DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant's communication filed on 08/0/8/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 18 includes an acronym “PUSCH”, which should be spelled out. Appropriate correction is required. (Notes: Examiner not sure because of typo or not (see claim 2, PUCCH instead of PUSCH), then Examiner checks Embodiment 4, Specification in [0192], there is a relationship between PUCCH and PUSCH, however, it is not for a maximum PUSCH, thus see 112 (a) rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In Specification, Embodiment 4, paragraph [0192], there is a relationship between PUCCH and PUSCH, however, it is for a PUSCH transmission power adjustment, not “a maximum PUSCH”. For examination on the merits the claim would be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, as required by MPEP 2111. Correction is required.
Claims 9 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as it is unclear. Claim 9 currently stated that “receiving the PUCCH according to the transmission power of the PUCCH determined based on the at least one power control parameter set, wherein the transmission power of the PUCCH is separately determined for a case where a symbol for receiving the PUCCH is a subband full duplex (SBFD) symbol and a case where the symbol is a non-SBFD symbol”. It has been not recited clearly the UE determined the transmission power of the PUCCH, and in preamble of the claim 9 stated that this method performed by a base station. For examination on the merits the claim would be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, as required by MPEP 2111. Correction is required.
Claims 10 - 16 are also rejected because they directly/indirectly depend to claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (hereinafter “Hou”) (Pub # US 2026/0075536 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Hou discloses a method, performed by a user equipment (UE) (i.e., a terminal device in FIG. 4 – FIG. 7 comprising a transmitter, a receiver (see transceiver in FIG. 5, [0166]) and controller (see processor in FIG. 5 – FIG. 7]) controlling an operation of the transmitter and the receiver (see 0166]), of transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in full-duplex communication (see [0006], [0161]), the method comprising:
receiving at least one power control parameter set used to determine transmission power of the PUCCH from a base station (i.e., network device in FIG. 4) (see S410 in FIG. 4, [0006], [0107] – [0110], [0116] for the terminal device receives first information, which indicates open-loop power control parameter sets, from the network device, see [0161] for transmission power of the PUCCH);
determining the transmission power of the PUCCH based on the at least one power control parameter set (see S420 in FIG. 4, [0006], [0110] – [0111] for the terminal device determines a first power and a second power based on the first information, see [0112], [0115], [0116], [0125], [0126] for first/second power is a transmit power based on different sets of parameters, see [0161] for transmission power of the PUCCH); and
transmitting the PUCCH according to the determined transmission power (see S430 in FIG. 4, [0006], [0118] for the terminal devices sends the determined first/second power to the network, and see [0116], [0161] for the determined first/second power is a transmit power of the PUCCH).
Hou teaches that the terminal device can select different open-loop power control parameters on the SBFD symbol and the non-SBFD symbol in different interference, to determine transmit powers of uplink transmissions on the two types of symbols (see [0006], [0007], [0036], [0143], [0144]), and Hou is discussing two different sets of open-loop power control parameters and/or closed-loop power control parameters are respectively used for PUSCH transmissions on the SBFD symbol and on the non-SBFD symbol, and two different sets of open-loop power control parameters and/or closed-loop power control parameters are respectively used for transmissions on the PUCCH (see [0160], [0161]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, and have the transmission power of the PUCCH is separately determined for a case where a symbol for transmitting the PUCCH is a subband full duplex (SBFD) symbol and a case where the symbol is a non-SBFD symbol, thereby ensuring performance of the uplink transmissions on the two types of symbols so that a problem of poor transmission performance on the SBFD symbol can be resolved, and transmission performance on the SBFD symbol can be improved, as discussed by Hou (see Hou, [0007], [0160]).
Regarding claim 9, Hou discloses a method, performed by a base station (i.e., network device in FIG. 4), of receiving a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in full-duplex communication (see [0006], [0161]), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (i.e., a terminal device in FIG. 4), at least one power control parameter set used to determine transmission power of the PUCCH (see S410 in FIG. 4, [0006], [0107] – [0110], [0116] for the terminal device receives first information, which indicates open-loop power control parameter sets, from the network device, see [0161] for transmission power of the PUCCH); and
receiving the PUCCH according to the transmission power of the PUCCH determined based on the at least one power control parameter set (see S430 in FIG. 4, [0006], [0118] for the terminal devices sends the determined first/second power to the network, and see [0116], [0161] for the determined first/second power is a transmit power of the PUCCH, and see S420 in FIG. 4, [0110] for the terminal device determines a first power and a second power based on the first information, see [0112], [0116], [0125], [0126] for first/second power is a transmit power based on different sets of parameters, see [0161] for transmission power of the PUCCH).
Hou teaches that the terminal device can select different open-loop power control parameters on the SBFD symbol and the non-SBFD symbol in different interference, to determine transmit powers of uplink transmissions on the two types of symbols (see [0007], [0036], [0143], [0144]), and Hou is discussing two different sets of open-loop power control parameters and/or closed-loop power control parameters are respectively used for PUSCH transmissions on the SBFD symbol and on the non-SBFD symbol, and two different sets of open-loop power control parameters and/or closed-loop power control parameters are respectively used for transmissions on the PUCCH (see [0160], [0161]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made, and have the transmission power of the PUCCH is separately determined for a case where a symbol for transmitting the PUCCH is a subband full duplex (SBFD) symbol and a case where the symbol is a non-SBFD symbol, thereby ensuring performance of the uplink transmissions on the two types of symbols so that a problem of poor transmission performance on the SBFD symbol can be resolved, and transmission performance on the SBFD symbol can be improved, as discussed by Hou (see Hou, [0007], [0160]).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, Hou discloses wherein the transmission power of the PUCCH is determined based on a maximum PUCCH transmission power parameter separately configured for the case where the symbol is the SBFD symbol and the case where the symbol is the non-SBFD symbol (see Hou, [0007], [0036], [0112], [0160], [0161], and see [0088] – [0092] for a maximum output power (i.e., P.sub.CMAX,f,c(i)) configured for the terminal device).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, Hou discloses wherein the transmission power of the PUCCH is determined based on at least one open-loop power control parameter separately configured for the case where the symbol is the SBFD symbol and the case where the symbol is the non-SBFD symbol (see [0007], [0036], [0160], [0161]).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, Hou discloses wherein the transmission power of the PUCCH is determined based on a pathloss measurement value for a reference signal separately configured for the case where the symbol is the SBFD symbol and the case where the symbol is the non-SBFD symbol (see [0035], [0036], [0125], [0126], [0143], [0160], [0161] for the UE determines transmit powers of uplink transmissions on the two types of symbols, and the open-loop power control parameter further include at least one of a target received power parameter or a pathloss compensation coefficient, and for the PUCCH, the network device configures two sets of target received power parameters and/or pathloss compensation coefficients for PUCCH transmissions on the two types of symbols, and see [0100] for pathloss estimate calculated by the terminal device using a reference signal (RS)).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Hou disclose wherein the reference signal is received through a symbol of the same type as the symbol for transmitting the PUCCH (see [0097], [0157] – [0161], where Hou is discussing due to the presence of the SRI indication fields, configuration of a sounding reference signal (sounding reference signal, SRS) needs to be considered, and the SRI indication field is used for an SRS resource indication and a power control parameter indication for the UE determined transmission power of the PUCCH in SBFD or non-SBFD symbol).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Hou discloses wherein the transmission power of the PUCCH is determined based on a closed-loop power control parameter separately indicated for the case where the symbol is the SBFD symbol and the case where the symbol is the non-SBFD symbol (see [0007], [0036], [0160], [0161]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Hou discloses wherein the closed-loop power control command is indicated through a transmit power control (TPC) command separately configured for the case where the symbol is the SBFD symbol and the case where the symbol is the non-SBFD symbol or through a TPC command including symbol type indication information (see [0088], [0089] for a closed-loop power control parameter, [0103] – [0105], [0147] – [0154] for TPC command).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Hou discloses wherein the transmission power of the PUCCH is determined based on a power offset value configured for the case where the symbol is the SBFD symbol (see [0143], [0144] for power offset is introduced for a uplink power on the SBFD symbol).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
* 2026/0172203 (Park et al.), which discloses that a network device sending a first message to a terminal device, where the first message indicates one or more first-type physical uplink control channel PUCCH resource sets and one or more second-type PUCCH resource sets, the one or more first-type PUCCH resource sets include one or more first-type PUCCH resources, the one or more second-type PUCCH resource sets include one or more second-type PUCCH resources, the one or more first-type PUCCH resources are used by the terminal device to send uplink control information UCI in a subband full duplex SBFD time unit, and the one or more second-type PUCCH resources are used by the terminal device to send UCI in a non-subband full duplex non-SBFD time unit.
* 2025/0203588 (Park et al.), which discloses that Subband non-overlapping full duplex (SBFD) operations are performed based on one or more Tx parameter adjustments (e.g., NR-Duplex, XDD, etc. may improve conventional TDD operation by enhancing UL coverage, improving capacity, reducing latency, and so forth); and a WTRU determines a transmission power (P) for a UL transmission based on one or more power control parameters, wherein the power control parameters include one or more of following but not limited to: maximum transmission power (P.sub.CMAX); nominal transmission power (P.sub.O); pathloss (PL), e.g., measured from pathloss RS; a scaling factor (a) for PL; or a closed loop power control parameter for slot or symbol.
/MONG-THUY T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645