DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/27/2026. These drawings are accepted; however the new drawings are objected to for the issues discussed below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/27/2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: support for the rubber ring being coextensive with the upper portion; i.e. the specific shape shown in fig. 7, is not adequately described in the original specification as filed. The original specification recites “the top end of the upper portion 102 of the hair catching device 100 may have a rubber ring or extension to provide a soft and flexible portion for grabbing” [original par. 0029] but is silent as to the shape of the ring.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Support for the strip being removably adhered by an adhesive was not found in the specification. The specification provides generic support for adhesion but does not specify that the means for adhesion is an adhesive. To adhere or a method of adhesion does not inherently include an adhesive. Examiner recommends removing “by an adhesive” to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0040412 (hereinafter Fetkovich) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2003/0044569 (hereinafter Kacher) and KR 20200131532 using attached machine translation (hereinafter Bae).
Regarding claim 1, Fetkovich discloses a hair catching device (200) for drains comprising a body (205) having an upper portion (upper surface), a lower portion (lower surface), and a central aperture (108) extending through said body; one or more legs (210) disposed on said lower portion of said body (205), and a plurality of hook elements (230) positioned on said legs (fig. 2A-2D). Fetkovich fails to show one or more continuous strips disposed on one or more of said legs; wherein each of said one or more continuous strips further comprises the plurality of hook elements; and wherein each of said one or more continuous strips is removably adhered by an adhesive to said one or more legs.
Attention is turned to Kacher, analogous through solving the same problem of trapping hair and debris using hook elements, which teaches attaching hook elements to a removable strip to reuse a body once the hooks are no longer usable (par. 41). Kacher furthermore teaches the strips may be a base on which an adhesive tape or adhesive material is utilized to attach the base to the cleaning body (par. 106). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of hooks of Fetkovich to be disposed on a removable continuous strip adhered to the legs via an adhesive to allow a user to throw away and replace spent hook elements while still reusing the body as evidenced by the teachings of Kacher.
Fetkovich contemplates using a rubber coating (par. 30) but fails to explicitly show an upper portion of said body further comprises a rubber ring around a top end of said upper portion of said body. Attention is turned to Bae in the same field of endeavor of debris traps for plumbing fixtures which teaches including a rubber ring (2) around a top end of an upper portion of a strainer body (3) for allowing a user to grasp the rubber ring (2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include a rubber ring around a top end of said upper portion of said body to allow a user to easily grip the device as evidenced by the teachings of Bae mentioned above.
Regarding claim 2, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more feet (215) disposed on a terminal end of each of said one or more legs (210), wherein said one or more feet (215) extend laterally from said one or more legs (fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 3, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more pegs disposed on said one or more feet (fig. 2A-2D show each foot has 3 pegs, i.e. elongated projections from which articles may hang).
Regarding claim 18, under the modification of Fetkovich in view of Kacher, a portion of said plurality of hooks (210) of Fetkovich would be disposed on a continuous strip (Kacher, par. 41).
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 11-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fetkovich, Bae, and Kacher as applied to claims 1-3 and 18 above, and further in view of US Patent 9,752,306 (hereinafter Scamuffa).
Regarding claim 4, Fetkovich fails to show further comprising one or more laterally facing apertures disposed in said upper portion of said body. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body to comprise an upper portion with a plurality of laterally facing apertures (206) to allow fluid to flow through the device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the hair catching device of Fetkovich to include an upper portion with one or more laterally facing apertures to allow fluid to flow through the device while still trapping debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Fetkovich fails to show wherein said body is conical in shape with said upper portion having a smaller diameter than said lower portion and said lower portion is wider than said upper portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body of strainer to be conical in shape with an upper portion having a smaller diameter than a lower portion, and the lower portion is wider than the upper portion (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the body of Fetkovich to be shaped in the same manner as Scamuffa described above to allow fluid to flow over the body and better trap hair and debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 11, Fetkovich fails to show said lower portion is removably secured to said upper portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring an upper portion (204) to be removably secured to a lower portion (208) to allow the strainer to be manufactured from different materials (col. 6, ln. 1-17). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fetkovich such that said lower portion is removably secured to said upper portion to allow the strainer to be manufactured from different materials as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 12, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more feet (215) disposed on a terminal end of each of said one or more legs (210), wherein said one or more feet (215) extend laterally from said one or more legs (fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 13, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more pegs disposed on said one or more feet (fig. 2A-2D show each foot has 3 pegs, i.e. elongated projections from which articles may hang).
Regarding claim 14, Fetkovich fails to show said lower portion is wider than said upper portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body of strainer to be conical in shape with an upper portion having a smaller diameter than a lower portion, and the lower portion is wider than the upper portion (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the body of Fetkovich to be shaped in the same manner as Scamuffa described above to allow fluid to flow over the body and better trap hair and debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 15, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more feet (215) disposed on a terminal end of each of said one or more legs (210), wherein said one or more feet (215) extend laterally from said one or more legs (fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 16, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more pegs disposed on said one or more feet (fig. 2A-2D show each foot has 3 pegs, i.e. elongated projections from which articles may hang).
Regarding claim 17, Fetkovich fails to show said lower portion is removably secured to said upper portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring an upper portion (204) to be removably secured to a lower portion (208) to allow the strainer to be manufactured from different materials (col. 6, ln. 1-17). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fetkovich such that said lower portion is removably secured to said upper portion to allow the strainer to be manufactured from different materials as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 19, Fetkovich fails to show wherein said body is conical in shape with said upper portion having a smaller diameter than said lower portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body of strainer to be conical in shape with an upper portion having a smaller diameter than a lower portion, and the lower portion is wider than the upper portion (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the body of Fetkovich to be shaped in the same manner as Scamuffa described above to allow fluid to flow over the body and better trap hair and debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 20, Fetkovich fails to show further comprising one or more laterally facing apertures disposed in said upper portion of said body. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body to comprise an upper portion with a plurality of laterally facing apertures (206) to allow fluid to flow through the device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the hair catching device of Fetkovich to include an upper portion with one or more laterally facing apertures to allow fluid to flow through the device while still trapping debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fetkovich, Bae, and Kacher as applied to claims 1-3 and 18 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 2013/0014336 (hereinafter Berstein).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Fetkovich fails to show wherein a portion of said plurality of hook elements are substantially “J” shaped or “T” shaped. Attention is turned to Bernstein, in the same field of endeavor of preventing hair and debris from forming clogs in a drainpipe, which teaches configuring hair grabbing hooks as substantially “J” or “T” shaped (fig. 1, 2) depending on a user’s needs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to shape the hooks of Fetkovich as either substantially J or T shaped to better grasp and trap the hair as is known in the art and evidenced by the teachings of Berstein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754