DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Amendments to the specification were received on 6/15/2026. These amendments preserve the original scope of disclosure and are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change the recitation of “a top surface of the cartridge” to “the [a] top surface of the cartridge”, since amended claim 1 now provides antecedent basis for this limitation. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see the newly applied prior art to Muhl, which teaches, inter alia, the feature of “an upper edge portion of the restriction portion is at a higher position than a top surface of the cartridge.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by Muhl (US 2008/0018705 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Muhl disclose a printing apparatus comprising:
a housing portion (carrier 126) for detachably housing a cartridge (printing module 11) having an element substrate that ejects liquid (paragraph 55 & Fig. 4);
a restriction portion (any of sidewalls 122, 123 and “center wall”: Fig. 2) configured to restrict movement of the cartridge in a horizontal direction intersecting with an insertion direction (vertically, in Fig. 3) in which the cartridge is inserted to the housing portion (Figs. 2-3); and
a cover portion (bolt 121) configured to be movable between (1) a first position (“closed”) for fixing the cartridge to the housing portion (paragraph 50 & Fig. 3) and (2) a second position (“folded back”) for allowing the cartridge to be attached to and detached from the housing portion (paragraph 50 & Fig. 3),
wherein the restriction portion is provided at the housing portion at an entry-side end portion of the housing portion (upper portion of carrier 126, shown in Fig. 3), the entry-side end portion being a side through which the cartridge first enters the housing portion when the cartridge is inserted in the insertion direction (Fig. 3), and
wherein, in a state where the cover portion is at the first position and the cartridge is housed in the housing portion, an upper edge portion of the restriction portion is at a higher position than a top surface of the cartridge (each of the sidewalls 122, 123 and the “center wall” are shown to be higher than cartridge: Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3 (as best understood):
Muhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that, in a state where the cover portion is at the second position, a vertical distance from an upper edge portion of the restriction portion and a rear edge portion of the cover portion is shorter than a distance from a bottom surface to the top surface of the cartridge (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4:
Muhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the housing portion includes a first housing portion (for left-hand printing module 11) and a second housing portion (for right-hand printing module 11) arranged in the horizontal direction (Figs. 2-3),
wherein at least a part of the restriction portion (at least the “center wall”) is provided between the first housing portion and the second housing portion (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 6:
Muhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the cover portion includes a press portion that, at the first position, presses the cartridge inserted in the housing portion (inherent to resting on the printing module 11 with a “force transmitting connection”: paragraph 57 & Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15:
Muhl discloses all the limitations of claim 4, and also that a cover portion (121) is provided for each of the first housing portion and the second housing portion (Fig. 2), the cover portions being movable between a first position for fixing the cartridge to the housing portion and a second position for allowing the cartridge to be attached to an detached from the housing portion (paragraph 50 & Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17:
Muhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the housing portion includes an opening configured to allow electrical connection between the cartridge and a board that the printing apparatus has (paragraph 53 & Figs. 3, 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muhl (US 2008/0018705 A1) in view of Iwata et al. (US 2009/0278902 A1).
Regarding claim 7:
Muhl discloses all the limitations of claim 6, but does not expressly disclose a press portion that includes a biasing member that biases the cartridge.
However, Iwata et al. disclose a printing apparatus comprising a cover portion (set cover 13) that has a press portion (at least presser portion 15) that, at a first position, presses a cartridge (11) inserted in a housing portion (paragraph 33 & Fig. 4), wherein the press portion includes a biasing member (presser portion 15) that biases the cartridge so as to fixedly set the cartridge in the housing portion (paragraph 33).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Muhl’s cover portion to include a biasing press portion, such as taught by Iwata et al.
Regarding claim 10:
Muhl’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claim 9, but Muhl does not expressly disclose that the push portion is biased by a push spring.
However, Iwata et al. disclose a printing apparatus comprising a push portion (release lever 16) configured to bias a cartridge in a direction opposite from an insertion direction (Figs. 4-6), wherein the push portion is biased by a push spring (elastic body 19) so as to automatically return to a protruding state (paragraph 31).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Muhl’s printing apparatus to include a push portion having a push spring, such as taught by Iwata et al.
Regarding claim 12:
Muhl’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claim 10, and Iwata et al. also disclose that the push spring is a coil spring (19), wherein the push portion biases the cartridge on a same axis as the push spring in a direction in which the push spring is extended or compressed (paragraph 31 & Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muhl (US 2008/0018705 A1).
Regarding claim 8:
Muhl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the housing portion, the restriction portion, and the cover portion are mounted at a carriage (Fig. 2).
Muhl does not expressly disclose that the carriage is configured to move in the printing apparatus.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that installation of a printhead cartridge is commonly performed into a moving carriage, so as to enable printing across an entire width of media.
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Muhl’s printing apparatus to mount the cartridge into a serial-type moving carriage.
Regarding claim 9:
Muhl’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claim 8, and Muhl also discloses that the carriage includes a push portion (guide lever 124) by which, in a state where the cover portion is at the second position, the cartridge housed in the housing portion is biased in a direction opposite from the insertion direction (paragraph 60 & Fig. 9) and which is, in a state where the cover portion is at the first position, located apart from the cartridge housed in the housing portion (Fig. 6, especially Detail C).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muhl (US 2008/0018705 A1) in view of Tsujiuchi et al. (US 2015/0343785 A1).
Regarding claim 13:
Muhl’s modified apparatus comprises all the limitations of claim 8, but does not expressly disclose that the carriage includes a lock unit configured to lock the cover portion to the first position by bringing part of the cover portion and part of the housing portion into engagement.
However, Tsujiuchi et al. disclose a carriage that includes a lock unit (25, 34) configured to lock a cover portion (lever 3) to a first position by bringing part of the cover portion (retainer 35) and part of a housing portion (catch 25 of cover 2) into engagement (paragraph 24 & Figs. 2A-C). Tsujiuchi et al. teach that such a configuration stabilizes an engaged state of the cartridge (paragraph 24).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Muhl’s apparatus in the manner taught by Tsujiuchi et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 14 are allowed.
Please see prosecution history concerning the reasons for allowance of these claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853