DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al (US 2002/0068655 A1) in view of Adest et al. (2018/0226807 A1).
Regrading claim 1 Yamada teaches a vehicle battery module (see 2, fig.1 para 0028) comprising: a battery configured to output a battery voltage (see Dc power supplied from 2, fig.2 para 0035) a first DC/DC converter configured to convert the battery voltage into a first DC module voltage and to output the first DC module voltage (see 23, 2, 5 fig.2-3 para 0039); a second DC/DC converter configured to convert the battery voltage into a second DC module voltage, and to output the second DC module voltage (see 24 , 2, 4 fig.2-3 para 0040); and an inverter configured to convert the battery voltage into an AC module voltage, and to output the AC module voltage (see 22, 2, 3 fig.2-3 para 0038); wherein an output end of the first DC/DC converter is connected to a first load and output a first voltage (see 23, 2, 5 fig.2-3 para 0039); , and an output end of the second DC/DC converter is connected to a second load and output a second voltage (see 23, 2, 5 fig.2-3 para 0039).
Yamada doesn’t expressly teach convert the battery voltage into a first DC module voltage lower than the battery voltage; a second DC module voltage higher than the first DC module voltage, and “configured to output” first/second voltage.
In an analogous art Adest teaches convert the battery voltage into a first DC module voltage lower than the battery voltage (see buck converter operation, programmable output voltage para 0044); a second DC module voltage higher than the first DC module voltage, (see boost/ buck-boost, programmable output voltage para 0044); and “configured to output” first/second voltage (see CPU control/ load specific voltage; para 0028, 0033, 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Yamada’s chopper circuits with Adest’s buck/boost DC-DC conversion techniques to provide different output voltage levels, since Yamada already teaches multiple distinct vehicle loads (e.g., steering auxiliary motor and cargo handling motor) that would have required appropriate operating voltages, thereby supplying separate vehicle loads from a common battery.
Regarding claim 2, combination of Yamada and Adest teaches invention set forth above, Yamada further teaches wherein the battery is connected in parallel to an input end of the inverter, an input end of the first DC/ DC converter, and an input end of the second DC/DC converter (see battery 2 supplying inverter circuit 22, chopper circuit 23, and chopper circuit 24 through power distribution circuit, Fig.2, para 0035–0040).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Yamada and Adest teaches invention set forth above, Yamada further teaches wherein an output end of the first DC/DC converter is connected in parallel to a first load using the first DC module voltage as a driving voltage (see chopper circuit 23 output supplying motor 5 as first load, Fig.2–3, para 0039).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Yamada and Adest teaches invention set forth above, Yamada further teaches wherein the second DC/DC converter is configured to supply power to a second load (see chopper circuit 24 supplying steering auxiliary motor 4, Fig.2–3, para 0040) Adest further teaches using an integer multiple of the second DC module voltage as a driving voltage (see programmable buck/boost conversion, para 0044).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Adest’s programmable voltage scaling to Yamada’s second DC/DC converter to provide selectable voltage levels for supplying power to a second load with predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, combination of Yamada and Adest teaches invention set forth above, Yamada further teaches wherein the inverter is configured to supply, to an AC load, AC power according to the AC module voltage (see inverter circuit 22 converting battery DC power to three-phase AC power supplied to motor 3, Fig.2–3, para 0038).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-15 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not reasonably disclose “a first DC system output end in which the first DC module output ends, respectively included in the plurality of vehicle battery modules, are connected in parallel to each other; a second DC system output end in which the second DC module output ends, respectively included in the plurality of vehicle battery modules, are connected in series to each other; and an AC system output end in which the AC module output ends, respectively included in the plurality of vehicle battery modules, are connected in series to each other” within the overall context of claims 6 and 12.
Claims 7-11 depend on allowable claim 6 hence claims 7-11 are also deemed allowable.
Claims 13-15 depend on allowable claim 12, hence claims 13-15 are also deemed allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849