Claim Interpretation
During patent examination, pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111; See also, MPEP 2173.02. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also, In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow”). The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed. An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to consider fully the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN.
Preliminary Amendment
On October 28. 2024 and Amendment was filed to the claims.
The Application had been filed on August 8, 2024, with 105 claims.
Upon entry of the Preliminary Amendment, claims 3, 6, 8, 9, 1, 16, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 37, 45, 48, 50, 51, 53, and 58, were amended; claims 4, 5, 7, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15,17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 25, 26, 28, 31, 33, 34, 35, 36, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 46, 47, 49, 52, 54, 55, 56, 57, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64-105, were cancelled.
Therefore, the claims that remain pending are: 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 9, 11, 16, 22, 23, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 37, 43, 44, 45, 48, 50, 51, 53, and 58.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 22, 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by "Morphology Tutorials Materials Studio 2017" Author not known (hereinafter Morphology), Supplied in International Search Report., PCT/US2024/041420.
With regards to claim 1, Morphology discloses:
(Original) A computer-implemented method, comprising: at a display device:
displaying, via the display device, a first user interface corresponding to one or more molecules (see, detailed description, including, p. 455, section "Introduction", §1 ("This tutorial shows how to perform a polymorph search on 4-amidinoindanone guanylhydrazone (AIGH). Four possible conformations for the AIGH molecule were obtained in the Predicting a polymorphic form of a potential anti-cancer drug - Conformational analysis tutorial. This tutorial shows how to perform a polymorph search on 4- amidinoindanone guanylhydrazone (AIGH). Four possible conformations for the AIGH molecule were obtained in the Predicting a polymorphic form of a potential anti-cancer drug - Conformational analysis tutorial") together with p. 455, penultimate § (" Select the file AIGH-mol_in_MinA.xsd and click the Open button") discloses a graphical user interface ("click the open button") corresponding to one or more molecules, i.e. 4-amidinoindanone guanylhydrazone (AIGH)" and our conformation thereof);
receiving, via the display device, one or more first user inputs associated with the one or more molecules, wherein the one or more first user inputs comprise selecting a subset of the one or more molecules (see, detailed description, including, p. 454, §2 ("Make aigh_in_minA.xsd the active document. Click the Polymorph button on the toolbar and choose Calculation from the dropdown list to open the Polymorph Calculation dialog. On the Setup tab, if the motion group is not defined click the Assign automatically button. Change the Quality to Fine.) discloses selecting a subset of the one or more molecules by a user input); and
in response to selecting the subset of the one or more molecules, displaying, via the display device, a second user interface corresponding to a form map associated with the subset of the one or more molecules (see, detailed description, including, p. 457, §3 ("All of the frames in the trajectory file are now displayed in a study table named Polymorph Analysis.st The study table provides you with detailed information about each potential polymorph, including crystal Structures (column A), Frame number (column B, the lower the frame number the lower the total energy for the structure), Space group (column C), Cell Volume (column D), Density (column E) and Total energy (column F), the contribution of van der Waals (column G), Electrostatic (column H), and H-bond energy (column I) to the non-bond energy, and the cell parameters (columns J-O)."), wherein the "study table provid[ing detailed information about each potential polymorph" is a second user interface corresponding to a form map associated with the subset of the one or more molecules. Note that the "total energies" of each polymorph give information about possible interconversions of the polymorphs).
With regard to claim 22, claim 22 (a system claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1 (a method claim) and with a display device, and at least one computer hardware processor, and at least one non-transitory computer-readable memory (introduction, p. 455); is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 43, claim 43 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 22 (a system claim) and with a display device, and at least one computer hardware processor, and at least one non-transitory computer-readable memory (introduction, p. 455); is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 23, 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morphology in view of Pharmaceutical Solid-state Forms April 29, 2023 (hereinafter Pharmaceutical) author not known, downloaded from. www.crystalparmatech.com Supplied in International Search Report., PCT/US2024/041420.
With regard to claim 2, Morphology fails to explicitly disclose:
Claim 2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the form map compromises one or more form icons, each of the one or more form icons corresponding to at least one form associated with the subset of the one or more molecules.
Pharmaceutical discloses:
wherein the form map compromises one or more form icons, each of the one or more form icons corresponding to at least one form associated with the subset of the one or more molecules (see, detailed description, including, the technical effect provided by said distinguishing features is to provide an alternative method for visualizing a map of the different forms of a solid compound (Pharmaceutical p.2, Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed, and having the teachings of Pharmaceutical with Morphology before her, to be motivated to combine the features from Pharmaceutical, with Morphology, including, wherein the form map compromises one or more form icons, each of the one or more form icons corresponding to at least one form associated with the subset of the one or more molecules (see, detailed description, including, the technical effect provided by said distinguishing features is to provide an alternative method for visualizing a map of the different forms of a solid compound (Pharmaceutical p.2, Figure 3).
Therefore, a rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art1.
With regard to claim 23, claim 23 (a system claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 2 (a method claim) and with a display device, and at least one computer hardware processor, and at least one non-transitory computer-readable memory (introduction, p. 455); is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
With regard to claim 44, claim 44 (a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim) recites substantially similar limitations to claim 23 (a system claim) and with a display device, and at least one computer hardware processor, and at least one non-transitory computer-readable memory (introduction, p. 455); is therefore rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 8, 9, 11, 16, 24, 27, 29, 30, 32, 37, 45, 48, 50, 51, 53, 58 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
A sampling of the prior art made of record and not relied upon and considered
pertinent to Applicants’ disclosure includes: Singer et al., The polymorph landscape of dabigatran etexilate mesylate Eur. J. Pharm. Sci., 186:106447 (2023). (in previous Information disclosure Statement).
Conclusion
WILLIAM D. TITCOMB
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/WILLIAM D TITCOMB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178 11-3-2026
1 1 KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385 (2007).