DETAILED ACTION
Priority to PCT application KR 2023/001897, dated 02/09/2023, is acknowledged. Priority to Korean application KR10-2022-0016807, dated 02/09/2022, is also acknowledged, but the corresponding priority document received on 09/14/2025 is in Korean. An English copy of the priority document(s) is necessary to perfect foreign priority.
The IDS document submitted on 08/08/2024 has been received and considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Specifically, these claims recite “transmitting the at least part of the HARQ feedback information” uplink to a network device through “a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”. However, it would not be clear to a skilled artisan how to accomplish this because the normal function of the PDSCH is to transmit downlink, but the claims recite using it to send feedback uplink to the network device, and neither does the specification clarify how to use the PDSCH to send data uplink. Thus, these claims are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because, as previously noted, they require a wireless device to “transmit[] the at least part of the HARQ feedback information” using “a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”. Logically, this does not make sense because the PDSCH is a downlink channel, but the claims require using it to send data uplink. This seeming logical contradiction introduces indefiniteness into the claims, meaning they are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claims 5 and 14 are interpreted as if the limitations referring to a “PDSCH” were intended to refer to a “PUSCH” because this would be a normal channel for sending uplink feedback.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, the prior art does not teach the limitations requiring “receiving higher layer signaling including information indicating to alternately transmit HARQ feedbacks through the long link and the short link in units of entire HARQ processes”, “in response to the higher layer signaling, transmitting a HARQ feedback corresponding to a PDSCH received through the long link during one HARQ process through a PUCCH on the long link”, and “in response to higher layer signaling, transmitting a HARQ feedback corresponding to a PDSCH received through the long link during another HARQ process with a same HARQ process identifier as the one HARQ process through a PUCCH on the short link”. Prior art like Matsumara et al. (US 2022/0217687 A1) does describe alternating between sending PUCCHs on different links, but it does not describe doing this for a long link and a short link or by scheduling the alternation based on HARQ process boundaries.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-15, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akhavain Mohammadi et al. (US 2023/0039699 A1, hereinafter “Akhavain”) in view of Matsumara et al. (US 2022/0217687 A1, hereinafter “Matsumara”).
As to Claims 1 and 10:
Akhavain describes a method to evaluate multiple airborne moving communication nodes and select the best one.
Specifically, Akhavain teaches:
A terminal in a non-terrestrial network
Akhavain describes the terminal as “an apparatus comprising a processor” that can operate in a “non-terrestrial” network (Akhavain, 0025, 0115).
Receiving first data through a first link between a first satellite and the terminal
Fig. 2 in Akhavain shows a ground station 210 communicating with several satellites 220a-200c.
Here, “the link between satellite 220a and ground station 210 corresponds to “receiving first data through a first link between a first satellite and the terminal”.
Receiving second data through a second link between a second satellite and the terminal
Fig. 2 in Akhavain shows a ground station 210 communicating with several satellites 220a-200c.
Here, “the link between satellite 220b and ground station 210 corresponds to “receiving second data through a second link between a first satellite and the terminal”.
Determining a long link and a short link based on a first transmission time between the first satellite and the terminal and a second transmission time between the second satellite and the terminal
Fig. 2 in Akhavain shows a ground station 210 communicating with several satellites 220a-200c. Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, applying “shortest path first ... Routing” for satellites 220a-220c in Fig. 2 corresponds to “determining a long link and a short link based on a first transmission time between the first satellite and the terminal and a second transmission time between the second satellite and the terminal”.
The short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the short link”.
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Transmitting ... through the short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “transmitting ... through the short link”.
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting at least part of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link through the [second] link
However, Matsumara does describe a method to send ACK transmissions destined for different base stations to a single destination when a sufficiently fast backhaul connection exists.
Specifically, Matsumara teaches:
Transmitting at least part of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link through the [second] link
Matsumara teaches that “[w]hen a plurality of PUCCHs (#1 and #2)” containing HARQ-ACK and “corresponding to a plurality of CORESET groups (plurality of TRPs) are scheduled”, one possibility is that “(3) The HARQ-ACK is multiplexed on one PUCCH” (Matsumara, 0098-0099; 0102-0105). Fig. 2 in Matsumara also diagrams the UE’s separate HARQ-ACKs corresponding to PDSCHs from different TRPs.
Here, “PUCCH #1” and “PUCCH #2” being “multiplexed on one PUCCH” corresponds to “transmitting at least part of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link through the [second] link”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Matsumara. Akhavain and Matsumara both describe a terminal that maintains multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Matsumara would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim 10 describes the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires
A terminal in a non-terrestrial network, the terminal comprising: at least one processor
Akhavain describes the terminal as “an apparatus comprising a processor” that can operate in a “non-terrestrial” network (Akhavain, 0025, 0115).
As to Claims 2 and 11:
Akhavain teaches:
The short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the short link”.
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
At least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link are transmitted on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH1) of the [second] link
However, Matsumara does teach:
At least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link are transmitted on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH1) of the [second] link
Matsumara teaches that “[w]hen a plurality of PUCCHs (#1 and #2)” containing HARQ-ACK and “corresponding to a plurality of CORESET groups (plurality of TRPs) are scheduled”, one possibility is that “(3) The HARQ-ACK is multiplexed on one PUCCH” (Matsumara, 0098-0099; 0102-0104).
Here, “[t]he HARQ-ACK is multiplexed on one PUCCH” corresponds to “at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link are transmitted on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH1) of the [second] link”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Chen. Akhavain and Chen both describe a terminal maintaining multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Chen would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim 11 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 2 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 3 and 12:
Akhavain teaches:
The short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the short link”.
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
The PUCCH1 further includes a field for transmitting the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and an additional field for transmitting the at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link
However, Matsumara does teach:
The PUCCH1 further includes a field for transmitting the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and an additional field for transmitting the at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link
In describing scenario 3 where HARQ feedback for separate TRPs is multiplexed into a single PUCCH (Matsumara, 0102-0104), Matsumara clarifies that “[i]n (3) above, the PUCCH resources used for transmission may ...correspond to separately configured or defined PUCCH resources” (Matsumara, 0117).
Here, “separately configured or defined PUCCH resources” correspond to “a field for transmitting the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and an additional field for transmitting the at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Chen. Akhavain and Chen both describe a terminal maintaining multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Chen would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim 12 describes the same subject matter as Claim 3 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 4 and 13:
Akhavain teaches:
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
Whether to configure the additional field for transmitting the at least the part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link is configured in advance by higher layer signaling
However, Matsumara teaches:
Whether to configure the additional field for transmitting the at least the part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link is configured in advance by higher layer signaling
Matsumara states that “a method of feedback such as the separate HARQ-ACK feedback and the joint HARQ-ACK feedback may be referred to as a HARQ feedback type” and that “which feedback type is used may be configured using higher layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling)” (Matsumara, 0079).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Chen. Akhavain and Chen both describe a terminal maintaining multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Chen would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim 13 describes the same subject matter as Claim 4 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 5 and 14 (as best understood):
Akhavain teaches:
The short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the short link”.
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Transmitting ... on the short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “transmitting ... on the short link”.
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link through a PUCCH on the [first] link; and
Transmitting the at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link through a preconfigured field in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)
However, Matsumara does teach:
Transmitting the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link through a PUCCH on the [first] link
Matsumara teaches that “[t]he UE ... transmits the HARQ-ACK corresponding to PDSCH #1 to TRP 1 on PUCCH #1” (Matsumara, 0098).
Transmitting the at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link through a preconfigured field in a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)
Matsumara teaches that “the UE ... transmits the HARQ-ACK corresponding to PDSCH #1 to TRP 2 on PUCCH #2” and clarifies that “[i]n the following, the PUCCH may be interpreted as a PUSCH” (Matsumara, 0061, 0099).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Chen. Akhavain and Chen both describe a terminal maintaining multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Chen would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim 14 encompasses the same limitations as Claim 5 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 6 and 15:
Akhavain teaches:
The short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the short link”.
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the short link through a first PUCCH (PUCCH1) on the [first] link; and transmitting the at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link through a second PUCCH (PUCCH2) on the [first] link
However, Matsumara does teach:
Transmitting the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the short link through a first PUCCH (PUCCH1) on the [first] link; and transmitting the at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link through a second PUCCH (PUCCH2) on the [first] link
Matsumara states that “[t]he UE receives DCI #1 indicating PDSCH #1 of TRP 1” and “transmits the HARQ-ACK corresponding to PDSCH #1 to TRP 1 on PUCCH #1” and that “the UE receives DCI #2 indicating PDSCH #2 of TRP 2” and “transmits the HARQ-ACK ... to TRP 2 on PUCCH #2” (Matsumara, 0098-0099). Fig. 2 in Matsumara also depicts the separate HARQ-ACK responses corresponding to distinct TRPs.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Chen. Akhavain and Chen both describe a terminal maintaining multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Chen would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim 15 encompases the same subject matter as Claim 6 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claims 8 and 17:
Akhavain teaches:
The short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the short link”.
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
Only HARQ feedback(s) corresponding to pre-configured data among the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link is transmitted through the [first] link
However, Matsumara does teach:
Only HARQ feedback(s) corresponding to pre-configured data among the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link is transmitted through the [first] link
In describing the HARQ ACK that is multiplexed on one PUCCH in solution 3 (Matsumara, 0105), Matsumara teaches that the HARQ-ACK for TRP 2 corresponds to “PDSCH #2” configured by “DCI #2” in Fig. 2 (Matsumara, 0098-0099).
Here, “PDSCH #2” which is configured by “DCI #2” qualifies as “pre-configured data”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Chen. Akhavain and Chen both describe a terminal maintaining multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Chen would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim 17 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 8 in the form of an apparatus claim.
As to Claim 19:
Akhavain teaches:
Information corresponding to a short link to be transmitted through the short link among a first link between a first satellite and a terminal and a second link between a second satellite and a terminal
Fig. 2 in Akhavain shows a ground station with connections to multiple satellites. Paragraph 0082 clarifies that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing” (Akhavain, 0082).
Controlling first data to be transmitted through a first link between a first satellite and the terminal
Fig. 2 in Akhavain shows a ground station 210 communicating with several satellites 220a-200c.
Here, “the link between satellite 220a and ground station 210 corresponds to “controlling first data to be transmitted through a first link between a first satellite and the terminal”.
Controlling second data to be transmitted through a second link between a second satellite and the terminal
Fig. 2 in Akhavain shows a ground station 210 communicating with several satellites 220a-200c.
Here, “the link between satellite 220b and ground station 210 corresponds to “controlling second data to be transmitted through a second link between a first satellite and the terminal”.
The short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the short link”.
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Transmit ... through ... the short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “transmit ... through ... the short link”.
A satellite of the short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) [e.g. the one shown in Fig. 2] may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the satellite in Fig. 2 with the “shortest path” to the base station corresponds to “a satellite of the short link”.
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
Transmitting higher layer signaling configuring at least part of i) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information corresponding to a [second] link and ii) HARQ feedback information corresponding to a [first] link to be transmitted through the [first] link
Receiving HARQ feedback information corresponding to the first data and HARQ feedback information corresponding to the second data through ... the [first] link
However, Matsumara does describe a method to send ACK transmissions destined for different base stations to a single destination when a sufficiently fast backhaul connection exists.
Specifically, Matsumara teaches:
Transmitting higher layer signaling configuring at least part of i) hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback information corresponding to a [second] link and ii) HARQ feedback information corresponding to a [first] link to be transmitted through the [first] link
Fig. 2 in Matsumara shows HARQ-ACK for “PDSCH #1” corresponding to “TRP1” and “PDSCH #2” corresponding to “TRP2”. Matsumara also clarifies that in one possible scheme, “[t]he HARQ-ACK is multiplexed on one PUCCH” destined for one TRP (Matsumara, 0105).
Receiving HARQ feedback information corresponding to the first data and HARQ feedback information corresponding to the second data through ... the [first] link
Matsumara teaches that “[w]hen a plurality of PUCCHs (#1 and #2)” containing HARQ-ACK and “corresponding to a plurality of CORESET groups (plurality of TRPs) are scheduled”, one possibility is that “(3) The HARQ-ACK is multiplexed on one PUCCH” (Matsumara, 0098-0099; 0102-0104). Fig. 2 in Matsumara also diagrams the UE’s separate HARQ-ACKs corresponding to PDSCHs from different TRPs.
Here, “PUCCH #1” and “PUCCH #2” being “multiplexed on one PUCCH” corresponds to “receiving HARQ feedback information corresponding to the first data and HARQ feedback information corresponding to the second data through the [first] link”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Matsumara. Akhavain and Matsumara both describe a terminal that maintains multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Matsumara would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim 10 describes the same subject matter as Claim 1 in the form of an apparatus claim that additionally requires
A terminal in a non-terrestrial network, the terminal comprising: at least one processor
Akhavain describes the terminal as “an apparatus comprising a processor” that can operate in a “non-terrestrial” network (Akhavain, 0025, 0115).
As to Claim 20:
Akhavain teaches:
The short link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the short link”.
The long link
Akhavain states that “[t]he aerial network(s) may be configured to employ a geographical routing mechanism such as ... Piece-wise shortest path first (PWSPF) Routing for data unit routing and forwarding purposes” (Akhavain, 0082).
Here, another link that is not the shortest path found via “shortest path first ... Routing” corresponds to “the long link”
Akhavain does not explicitly disclose:
At least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link are transmitted on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH1) of the [second] link
However, Matsumara does teach:
At least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link are transmitted on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH1) of the [second] link
Matsumara teaches that “[w]hen a plurality of PUCCHs (#1 and #2)” containing HARQ-ACK and “corresponding to a plurality of CORESET groups (plurality of TRPs) are scheduled”, one possibility is that “(3) The HARQ-ACK is multiplexed on one PUCCH” (Matsumara, 0098-0099; 0102-0104).
Here, “[t]he HARQ-ACK is multiplexed on one PUCCH” corresponds to “at least part of the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [first] link and the HARQ feedback information corresponding to the [second] link are transmitted on a first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH1) of the [second] link”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Akhavain’s method for sending traffic through the shortest available uplink path to send the multiplexed ACK/NACK information described in Chen. Akhavain and Chen both describe a terminal maintaining multiple simultaneous uplink connections, and the multiplexed ACK transmissions outlined in Chen would clearly benefit from taking the shortest available path identified in Akhavain’s method. Thus, a skilled artisan would have motivation to combine their teachings.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akhavain (US 2023/0039699 A1) in view of Matsumara (US 2022/0217687 A1) and further in view of Fireaizen et al. (US 2024/0061097 A1, hereinafter “Fireaizen”).
As to Claims 7 and 16:
The combination of Akhavain and Matsumara does not explicitly disclose:
The first transmission time is determined based on a round trip delay (RTD) time from the terminal to the first satellite, and the second transmission time is determined based on a RTD time from the terminal to the second satellite
However, Fireaizen does describe a method to determine the distance from a terminal to multiple different satellites.
Specifically, Fireaizen teaches:
The first transmission time is determined based on a round trip delay (RTD) time from the terminal to the first satellite, and the second transmission time is determined based on a RTD time from the terminal to the second satellite
Fireaizen states that “[r]ange determination to a first satellite may include measuring the round-trip time of a ‘communication transaction’ with a central processor through the satellite” and “[r]ange to a second satellite may be derived by measuring the round-trip time of ‘communication transaction’ with the central processor through ... satellite2 DL only” (Fireaizen, 0189).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the round trip delay time described in Fireaizen to make the distance measurements taught in Akhavain. The round trip delay time accurately measures the total latency of transmission to a given satellite, meaning a skilled artisan would expect to benefit from incorporating it into Akhavain’s method.
Claim 16 encompasses the same subject matter as Claim 7 in the form of an apparatus claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Guo et al. (US 2023/0077060 A1) describes sending HARQ ACK feedback in different PUCCH and PUSCH transmissions.
BENJAMIN PETER WELTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477