DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 claims dependency from itself. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
For the sake of compact prosecution, Examiner will interpret claim 4 as depending from claim 1.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112 first paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beckman, US Patent Application Publication No 2015/0089673.
Regarding claim 1;
An application virtualization system, comprising:
an application repository storing applications, wherein at least one of the applications is associated with a geofence;
See Beckman [0113] An administrator may apply the geolocking or geofencing rule to a plurality of user devices associated with various users using the aforementioned application gateway server computer.
[0036] In some embodiments, applications 150 may be developed within a company and/or externally sourced and stored in application repository 119 accessible by application gateway server computer 111. Applications 150 may be associated with backend systems 131. These server-side components are explained further below.
and a processing circuit comprising at least one processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon, that when executed by the at least one processor cause the processing circuit to:
See Beckman [0011] When an application requests a managed container for content, the managed container, which is embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions executable by a processor on a user device, may operate to determine whether the user device is located outside of a specified geographical location.
See also Figure 1
receive location data from a client device;
See Beckman [0111] In some embodiments, the managed container may determine a current location of the user device by obtaining geographical information from a location service running on the user device, the geographical information containing a current location of the user device.
determine a current location of the client device based on the location data;
See Beckman [0111] In some embodiments, the managed container may determine a current location of the user device by obtaining geographical information from a location service running on the user device, the geographical information containing a current location of the user device.
compare the current location to the geofence of the at least one application;
See Beckman [0112] As described above, the specified geographical location may be provided to the managed container by the application gateway server computer as part of a geolocking or geofencing rule.
[0113] As described above, such a rule may be stored in a managed cache accessible locally by a managed container on a user device, in a data store accessible by the application gateway server computer, or a combination thereof. The managed container may compare the current location of the user device with the specified geographical location to thereby determine whether the user device is within or outside of the specified geographical location.
and provide the at least one application to the client device based on the comparison; wherein the applications are not stored locally on the client device.
See Beckman [0043] In this way, an application gateway server computer can inject new applications directly into a managed container running on a client device and remotely manage (e.g., replace, update, change, repair, remove, etc.) any of the injected applications without going through any intermediary entity such as an online app store, website, or application developer.
[0115] The method described above is driven by where a user device is located and is automatic without requiring an administrator to initiate an action remotely. Since the determination as to whether the user device is within or outside of a specified geographical location is made by a managed container and not the application that is requesting the content, the managed container can perform actions (e.g., deny access to the requested content, restrict access to the requested content, prevent download of the request content, and/or delete the requested content, etc.) relative to the content without knowledge of the code of the application requesting the content, eliminating the complexity of having to deal with various applications (including those developed by third parties and not by the owner of the content) in order to protect the content. Furthermore, this geographical location based method for protect managed content can be useful when the content is used by multiple users and/or multiple applications, providing a one-stop shop or a centralized solution for an enterprise to protect its content regardless of the numbers/types of user devices and/or applications involved.
Regarding claim 2;
The application virtualization system of Claim 1, wherein the applications are mobile applications and the client device is a smartphone.
See Beckman [0065] Embodiments of client devices disclosed herein may operate on various platforms, including desktop, mobile, and web. In some embodiments, applications and components for desktop platforms are written in native binaries or HTML/HTML 5. In some embodiments, applications and components for mobile and web platforms are written in HTML/HTML 5. Accordingly, an application package such as file 500 may be implemented in various ways. For example, in some embodiments, an application package may include an icon, a metadata file, a configuration file, and at least one of a compressed file for a web platform, a compressed file for a mobile platform, or a compressed file for a desktop platform.
[0111] Examples of user devices may include desktop computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones, mobile devices, etc., essentially any computing device that can determine its current location and/or that has a location service
Regarding claim 3;
The application virtualization system of Claim 1, further comprising a user interface configured to: receive geofence data from a user;
See Beckman [0039] In some embodiments, the content of managed cache 124 is managed in accordance with a set of rules. The set of rules may include rules residing at one of more backend systems 131, rules residing at application gateway server computer 111, rules residing at client device 125, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, the set of rules may include at least one of: a data storage rule for controlling storage of the data associated with applications 122 received from application gateway server computer 111, a data policy rule for controlling access to the data associated with applications 122 received from application gateway server computer 111, an application rule for controlling at least one of applications 122 received from application gateway server computer 111, or an update rule for controlling update of the data associated with applications 122 received from application gateway server computer 111.
[0112] As described above, the specified geographical location may be provided to the managed container by the application gateway server computer as part of a geolocking or geofencing rule. In some embodiments, there may also be a precision variable applied to this determination/restriction. For example, a geofencing rule may specify "Waterloo, ON+10 KM outside the city boundaries." This is due to potential accuracy concerns with determining the exact geographical location of a user device, given the technology used by that user device to determine the location.
and create a new geofence associated with one or more of the applications based on the geofence data.
See Beckman [0112] As described above, the specified geographical location may be provided to the managed container by the application gateway server computer as part of a geolocking or geofencing rule. In some embodiments, there may also be a precision variable applied to this determination/restriction. For example, a geofencing rule may specify "Waterloo, ON+10 KM outside the city boundaries." This is due to potential accuracy concerns with determining the exact geographical location of a user device, given the technology used by that user device to determine the location.
[0113] A geographical location according to this disclosure can be big or small. Examples of a geographical location may include a building, an area, a city, a country, etc. An administrator may apply the geolocking or geofencing rule to a plurality of user devices associated with various users using the aforementioned application gateway server computer. As described above, such a rule may be stored in a managed cache accessible locally by a managed container on a user device, in a data store accessible by the application gateway server computer, or a combination thereof. The managed container may compare the current location of the user device with the specified geographical location to thereby determine whether the user device is within or outside of the specified geographical location.
Regarding claim 5;
The application virtualization system of Claim 1, the memory further comprising instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor cause the processing circuit to send data to the client device for storage locally on the client device.
See Beckman [0037] At level 120, managed container 121 operating on client device 125 may include managed cache 124 for storing various applications 122 downloaded/pulled or received/pushed from application gateway server computer 111. All the data, documents, and files associated with applications 122 may be encrypted and stored in managed cache 124. To this end, managed cache 124 can be considered a local application repository that can provide client device 125 with offline access to cached applications 122. In some embodiments, database 126 may be used by managed container 121 to keep track of content stored in managed cache 124.
See also Figure 1
Regarding claim 8;
A mobile device, comprising:
a processing circuit comprising at least one processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon, that when executed by the at least one processor cause the processing circuit to:
See Beckman [0011] When an application requests a managed container for content, the managed container, which is embodied on a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions executable by a processor on a user device, may operate to determine whether the user device is located outside of a specified geographical location.
[0120] Within this disclosure, the term "computer readable medium" is not limited to ROM, RAM, and HD and can include any type of data storage medium that can be read by a processor. For example, a computer-readable medium may refer to a data cartridge, a data backup magnetic tape, a floppy diskette, a flash memory drive, an optical data storage drive, a CD-ROM, ROM, RAM, HD, or the like. The processes described herein may be implemented in suitable computer-executable instructions that may reside on a computer readable medium (for example, a disk, CD-ROM, a memory, etc.).
provide a virtualization application on the mobile device, the virtualization application configured to: generate location data based on one or more received sensor signals;
See Beckman [0005] This disclosure is directed to systems, methods and computer program products for protecting managed content based on geographic locations of user devices. One embodiment of a system may include an application gateway server computer communicatively connected to backend systems and client devices. The backend systems as well as the client devices may operate on different platforms. The application gateway server computer may have application programming interfaces and services configured for communicating with the backend systems and managed containers operating on the client devices.
[0111] In some embodiments, the managed container may determine a current location of the user device by obtaining geographical information from a location service running on the user device, the geographical information containing a current location of the user device.
send location data to an application virtualization system, the location data describing a current location of the mobile device;
See Beckman [0111] In some embodiments, the managed container may determine a current location of the user device by obtaining geographical information from a location service running on the user device, the geographical information containing a current location of the user device.
receive virtualized application data associated with an application stored on the application virtualization system from the application virtualization system,
See Beckman [0046] To support these capabilities, native managed container components 227 may include an application cache for storing applications retrieved or received from application gateway server computer 211, a document cache for storing data associated with the applications, a user interface for providing particular user experience with managed container 221, and a hardware interface for interfacing with the hardware components of client device 225.
wherein the application is associated with a current location of the mobile device;
See Beckman [0111] In some embodiments, the managed container may determine a current location of the user device by obtaining geographical information from a location service running on the user device, the geographical information containing a current location of the user device.
and provide the application to the mobile device;
See Beckman [0038] In some embodiments, managed cache 124 may store the user interface components of applications 122. However, as described below with reference to FIG. 5, not all components of applications 122 are stored in managed cache 124. In some embodiments, when an application is called (i.e., invoked by a user using client device 125 on which the application is installed), managed container 124 may obtain any data, document(s), and/or file(s) that the application needs from a backend system through application gateway server computer 111. This has the benefits of reducing the storage requirement of having applications 122 on client device 125, expediting the network transmission of applications 122, and keeping applications 122 always up-to-date.
wherein the application is not stored locally on the mobile device.
See Beckman [0038] In some embodiments, managed cache 124 may store the user interface components of applications 122. However, as described below with reference to FIG. 5, not all components of applications 122 are stored in managed cache 124. In some embodiments, when an application is called (i.e., invoked by a user using client device 125 on which the application is installed), managed container 124 may obtain any data, document(s), and/or file(s) that the application needs from a backend system through application gateway server computer 111. This has the benefits of reducing the storage requirement of having applications 122 on client device 125, expediting the network transmission of applications 122, and keeping applications 122 always up-to-date.
[0043] In this way, an application gateway server computer can inject new applications directly into a managed container running on a client device and remotely manage (e.g., replace, update, change, repair, remove, etc.) any of the injected applications without going through any intermediary entity such as an online app store, website, or application developer.
[0115] The method described above is driven by where a user device is located and is automatic without requiring an administrator to initiate an action remotely. Since the determination as to whether the user device is within or outside of a specified geographical location is made by a managed container and not the application that is requesting the content, the managed container can perform actions (e.g., deny access to the requested content, restrict access to the requested content, prevent download of the request content, and/or delete the requested content, etc.) relative to the content without knowledge of the code of the application requesting the content, eliminating the complexity of having to deal with various applications (including those developed by third parties and not by the owner of the content) in order to protect the content.
Regarding claim 9;
The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the one or more received sensor signals comprise near field communication (NFC) signals.
See Beckman [0111] There are many ways by which such a location service may obtain the geographical information, including technologies using the Global Positioning System (GPS), assisted GPS, synthetic GPS, cellular identifiers (Cell ID), Wi-Fi, inertial sensors, barometers, near-field communication (NFC), bluetooth beacons, radio-frequency identification (RFID), and terrestrial transmitters, etc.
Regarding claim 10;
The mobile device of claim 8, wherein providing the application to the mobile device includes running the application remotely on the application virtualization system and displaying a user interface associated with the application on the mobile device.
See Beckman [0115] The method described above is driven by where a user device is located and is automatic without requiring an administrator to initiate an action remotely. Since the determination as to whether the user device is within or outside of a specified geographical location is made by a managed container and not the application that is requesting the content, the managed container can perform actions (e.g., deny access to the requested content, restrict access to the requested content, prevent download of the request content, and/or delete the requested content, etc.) relative to the content without knowledge of the code of the application requesting the content, eliminating the complexity of having to deal with various applications (including those developed by third parties and not by the owner of the content) in order to protect the content.
[0066] As described above with reference to FIG. 5, at this point, the application stored in the managed cache of the managed container may comprise an icon, a manifest file, and some application data, sufficient for displaying the application within a user interface of the managed container, indicating to a user of the client device that the application is ready for use
Regarding claim 11;
The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the virtualization application receives data from the application virtualization system for storage on the mobile device.
See Beckman [0066] Referring to FIG. 4, the managed container running on the client device may provide a secure shell (SSH) for the application retrieve/received from the application gateway server computer (415). As those skilled in the art will appreciate, SSH refers to a cryptographic network protocol for secure data communication. SSH supports remote command execution, command-line login, and other secure network services. SSH enables the managed container to connect to the application gateway server computer via a secure channel over an insecure network. Once received, the managed container may extract the application (e.g., from file 500 shown in FIG. 5) and store the application and associated application data in its managed cache (420). As described above with reference to FIG. 5, at this point, the application stored in the managed cache of the managed container may comprise an icon, a manifest file, and some application data, sufficient for displaying the application within a user interface of the managed container, indicating to a user of the client device that the application is ready for use. In embodiments disclosed herein, the managed container controls the managed cache in accordance with a set of rules propagated from at least one of the backend systems to the managed container via the application gateway server computer (425).
Regarding claim 12;
The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the virtualization application is configured to provide multiple applications to the mobile device at the same time.
See Beckman [0067] Thus, embodiments of a managed container can be downloaded and installed on a client device and provides a secure runtime shell within which managed applications can be run on the client device.
Regarding claim 13;
The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the virtualization application is further configured to provide real time location data to the application virtualization system.
See Beckman [0126] For example, a processor can perform its functions in "real-time," "offline," in a "batch mode," etc. Portions of processing can be performed at different times and at different locations, by different (or the same) processing systems.
[0111] In some embodiments, the managed container may determine a current location of the user device by obtaining geographical information from a location service running on the user device, the geographical information containing a current location of the user device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above, and further in view of Seehan, US Patent Application Publication No 2017/0046665.
Regarding claim 4;
Beckman teaches:
The application virtualization system of Claim 4, wherein the user interface is further configured to: and create a new geofence based on the data.
See Beckman [0112] As described above, the specified geographical location may be provided to the managed container by the application gateway server computer as part of a geolocking or geofencing rule. In some embodiments, there may also be a precision variable applied to this determination/restriction. For example, a geofencing rule may specify "Waterloo, ON+10 KM outside the city boundaries." This is due to potential accuracy concerns with determining the exact geographical location of a user device, given the technology used by that user device to determine the location.
[0113] A geographical location according to this disclosure can be big or small. Examples of a geographical location may include a building, an area, a city, a country, etc. An administrator may apply the geolocking or geofencing rule to a plurality of user devices associated with various users using the aforementioned application gateway server computer. As described above, such a rule may be stored in a managed cache accessible locally by a managed container on a user device, in a data store accessible by the application gateway server computer, or a combination thereof. The managed container may compare the current location of the user device with the specified geographical location to thereby determine whether the user device is within or outside of the specified geographical location.
Beckman does not teach:
The application virtualization system of Claim 4, wherein the user interface is further configured to: receive from the user preapproved spending data indicating an area where purchases having a first set of attributes are preapproved;
and create a new preapproved spending geofence based on the preapproved spending data.
However, Seehan does teach:
The application virtualization system of Claim 4, wherein the user interface is further configured to: receive from the user preapproved spending data indicating an area where purchases having a first set of attributes are preapproved;
See Seehan [0064] Upon approval, the software application 120 may update the card processor's database 130 to reflect specific purchase parameters (e.g., card status, transaction categories, geo-fence coordinates, time frame for purchase, and individual transaction maximum amount).
[0077] While embodiments of the present disclosure are described from the context of a purchase made at a point of sale, it should be understood that embodiments may further be utilized in a similar fashion as a payment method for, for example, an e-commerce merchant. FIGS. 3A, 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E illustrate interfaces 300A, 300B, 300C, 300D, and 300E, respectively, for receiving purchase request information. Upon receipt of a selection of a “New Request,” (e.g., when the requestor presses the “New Request” button 305), the platform may provide the requestor with a plurality of input prompts 310, to input purchase request information (‘transactional information’) such as, for example, but not limited to, price, merchant/store, geo-fence coordinates, transaction category, date/time limitations of purchase, a photo of the item(s) for purchase, to whom approval should be sent, and comments.
[0120] Embodiments of the present disclosure may enable a requestor to request permission to purchase an item via platform 100. The request may include various parameters associated with the item. Such parameters may include card status, geo-fence coordinates, time frame for purchase, individual transaction amount, product code, etc.
and create a new preapproved spending geofence based on the preapproved spending data.
See Seehan [0051] The platform may then enable, for example, a purchase in an amount up to the approved amount at the approved store, on the approved date and time. Accordingly, embodiments of the present disclosure may cause the card to be activated or deactivated for purchasing within the scope of the purchase details or applying a restriction thereto.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the geofence of the combined references, the ability to define the geofence and associated rules as taught by Seehan since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additional motivation includes allowing for a geofence can increase the security of the underlying transaction.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman as applied to claims 1-3 and 5 above, and further in view of Carlson, US Patent Application Publication No 2013/0191195.
Regarding claim 6;
Beckman does not teach:
The application virtualization system of Claim 1, the memory further comprising instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor cause the processing circuit to receive real time location data from the client device.
However, Carlson does teach:
The application virtualization system of Claim 1, the memory further comprising instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor cause the processing circuit to receive real time location data from the client device.
See Carlson [0044] In one embodiment, a user interface is provided to present offers via icons displayed near the location of the user on a map. In one embodiment, the location of the user is the real-time location of a mobile device of the user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the location data of the combined references, the ability to receive real time data as taught by Carlson since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additional motivation includes real time data allows for a more accurate location analysis.
Regarding claim 7;
Beckman does not teach:
The application virtualization system of Claim 6, the memory further comprising instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor cause the processing circuit to store the real time location data in a database and provide the real time location data to a third party.
However, Carlson does teach:
The application virtualization system of Claim 6, the memory further comprising instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor cause the processing circuit to store the real time location data in a database and provide the real time location data to a third party.
See Carlson [0048] In one embodiment, a data warehouse (149) as illustrated in FIG. 4 is coupled with the transaction handler (103) to store the transaction data (109) and other data, such as account data (111), transaction profiles (127) and correlation results (123). In FIG. 4, a portal (143) is coupled with the data warehouse (149) to provide data or information derived from the transaction data (109), in response to a query request from a third party or as an alert or notification message.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the location data of the combined references, the ability to store the data and share with third parties as taught by Carlson since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additional motivation includes providing the data to third parties allows for additional users to access the data.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grana, US Patent Application Publication No 2007/0244750 in view of Beckman, US Patent Application Publication No 2015/0089673.
Regarding claim 14;
Grannan teaches:
An application virtualization system, comprising:
an application virtualizer configured to provide an application to a client device based on a physical location of the client device;
See Grana [0036] In another particular embodiment the data structure further includes a plurality of advertisement fields for storing data for an advertisements for sending to a third subscriber access device. In another particular embodiment the data structure further includes a retail store layout field for storing data indicating a merchant physical location layout for locating in a merchant physical location a product in the product category of the advertisement sent to the third subscriber access device.
[0057] Later when Susan is walking through the local mall to finish her other shopping, she receives a targeted text advertisement on her cell phone from the AKMS for the local book store indicating a discount sale on children's books. Hopefully, based on her response to the targeted advertisement to her cell phone, Susan impulsively walks into the store and makes a purchase. A participating merchant may report her purchase to a digital purchase history in the AKMS (or it may be obtained from the eWallet transaction from the service provider). The AKMS will reflect this in her product interest correlation score in this product category. The targeted advertisement Susan received on her cell phone was based on her historic surfing/shopping behavior combined with Susan's presence in a certain location that is close to a merchant selling products in which she is interested determined by her surfing/shopping behavior. Moreover, the purchase of the product and recording of that purchase transaction within the AKMS now reduces or blocks her product interest correlation score for that book--but it likely increases Susan's product interest correlation score for additional products related to the same book. The AKMS is able to interpret such new product interests in order to provide future targeted advertising opportunities to Susan for related products in related product categories.
and a third party interface configured to:
receive third party data, the third party data describing a physical interaction associated with a user of the client device at the physical location;
See Grannan [0062]. The subscriber's location can be tracked by global positioning system (GPS), cell tower proximity or triangulation or WiFi hot spot proximity based on the user's cell phone, laptop computer or other access device and factored into the bid price by the advertiser. Alternatively, the user's current location, activity, and correlation scores for product categories may be used to select and queue up an advertisement for delivery later through a different access device. For example, a merchant who is in the vicinity of a subscriber's recent location may choose to send a 30-second television commercial, which cannot be accommodated on the subscriber's current portable access device. The commercial can be queued for delivery once the subscriber is at home watching television rather than immediately sending an advertisement to the subscriber's cell phone.
and update the application provided to the client device based on the third party data.
See Grannan [0106] Alternatively, some information may be obtained in non real time--examples include data feeds from third party access networks, or perhaps a transaction log from another service (e.g. phone calling log) that is not capable of providing information in real time.
[0062] For example, a merchant who is in the vicinity of a subscriber's recent location may choose to send a 30-second television commercial, which cannot be accommodated on the subscriber's current portable access device. The commercial can be queued for delivery once the subscriber is at home watching television rather than immediately sending an advertisement to the subscriber's cell phone.
Grannan does not teach:
wherein the application is not installed on the client device;
Beckman teaches:
wherein the application is not installed on the client device;
See Beckman [0043] In this way, an application gateway server computer can inject new applications directly into a managed container running on a client device and remotely manage (e.g., replace, update, change, repair, remove, etc.) any of the injected applications without going through any intermediary entity such as an online app store, website, or application developer.
[0115] The method described above is driven by where a user device is located and is automatic without requiring an administrator to initiate an action remotely. Since the determination as to whether the user device is within or outside of a specified geographical location is made by a managed container and not the application that is requesting the content, the managed container can perform actions (e.g., deny access to the requested content, restrict access to the requested content, prevent download of the request content, and/or delete the requested content, etc.) relative to the content without knowledge of the code of the application requesting the content, eliminating the complexity of having to deal with various applications (including those developed by third parties and not by the owner of the content) in order to protect the content. Furthermore, this geographical location based method for protect managed content can be useful when the content is used by multiple users and/or multiple applications, providing a one-stop shop or a centralized solution for an enterprise to protect its content regardless of the numbers/types of user devices and/or applications involved.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include in the primary reference the ability to have the application not be installed on a client device as taught by Beckman since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additional motivation includes providing an application from the web allows for greater usability of the invention.
Regarding claim 15;
The application virtualization system of claim 14, wherein the third party data is inventory data and updating the application includes displaying the inventory data on the client device.
See Grannan [0113] Turning now to FIG. 8, FIG. 8 illustrates a data structure for storing targeted advertising data intended for a subscriber in memory… Store (a physical merchant location) layout, driving directions, and store product inventory data are stored in a location field 812.
[0068] Targeted advertisement data can be sent to a subscriber access device, e.g., cell phone, PC or IPTV receiver. The advertisement can include a menu button for selection by an access device to see if a product is in stock and where the product is located in a store having a product in stock. The location of the product in the store can be based on the product uniform product code (UPC) data and digital store inventory data provided by the advertiser.
Regarding claim 16;
The application virtualization system of claim 14, wherein the third party data is point of sale data and updating the application includes completing a transaction on the client device.
See Grannan [0068] Targeted advertisement data can be sent to a subscriber access device, e.g., cell phone, PC or IPTV receiver. The advertisement can include a menu button for selection by an access device to see if a product is in stock and where the product is located in a store having a product in stock. The location of the product in the store can be based on the product uniform product code (UPC) data and digital store inventory data provided by the advertiser. Coupons for the product can be sent along with the advertisement which can be displayed at the store or can be represented by a coupon code sent to the access device that can be presented at the time of purchase to validate the coupon and receive a discounted price or other offer associated with the coupon and advertisement.
Regarding claim 17;
The application virtualization system of claim 14, wherein the third party data is an advertisement associated with the physical location of the client device and updating the application includes displaying the advertisement.
See Grannan [0068] Targeted advertisement data can be sent to a subscriber access device, e.g., cell phone, PC or IPTV receiver. The advertisement can include a menu button for selection by an access device to see if a product is in stock and where the product is located in a store having a product in stock. The location of the product in the store can be based on the product uniform product code (UPC) data and digital store inventory data provided by the advertiser. Coupons for the product can be sent along with the advertisement which can be displayed at the store or can be represented by a coupon code sent to the access device that can be presented at the time of purchase to validate the coupon and receive a discounted price or other offer associated with the coupon and advertisement.
Regarding claim 18;
The application virtualization system of claim 14, wherein the third party data is a webpage and updating the application includes displaying the webpage on the client device.
See Grannan [0099] In the case where the subscriber accesses a web page, content, or an IP-based service from any access device including personal computer (PC), IPTV set top box (STB), cell phone, etc. an event record detailing what the subscriber accessed from their access device is created.
[0068] Targeted advertisement data can be sent to a subscriber access device, e.g., cell phone, PC or IPTV receiver. The advertisement can include a menu button for selection by an access device to see if a product is in stock and where the product is located in a store having a product in stock. The location of the product in the store can be based on the product uniform product code (UPC) data and digital store inventory data provided by the advertiser. Coupons for the product can be sent along with the advertisement which can be displayed at the store or can be represented by a coupon code sent to the access device that can be presented at the time of purchase to validate the coupon and receive a discounted price or other offer associated with the coupon and advertisement. The subscriber may also have the option of completing the purchase digitally using the eWallet, so the item is ready for pick-up at the retail outlet when they arrive. In such an instance the subscriber's user eWallet and digital purchase history 216 in the AKMS would be updated accordingly. The digital purchase history includes eWallet purchases, subscriber purchases reported by merchants or monitored by the Internet profiling process and purchase information imported from another network.
Regarding claim 19;
The application virtualization system of claim 14, wherein the third party data is product information associated with a product associated with the physical interaction and updating the application includes displaying the product information on the client device.
See Grannan [0068] Targeted advertisement data can be sent to a subscriber access device, e.g., cell phone, PC or IPTV receiver. The advertisement can include a menu button for selection by an access device to see if a product is in stock and where the product is located in a store having a product in stock. The location of the product in the store can be based on the product uniform product code (UPC) data and digital store inventory data provided by the advertiser. Coupons for the product can be sent along with the advertisement which can be displayed at the store or can be represented by a coupon code sent to the access device that can be presented at the time of purchase to validate the coupon and receive a discounted price or other offer associated with the coupon and advertisement.
Regarding claim 20;
The application virtualization system of claim 14, wherein the third party data is an item selection associated with the physical interaction and updating the application includes adding the item to an online shopping cart on the client device.
See Grannan [0068] The subscriber may also have the option of completing the purchase digitally using the eWallet, so the item is ready for pick-up at the retail outlet when they arrive. In such an instance the subscriber's user eWallet and digital purchase history 216 in the AKMS would be updated accordingly. The digital purchase history includes eWallet purchases, subscriber purchases reported by merchants or monitored by the Internet profiling process and purchase information imported from another network.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J. WARDEN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3694
/BENNETT M SIGMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3694