Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang US20240310488.
Regarding independent claim 1, Zhang discloses, in Figures 3, 7, and 11,
An optical package structure (Zhang; Fig. 3) for a LIDAR (Zhang; Fig. 3; lidar 3), comprising: a housing (Zhang; the assembly of housing 31, first housing 313, second housing 314, and functional board/housing 35; Fig. 8 shows functional board 35 is part of housing 313 since the components are coupled by a fastener/screw); a laser transceiver component arranged in the housing and for emitting a laser (Zhang; emitting component 32) and receiving for detection (Zhang; receiving component 33); a temperature control component (Zhang; second heat dissipation hole 3322) arranged in the housing and connected to the laser transceiver component; and a conduction circuit board (Zhang; Fig. 7; transferring board 39 is arranged on functional board/housing 35; [0099]) arranged on the housing and for electrically connecting to an external circuit board (Zhang; Fig. 11; flexible circuit board 36; [0118]; flexible circuit board 36 is external to the emitting component 32), the conduction circuit board is electrically connected to the laser transceiver component (Zhang; Fig. 3 and 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US20240310488 in view of Braley US20230152429.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The optical package structure for the LIDAR according to claim 1, wherein a side of the conduction circuit board facing the outside (Zhang; Fig. 7; transferring board 39 is arranged on functional board/housing 35; [0099]).
Zhang is silent regarding wherein a plurality of ball grid array solder balls are provided on a side of the conduction circuit board facing the outside.
Braley teaches a plurality of ball grid array solder balls are provided on a side of the conduction circuit board (Braley; [0071] conventional solder BGA for connecting electrical components together such as first substrate 410 to circuit board 490 of lidar 400).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the conduction circuit board mounting as taught by Zhang to include BGA as taught by Braley for the purpose of providing a reliable and conventional electrical coupling means (Braley; [0071] conventional solder BGA for connecting electrical components together such as first substrate 410 to circuit board 490 of lidar 400).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin US20200285008 teaches a thermoelectric cooler TEC 241.
Yeh US20220163636 teaches a TEC 504, a heatsink 506, and a PCB 308 for lidar.
Yamada US20220104344 teaches a list of various cooling methods.
Xu CN110958817 teaches Peltier heat dissipation.
Qin CN221281214 teaches a conduction circuit board.
Amano JP2010225919 teaches a heat conductive member 6.
Qin US20250102632 teaches a flexible electrical connector.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 9/18/26