DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 recites “wherein the image acquisition module is disposed at least one of the plurality of installation regions” which should be - wherein the image acquisition module is disposed at at least one of the plurality of installation regions- or alternatively - wherein the image acquisition module is disposed in at least one of the plurality of installation regions-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miranda (US 20230272917 A1), hereinafter Miranda.
Regarding claim 1, Miranda discloses a door for an appliance, the door comprising:
a door body configured to be disposed at a front of a storage space of the appliance (“Cabinet 102 defines internal chamber 116 between a top wall 130 and a bottom wall 132. Oven appliance 100 includes a door 120 rotatably mounted to cabinet 102” paragraph [0029]); and
an image acquisition module disposed at the door body and configured to face the storage space (“door 120 includes bracket assembly 208” paragraph [0047] and “bracket assembly 208 supports plurality of lights 216, 218 and camera 220” paragraph [0048]),
wherein the image acquisition module comprises:
an image sensing device configured to acquire an image of the storage space (“During use, camera 220 is angled to take images of internal chamber 116 and articles placed therein” paragraph [0049]), and
a lighting device configured to emit light to the storage space (“Plurality of light sources 216, 218 may be configured to illuminate internal cavity” paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 2, Miranda discloses the door of claim 1, wherein the image acquisition module is disposed at a surface of the door body that is configured to face the storage space (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Miranda discloses the door of claim 1, wherein the door body comprises:
a door frame that defines a through-hole at a central portion thereof (“Generally, door 120 includes front panel 200 and a pair of trim panels (e.g., first trim panel 204 and second trim panel 206) attached to front panel 200. Door 120 may also include rear panel 202 transversely behind front panel 200 (e.g., disposed rearward from front panel 200 along the transverse direction T). Trim panels 204, 206 are on opposing lateral sides of door 120. As shown in FIG. 3, front panel 200 is transversely in front of trim panels 204, 206 and rear panel 202 is transversely behind trim panels 204, 206. In some embodiments, front panel 200 extends between top lip 192 and bottom lip 194” paragraph [0044]); and
a door panel coupled to the door frame, the door panel having a window disposed at the through-hole and configured to allow the storage space to be visible from an outside of the door (“Door 120 may include a window 124, constructed for example from multiple parallel glass panes (e.g., glass panels 238, 240) to provide for viewing contents of internal chamber 116 when door 120 is closed” paragraph [0030]), and
wherein the image acquisition module is disposed inside the door frame (“bracket assembly 208 extends through door cavity 210. In some embodiments, bracket assembly 208 extends between first trim panel 204 and second trim panel 206” paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Miranda discloses the door of claim 1, wherein the door body comprises a door panel having a window configured to allow the storage space to be visible from an outside of the door, and wherein the door panel comprises a plurality of panels (“Door 120 may include a window 124, constructed for example from multiple parallel glass panes (e.g., glass panels 238, 240) to provide for viewing contents of internal chamber 116 when door 120 is closed” paragraph [0030]), and the image acquisition module is disposed between the plurality of panels (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Miranda discloses the door of claim 4, wherein the plurality of panels define a plurality of installation regions that surround edges of the window, and wherein the image acquisition module is disposed at least one of the plurality of installation regions (“first trim panel 204 defines a first bracket slot 222. Second trim panel 206 defines a second bracket slot 224, (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3). Bracket slots 222, 224 may extend transversely along first interior surface 212, and second interior surface 214, respectively. In the illustrated embodiment, bracket slots 222, 224, extend laterally into trim panels 204, 206” paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 6, Miranda discloses the door of claim 4, wherein the plurality of panels comprise:
a front panel that defines a surface of the door body (200 and/or 238); and
an insulation panel configured to be disposed closer to the storage space than the front panel (202 and/or 240), wherein the door body has an installation region that is defined between the front panel and the insulation panel, and wherein the image acquisition module is disposed at the installation region (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, Miranda discloses the door of claim 6, wherein the door body further comprises a door frame having a region that covers a portion of a rear surface of the front panel, and wherein at least a part of the installation region is disposed at the region of the door frame (“first trim panel 204 defines a first bracket slot 222. Second trim panel 206 defines a second bracket slot 224, (e.g., as shown in FIG. 3). Bracket slots 222, 224 may extend transversely along first interior surface 212, and second interior surface 214, respectively. In the illustrated embodiment, bracket slots 222, 224, extend laterally into trim panels 204, 206” paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Miranda discloses the door of claim 3, wherein the image acquisition module is disposed outside the window (outside of window 240), wherein the image sensing device and the lighting device are configured to be exposed to the storage space through the through-hole (visually exposed), and wherein a part of the image acquisition module is covered by the door frame (The front door frame extends laterally inward to cover 204 and 206 as seen in figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 9, Miranda discloses the door of claim 5, wherein the plurality of installation regions comprise:
a first installation region that extends in a first direction along one of the edges of the window (At 222 for example); and
a second installation region that extends in a second direction different from the first direction along another of the edges of the window (At 224 for example).
Regarding claim 10, Miranda discloses the door of claim 9, wherein the first installation region and the second installation region are connected to each other (By at least 208), wherein the image acquisition module has (i) a first part disposed at the first installation region (At 222 for example) and (ii) a second part disposed at the second installation region (At 224 for example), and wherein the door further comprises a connection wire disposed at the second installation region and configured to transmit at least one of a signal or power between the image acquisition module and a main controller of the appliance (“Controller 162 may be in operable communication (e.g., via a suitable electronic wired connection) with the heating elements and other components of oven appliance 100, as discussed herein” paragraph [0038] and “the one or more images may include a video feed or a series of sequential static images obtained by camera 220 that may be transmitted to controller 162 (e.g., as a data signal) for analysis or other manipulation” paragraph [0050]. The examiner notes that it is not clear which end of 208 is wired, but the wired end may be considered at the second installation region).
Regarding claim 11, Miranda discloses the door of claim 1, wherein the lighting device is one of a pair of lighting devices that are disposed at sides of the image sensing device, respectively, and wherein the image sensing device is located between the pair of lighting devices (“light sources 216, 218 may be disposed on opposite lateral sides of camera 220. In some embodiments, plurality of light sources 216, 218 are aligned on either lateral side of camera 220 along bracket assembly 208” paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Miranda discloses the door of claim 1, wherein the door body defines a first installation region (At 222 for example) and a second installation region (At 224 for example) that are arranged along edges of the door body and extend in different directions from each other, and wherein the image sensing device and the lighting device are spaced apart from each other (Figure 7 shows partitions in the housing that provide spacing) and disposed in the first installation region or the second installation region (208 is disposed in the first and second installation regions).
Regarding claim 13, Miranda discloses the door of claim 1, wherein the image acquisition module comprises a module housing that defines a mounting space, and wherein the image sensing device and the lighting device are disposed in the mounting space (“clips 264 and tabs 266 attach bracket housing 256 to back bracket 215. In some embodiments, bracket housing 256 may be secured to back bracket 215 via one or more fasteners, such as a mechanical fastener (e.g., screws, rivets, nails, or bolts, adhesives, or welds, or solders). Bracket housing 256 may further include a camera housing position 258, located centrally along bracket housing 256. Camera may install onto bracket housing 256 at camera housing position 258. Bracket housing 256 may also include a first lighting position 260 and a second lighting position 262” paragraphs {0059]-[0060]) and spaced apart from each other (By partitions in the housing as seen in figure 7).
Regarding claim 14, Miranda discloses the door of claim 13, wherein the door body comprises a first panel (At least 238) and an insulation panel (At least 240), wherein the module housing comprises:
a first housing that is disposed at the first panel and accommodates the lighting device and the image sensing device (“at least one light source (e.g., plurality of light sources 216, 218) or a camera 220 may be mounted onto bracket assembly 208. In some embodiments, the mounting may be a direct mounting, such as directly mounting to back bracket 215” paragraph [0048]); and
a second housing that faces the insulation panel and is coupled to the first housing, and wherein the second housing covers at least a part of each of the lighting device and the image sensing device (“Bracket housing 256 may further include a camera housing position 258, located centrally along bracket housing 256. Camera may install onto bracket housing 256 at camera housing position 258. Bracket housing 256 may also include a first lighting position 260 and a second lighting position 262. First light sources 216 may attach to bracket housing 256 at first lighting position 260. Second light sources 218 may attach to bracket housing 256 at second lighting position 262” paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Miranda discloses the door of claim 14, wherein the first housing comprises:
an image sensor mounting part to which the image sensing device is mounted, the image sensor mounting part being configured to be inclined toward a bottom of the storage space; and
a lighting mounting part to which the lighting device is mounted, the lighting mounting part being spaced apart from the image sensor mounting part (“Cameral housing position 258, first lighting position 260, and second lighting position 262 may attached at a forward surface 267 of bracket housing. Additionally or alternatively, forward surface 267 may be angled at a non-zero angle (e.g., angle CV in FIG. 9) relative to vertical direction V. During use, forward surface 267 angle CV may allow camera and lighting to be directed toward articles placed within internal chamber 116” paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 16, Miranda discloses the door of claim 15, wherein the image sensor mounting part comprises a sensor mounting fence that protrudes from a surface of the first housing, and wherein the sensor mounting fence comprises a sensor inclination guide that supports a rear surface of the image sensing device to be inclined toward the bottom of the storage space (“Cameral housing position 258, first lighting position 260, and second lighting position 262 may attached at a forward surface 267 of bracket housing. Additionally or alternatively, forward surface 267 may be angled at a non-zero angle (e.g., angle CV in FIG. 9) relative to vertical direction V. During use, forward surface 267 angle CV may allow camera and lighting to be directed toward articles placed within internal chamber 116” paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 17, Miranda discloses the door of claim 15, wherein the second housing comprises:
a sensor cover that covers the image sensor mounting part (258); and
a lighting cover that covers the lighting mounting part (260 and/ or 262), wherein the image sensing device comprises a lens, and wherein the second housing defines a sensing hole configured to expose the lens of the image sensing device (“bracket housing 256 extends at an angle to direct a camera lens on camera 220 rearward and slanted somewhat downward” paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Miranda discloses the door of claim 6, wherein the front panel comprises:
the window (At least element 238); and
an edge part that is disposed around edges of the window and configured to block a portion of the storage space (200), and wherein the installation region is defined at a rear surface of the edge part of the front panel (222 and/or 224).
Regarding claim 20, Miranda discloses an appliance comprising:
a cabinet that defines a storage space therein (“Cabinet 102 defines internal chamber 116 between a top wall 130 and a bottom wall 132” paragraph [0029]); and
a door connected to the cabinet and configured to open and close at least a portion of the storage space (“Oven appliance 100 includes a door 120 rotatably mounted to cabinet 102” paragraph [0029]), wherein the door comprises:
a door frame disposed at a front of the storage space, the door frame defining a through-hole at a central portion thereof, a door panel that is coupled to the door frame (“Generally, door 120 includes front panel 200 and a pair of trim panels (e.g., first trim panel 204 and second trim panel 206) attached to front panel 200. Door 120 may also include rear panel 202 transversely behind front panel 200 (e.g., disposed rearward from front panel 200 along the transverse direction T). Trim panels 204, 206 are on opposing lateral sides of door 120. As shown in FIG. 3, front panel 200 is transversely in front of trim panels 204, 206 and rear panel 202 is transversely behind trim panels 204, 206. In some embodiments, front panel 200 extends between top lip 192 and bottom lip 194” paragraph [0044]), the door panel having a window that is disposed at the through-hole and configured to allow the storage space to be visible from an outside of the door, the door panel comprising a plurality of panels (“Door 120 may include a window 124, constructed for example from multiple parallel glass panes (e.g., glass panels 238, 240) to provide for viewing contents of internal chamber 116 when door 120 is closed” paragraph [0030]), and an image acquisition module (“bracket assembly 208 supports plurality of lights 216, 218 and camera 220” paragraph [0048]) disposed between the plurality of panels (Figure 4), and wherein the image acquisition module comprises:
an image sensing device configured to acquire an image of the storage space (“During use, camera 220 is angled to take images of internal chamber 116 and articles placed therein” paragraph [0049]), and
a lighting device configured to emit light to the storage space (“Plurality of light sources 216, 218 may be configured to illuminate internal cavity” paragraph [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miranda.
Regarding claim 18, Miranda discloses the door of claim 13, wherein the door body comprises a front panel (At least 238) and an insulation panel (At least 240), and wherein the module housing comprises:
a first surface at the front panel of the door body (215); and
a second surface that is opposite to the first surface and faces the insulation panel of the door body (256), the second surface being spaced apart from the insulation panel (Figure 3).
Miranda does not explicitly disclose wherein the first surface is in contact with the front panel of the door body. However, it has been held that “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP §2144.05(II)(A) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Although, it has been further held that "[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result, before determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Refer to MPEP §2144.05(II)(B)(quoting In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In this case, Miranda discloses “first support flange 226 may be slidably disposed within first bracket slot 222 to adjust a depth of camera 220 mounted to bracket assembly 208” (paragraph [0064]), but does not specifically recite a depth such that the bracket is pushed into contact with the front panel. Achieving contact is a results-effective variable because adjusting the depth to the front panel will permit a maximum viewing angle for the camera. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the depth to contact the front panel, because the selection of depth to achieve desired camera position constitutes the optimization of design parameters, which fails to distinguish the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bales (US 6361181 B1) shows wiring for an oven light positioned between front and rear door panels
Sillmen (EP 2515044 A1) “The arrangement of the illumination device 16 in the transparent region 5 or the integration of the illumination device 16 into the camera device 2 can also be advantageous”
Wang (CN 109330398 A)
Johnson (US 10440245 B1)
Erbe (US 20200025389 A1)
Liu (US 10819905 B1) “one or more still image cameras or video cameras (e.g., second sensors 214-1 and 214-2)”
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762