DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 5 and 12 are not ended with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "said guide sleeve" and claim 19 depends on claim 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes et al. [US20210213337], hereinafter Hughes.
Regarding claim 1, Hughes discloses a portable basketball goal assembly, comprising;
a base; a pole assembly supported by said base, said pole assembly having a first pole section and a second pole section in a telescopic arrangement (Figs. 1 and 2, abstract, “An inner pole is telescopically arranged within the outer support pole”);
a height adjustment mechanism having a threaded shaft (Figs 3 and 4, [0052], “Worm gear 126 is longitudinally arranged within actuator 130 with a base of worm gear 126 mounted adjacent a lower end 131 of outer housing 132”), a gearbox for turning said threaded shaft, and a turnbuckle frame that engages said threaded shaft, wherein said turnbuckle frame moves in relation to said gearbox as said threaded shaft turns ([0049], “When handle shaft 106 rotates, it correspondingly rotates handle shaft gear 108. Handle shaft gear 108 is engaged with and drives upper drive shaft gear 110” and [0050], “Upper drive shaft gear 110 is mounted to an upper end of drive shaft 112. Drive shaft 112 extends downward and may be substantially perpendicular to handle shaft 106. Lower drive shaft gear 114 is mounted to a lower end of drive shaft 112 so that lower drive shaft gear 114 rotates with drive shaft 112. The lower drive shaft gear 114 engages and drives drive coupling gear 116… Drive coupling gear 116 is mounted on an outer end of coupling shaft 118” and [0051], “Coupling shaft 118 may extend into the interior of outer pole 80. Worm coupling gear 120 is mounted to an inner end of coupling shaft 118. As coupling shaft 118 rotates it causes worm coupling gear 120 to rotate. Worm coupling gear 120 engages and drives a worm drive gear 122 of actuator 130”),
wherein said gearbox is affixed to said first pole section inside of said first pole section (Fig. 2), and wherein said turnbuckle frame is affixed to said second pole section inside of said second pole section (Fig. 3, actuator 130 is inside second pole section 90 and [0052], “Actuator 130 is arranged between and controls the vertical telescoping movement of inner pole 90 relative to outer pole 80. In the illustrated embodiment, actuator 130 is in the form of a worm gear driven vertical piston”); a backboard affixed to said second pole section (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Hughes discloses the assembly according to claim 1, further including a hole in said first pole section for accessing said gearbox and a crank handle sized to pass into said hole to engage and selectively power said gearbox (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Hughes discloses the assembly according to claim 1, further including a guide sleeve disposed between at least parts of said first pole section and said second pole section to inhibit water from passing between said first pole section and said second pole section ([0101], “As illustrated in exploded views in FIGS. 25A and 25B, in certain embodiments, the framing assembly/liner is a rectangular sleeve extending around at least a portion of all four sides or a majority of the inner pole 90. More specifically, the framing assembly can be arranged using a C-shaped sleeve 380 which is mounted within the outer support pole and which extends vertically along the inner walls of the outer support pole. The C-shaped sleeve 380 may be made from one sheet of material and bent into the shape of the letter “C”. C-shaped sleeve 380 may incorporate portions which form U-shaped sections. C-shaped sleeve 380 may be substituted as the framing arrangement in the embodiments disclosed as an alternative to U-shaped beams 180”).
Regarding claim 4, Hughes discloses the assembly according to claim 3, wherein said guide sleeve prevents said first pole section from rotating relative to said second pole section ([0110], “During travel of inner pole 90, tracking blocks 190 vertically slide along the surfaces of the C-shaped sleeve 380 providing a rigid lateral alignment yet allowing vertical translation”).
Regarding claim 5, Hughes discloses the assembly according to claim 1, wherein said gearbox is a right-angle gearbox (Figs. 2 and 39).
Regarding claim 6, Hughes discloses the assembly according to claim 1, further including a bracket that attaches said backboard to said second pole section of said pole assembly ([0045], “A backboard assembly 30 with a backboard panel 31 and rim assembly 200 may be secured to a backboard end 68 of support arm 60”).
Regarding claims 8-13, please refer to the claim rejections of claims 1-6.
Regarding claims 16-20, please refer to the claim rejection of claim 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes, in view of Van Nimwegen et al. [US5573237], hereinafter Van Nimwegen.
Regarding claim 7, Hughes discloses the assembly according to claim 1. However, Hughes does not explicitly disclose wherein said pole assembly includes a third pole section that is mounted to said base, wherein said third pole section interconnects with said first pole section.
Nevertheless, Van Nimwegen teaches in a like invention, said pole assembly includes a third pole section that is mounted to said base, wherein said third pole section interconnects with said first pole section (Fig. 1, col. 7, lines 23 – 25, “the outer pole section 50 includes a base pole section 60 and a middle pole section 80”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the assembly, as disclosed by Hughes, to have the third pole section that is mounted to said base, wherein said third pole section interconnects with said first pole section, as taught by Van Nimwegen, in order to make each the length for each pole section suitable for portable purpose.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, please refer to the claim rejection of claim 7.
Conclusion
/YINGCHUAN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711