DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 8-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107.797. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, and 17-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,107.797 encompasses the limitations of claims 1-4, 6-7, 8-11, 13-18 and 20 of instant application. Moreover, omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. It is well settled that the omission of an element and its functions is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements performs the same function as before In re Karlson, 163 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (Bd. App. 1969).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MOLAVIANJAZI et al PG PUB 2021/0184812.
Re Claims 1, 8 and 15, MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches in figure 8, 820, a gNB (an Access node: processing circuitry and PHY circuitry) identifying uplink communication beam (a first communication beam) and figure 9, 910 teaches the gNB identifying downlink communication beam (a second communication beam) among the plurality of beams wherein the gNB generating a beam indication resource as defined based on a unified TCI state (a universal TCI state) [0152] that identifies the uplink and downlink with beam indexes (beam information) [0175] associated with PUSCH or PDSCH wherein each unified TCI state contains (includes) parameters (applicability information) for configuring the PDSCH, PDCCH etc [0112]; the gNB provides the generated unified TCI state to a UE via MAC-CE or DCI [0115].
Re Claims 2, 9, 16. MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches in figures 8 and 9, the PUSCH or PDSCH (applicability information) identifying one or more data channels associated by uplink and downlink beam identified by the unified TCI state.
Re Claims 3, 10, 17, MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches in figure 8, 850, the UE transmits on the PUSCH (identified. the application information) using the gNB- indicated beam (the first communication beam) to the gNB (receiving, by the AN).
Re Claims 4, 11, 18, MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches the gNB generating the unified TCI state to include one or more parameters such QCL relationship between the plurality of beams [0112-0114].
Re Claims 6-7, 13-14, 20, MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches the gNB providing the TCI-state via a DCI [0112 0115].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOLAVIANJAZI et al PG PUB 2021/0184812.
Re Claims 5, 12 and 19, MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches in figure 11, 1120, the UE monitoring whether all beam indication RS resources have failed [0209], this would have included "a third communication beam" and "a fourth communication beams" as claimed. MOLAVIANJAZI et al further teaches in 1140, the UE receiving from the gNB an indication for alternative beams to perform switching from the failed beams. The alternative beams can be "the first communication beam" and "the second communication beam" as claimed. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have switched to the working beams for channel reliability. Therefore, it would have obvious to one skilled to have switchover to the working beams.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re Claims 1, 8 and 15, Applicant argues that “the universal TCI state includes applicability information that identifies which control controls, data channels, signals, resources group…” as described in PARA 0038-0049 of applicant specification. However, such limitations/descriptions are not claimed. What is claimed is “a universal TCI state…includes applicability information” whereby “applicability information” is opened to any known applicable information.
MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches each TCI state contains parameters for configuring relationship between one or more reference signals and the DMRS ports of the PDSCH [0112]. In this case, “each TCI state contains parameters” is equivalent to “a universal TCI state includes applicability information” as recited in Claims 1, 8 and 15.
Furthermore, It is known to one skilled in the art, in 5G NR, the Unified TCT state can simultaneously indicate the beam for multiple channels/signals for example downlink beam for PDCCH, PDSCH and Uplink beam for PUCCH, PUSCH whereby in MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches mapping of PDSCH and PUSCH configured/mapped to beam indexes (beam information) [0175].
Re Claims 2, 9, and 16, Applicant argues that “the applicability information identifies one or more control channel, one or more data channels or one or signals that are to utilize the first communication beam or the second communication beam by the universal TCI state.
In response, MOLAVIANJAZI et al teaches UE can be configured with TCI-state configuration [0112], in this case, the unified TCI state configuration can include a PDSCH-Config to decode PDSCH. The PDSCH-Config is contained in the unified TCI state and is “the applicability information” for identifying the one or more data channels identified by the unified TCI state.
Applicant is requested to address above in the next response.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475