DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the substantially “T” shaped hook elements in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially T-shaped” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The written disclosure does not mention the parameters required to be considered “substantially” T-shaped, and the drawings do not show any T-shaped hook elements. Accordingly, the term “substantially” as it pertains to claim 6 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2016/0040412 (hereinafter Fetkovich).
Regarding claim 1, Fetkovich discloses a hair catching device (200) for drains comprising a body (205) having an upper portion (upper surface), a lower portion (lower surface), and a central aperture (108) extending through said body; one or more legs (210) disposed on said lower portion of said body (205), and a plurality of hook elements (230) positioned on said legs (fig. 2A-2D).
Regarding claim 2, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more feet (215) disposed on a terminal end of each of said one or more legs (210), wherein said one or more feet (215) extend laterally from said one or more legs (fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 3, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more pegs disposed on said one or more feet (fig. 2A-2D show each foot has 3 pegs, i.e. elongated projections from which articles may hang).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, and 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fetkovich in view of US Patent 9,752,306 (hereinafter Scamuffa).
Regarding claim 4, Fetkovich fails to show further comprising one or more laterally facing apertures disposed in said upper portion of said body. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body to comprise an upper portion with a plurality of laterally facing apertures (206) to allow fluid to flow through the device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the hair catching device of Fetkovich to include an upper portion with one or more laterally facing apertures to allow fluid to flow through the device while still trapping debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Fetkovich fails to show wherein said body is conical in shape with said upper portion having a smaller diameter than said lower portion and said lower portion is wider than said upper portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body of strainer to be conical in shape with an upper portion having a smaller diameter than a lower portion, and the lower portion is wider than the upper portion (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the body of Fetkovich to be shaped in the same manner as Scamuffa described above to allow fluid to flow over the body and better trap hair and debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 11, Fetkovich fails to show said lower portion is removably secured to said upper portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring an upper portion (204) to be removably secured to a lower portion (208) to allow the strainer to be manufactured from different materials (col. 6, ln. 1-17). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fetkovich such that said lower portion is removably secured to said upper portion to allow the strainer to be manufactured from different materials as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 12, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more feet (215) disposed on a terminal end of each of said one or more legs (210), wherein said one or more feet (215) extend laterally from said one or more legs (fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 13, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more pegs disposed on said one or more feet (fig. 2A-2D show each foot has 3 pegs, i.e. elongated projections from which articles may hang).
Regarding claim 14, Fetkovich fails to show said lower portion is wider than said upper portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body of strainer to be conical in shape with an upper portion having a smaller diameter than a lower portion, and the lower portion is wider than the upper portion (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the body of Fetkovich to be shaped in the same manner as Scamuffa described above to allow fluid to flow over the body and better trap hair and debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 15, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more feet (215) disposed on a terminal end of each of said one or more legs (210), wherein said one or more feet (215) extend laterally from said one or more legs (fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 16, Fetkovich discloses further comprising one or more pegs disposed on said one or more feet (fig. 2A-2D show each foot has 3 pegs, i.e. elongated projections from which articles may hang).
Regarding claim 17, Fetkovich fails to show said lower portion is removably secured to said upper portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring an upper portion (204) to be removably secured to a lower portion (208) to allow the strainer to be manufactured from different materials (col. 6, ln. 1-17). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Fetkovich such that said lower portion is removably secured to said upper portion to allow the strainer to be manufactured from different materials as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fetkovich in view of US Patent Application Publication 2013/0014336 (hereinafter Berstein).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Fetkovich fails to show wherein a portion of said plurality of hook elements are substantially “J” shaped or “T” shaped. Attention is turned to Bernstein, in the same field of endeavor of preventing hair and debris from forming clogs in a drainpipe, which teaches configuring hair grabbing hooks as substantially “J” or “T” shaped (fig. 1, 2) depending on a user’s needs. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to shape the hooks of Fetkovich as either substantially J or T shaped to better grasp and trap the hair as is known in the art and evidenced by the teachings of Berstein.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fetkovich in view of US Patent Application Publication 2003/0044569 (hereinafter Kacher).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 18, Fetkovich fails to show a portion of said plurality of hooks are disposed on a continuous strip, and said continuous strip is removably secured to at least one of said one or more legs. Attention is turned to Kacher, analogous through solving the same problem of trapping hair and debris using hook elements, which teaches attaching hook elements to a removable strip to reuse a body once the hooks are no longer usable (par. 41). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to configure the plurality of hooks of Fetkovich to be disposed on a removable continuous strip to allows a user to throw away and replace spent hook elements while still reusing the body as evidenced by the teachings of Kacher.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fetkovich and Kacher as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 19, Fetkovich fails to show wherein said body is conical in shape with said upper portion having a smaller diameter than said lower portion. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body of strainer to be conical in shape with an upper portion having a smaller diameter than a lower portion, and the lower portion is wider than the upper portion (fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the body of Fetkovich to be shaped in the same manner as Scamuffa described above to allow fluid to flow over the body and better trap hair and debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Regarding claim 20, Fetkovich fails to show further comprising one or more laterally facing apertures disposed in said upper portion of said body. Attention is turned to Scamuffa in the same field of endeavor of hair/debris traps which shows configuring a body to comprise an upper portion with a plurality of laterally facing apertures (206) to allow fluid to flow through the device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the hair catching device of Fetkovich to include an upper portion with one or more laterally facing apertures to allow fluid to flow through the device while still trapping debris as evidenced by the teachings of Scamuffa.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 10,344,460 is directed to the state of the art of strainers.
Applicant is advised that should claim 13 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754