DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, the limitations “the at least one electrode section is provided on the base body in a section or over the entire surface” cover all possible configurations and therefore do not further limit claims 1 and 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 12-13, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Najorka et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0384958).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 19, Najorka discloses (Figs. 1-10) a sensor cover for a sensor system (see pars. [0105]-[0106]) configured to remove weather-induced soiling [0105] for the unimpaired use of a sensor of the sensor system [0105], the sensor cover comprising:
at least one sensor section (i.e. the portion of the cover 12 that covers the camera system: [0107]-[0113]);
at least one base body 12 [0106] configured to extend over the sensor (i.e. cover the camera system: [0107]-[0113]);
at least one electrode section [0017]-[0020] provided on the base body 12 (i.e. the transducers 10 comprise electrodes: [0017]-[0020]); and
at least one piezoactive actuator 10 [0105]-[0106] configured to generate sound waves in the sensor cover 12 (see pars. [0105]-[0108]), the at least one piezoactive actuator 10 being arranged at the at least one electrode section of the base body.
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Najorka further discloses (Figs. 1-10) a sensor system for a motor vehicle [0105], comprising: at least one voltage source [0132]; and at least one sound transducer 10 [0105].
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Najorka discloses (Figs. 1-10) the at least one sensor section is sensor-transparent [0105]-[0106].
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Najorka discloses (Figs. 1-10) the at least one electrode section 10 is provided on the base body 12 in a section (as shown in Figs. 2, 4, 5, etc.).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Najorka discloses (Figs. 1-10) the at least one electrode section 10 comprises at least two electrode sections (as shown in Figs. 2, 4, 5, etc.), and wherein each of the at least two electrode sections includes a respective piezoactive actuator [0105]-[0108], each of the respective piezoactive actuators configured to be separately modulatable [0108].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 9, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Najorka et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0384958).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Najorka is applied as above, but does not disclose the sensor cover comprises a plurality of cover layers, each cover layer including at least one base body and at least one piezoactive actuator.
However, such a modification would be merely a duplication of parts, which is obvious – see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Najorka’s device so that the sensor cover comprises a plurality of cover layers, each cover layer including at least one base body and at least one piezoactive actuator.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Najorka is applied as above, but does not disclose the piezoactive layer of each piezoactive actuator has a thickness ranging from 5 nm to 500 nm, or 5 nm to 50 nm in the at least one sensor section.
However, such a modification would be merely a change of size/proportion of the piezoactive actuator, which is obvious – see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Najorka’s device/system so that the piezoactive layer of each piezoactive actuator has a thickness ranging from 5 nm to 500 nm, or 5 nm to 50 nm in the at least one sensor section.
Claims 2, 6-7, 11, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Najorka et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0384958) in view of Kobrin et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0309043).
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Najorka is applied as above, but does not disclose each piezoactive actuator comprises: a first electrode coating; a second electrode coating; and a piezoactive layer, wherein at least a section of the piezoactive layer is arranged between the first electrode coating and the second electrode coating.
Kobrin discloses (Figs. 4A/B) each piezoactive actuator comprises: a first electrode coating 14 (see pars. [0031] and [0041]); a second electrode coating 14 (see pars. [0031] and [0041]); and a piezoactive layer 15 (see pars. [0031] and [0041]), wherein at least a section of the piezoactive layer 15 is arranged between the first electrode coating 14 and the second electrode coating 14 (see pars. [0031] and [0041]; Figs. 14A/B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Najorka’s device/system so that each piezoactive actuator comprises: a first electrode coating; a second electrode coating; and a piezoactive layer, wherein at least a section of the piezoactive layer is arranged between the first electrode coating and the second electrode coating, as taught by Kobrin.
Such a modification would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 15-16, Najorka is applied as above, but does not disclose the piezoactive layer is polyvinyl fluoride; and the first electrode coating and/or the second electrode coating of each piezoactive actuator comprises indium tin oxide, fluoridated tin oxide, aluminum-doped tin oxide, or antimony tin oxide.
Kobrin discloses (Figs. 4A/B) the piezoactive layer is polyvinyl fluoride [0045]; and the first electrode coating and/or the second electrode coating of each piezoactive actuator comprises indium tin oxide [0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Najorka’s device/system so that the piezoactive layer is polyvinyl fluoride; and the first electrode coating and/or the second electrode coating of each piezoactive actuator comprises indium tin oxide, fluoridated tin oxide, aluminum-doped tin oxide, or antimony tin oxide, as taught by Kobrin.
Such a modification would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852