Swatty with a hang tag coupled to the case as taught by Strongwater in order to define means for suspending packaging device from a hook or other similar projecting member (column 2, lines 53-56).
Gics discloses a packaging comprises a securement cover (sleeve 24) associated with the case (20), wherein the securement cover comprises at least one of product indicia or product imagery (58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Swatty as modified with securement cover sleeve as taught by Gics to provide an outer sleeve with greater surface area that can bear with all the product information.
Shnitzler discloses a storage container for razor and blades (Figure 2), the storage container comprises a case (Figure 1) a top portion (18) and a bottom portion (17), the top and bottom portions being coupled together so as to be movable relative to one another between a closed position (via hinge, Figure 1) and an open position (Figure 2), wherein the top and bottom portions, when in the closed position, define an inner cavity sized to receive the shaving razor system (the compartment is housing safety razor and blade, the top portion of the case is coupled to the bottom portion by a hinge (38), the top portion (18) of the case comprises one or more first gripping features (43) and the bottom portion (17) of the case comprises one or more second gripping features (rib as shown in Figure 1), the first and second gripping features being configured to assist with moving the case from the closed position to the open position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Swatty as modified with first and second gripping feature as taught by Shnitzler to provide surface for an end user to grip on and open the top and bottom portion by finger.
As to claim 3, Swatty as modified by Gics, Gics further discloses the securement cover (sleeve 24) extends over at least a part of the top portion and over at least a part of the bottom portion of the case (as modified by Gics, the sleeve covers part of the top portion and cover part of the bottom portion).
As to claim 4, Swatty as modified by Shnitzler, further discloses the bottom portion (20) of the case comprises a first locking element (projecting beveled catch element 42) that is adapted to releasably engage with a second locking element (opening on cover element) on the other of the top or the bottom portion to releasably couple the top portion to the bottom portion.
As to claims 5-6, Swatty as modified by Strongwater, Strongwater further discloses the hang tag is coupled to the case when the top and bottom portions of the case are in a closed position, the hang tag being configured to allow the case and the securement cover to be displayed or stored and the hang tag is removable (18, Figure 1 and 2 shows the hang tag coupled to the case configuration and removed from the case, respectively).
As to claim 8, Swatty as modified by Gics, further discloses the case comprises a top surface, a bottom surface, first and second side surfaces (both Swatty and Gics as annotated above), and first and second end surfaces; the securement cover extends over at least a part of the top surface, the bottom surface, and at least one of the first side surface or the second side surface; and at least a portion of the first and second end surfaces are spaced apart from the securement cover (after Swatty modified by Gics, the securement cover covers the top surface, the bottom surface, and at least one of the first side surface and the second side surface as the sleeve wrap around those surfaces, the first and second end surface are not covered and spaced apart from the securement cover).
As to claim 9, Swatty as modified by Gics, further discloses the case comprises a top surface, a bottom surface, first and second side surfaces (both Swatty and Gics as annotated above), and first and second end surfaces; the securement cover extends over at least a part of the top surface, the bottom surface, and at least one of the first side surface or the second side surface; and at least a portion of the first and second end surfaces are spaced apart from the securement cover (after Swatty modified by Gics, the securement cover covers the top surface, the bottom surface, and at least one of the first end surface and the second end surface as the sleeve wrap around those surfaces, the first side and second side surface are not covered and spaced apart from the securement cover).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swatty et al (2018/0160790) in view of Strongwater (4,349,102), Gics (5,743,402) and Shnitzler (2,735,542) as claimed in claim 1, further in view of Husted (5,123,527) and Cabell et al (2011/0139660).
As to claim 2, Swatty as modified does not disclose at least a section of the securement cover is secured to the case with a pressure-sensitive adhesive. Husted discloses a food package having a sleeve enclosure, the sleeve is covering the full faced front panel, and can include a full face back panel and could be adhered to the back of the base tray by suitable means such as hot melt adhesive (column 6, lines 46-51). Cabell further discloses the similar package (1) with label attached to the tray (Figure 6), the label can be glued to the outside of the container using water-base adhesive or hot-melt adhesive or pressure sensitive adhesives. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve of Shnitzler as modified with the sleeve attached to the outer container by adhesive as taught by Husted in order to retain the sleeve attached to the container. With regarding to the type of adhesive being use, it would also be obvious to use different type of adhesive such as pressure-sensitive adhesive as taught by Cabell in order to remove the sleeve by force and also be able to re-stick the sleeve back via pressure.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swatty et al (2018/0160790) in view of Strongwater (4,349,102), Gics (5,743,402) and Shnitzler (2,735,542) as claimed in claim 1, further in view of Davis (5,540,381).
As to claim 21, Swatty as modified by Gics, further discloses the case comprises a top surface, a bottom surface, first and second side surfaces, and first and second end surfaces (as shown in Figure 1 of Swatty), and wherein the securement cover extends completely around the case (as taught by Gics). However, Swatty as modified does not discloses that the securement cover overlaps onto itself on the bottom surface. Nevertheless, Davis discloses a sleeve for displaying a container (Figure 1), such sleeve (12) surrounds the outer surface of the container and overlaps (flap 1426 attached to the end of the sleeve and forms an overlap portion at the bottom surface fo the container (Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve of Swatty as modified with overlapping portion form at the bottom surface of the container as taught by Gics in order to hide the overlapping portion from plan view to maintain the appearance of the front and side of the sleeve and prevent overlapping seam to disturb the continuity of the information in the front panel of the sleeve.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument “Amended claim 1 to incorporate 7, 10 and 11. Claims 7, 10 and 11 have been cancelled. For that reasons set forth below, applicant respectfully submits that amended claim 1 is not obvious over the cited art”
Such argument is not found persuasive. In the most current claim set filed on 04/15/2026. Examiner thoroughly review the claim and identified that claim 7, 10 and 11 is properly cancelled. However, Claim 1 remained (original) as its identifier and appears there is no claim amendment to claim 1. Without the amendment to claim 1, the rejection to claim 1 remain in this current office action and applicant’s argument against Swatty, Strongwater, Gics, Shnitzer and Tuszkiewicz appears to be an improper argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN HOI CHEUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736