2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
5. Claim Status: Claims 1-11 & 21-29 are pending. Claims 12-20 are cancelled.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 & 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al (Pub No. 2024/0056201) and further in view of Raghavan et al (Pub No. 2022/0255600).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh et al discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting device using an active antenna array system (AAS) architecture (Para. 53: Device 100b with antenna 110 & 120), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Para. 7& 20), configured to cause the transmitting device to: receive a configuration associated with a beamforming vectors, wherein the configuration indicates an azimuthal oversampling factor and an elevation oversampling factor (Para. 37 & 45: elevation angular interval Δθ(3) and an azimuth angular interval Δϕ(3) ) & (Also Para. 33 & 24-29: Beam peak direction and antenna beam point vector);
and transmit a set of signals using the beamforming vectors, wherein the beamforming vectors is determined using a beamwidth in azimuth and a beamwidth in elevation associated with the transmitting device, the azimuthal oversampling factor, and the elevation oversampling factor (Para. 36-37 & 44-45: beamwidth azimuthal oversampling factor & elevation oversampling factor. Beam angle with beam vector function) (Also see Para 27-33).
Hsieh et al does not explicitly disclose array of beamforming vectors.
In a similar field of endeavor, Raghavan discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting device using an active antenna array system (AAS) architecture (Fig. 2 & 4), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 2: Processor & Memory), configured to cause the transmitting device to: receive a configuration associated with an array of beamforming vectors and transmit a set of signals using the array of beamforming vectors (Para. 6-7: Set of beamforming vector) & (Para. 133 & 136: Transmit and receive set of beamforming vector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the wireless device beamforming system of Raghavan’s disclosure with the radio device performance evaluation system, as taught by Hsieh. Doing so would have resulted in effectively testing and analyzing radio devices based on the beamform beam radiating angle.
Regarding claim 2 & 22, Hsieh et al discloses the set of signals is associated with effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) measurements (Para. 28: Testing antenna 230 based on an effective isotropic radiated power).
Regarding claim 3 & 23, Hsieh et al discloses beamforming vectors is determined by partitioning of an azimuthal coverage area using the beamwidth in azimuth and the azimuthal oversampling factor and by partitioning of an elevation coverage area using the beamwidth in elevation and the elevation oversampling factor (Para. 37 & 45: elevation angular interval Δθ(3) and an azimuth angular interval Δϕ(3) ) & (Also Para. 33-34 & 24-29).
Regarding claim 4 & 24, Hsieh et al discloses beamforming vectors includes at least one vector outside of the azimuthal coverage area or the elevation coverage area (Para. 61 & 37-38: beamforming vectors coverage) & (Fig.2: Other angle beside azimuthal coverage or the elevation coverage).
Regarding claim 5 & 25, Hsieh et al teaches a same weightage is associated with each beamforming vector in the array of beamforming vectors (Para. 49: Predefine values for beamform).
Regarding claim 6, Hsieh et al discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting device using an active antenna system (AAS) architecture (Para. 53: Device 100b with antenna 110 & 120), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Para. 7& 20), configured to cause the measuring device to: receive a configuration associated with a measurement grid, wherein the configuration indicates an azimuthal oversampling factor and an elevation oversampling factor (Para. 37 & 45: elevation angular interval Δθ(3) and an azimuth angular interval Δϕ(3) ) & (Also Para. 33 & 24-29: Beam peak direction and antenna beam point vector); and measure a set of signals, from a transmitting device, using the measurement grid, wherein the measurement grid is determined using a beamwidth in azimuth and a beamwidth in elevation associated with the transmitting device, the azimuthal oversampling factor, and the elevation oversampling factor (Para. 36-37 & 44-45: beamwidth azimuthal oversampling factor & elevation oversampling factor. Beam angle with beam vector function) (Also see Para 27-33).
Hsieh et al does not explicitly disclose array of beamforming vectors.
In a similar field of endeavor, Raghavan discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a transmitting device using an active antenna array system (AAS) architecture (Fig. 2 & 4), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Fig. 2: Processor & Memory), configured to cause the transmitting device to: receive a configuration associated with an array of beamforming vectors and transmit a set of signals using the array of beamforming vectors (Para. 6-7: Set of beamforming vector) & (Para. 133 & 136: Transmit and receive set of beamforming vector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the wireless device beamforming system of Raghavan’s disclosure with the radio device performance evaluation system, as taught by Hsieh. Doing so would have resulted in effectively testing and analyzing radio devices based on the beamform beam radiating angle.
Regarding claim 7 & 27, Hsieh et al discloses perform effective isotropic radiated power (EIRP) measurements on the set of signals (Para. 28: Testing antenna 230 based on an effective isotropic radiated power).
Regarding claim 8, Hsieh et al discloses transmit a report indicating the EIRP measurements (Para. 35: EIRP measurement and send value to compare).
Regarding claim 9 & 28, Hsieh et al discloses the measurement grid is determined by partitioning of an azimuthal region of interest using the beamwidth in azimuth and the azimuthal oversampling factor and by partitioning of an elevation region of interest using the beamwidth in elevation and the elevation oversampling factor (Para. 37 & 45: elevation angular interval Δθ(3) and an azimuth angular interval Δϕ(3) ) & (Also Para. 33-34).
Regarding claim 21, Claim 21 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 26, Claim 26 corresponds to claim 6 and is analyzed accordingly.
Claims 10-11 & 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al (Pub No. 2024/0056201), in view of Raghavan et al (Pub No. 2022/0255600) and further in view of Jamin et al (Pub No. 2021/0075484).
Regarding claim 10 & 29, Hsieh et al is silent regarding determine a set of measurement error estimates using a set of azimuthal oversampling factors including the azimuthal oversampling factor and using a set of elevation oversampling factors including the elevation oversampling factor.
Jamin discloses determine a set of measurement error estimates using a set of azimuthal oversampling factors including the azimuthal oversampling factor and using a set of elevation oversampling factors including the elevation oversampling factor (Para. 38: aggregate vector error and error rate by using angle of arrival azimuth/ elevation) & (Para. 73 & 83).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the error detection system from beam to adjust error to generate higher quality beam.
Regarding claim 11, Hsieh et al is silent regarding transmit a report indicating the set of measurement error estimates.
Jamin discloses transmit a report indicating the set of measurement error estimates (Para. 77 & 60: Forward error for correction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the error detection system from beam to adjust error to generate higher quality beam.
Another Prior Art
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Another prior art, Nagaraj et el (US 2021/0288703) discloses beamforming optimization in a wireless communication system. The wireless communications signal for radiation in a set of RF beams optimized to maximize coverage in a wireless communications cell. The center RF beam is formed with a wider beamwidth to cover a larger center area of the wireless communications cell and, the edge RF beams are each formed with a narrower beamwidth to improve coverage in an edge area of the wireless communications cell. This system maximizes coverage in the wireless communications cell with fewer RF beams, thus helping to reduce computational complexity, processing latency, and energy consumption of the wireless communications apparatus.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648