DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 USC 103 over Sun in view of Zhang. The amendments filed on 8/21/2026 have been entered. No new matter has been added. The arguments filed on 8/21/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The office has now successfully retrieved the priority documents. This rejection is final.
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed on 8/21/2026 have been entered. No new matter has been added.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed on 8/21/2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Sun in view of Zhang fails to obviously teach all the limitations of claim 1.
To support this argument, applicant first argues that the combination omits essential structure of Zhang and thus renders Zhang unfit for “its core invention objective” (applicant remarks section 2.1). This is not persuasive because the intended use of Zhang does not limit how it might be used as a teaching to modify Sun. A phosita can look at the structure of Zhang, and apply its teachings to Sun without importing the intended use of Zhang. This is supported by MPEP 2143.01 which states that the primary reference cannot be rendered inoperable for its intended purpose. Thus, the argument of section 2.1 is not persuasive.
In further support, applicant argues that the structure of Zhang has “inherent mechanical defects” (applicant remarks section 2.2) and the applicant’s invention “provides superior and unanticipated performance” (applicant remarks section 2.3). Applicant then goes on to explain the relative disadvantages of Zhang’s sliding sleeve design in comparison to the applicant’s invention. This is not persuasive for three reasons. First, various structures discussed in these remarks were not used to modify Sun, such as the first linkage sliding sleeve discussed in section 2.2.1. Second, applicant does not claim “a pure hinged-joint truss system” (emphasis in original, applicant remarks section 2.3). Instead, applicant claims specific hinged joints which are taught by Sun in view of Zhang, as set forth in the obviousness rejection below. Third, whether a claim is obvious or not entails the scope of the claim limitations not the advantages and disadvantages of unclaimed structure. Thus, for an argument to be persuasive, it needs to touch on why Sun in view of Zhang fails to obviously teach all the limitations of claim 1.
Finally, applicant argues that there is no proper motivation to combine Sun and Zhang (applicant remarks section 3). In claim 1, Zhang is used to modify Sun twice. The first modification is supported by the motivation “the support bar and horizontal bar increase the strength of the structure while still enabling it to fold” (see this office action and the previous office action’s 103 rejection to claim 1). The second modification is supported by the motivation “having two sets of X-shaped hinged bars increases the possible size that the trolley frame can be made at and still be mechanically strong” (see this office action’s 103 rejection to claim 1 and the previous office action’s 103 rejection to claim 2). Neither of these motivations are addressed by the applicant’s remarks. Instead, the applicant suggests different motivations and different combinations than those made by either this or the previous office action. Thus, these arguments are not persuasive because they fail to address the motivations to combine presented.
Applicant then simply states that the structures of dependent claims 2-6 are not taught by Sun in view of Zhang which is not persuasive because Sun in view of Zhang does teach the structures of dependent claims 2-6 as set in the obviousness rejections below.
Priority
The priority claim to CN2023222596435 filed on 8/22/2023 is acknowledged. The office has now successfully retrieved the priority documents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 10953904 B1) in view of Zhang (US 10633010 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a trolley frame, comprising four wheel carriers provided with roller wheels at lower ends (3 “two front wheel carrier assemblies,” and 8 “two rear wheel carrier assemblies,” taught in figure 6), wherein bottoms of the wheel carriers are connected by a bottom folding stand (taught by figure 6);
every two adjacent wheel carriers along a frame width direction are connected by an end folding stand (9 “front wall assembly,” and 91 “rear wall assembly,” taught by figure 6);
every two adjacent wheel carriers along a frame length direction are connected by a side folding stand (5 “two side wall assemblies” taught by figure 6);
the side folding stand comprises at least two first X-shaped linkage assemblies (taught by figure 6);
two ends of a lower part of the first X-shaped linkage assembly are respectively hinged to the bottom of the wheel carrier (taught by figure 6), and of two ends of an upper part of the first X-shaped linkage assembly, one close to the wheel carrier is hinged with one end of a first horizontal bar (28 “horizontal tubes” taught by figure 28), and the other close to the support bar is hinged with one end of a second horizontal bar (28 “horizontal tubes” taught by figure 28);
the other end of the first horizontal bar is hinged with a top of the wheel carrier (taught by figure 6).
However, Sun does not teach that the side folding stand comprises a support bar, the support bar being arranged between the two first X-shaped linkage assemblies, and a lower end of the support bar being hinged to the bottom folding stand;
two ends of a lower part of the first X-shaped linkage assembly are respectively hinged to a bottom of the support bar, and the other end of the second horizontal bar is hinged with a top of the support bar.
Zhang teaches the side folding stand comprises a support bar (6 “folding driving pipes” taught in figure 1), the support bar being arranged between the two first X-shaped linkage assemblies (taught by figure 1), and a lower end of the support bar being hinged to the bottom folding stand (taught by figure 1);
two ends of a lower part of the first X-shaped linkage assembly are respectively hinged to a bottom of the support bar (taught by figure 1), and the other end of the second horizontal bar is hinged with a top of the support bar (9 “horizontal connecting pipes” taught by figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the X-shaped linkage assembly of Sun to include the second horizontal bar and support bar of Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the support bar and horizontal bar increase the strength of the structure while still enabling it to fold.
However, Sun does not teach wherein the bottom folding stand comprises two sets of X-shaped hinged bars, two sides of the lower end of the support bar are respectively provided with connecting lugs, the two sets of X-shaped hinged bars are respectively hinged to the bottoms of the two wheel carriers and to the connecting lugs on the two sides
Zhang teaches wherein the bottom folding stand comprises two sets of X-shaped hinged bars (taught by figure 5), two sides of the lower end of the support bar are respectively provided with connecting lugs (taught by Zhang element 14 “second linkage sliding sleeve” in figure 5), the two sets of X-shaped hinged bars are respectively hinged to the bottoms of the two wheel carriers and to the connecting lugs on the two sides (taught by figures 1-2, and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the single set of X-shaped hinged bars of Sun to be two sets of X-shaped hinged bars as taught by Zhang, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because having two sets of X-shaped hinged bars increases the possible size that the trolley frame can be made at and still be mechanically strong.
Regarding claim 2, Sun in view of Zhang teaches the trolley frame according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above.
Sun in view of Zhang also teaches wherein each set of X-shaped hinged bars comprising a middle connecting member (Zhang 13 “bottom connecting piece” taught in figure 5) and four fulcrum bars (Zhang 12 “bottom connecting pipes” taught in figure 5), and one end of each of the fulcrum bars being hinged to the middle connecting member (taught by Zhang figure 5);
wherein the other ends of two of the fulcrum bars are respectively hinged to the bottoms of the two wheel carriers, and the other ends of the other two fulcrum bars are respectively hinged to the lower ends of the two support bars (taught by Zhang figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sun in view of Zhang teaches the trolley frame according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above.
Sun in view of Zhang also teaches wherein the fulcrum bars of the two sets of X-shaped hinged bars are respectively hinged to the two engaging lugs (taught by Zhang figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Sun in view of Zhang teaches the trolley frame according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above.
Sun in view of Zhang also teaches wherein the first X-shaped linkage assembly comprises a first link (taught by Sun element 31 “long side tube” in figure 28) and a second link (taught by Sun element 30 “short side tube” in figure 28), and the first link and the second link are crossed and hinged (taught by Sun figure 28);
one end of the first link is hinged to the bottom of the wheel carrier (taught by Sun figure 1), and the other end is hinged with the second horizontal bar (taught by Zhang figure 1); and
one end of the second link is hinged with the first horizontal bar (taught by Sun figure 1), and the other end is hinged with a lower part of the support bar (taught by Zhang figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Sun in view of Zhang teaches the trolley frame according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above.
Sun also teaches wherein the end folding stand comprises two third horizontal bars and at least one second X-shaped linkage assembly (taught by figures 4-7),
two ends of a lower part of the second X-shaped linkage assembly being respectively hinged to two of the wheel carriers (taught by figures 4-7), and
two ends of an upper part of the second X-shaped linkage assembly being respectively hinged with one end of each of the two third horizontal bars (taught by figures 4-7); and
the other ends of the two third horizontal bars are respectively hinged to the two wheel carriers adjacent thereto (taught by figures 4-7).
Regarding claim 6, Sun in view of Zhang teaches the trolley frame according to claim 5, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above.
Sun also teaches wherein the second X-shaped linkage assembly comprises a third link and a fourth link (33 “two front tubes” taught by figures 4-7, and 30), and the third link and the fourth link are crossed and hinged (taught by figures 4-7);
a lower end of the third link and a lower end of the fourth link are respectively hinged to the lower parts of two of the wheel carriers (taught by figures 4-7); and
an upper end of the third link and an upper end of the fourth link are respectively hinged with ends of the two third horizontal bars (taught by figures 4-7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS R. KANDAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613