DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 8/08/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite "system fram number” but it appears it should be “system frame number”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MolavianJazi et al (US2021/0058971 A1).
Regarding claims 1,15, and 20, MolavianJazi teaches a resource accessing method/user equipment/chip, adapted for a user equipment (UE) (Abstract), the resource accessing method comprising:
a memory configured to store a computer program; a transceiver configured to transmit or receive signals; and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the processor configured to execute the computer program to cause the UE to perform (Para. 0053):
transmitting one physical random-access channel (PRACH) sequence at a random-access channel occasion (RACH occasion, RO) group, wherein the RO group comprises a plurality of ROs, the plurality of ROs being resources used for a PRACH transmission with a same PRACH sequence (Paras. 0082, 0205-0206, and 0239; for coverage recovery and/or enhancement, the UE 116 can transmit a PRACH preamble with repetition in time so that a same PRACH preamble sequence is repeated in multiple time-domain symbols. A number of symbols for repetition can be provided by UE-common signaling, including by a SIB, or by UE-specific signaling, separately or jointly with some other PRACH configuration parameters; different repetitions in different ROs can correspond to transmission of multiple preambles or transmission of the same preamble).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein merely the PRACH sequence is used on the plurality of ROs (Paras. 0082, 0205-0206, and 0239; for coverage recovery and/or enhancement, the UE 116 can transmit a PRACH preamble with repetition in time so that a same PRACH preamble sequence is repeated in multiple time-domain symbols. A number of symbols for repetition can be provided by UE-common signaling, including by a SIB, or by UE-specific signaling, separately or jointly with some other PRACH configuration parameters; different repetitions in different ROs can correspond to transmission of multiple preambles or transmission of the same preamble).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches further comprising at least one of following: receiving a configuration message indicating the RO group; and determining the RO group (Paras. 0082, 0205-0206, and 0239; for coverage recovery and/or enhancement, the UE 116 can transmit a PRACH preamble with repetition in time so that a same PRACH preamble sequence is repeated in multiple time-domain symbols. A number of symbols for repetition can be provided by UE-common signaling, including by a SIB, or by UE-specific signaling, separately or jointly with some other PRACH configuration parameters).
Regarding claim 4, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the plurality of ROs comprises a first RO and a second RO, wherein the first RO and the second RO are overlapped in frequency domain (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0082, 0159, 0205-0206, and 0239; for time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission corresponding to different number of repetitions, various considerations are taken into account. For example, time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a first number of repetitions (e.g., 2 repetitions) can have an arbitrary overlap in size and location (including no overlap) with time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a second number of repetitions (e.g., 4 repetitions). In another example, time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with different number of repetitions have a “nested” or “scalable” structure, so that, e.g., time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a smaller number of repetitions (e.g., 2 repetitions) is a subset of time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a larger number of repetitions (e.g., 4 repetitions)).
Regarding claim 5, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein two of the plurality of ROs are consecutive without another RO therein in the time domain of radio resources (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0082, 0159-0160, 0205-0206, and 0239; for each PRACH attempt of an NR-Light UE 116, all repetitions of a PRACH preamble occur in NR-Light-valid ROs that are consecutive in time-domain; i.e. Figs. 7A and B show ROs consecutive in the time domain).
Regarding claim 6, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration message comprises a second parameter, wherein the second parameter configures a step size between two of the plurality of ROs in at least one of time domain and frequency domain (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0082, 0159-0160, 0205-0206, and 0239; As an enhancement, for each PRACH attempt of an NR-Light UE 116, all repetitions of a PRACH preamble can occur in all/any NR-Light-valid ROs, so that FDMed ROs can also be used for repetitions. In one example, repetitions can occur in non-consecutive FDMed ROs, such as in FDMed ROs that are separated by at least [N] PRBs in a reference numerology. Repetitions that occur in non-consecutive FDMed ROs can have advantages, such as when an NR-Light UE 116 operates in unlicensed bands).
Regarding claim 7, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein determining the RO group comprises: determining a starting RO of the RO group, wherein an initial transmission of the PRACH transmission is located at the starting RO, and the starting RO is determined according to RO resource position, wherein the RO resource position is referred to at least one of a slot index and a system frame number (SFN) index in which the RO resource is located, wherein the slot index and the SFN index satisfies a pre-configured relationship (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0080-0082, 0159-0160, 0205-0206, and 0239; ROs occur periodically in system frame numbers (SFNs) n_SFN that satisfy [n_SFN mod x=y]. Therefore, ROs repeat every x SFNs (x radio frames) where, for example, x belongs to the set {1, 2, 4, 8, 16}. Therefore, a RACH configurations periodicity is [10*x]={10, 20, 40, 80, 160} msec. Within each RACH configuration periodicity, ROs only occur in SFN indices determined by the value y above. Y is a single value, such as y=0 or y=1; Within each radio frame that includes ROs, one or multiple subframes/slots are specified where ROs can occur; ROs in a subframe/slot can start at the beginning or in the middle of the subframe/slot as indicated by the Starting Symbol in the corresponding prach-ConfigurationIndex).
Regarding claim 8, MolavianJazi teaches a network device (Abstract), comprising:
a memory configured to store a computer program; a transceiver configured to transmit or receive signals; and a processor coupled to the memory and the transceiver, the processor configured to execute the computer program to cause the network device to perform (Para. 0053):
detecting one physical random-access channel (PRACH) sequence at a random-access channel occasion (RACH occasion, RO) group, wherein the RO group comprises a plurality of ROs, the plurality of ROs being resources used for a PRACH transmission with a same PRACH sequence (Paras. 0082, 0115, 0205-0206, and 0239; for coverage recovery and/or enhancement, the UE 116 can transmit a PRACH preamble with repetition in time so that a same PRACH preamble sequence is repeated in multiple time-domain symbols. A number of symbols for repetition can be provided by UE-common signaling, including by a SIB, or by UE-specific signaling, separately or jointly with some other PRACH configuration parameters; different repetitions in different ROs can correspond to transmission of multiple preambles or transmission of the same preamble; Various embodiments of the present disclosure recognize and take into account that a key element for improving a detection/miss probability for a PRACH transmission from NR-Light UEs or low-capability UEs is improving a receiving SINR by repeating the PRACH transmission in multiple occasions to increase the probability of correct detection of the PRACH preamble by the gNB and/or to reduce the collision probability among numerous NR-Light UEs as well as other coexisting UEs, e.g., “legacy” Rel-15 UEs).
Regarding claim 10, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program to cause the network device to further perform: determining or configuring the RO group; and transmitting a configuration message indicating the RO group (Paras. 0082, 0205-0206, and 0239; for coverage recovery and/or enhancement, the UE 116 can transmit a PRACH preamble with repetition in time so that a same PRACH preamble sequence is repeated in multiple time-domain symbols. A number of symbols for repetition can be provided by UE-common signaling, including by a SIB, or by UE-specific signaling, separately or jointly with some other PRACH configuration parameters).
Regarding claim 11, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program to cause the network device to perform: determining a first parameter of the configuration message, wherein the first parameter configures a number of the plurality of ROs (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0082, 0159, 0205-0206, and 0239; for time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission corresponding to different number of repetitions, various considerations are taken into account. For example, time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a first number of repetitions (e.g., 2 repetitions) can have an arbitrary overlap in size and location (including no overlap) with time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a second number of repetitions (e.g., 4 repetitions). In another example, time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with different number of repetitions have a “nested” or “scalable” structure, so that, e.g., time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a smaller number of repetitions (e.g., 2 repetitions) is a subset of time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a larger number of repetitions (e.g., 4 repetitions)).
Regarding claim 12, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the first parameter is configured by the network device or pre-defined (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0082, 0159, 0205-0206, and 0239; A number of symbols for repetition can be provided by UE-common signaling, including by a SIB, or by UE-specific signaling, separately or jointly with some other PRACH configuration parameters; for time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission corresponding to different number of repetitions, various considerations are taken into account. For example, time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a first number of repetitions (e.g., 2 repetitions) can have an arbitrary overlap in size and location (including no overlap) with time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a second number of repetitions (e.g., 4 repetitions). In another example, time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with different number of repetitions have a “nested” or “scalable” structure, so that, e.g., time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a smaller number of repetitions (e.g., 2 repetitions) is a subset of time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a larger number of repetitions (e.g., 4 repetitions)).
Regarding claims 13 and 19, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein when the first parameter is configured by the network device, the first parameter is configured in at least one of system information and a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0082, 0159, 0205-0206, and 0239; A number of symbols for repetition can be provided by UE-common signaling, including by a SIB, or by UE-specific signaling, separately or jointly with some other PRACH configuration parameters).
Regarding claim 14, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program to cause the network device to perform: determining a second parameter of the configuration message, wherein the second parameter configures a step size between two of the plurality of ROs in at least one of time domain and frequency domain (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0082, 0159-0160, 0205-0206, and 0239; As an enhancement, for each PRACH attempt of an NR-Light UE 116, all repetitions of a PRACH preamble can occur in all/any NR-Light-valid ROs, so that FDMed ROs can also be used for repetitions. In one example, repetitions can occur in non-consecutive FDMed ROs, such as in FDMed ROs that are separated by at least [N] PRBs in a reference numerology. Repetitions that occur in non-consecutive FDMed ROs can have advantages, such as when an NR-Light UE 116 operates in unlicensed bands).
Regarding claim 18, MolavianJazi teaches the limitations of the previous claims. MolavianJazi further teaches wherein the configuration message comprises a first parameter, wherein the first parameter configures a number of the plurality of ROs, and the first parameter is configured by a network device or pre-defined (Figs. 7A and B; Paras. 0082, 0159, 0205-0206, and 0239; for time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission corresponding to different number of repetitions, various considerations are taken into account. For example, time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a first number of repetitions (e.g., 2 repetitions) can have an arbitrary overlap in size and location (including no overlap) with time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a second number of repetitions (e.g., 4 repetitions). In another example, time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with different number of repetitions have a “nested” or “scalable” structure, so that, e.g., time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a smaller number of repetitions (e.g., 2 repetitions) is a subset of time/frequency resources for PRACH transmission with a larger number of repetitions (e.g., 4 repetitions)).
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474